News Crows eye Walker, Jacobs

• Thread starter Thread starter Ricksta13

Seems universally accepted (everywhere except the Carlton board) that Jacobs' value is a 2nd round selection (of which Adelaide has pick #33).

The Rendell interview was followed immediately by a Carlton supporter complaining that a 2nd round pick for Jacobs wasn't fair. The Carlton supporter was roundly shot down in flames by the Trade Week Radio crew, who are unanimous in agreeing with Rendell's valuation. They're in no doubt whatsoever that Jacobs will end up at Adelaide, it's almost as if the Crows are being generous by offering you pick 33.

You've got no chance of getting pick 14 - and never had a chance. You may have had a chance of getting the Bock compensation pick, but the inflexibility of Swan & Icke saw that opportunity disappear in the Tambling trade. Now it's pick 33 or nothing (ie PSD).

What have the radio crew got to do with anything?

Not sure if you're aware, but a clued up poster says Sam won't go to PSD, would rather go somewhere else or stay Blue.

You really have no freakin idea do you mate??

He said we don't have enough to afford Walker as well..

I have little doubt that the reason we can't afford Walker is because we're prepared to front-load Jacobs' salary to get him past any other potential suitors in the PSD.

Sounds like uneducated wishful thinking.

Hey here's an idea, why don't you stick to your own Adelaide forum?

You can be deluded over there, and we can be deluded over here LOL

Getting nothing is better than bending over and getting $5 for the trouble.

I don't know. You could always take that $5 and put it on a long shot to win $500.

Jacobs is worth more than pick #33 - I think most of us agree on that.
Jacobs is not worth pick #14 - most on here don't agree, however most neutral observers do.
Jacobs wants to come home and has nominated Adelaide as his preferred club.
Jacobs is uncontracted.
Jacobs is 4th in line at Carlton.
Adelaide will not part with pick #14 (maybe in scenario below).
Adelaide could pick him up in the PSD for nothing, however would prefer to trade.
Carlton will play hardball until Monday and then take pick #33 or let him enter the PSD and get nothing to prove what tough negotiators they are!

OR

Jacobs + Pick 18 for Pick 14 + Pick 33.

It's so freaking obvious.

I just wonder which party won't agree to it.

I think that's the best case scenario for both teams.

Sounds like uneducated wishful thinking.

Hey here's an idea, why don't you stick to your own Adelaide forum?

You can be deluded over there, and we can be deluded over here LOL

I wish

we have 3000 posts worth of deluded Carlton fans and they won't go away. :(

I've put an email into the AFL they seem to know how to deal with Carlton better than us ;)

Come on guys, we all know Jacobs isn't that good. He's definitely only worth a 2nd rounder AT BEST.

That's why Adelaide are chasing him so hard and throwing big money at him - because he's so average.

That would be perfect, but Adelaide are going to be very stingy with Pick 14, I reckon they are hoping Brodie Smith or Jared Polec will slip to them.

I suggest Icke and Swann focus their energies on other trades and convincing Sam to stay ("Sam, they don't rate you higher than pick 33 and think Tambling is twice as valuable as you.") **** Adelaide.

I don't know. You could always take that $5 and put it on a long shot to win $500.

Jacobs is not worth pick #14 - most on here don't agree, however most neutral observers do.
Jacobs is uncontracted.
Adelaide could pick him up in the PSD for nothing, however would prefer to trade.
Carlton will play hardball until Monday and then take pick #33 or let him enter the PSD and get nothing to prove what tough negotiators they are!

OR

Then you don't get him in the PSD and have Maric as your only ruckman. :o

You guys are definitely tougher than us...:rolleyes:

Any chance of the AFL changing trade week to trade weekend. Nothing will be done till the last couple of days for us IMO.

All I know is I trust the club to get the best results.

- Andrew want's fresh start
- At this stage Bulldogs and Port Adelaide very keen.. Port >> Dogs
- Adelaide rule out Walker unless some salary cap relief
- Walker still a big chance to stay at Carlton
- Andrew wants to play in the midfield, while Ratten wants him down back
- Grigg wants to play at a club were he is in the best 22
- Jacobs wants better opportunity to play, understands Carlton's ruck depth

- Adelaide rule out Walker unless some salary cap relief

They're talking crap again. They've just lost Edwards, McLeod, Goodwin, Burton, Bock and Griffin. They can only have two of them on the veterans list. They have heaps of room. They will really be shown up as BS artists when they cave in on Monday.

pick 33 for Jacobs in a draft in which the best 17 year olds are gone is a-kin to pick 40 as such prefer to lose him for nothing.

Jacobs is uncontracted.

OR

Enters the PSD and takes his chances of where he goes if there deal isn't right. We'll use the spare spot to upgrade a rookie. You know how well our rookies have developed? We'd love to upgrade an extra one. Given our depth of rucks that option isn't a bad one either. Meanwhile you have one undersized ruck to carry your load. Not actually us that loses. Given you're willing to pay a million/3 years for him for a desperate ruck department you would be the losers.

St.Kilda are showing interest too. If we refuse to trade him to Adelaide, because of the deal, we'll ask him if he wants to be traded to the Saints if the deal is better. With the other option of the PSD lottery, I'm sure he'd take it in a heartbeat as he'd get the game time he desires. Especially to a side on the cusp of a flag. Truth be known he'll be happy with any club that will give him senior game time, the main reason he wants to leave.

Your choice.

Melbourne are offering up more for David Hale than the arse-clowns are for Jacobs...

Sydney offered more for Seaby

do the media watch AFL or populate twitter and plagiarise???

*screwy*

Melbourne are offering up more for David Hale than the arse-clowns are for Jacobs...

Sydney offered more for Seaby

do the media watch AFL or populate twitter and plagiarise???

*screwy*
The Crows are embarrassing themselves at the moment.

Glad we've got Swann and Icke, have a look at some of the dills that run other clubs. :o

pretty sure its carlton thats knocking that trade backe atm.
adelaide have shown that downgrading their pick isnt really an issue & at the same time they have already offered the pick 33 straight out.
so to combine the 2 offers shouldnt be a problem for them but carlton probably want more or a particular player possibly talia, but if adelaide are 100 % certain they wont let him go the above mentioned deal should get done.

another deal that could be put foward could be 33+griff pick for jacobs

They're talking crap again. They've just lost Edwards, McLeod, Goodwin, Burton, Bock and Griffin. They can only have two of them on the veterans list. They have heaps of room. They will really be shown up as BS artists when they cave in on Monday.
We also have a shedload of youngsters who are all looking for increased salaries now that the veterans are gone.

Griffin would have been on close to minimum wages, so there's not much to be gained there. Bock is the only unexpected salary cap relief - and we're looking at replacing him with 2 players (Tambling & Jacobs).

Speaking with someone in the AFL recruiting department, the thought is that there is not much between players 5-10 and 10-20.

So essentially we are giving up Jacobs for pick 33.

That would be a massive loss for us.

At this stage, unless we buckle, that wont happen.

We also have a shedload of youngsters who are all looking for increased salaries now that the veterans are gone.

Griffin would have been on close to minimum wages, so there's not much to be gained there. Bock is the only unexpected salary cap relief - and we're looking at replacing him with 2 players (Tambling & Jacobs).
Not even close. Keep trying.

pick 33 for Jacobs in a draft in which the best 17 year olds are gone is a-kin to pick 40 as such prefer to lose him for nothing.

Agree totally

Adelaide need to realise this draft is unique.

They get Sauce, they know they get quality

But we get pick 33, we know it is poor, more like 45

So it is not a good deal and common sense says 14 is it bec that is more like 22 and that is already worse than a lot of previous rucks have been valued at at the draft table

Speaking with someone in the AFL recruiting department, the thought is that there is not much between players 5-10 and 10-20.

So essentially we are giving up Jacobs for pick 33.

That would be a massive loss for us.

At this stage, unless we buckle, that wont happen.

Agreed

Agree totally

Adelaide need to realise this draft is unique.

They get Sauce, they know they get quality

But we get pick 33, we know it is poor, more like 45

So it is not a good deal and common sense says 14 is it bec that is more like 22 and that is already worse than a lot of previous rucks have been valued at at the draft table

It sh%ts me when crows fans cry about pick 14 like its a normal draft.

Jacobs is probably worth pick 14 in a normal draft let alone in this one.