News Crows eye Walker, Jacobs

• Thread starter Thread starter Ricksta13

If he goes to the pre-season draft we've got him
15 teams would be put off by him that he wants to go home (the same reason teams passed up on Josh Carr when he came back to Port)
and we're before Port, you're dreaming parrot if you think the pre-season draft is going to deter Adelaide
it has more chance of detering Carlton and forcing your hand to make a trade

it's either

trade to Adelaide for the 2nd round pick
attempt a trade with someone else and Jacobs says no (you seem to all be forgetting that not only do both clubs have to accept the trade, but also the players (and or managers on their behalf)). Jacobs wants back to Adelaide

You will only get him for more if you beg Port into it, then you may get more out of us.

It will be Jacobs for 2nd rounder, but if your recruiting departments try to pull something out of their arse again, you MAY get a spud like Sellar ontop, nothing more.

Otherwise he's going to drop to the the pre-season draft for nothing, and what to Carlton gain? nothing, what do Adelaide lose? nothing, hell, we'll probably get him for cheaper then what we would dealing with you.

We'll win, you'll lose, at least if you trade you have a chance of making it a win/win

Carr was at the end of his career, not a 22 yr old ruckman who has improved massively over the last 2 years, with the improvement likely to continue .............

Jacobs want more game time. Crows would be nice, but I doubt he would enter the PSD to get there (if he wants job security the last thing you want to do is risk being drafted by other teams). The Tigers need a ruckman, have cap space and would put him on a 2 yr deal, meaning if he decides he wants to go next year they will have the bargaining power .......... That said, I am sure he would sign on for a 1 yr contract with Carlton before entering the draft ..........

Your probably right Vader, but he is certainly not worth pick 33 like your club is offering.

Whats been suggested is that pick 14 comes our way (or player of similar value) or he goes into the pre-season draft. In our view its your risk to lose him not ours, and you guys need him more than we do.

who buckles first, we will know by Monday 2pm.

Bit naive??? He's on your list after all. If the deal falls through, Crows walk away no worse off (no better off either) but you lose a player (clearly worse off). Having lost stevens to you guys in the PSD 7 yrs ago I feel your pain but trust me, it's better to get something back for him than nothing.

If he goes to the pre-season draft we've got him
15 teams would be put off by him that he wants to go home (the same reason teams passed up on Josh Carr when he came back to Port)
and we're before Port, you're dreaming parrot if you think the pre-season draft is going to deter Adelaide
it has more chance of detering Carlton and forcing your hand to make a trade

it's either

trade to Adelaide for the 2nd round pick
attempt a trade with someone else and Jacobs says no (you seem to all be forgetting that not only do both clubs have to accept the trade, but also the players (and or managers on their behalf)). Jacobs wants back to Adelaide

You will only get him for more if you beg Port into it, then you may get more out of us.

It will be Jacobs for 2nd rounder, but if your recruiting departments try to pull something out of their arse again, you MAY get a spud like Sellar ontop, nothing more.

Otherwise he's going to drop to the the pre-season draft for nothing, and what to Carlton gain? nothing, what do Adelaide lose? nothing, hell, we'll probably get him for cheaper then what we would dealing with you.

We'll win, you'll lose, at least if you trade you have a chance of making it a win/win
Just to let you know, Jacobs will go where ever there is an opportunity to play senior footy. Richmond are in desperate need of a #1 ruckman and are waiting in the wings as to are Melbourne with Jamar yes still only 27, but their only real ruckman.

Bit naive??? He's on your list after all. If the deal falls through, Crows walk away no worse off (no better off either) but you lose a player (clearly worse off). Having lost stevens to you guys in the PSD 7 yrs ago I feel your pain but trust me, it's better to get something back for him than nothing.

Not really, we can easily cover the loss of a ruckman and pick 33 in a compromised draft is hardly something to get excited about.

As many have said here, I would rather try to screw Adelaide over if they keep trying to screw us.

Actually disagree. I'm glad we didnt bend over to Collingwood and basicly told them to get ****ed. Showed the rest of the AFL that we meant business in the trade room.

Then we trade Burgoyne for two first rounders :thumbsu:

Just to recap your memory.

Swann and Icke =
Judd and Armfield for Kennedy, Masten & Notte
Henderson and Lucas = Fevola and Bartlett
Warnock and pick 69 on traded to Brisbane = Suban & Ben Bucovaz
McLean = Gysberts (let me tell you Gysberts back is not traveling to well)

All wins in a massive way for us...

Thanks for coming

I think the fact you list Brock Mclean as a 'massive win' speaks volumes about just how clued up you are there. Also aside from your Judd coup and the fact it's too early to tell with Lucas I read Armfield, Henderson and Warnock and I chuckle.

Dumb & Dumber is apt

Bit naive??? He's on your list after all. If the deal falls through, Crows walk away no worse off (no better off either) but you lose a player (clearly worse off). .....

Not true. We have excess ruck stocks, and he's not in our best 22 after Kruezer returns, so we won't be worse off without him. We miss the opportunity of a pretty useless pick, and the cows miss out on a quality #1 ruck that would definitely be in their best 22.. Tell me who actually loses more out of that. lol. See the point? They'll blink, and don't be surprised if quite a few other teams get involved, including Port BTW. This is just the stock standard huff and puff routine we go through each year when dealing with the incompetent insecure amateurs like the crows.

:)

Not naive at all, we have 3 top line ruckman in his place, he is not a necessity. Adelaide have no ruckman, especially with Griffin leaving and will be left with no experienced ruckman when he does leave.
The only thing he cost us is time and tutorship. Shame, but that's the game.

Crows' manager Harper says Sauce and Griffin are similar types, hhmmm, last I check Griffin never had 44 hit outs in an AFL final. Similar types my arse. Griffin has stalled, gone backwards, whereas Sauce is rising, and rising quick.

These Adelaide cronies come out and chat chat chat a helluva lot in public, and twist reality around so far it's not funny. Rendell and Harper have no cred whatsoever.

"Jacobs and Griffin are similar players and one club is suggesting one player is a first-round draft pick, or pick No.14, and the other mob is suggesting the other is a third or fourth-round pick - pick 60," Harper said.
"So somewhere in between the truth lies."

Try asking anyone who's NOT a Carlton supporter and see what response you get.

Try asking anyone who is NOT a Carlton supporter who this Jacobs guy even is 5 weeks ago. 90% of them would have have had no idea.

If you want to devalue Jacobs, at least do it with some evidence rather than the opinions of uninformed flogs who have probably never watched the guy.

"Hodgepodge and Axel sez Jacobs is shit so we not gunna giv you Blooz a fing for him huurrr durrrrr."

I think the fact you list Brock Mclean as a 'massive win' speaks volumes about just how clued up you are there. Also aside from your Judd coup and the fact it's too early to tell with Lucas I read Armfield, Henderson and Warnock and I chuckle.

Dumb & Dumber is apt

I would suggest you watch your tone, or your next post will be your last on this board.

FWIW, Armfield, Henderson & Warnock would all be in Adelaide's best 22, particularly given Tambling apparently is.

Dumb & Dumber is apt
Tell me dip sh!t what have the other players done. Other than Suban, SFA.

Cheers for now and p!ss off

Actually disagree. I'm glad we didnt bend over to Collingwood and basicly told them to get ****ed. Showed the rest of the AFL that we meant business in the trade room.

Then we trade Burgoyne for two first rounders :thumbsu:

Agree, no point being bent over especially if your not losing much ie. Pick 33.

He's not worth pick 14 in this draft.. or any other draft for that matter.

If he was there at 14 and it was your pick, I am sure you would take him

He is young and had 44 hit outs in a final

In fact based on that, he is worth a top 5 pick

Maybe you guys should go and get a top 5 pick for us if you want him??

gee rucks are cheap this year.

jacobs,hale,fraser,minson,blake,griffin all on the market & best offer so far is mid 30's ! looks like the new rules have dropped their price.

Jacobs is easily the best out of that bunch. There'll be plenty of alternatives to the crows. We see this little froth and bubble routine each year. We'll win.

Lets not get silly.

No. We really wouldnt. :o

I really dont care that much either way if we get him. I really dont think any club is going to offer you more than our 2nd round draft pick. Would love to see him walk :thumbsu:

I love every year you get the knobs coming on BigFooty trying to beat their chest like lowland gorillas and brag how one club will screw the other over......last year it was Brisbane, this year its Adelaide's turn......when the reality is the clubs are far more sensible than the peanut gallery

I've had some more info passed on to me from the same person as before, basically if their source is who they say it is then it's a very good source close to the Crows.

He says Talia's name has been thrown about and he has made it clear to the crows that he would like to return to Melbourne. Also says Myke Cook is on the table. Says both clubs are still playing games, could take a few days before we get anywhere, don't take what you read in the paper as gospel and no one has given up on anyone yet.

Lots of time left yet for things to happen.

Oh dear. :o

Cook and Talia are not on the table. Fact. Nice "source" though. :o

Few points:

-The Tambling trade was a total disaster for the Crows. You WAY overpaid.

-The only ones "holding firm" here is Greg Swann and co. The crows have been a confused, sooking mess throughout trade week.

-You need Jacobs, and we know it. Your other options are Laycock, Blake or Cam Cloke. See the point?

- You are correct about the Crows blinking and including a young KP player. This is the whole plan with our stance BTW. Logically it makes sense from both clubs point of view, but your club has been a confused mess all trade week, and it'll be a test to see if they're coherent enough to get such a deal together.

- Crows stuffed up the chance to get Walker.

- Port must be laughing at the Crows "performance" this trade week, and are now taking advantage.

Be interesting to see how he goes in Adelaide colours.

Seems universally accepted (everywhere except the Carlton board) that Jacobs' value is a 2nd round selection (of which Adelaide has pick #33).

The Rendell interview was followed immediately by a Carlton supporter complaining that a 2nd round pick for Jacobs wasn't fair. The Carlton supporter was roundly shot down in flames by the Trade Week Radio crew, who are unanimous in agreeing with Rendell's valuation. They're in no doubt whatsoever that Jacobs will end up at Adelaide, it's almost as if the Crows are being generous by offering you pick 33.

You've got no chance of getting pick 14 - and never had a chance. You may have had a chance of getting the Bock compensation pick, but the inflexibility of Swan & Icke saw that opportunity disappear in the Tambling trade. Now it's pick 33 or nothing (ie PSD).

Spot on Vader. That is Jacobs' value, that's reality. A good, fair, reasonable deal for both clubs, allowing the blues to try their hand in the draft rather than lose him for zilch. :)

I can't imagine Swicke not getting into the ear of Jacobs for staying in Victoria and considering a trade to a St.Kilda, Hawthorn or even Geelong.

I'm not sure exactly how much influenece the "Go Home" factor has upon Jacobs, but given the chance to play at, and be an integral part of a serious club, may just be enough to keep him in Melbourne.

Right now I'd turn my back on Adelaide and take all the cards off the table.
I'd support that decision and if it came to a fail, so be it.