Crows Fan King Hit

• Thread starter Thread starter beartoo

SpringChoke said:
Too be honest, I was disappointed in Goodwin but then again did it warrant the publicity it received, no way. If that received a four page spread this deserves a special Monday edition.

But seriously, assault is a serious crime and Brogan should pay the penalty.
No worries. We've probably got a similar opinion of the Goodwin situation, it seems.

I'd expect Brogan to be fined, nothing more.

*PAF said:
It is a shame as the AFC, the PAFC and Football in general will again be dragged into something that it doesn't need.
Unfortunately idiots are out there but my main question is why do players mingle with the general population at airports and the like. The AFL makes mega millions so surely they can afford to pay for things like Qantas clubs etc to avoid these inevitable confrontations with d***heads.

Agree with this the players should be shielded from the general public for the publics own safety.

RogerRabbit69 said:
Can't agree with you on that one sorry Crows98. I don't think we can pick and choose when we want to call someone an Adelaide supporter and when we don't. We're happy to count non-attending fans as part of the supporter base when it suits.

How do we know this guy is actually a supporter of the Adelaide Football Club?

Just because he lives in South Australia, don’t assume he supports the club.

It’s very easy to say to a reporter or given them what they want to hear that he is a support of the Adelaide Football Club; just as it’s very easy to say I support the Port Adelaide Football Club or Essendon Football Club, it come back to how much integrity this guy has and going by the fact he is a loud mouth buffoon who has said something stupid to Dean Brogan I would hazard a guess and suggest he has very little or no integrity at all. Dean Brogan (or any AFL player) would not just king hit a person in the general public for not apparent reason.

So he could support a different AFL club or different sport and simply say “yes, I go for the crows”.

Mad Dog said:
No - the AFC has no role to play in this

That’s why the Adelaide Football Club’s name should not be mentioned in this, he is just one idiot who has take responsibility for his own actions.

Why does he have to be an Adelaide Crows fan is beyond me?

RogerRabbit69 said:
No worries. We've probably got a similar opinion of the Goodwin situation, it seems.

I'd expect Brogan to be fined, nothing more.

Why would he only get a fine? Assault demands a criminal penalty and a criminal record.

I would bet the level headed of the Port supporter base would/should be very disappointed with Brogan. I would be gutted if a Crows player assaulted a member of the public.

bomberclifford said:

How do you know he supports the Adelaide Football Club? :mad:

FFS so generalizing so you can become a malicious sniper.

just maybe said:
All you who say Dale got what he deserved are full of it. Brogan is the one at fault - you don't respond to words, especially ignorant and dull streams of insults, with physical violence. Is Brogan that low, stupid and unable to control himself that he can't either ignore it or respond with his own retort?

Brogan has proven himself simply to be nothing better than a teenage street thug who can't let a taunt get past him without flying into a violent rage. He needs to grow up and take responsibility for himself.

Dale is a class idiot, but he got far worse than he deserved.

I'm a fair way down your track, particularly your comments re Brogan. If every public figure in society responded to comments in the same manner as Brogan, there would be similar accidents happening in their thousands every year.

Brogan is a dullard with anger management problems who allowed himself to be sucked in by a mental midget.

I think you were a bit kind on Dale though. At the footy, a footballer is fair game for such comments, but not off the field.

They are entitled to the same courtesy and lack of abuse that any other member of the public should enjoy.

Dale is symbolic of the lack of respect that is creeping into society in general, which in turn is usually a reflection of a lack of parental input in this area.

While I don't think Brogan should have done what he did, and showed himself to be a real bogan by reacting as he did, I'm glad that Dale got his nose busted, as he only got what he asked for.

macca23 said:
I'm a fair way down your track, particularly your comments re Brogan. If every public figure in society responded to comments in the same manner as Brogan, there would be similar accidents happening in their thousands every year.

Brogan is a dullard with anger management problems who allowed himself to be sucked in by a mental midget.

I think you were a bit kind on Dale though. At the footy, a footballer is fair game for such comments, but not off the field.

They are entitled to the same courtesy and lack of abuse that any other member of the public should enjoy.

Dale is symbolic of the lack of respect that is creeping into society in general, which in turn is usually a reflection of a lack of parental input in this area.

While I don't think Brogan should have done what he did, and showed himself to be a real bogan by reacting as he did, I'm glad that Dale got his nose busted, as he only got what he asked for.

Agree, well said

SpringChoke said:
Why would he only get a fine? Assault demands a criminal penalty and a criminal record.
That's true - but I think a criminal penalty can be a fine, depending on the severity of the incident.

I'm no legal eagle, though. I'm also unsure of the situation if it is considered to be retaliation under provocation.

crows98 said:
How do we know this guy is actually a supporter of the Adelaide Football Club?

Just because he lives in South Australia, don’t assume he supports the club.

It’s very easy to say to a reporter or given them what they want to hear that he is a support of the Adelaide Football Club; just as it’s very easy to say I support the Port Adelaide Football Club or Essendon Football Club, it come back to how much integrity this guy has and going by the fact he is a loud mouth buffoon who has said something stupid to Dean Brogan I would hazard a guess and suggest he has very little or no integrity at all. Dean Brogan (or any AFL player) would not just king hit a person in the general public for not apparent reason.

So he could support a different AFL club or different sport and simply say “yes, I go for the crows”.

Who cares if he supports the Crows, Bombers whoever, it's irrelevent. If we give a license to sports people to go around king hitting members of the public everytime they get abused then it becomes a sad state of affairs.

Despite what people think, assult IS a serious crime. A few years ago I was mistankly charged with assault. Not only was I told by my lawyer that I could very well face a short sentense, I was also told by my CEO that, if found guilty, I would be sacked on the spot.

RogerRabbit69 said:
That's true - but I think a criminal penalty can be a fine, depending on the severity of the incident.

I'm no legal eagle, though. I'm also unsure of the situation if it is considered to be retaliation under provocation.

He may very well get a fine but what will hurt will be the criminal record. If the Power lads take an end of the year trip to the US, Broges will be staying home.

SpringChoke said:
If the Power lads take an end of the year trip to the US, Broges will be staying home.
I was always under the impression US visas are issued on a case-by-case basis. Surely people with records consisting of much more than one-off assault incidents have entered the US in the past.

Nonetheless, no one would want a crimilar record hanging over their head, I agree.

Why would a team go on an end of year trip to the US? The hookers are way too expensive there.

This is possibly the funniest thing I have heard this week (yes, it's been a slow week). If you're going to mouth off at a player, you don't pick the ruckman.
This Dale is missing a few brain cells, Dean needs to not be so sensitive.

SpringChoke said:
Who cares if he supports the Crows, Bombers whoever, it's irrelevent. If we give a license to sports people to go around king hitting members of the public everytime they get abused then it becomes a sad state of affairs.

Despite what people think, assult IS a serious crime. A few years ago I was mistankly charged with assault. Not only was I told by my lawyer that I could very well face a short sentense, I was also told by my CEO that, if found guilty, I would be sacked on the spot.

Agree with what you have said and Dean Brogan is the one who has to take reasonability for his own actions, he does not have the right to walk around and assault anyone for any reason, just as Simon Goodwin did not. .

What is getting me angry at this is the fact the journalist are reporting him as an Adelaide Crows fan with out a second thought to the long term damage this may have. Reporting him as a Adelaide Crows fan is just perpetuating that crap Michelangelo Rucci was going on about in his article and on 5AA yesterday.

Today an Adelaide Crows fan incites Dean Brogan into an assault charge, what tomorrow? Crows supporter continues to serves drunken Power player and causes him to drink drive.

Dale is an individual and it should be reported that way, as apposed to the first instinctive thing of him being a Crows fan.

RogerRabbit69 said:
I was always under the impression US visas are issued on a case-by-case basis. Surely people with records consisting of much more than one-off assault incidents have entered the US in the past.

Nonetheless, no one would want a crimilar record hanging over their head, I agree.

I'm pretty sure that if you have a criminal record for Assault you can't get a US visa. I could be wrong.

The_Ash said:
Why would a team go on an end of year trip to the US? The hookers are way too expensive there.
This is possibly the funniest thing I have heard this week (yes, it's been a slow week). If you're going to mouth off at a player, you don't pick the ruckman.
This Dale is missing a few brain cells, Dean needs to not be so sensitive.

:D :D Are you speaking from exprience?

Amazing how these things happen, I'd love to know if the comment was made tongue-in-cheek, or loaded with a spitful tone. If it was just friendly banter then Brogan is a fool. If it was spit loaded, then that is a different story (albiet punching the guy wasnt called for). I've been to the pub with a couple of guys that play for the Crows, and the cop it, they actually get a laugh out of it, but they also know when to ignore it, and possibly just walk away; as I am sure most of the other players in the AFL do.

Most people can seperate sport from real life, unfortunately some cant. Poeple need to respect footy players as people, regardless of the team they play for.

SpringChoke said:
I'm pretty sure that if you have a criminal record for Assault you can't get a US visa. I could be wrong.

He will be awarded a temporary tourist visa, but would have no chance to get an American green card (a working permit)

crows98 said:
What is getting me angry at this is the fact the journalist are reporting him as an Adelaide Crows fan with out a second thought to the long term damage this may have. Reporting him as a Adelaide Crows fan is just perpetuating that crap Michelangelo Rucci was going on about in his article and on 5AA yesterday. Dale is an individual and it should be reported that way, as apposed to the first instinctive thing of him being a Crows fan
I know what you're getting at, Crows98. The reality is that it's impossible not to make the link to the Crows (especially when his mate is pictured wearing a Crows top). I believe the fact "Dale" is a Crows supporter is part of the issue, unfortunately. His comment "you're playing for the wrong team, d.ckhead" wouldn't make any sense otherwise.

RogerRabbit69 said:
I know what you're getting at, Crows98. The reality is that it's impossible not to make the link to the Crows (especially when his mate is pictured wearing a Crows top). I believe the fact "Dale" is a Crows supporter is part of the issue, unfortunately. His comment "you're playing for the wrong team, d.ckhead" wouldn't make any sense otherwise.

Then if that is the case and it’s pretty damming evidence we don’t need morons like that supporting our club and personally I would like the AFC to do something about this clown.

I don’t want to go to the football in ten or fifteen years time and have it like European football (soccer) where the crowds are segregated by fences.

crows98 said:
That’s why the Adelaide Football Club’s name should not be mentioned in this, he is just one idiot who has take responsibility for his own actions.

Why does he have to be an Adelaide Crows fan is beyond me?
so why do you advocate the AFC revoking his membership?

macca23 said:

1. The situation is the not the same as any member of the public - Brogan is paid big bikkies for being the public figure he is, and he has to deal with the pros and cons that come with that in a different way.

2. I am not being kind on Dale. The kid (and note - Brogan hit a teenager - what a big man he is) was being stupid. But no amount of words justifies the physical violence Brogan unleashed on him. Brogan is in the wrong, every single way you look at it. I hope he gets severely punished because he was more immature than Dale in his response.

Whereas Brogan is symbolic of a lack of ability to control oneself when verbally abused?

No, he didn't get what he asked for. Don't you see the utter imbalance between verbal and physical abuse?

Mad Dog said:
so why do you advocate the AFC revoking his membership?

So he can be held accountable and then other morons may thing twice about doing a stupid thing.

He has brought the club into disrepute by his immature actions, even if he isn’t a representative of the club.

Yep, I'm sure not proud of the fact he's a Crows supporter. But the fact is we've got our quota of d.ckhead fans, the same as every club. Not too sure what the club can do about it, either. I would expect they'd want to disassociate themselves from the incident.

just maybe said:
Don't you see the utter imbalance between verbal and physical abuse?
You'd find plenty of mental health experts who'd beg to differ in certain circumstances.

It's not impossible for verbal abuse to be just as damaging as physical abuse. Just because someone doesn't have a bloodied nose doesn't mean they haven't been hurt.

BTW, I don't think Brogan should have hit the guy.