Crows in the SANFL Round 5

Do we have a Damien amongst us who rang 5AA this morning praising our 3 recruits playing last night - Kite, Walker and Otten.

Got a reasonable amount of air time and finished by praising our recruiting staff.

The boys on 5AA were pretty impressed with those comments, particularly KG with the praise for our recruiting staff, as he commented that they were at odds with that caller's normal comments on our recruiting staff. :)

I immediately thought of Drummond!! :D

Will the real Damien please stand up?? :)

Do we have a Damien amongst us who rang 5AA this morning praising our 3 recruits playing last night - Kite, Walker and Otten.

Got a reasonable amount of air time and finished by praising our recruiting staff.

The boys on 5AA were pretty impressed with those comments, particularly KG with the praise for our recruiting staff, as he commented that they were at odds with that caller's normal comments on our recruiting staff. :)

I immediately thought of Drummond!! :D

Will the real Damien please stand up?? :)

I heard that too. I thought it was a good call. Although I think Drummond is very clever, I don't believe it was him. Drummond is too pessimistic and antagonistic toward the the AFC hierarchy to praise any of them and give them credit for anything.:eek::)

A good game by tangles last night. He seemed to asses his game fairly well and had some moments of brilliance but went missing a bit. He said he really needs to work harder off the ball which I would have to agree with but he will be a great player. Also impressed again with Kite.

Walker: Wow, this guy will be amazing. Kicked his first goal of the night on the back of a great contested mark in which he went back and drilled. His second was a beautiful left foot snap which went through after a few bounces. His third was also from a set shot, all this was before half time. In the second half South paid him a lot more attention and he was often double teamed and they blocked his space on a few occasions. He had another snap attempt at goal in the third quarter but it slammed into the post, was a ripper of a kick though. As was the case with last week, he dished off a few great handballs and he really does excel below his knees. He had a chance to probably seal the game with a couple of minutes remaining as he took a mark about 45 out but he missed the crucial goal. So he finished with 3.3 and one OOF. Vlatko was a late exclusion tonight and it allowed South to play their best defender on him and without Vlats he received a lot more attention. Special talent we have here, his body work is something to behold. He just knows how to use his body to advantage and he’s great on the lead. He took a few great marks, a few very close to the ground. His stats would’ve been similar to last week; in fact he might have had a bit more of the ball., probably about 15 possessions. Has had 14 scoring shots in two weeks, not a bad effort. Should also point out that his defensive work seems to be improving with every week as he followed his opponent back into defence in the opening few minutes of the match and took a nice mark. He also laid a few tackles and had a nice smother in the last term.

Saw that kick it was right in front of me. It was a poster, but I have not seen someone move like that and kick the ball with seemingly all the time in the world since...dare I say it...Darren Jarman.

It was a beautiful thing to watch...there was movement in my pants.

So I gather Otten was much harder at the footy this time?

No, he wasnt FD88, not at all. Every game I have gone and watched him play this year his attack on the ball hasnt changed one bit mate. Each game he has had 20 plus touches. Each game his disposal was good. Last night he was moved forward and took some strong grabs and turned the game which he hadnt done before. But let me tell you his lack of attack on the ball you and a couple others perceived did not change and he was in most eyes B.O.G. Is he ever going to be Mark Bickley or Glenn Archer with his attack on the ball, no. But he is a 190cm midfielder who finds the ball with ease, uses it well and last night showed he is going to be a nightmare for oppostion coaches to match up on as he can push forward and hurt you.My only criticism of the lad is he never looks like he is going flat out, never looks short of time and looks like he is going at half ratpower. And as I mentioned before it wasnt like he had a night out and the ball bounced his way. He missed several shots by a fraction, fumbled several times and was spent in the last quarter. When he has his big day out watch out! Might be time to change my name from Freddy Bassett to Freddy Otten. Im sure he will play next week for the Crows!

Kenny hasnt even touched the ball yet has he? so there could be a spot up for grabs. More so if we lose

You are a bit harsh he does have 1 hit out. But you are right apart from that he is building a donut factory.

Time to bite the bullet, I'm sick of sentiment, get him out and get Walker or even Sellar in. The guys down field don't even have the confidence to kcik to him, most of the movements are going through Goodwin and Burton.

You are a bit harsh he does have 1 hit out. But you are right apart from that he is building a donut factory.

Time to bite the bullet, I'm sick of sentiment, get him out and get Walker or even Sellar in. The guys down field don't even have the confidence to kcik to him, most of the movements are going through Goodwin and Burton.
Speaking of which im at work listening to crows game heard the mighty bays were infront, any word on Sellar?

No, he wasnt FD88, not at all. Every game I have gone and watched him play this year his attack on the ball hasnt changed one bit mate. Each game he has had 20 plus touches. Each game his disposal was good. Last night he was moved forward and took some strong grabs and turned the game which he hadnt done before. But let me tell you his lack of attack on the ball you and a couple others perceived did not change and he was in most eyes B.O.G. Is he ever going to be Mark Bickley or Glenn Archer with his attack on the ball, no. But he is a 190cm midfielder who finds the ball with ease, uses it well and last night showed he is going to be a nightmare for oppostion coaches to match up on as he can push forward and hurt you.My only criticism of the lad is he never looks like he is going flat out, never looks short of time and looks like he is going at half ratpower. And as I mentioned before it wasnt like he had a night out and the ball bounced his way. He missed several shots by a fraction, fumbled several times and was spent in the last quarter. When he has his big day out watch out! Might be time to change my name from Freddy Bassett to Freddy Otten. Im sure he will play next week for the Crows!

He has got talent, I've never denied that, but I am badly scarred by Jericho's lack of attack on the ball. :p

Good to hear he's taking contested grabs, that goes a long way towards creating the nightmare matchup you speak of.

Sellar continues to disappoint, and no im not bitter because the bay bandwagoners beat us again :p. He's just one of those guys who has to get the ball first time, or he has no hope. Yes he chases and harrasses but he appears ultra slow.

on the adelaidenow write up of the norwood game it says walker is promising but in the stats section it doesnt have him with any score at all?
did he kick 3 goals 3 or what is the story?

Reading the paper this morning it appears Tony Armstrong was BOG in the ressies against Centrals....... unless they have another Armstrong playing.

Armstrong was sensational playing off halfback. His tackling and chasing were superb, his disposal was clean and he got up the other end and kicked a couple of goals as well. Based on Fridays game he will pushing for league selection sooner rather than later.

Thats awesome, hes one guy ive never seen play and havent heard a lot about him. Sweet they are all coming on except cook but i hes been injured so thats cool

I tuned in late and they said Jacky had 6 possessions. He kicked a goal in the goal square with a few minutes remaining after a teammate dished off a handball where he was alone. Again I have to be careful of this not being too harsh because they're young thing.

Moran won the Ken Eglington Medal. :confused: :thumbsu:

Cheers mate. :thumbsu:

Great news. :)

Cheers mate. :thumbsu:

Great news. :)

If he can keep his ego in check he has the capacity to be a wonderful half back flanker or small forward.

He has very good skills and could be one of our better selections from last year.

Any news on Curnow yet?

Did he play and if he did how did he go?

If he did not play when he is likelyt ot be avialable for selction by the Bays?

Crows in the SANFL Round 5