Crows make three changes

• Thread starter Thread starter Alex99

jokes aside, the internet and things like BF mean a club can hear its supporters much more clearly than it ever has before.

I have started to wonder in general, what effect this has. in a perfect world the answer would be zero, but I wonder...

Something tells me that Craigy isn't the type of bloke to sit up at night refreshing Big Footy... :p

SANFL form? Pfeiffer's been best/second best for 3 weeks running. So I think it's safe to say he's got that area covered. Training form? So let me guess, Shirley's training form was down last week, but good enough this week to get him recalled? :thumbsu: Well I think Pfeiffer's attitude would've been good prior to 4:30 today, not sure where his attitude is right now considering he's not even in the 25. Can't be good for the attitude if you ask me.

Best/second best for NORWOOD yes? Playing against what opposition? How did his opponent fair? What position does he play, and would he play that same position for Adelaide? Where does he fit into the team structure? Has he turned up for training on time? Has he done everything that is asked of him? You don't know and can't possibly know.

You're right; I should just accept these appalling changes and not say a word. Don’t ask me the point of a forum then.

Did I say don't question changes? :confused: There is questionning, and there is being "extremely negative you know better than they do". You don't support the AFC, unless they play your precious bloody Norwood players.

So let's get this straight jenny, you think Pfeiffer isn't ready?

I don't know. I am not a selector, and neither are you (thank god). I have the utmost faith in my team's coach and selection panel. Sure I question decisions, but I would never turn on them as you have. Your behaviour in this thread has been absolutely disgraceful.

LOL! If Shirley was so good for team balance, why was he dropped last week? :) Same applies for Douglas.

So Doughty will be back next week? Wow, I look forward to next weeks selection night.

My guess is that Shirley was dropped as a warning "pick up your game, or you will be gone". No doubt Doughty is getting the same message tonight. As for Douglas, I already stated why I thought he gained position over Campbell.

Yes, Douglas’ 13 games and 11 possessions per game brings us a wealth of experience. :thumbsu:

More experience than one AFL game. Think about it. :rolleyes:

Doughty and Shirley have each been given a wake up call, it will be interesting to see how Shirley reacts to his dropping last week. Dogga will no-doubt get his opportunity next week. I think perhaps the thinking behind swapping Campbell for Douglas is that Douglas has played more games so perhaps won't be as overawed in a showdown. All else appears to be equal with them. Porps inclusion is a no-brainer.

I think Douglas is actually more likely to be overawed by showdown than Campbell. Yes Campbell has played less games, but he has a bigger body, is older, has been around league footy longer and I think he showed great composure last week. Douglas at times panics when playing AFL.

I see no point dropping Shirley and Doughty for a week only to play them the following game. They are not young and certainly aren't going to get any better. They should be passed getting dropped for a wake up call. At that age if you are not performing you should get over taken.

The fact that Shirley is selected ahead of Pfeifer is a joke, surely Pfeifer is the better player regardless of how many AFL games he has played.

Pfeiffer may turn out to be a better player, nonetheless a bit of an odd statement at this stage of proceedings!

Something tells me that Craigy isn't the type of bloke to sit up at night refreshing Big Footy... :p

Selection committee room

Noble: Pfeiffer? Played well last 3 weeks and has trained well

Jonas: Yeah I agree

Craig: Yeah but I told Robert he was struggling and to go back to WWT and get some form back

Jonas: err he was the travelling emergency

Craig: well he looked good on the plane

Burtenshaw: umm Drummonds gonna go boonta if we dont pick him

Craig: Drummond? Is he from BF?

Jonas: yeah

Craig: I remember him when I was coaching Norwood, man he used to cry like a baby

Burtenshaw: well he would have been about 2 so yeah he would have been a baby

I think Douglas is actually more likely to be overawed by showdown than Campbell. Yes Campbell has played less games, but he has a bigger body, is older, has been around league footy longer and I think he showed great composure last week. Douglas at times panics when playing AFL.

I see no point dropping Shirley and Doughty for a week only to play them the following game. They are not young and certainly aren't going to get any better. They should be passed getting dropped for a wake up call. At that age if you are not performing you should get over taken.

Got to give them the benefit of the doubt. BOTH have given terrific service to the Club over the years and both deserve a kick up the arse reminder to pull their fingers out. Time will tell if it worked or not.

Campbell may end up being a better player, but my guess is they wanted to give Douglas more game time particularly as Campbell didn't offer anything more as well as draw on a little more experience than one game.

I can't believe everyones getting stuck into Drummond over this.

Pfeiffer is better than Douglas at this time. He's more consistent in his games. He is a very very good player, god he could just swap with Torney.

He is a seriously skilled player that hasn't even made his debut, even in his first year he was carving up fist games back from injury etc.

FFS I dunno why it's taking him so long to debut, he's all class and deserves a game right now, much more than Cambell or Douglas or Shirley.

Shirley obviously comes in to tag Shaun B again. He's been in great form recently and Shirley has done the job on him in the past. It may be a negative move but it could also be a match winning move. Shauns kicked 8 goals in the past two weeks. Keep him goalless and theres a big chance youll win.
I reckon that is it. Basically we have no one else I can think of apart from Goody to play on SB ... & he will be needed for C Cornes. VB would have been another possibility but is running on empty, so I would like him play off a HBF (to release Stiffy/Macca up forward). Shirley should be fired up to do well after being dropped last week.

Selection committee room

Noble: Pfeiffer? Played well last 3 weeks and has trained well

Jonas: Yeah I agree

Craig: Yeah but I told Robert he was struggling and to go back to WWT and get some form back

Jonas: err he was the travelling emergency

Craig: well he looked good on the plane

Burtenshaw: umm Drummonds gonna go boonta if we dont pick him

Craig: Drummond? Is he from BF?

Jonas: yeah

Craig: I remember him when I was coaching Norwood, man he used to cry like a baby

Burtenshaw: well he would have been about 2 so yeah he would have been a baby

that is brilliant. ahh craigy at norwood. i remember those days... tractor prime, primus, patto.. and lycra!

Just like to add I think Port are going in too short up forward. I think you are a fair chance to win this game.
You will start Lade up forward & have far more options than us (Ebert, Motlop, Westhoff, etc). Also, you won't miss Tredders as much as it will be wet - in fact you are in front compared to most showdowns as he would have only be towelled up by Rutten. ;)

Best/second best for NORWOOD yes? Playing against what opposition? How did his opponent fair? What position does he play, and would he play that same position for Adelaide? Where does he fit into the team structure? Has he turned up for training on time? Has he done everything that is asked of him? You don't know and can't possibly know.
So now you’re going to go off on these ridiculous trails in order to make the AFC’s decision look right? He’s played in defence/wing, on some quality opponents such as Josh Mahoney where he held him goalless. Mattner will play in defence again this week, and continue to have clanger after clanger. But I guess Pfeiffer isn’t good enough to take over Mattner’s role of constant turnovers.

I can’t believe you’re asking if he’s turned up to training on time. Why not shut this place down because about 0.01% of the forum would have answers to these stupid questions. How about we just assume he has, is that alright jenny? Let’s just look at what we do know, he’s been the best performer of anyone who’s been out of the team in the past 3 weeks, and therefore he should be playing.

Did I say don't question changes? :confused: There is questionning, and there is being "extremely negative you know better than they do". You don't support the AFC, unless they play your precious bloody Norwood players.
As much as you might like to believe otherwise you don’t question anything. Can’t have that can we jenny?

I don't know. I am not a selector, and neither are you (thank god). I have the utmost faith in my team's coach and selection panel. Sure I question decisions, but I would never turn on them as you have. Your behaviour in this thread has been absolutely disgraceful.
Oh yes, than God I’m not a selector! We’ve lost 3 in a row, but the current guys can do no wrong! I would have Pfeiffer in this week, I would have retained Campbell, and I would have dropped Doughty and Mattner. Those changes would’ve ruined this team!

My guess is that Shirley was dropped as a warning "pick up your game, or you will be gone". No doubt Doughty is getting the same message tonight. As for Douglas, I already stated why I thought he gained position over Campbell.
Couldn’t he send them these warnings before game day? Couldn’t he have demanded them to lift their performances weeks ago when we still had a shot at playing finals football?

More experience than one AFL game. Think about it. :rolleyes:
Yes, more experience than Campbell, but Douglas hardly looks cool and composed out there doesn't he? But tell me this, why did Campbell even play last week if he is only dropped now to "lack of experience"?

it's like advertising, who says anything comes from one source?

it's often multiple touches with a message. And I mean in general, that the drums of the supporter beat louder now than ever before.

I think it would be hard to ignore, all the time. although perhaps they should.

And I mean in general, that the drums of the supporter beat louder now than ever before.

Are you refering to the drumming of Drummond's drums...

The point being Drummond, that there is a whole picture that we are not privvy to. I asked those question not knowing the answers, I assumed you wouldn't either. Clearly you don't.

All you see is NORWOOD. What you fail to look at is team structure. You just believe that this player is playing well in SANFL and that player is playing poorly for the AFL, automatic swap. It's never that simple Drummond.

FFS, start supporting the Crows. You are forever bad mouthing the coach, the panel, the players (that you don't like) and very very rarely say anything positive unless it has to do with Norwood players. You would have to be one of the most disappointing supporters I have ever come across.

FWIW, I constantly question things, (possibly why I get caught up in a few arguments in here :o). The difference between how I (and most others in here) question and how you do is marked.

Everyone in here (and their dogs) have been calling for Doughty and Shirley to have their "gold tickets" - GOD I HATE THAT SAYING - taken away and when they have, you bitch. They were never going to be dropped for good without warning. If dropping them for a week makes them play better I'm all for it. If it doesn't, then they have no-one else to blame when they are dropped for good.

Got to give them the benefit of the doubt. BOTH have given terrific service to the Club over the years and both deserve a kick up the arse reminder to pull their fingers out. Time will tell if it worked or not.

Campbell may end up being a better player, but my guess is they wanted to give Douglas more game time particularly as Campbell didn't offer anything more as well as draw on a little more experience than one game.

How can it work? They have given terrific service in terms of effort and dedication but they have only given adequate service in terms of performance...not the type of service in my mind that deserves additional chances. IF you are not the best option, sentiment does not come into it...obviously the club believe Shirley is worth perservering with...i don't. He had a short purple patch earlier in the season but has now reverted to worse than he ever was. Both are average players, no more no less. This is the AFL. The AFC should care about winning premierships. Doughty and Shirley have had their whole careers to perform. There is nothing to suggest they deserve a 'wake-up' call as if they are going to return as consistently very good players contributing to a premiership team.

I am a Douglas (and Glenelg) fan regarding his potential but he has looked hopelessly out of his depth at times this year. It seems to me his development would be best served by another big pre-season to get his body ready to compete on-ball with confidence. BUT if the club believe his development is best served this year by playing him for heaven's sake be consistent and keep him in for the next 5 weeks.

Dropping Campbell after 1 week is truly bizzare, unless he has some undisclosed injury. I haven't seen heaps of him bar glimpses on TV but I'd love to see him given a decent shot as i reckon he has way more upside than Shirley and Doughty for starters and could actually provide the Bode role up forward that we have not got right yet (Porps and Vince are different styles and Douglas provides minimal defensive action).

Players are meant to be resilient but they are only human, and sport is often a confidence game. So for mine, players that have had their confidence unfairly screwed over this year:

Massie
Mattner
Campbell

Add Pfeiffer to that list if he doesn't get a game next week. Pity, cos despite being his first game he would have added ideal depth to the mid-sized defender options against that power forward line (Ebert, Krak., Rodan...). Got the feeling an out-of-form Johncock, loose attacking McLeod, out-of-position Mattner and confidence-ruined Massie may leave us a little vulnerable.

I reckon that is it. Basically we have no one else I can think of apart from Goody to play on SB ... & he will be needed for C Cornes. VB would have been another possibility but is running on empty, so I would like him play off a HBF (to release Stiffy/Macca up forward). Shirley should be fired up to do well after being dropped last week.

IF VB is actually running on empty, rest him! Cannot afford a guy running on empty playing HBF. If there is any truth to this, bring in Pfeiffer for HBF ASAP.

So now you’re going to go off on these ridiculous trails in order to make the AFC’s decision look right? He’s played in defence/wing, on some quality opponents such as Josh Mahoney where he held him goalless. Mattner will play in defence again this week, and continue to have clanger after clanger. But I guess Pfeiffer isn’t good enough to take over Mattner’s role of constant turnovers.

I can’t believe you’re asking if he’s turned up to training on time. Why not shut this place down because about 0.01% of the forum would have answers to these stupid questions. How about we just assume he has, is that alright jenny? Let’s just look at what we do know, he’s been the best performer of anyone who’s been out of the team in the past 3 weeks, and therefore he should be playing.

As much as you might like to believe otherwise you don’t question anything. Can’t have that can we jenny?

Oh yes, than God I’m not a selector! We’ve lost 3 in a row, but the current guys can do no wrong! I would have Pfeiffer in this week, I would have retained Campbell, and I would have dropped Doughty and Mattner. Those changes would’ve ruined this team!

Couldn’t he send them these warnings before game day? Couldn’t he have demanded them to lift their performances weeks ago when we still had a shot at playing finals football?

Yes, more experience than Campbell, but Douglas hardly looks cool and composed out there doesn't he? But tell me this, why did Campbell even play last week if he is only dropped now to "lack of experience"?

wst_supp.jpg

IF VB is actually running on empty, rest him! Cannot afford a guy running on empty playing HBF. If there is any truth to this, bring in Pfeiffer for HBF ASAP.
He is struggling in the midfield in the last few weeks & I reckon a return to a HBF could give him a new lease of life.

How can it work? They have given terrific service in terms of effort and dedication but they have only given adequate service in terms of performance...not the type of service in my mind that deserves additional chances. IF you are not the best option, sentiment does not come into it...obviously the club believe Shirley is worth perservering with...i don't. He had a short purple patch earlier in the season but has now reverted to worse than he ever was. Both are average players, no more no less. This is the AFL. The AFC should care about winning premierships. Doughty and Shirley have had their whole careers to perform. There is nothing to suggest they deserve a 'wake-up' call as if they are going to return as consistently very good players contributing to a premiership team.

I am a Douglas (and Glenelg) fan regarding his potential but he has looked hopelessly out of his depth at times this year. It seems to me his development would be best served by another big pre-season to get his body ready to compete on-ball with confidence. BUT if the club believe his development is best served this year by playing him for heaven's sake be consistent and keep him in for the next 5 weeks.

Dropping Campbell after 1 week is truly bizzare, unless he has some undisclosed injury. I haven't seen heaps of him bar glimpses on TV but I'd love to see him given a decent shot as i reckon he has way more upside than Shirley and Doughty for starters and could actually provide the Bode role up forward that we have not got right yet (Porps and Vince are different styles and Douglas provides minimal defensive action).

Players are meant to be resilient but they are only human, and sport is often a confidence game. So for mine, players that have had their confidence unfairly screwed over this year:

Massie
Mattner
Campbell

Add Pfeiffer to that list if he doesn't get a game next week. Pity, cos despite being his first game he would have added ideal depth to the mid-sized defender options against that power forward line (Ebert, Krak., Rodan...). Got the feeling an out-of-form Johncock, loose attacking McLeod, out-of-position Mattner and confidence-ruined Massie may leave us a little vulnerable.

Footy is a strange game... if it works for this week (and he shuts Burgoyne down and we win) then it will be worth it. ;):thumbsu: I agree that neither of these players are the future of the club, and in all likelihood will be gone next year. I do however believe that Neil Craig is still trying to get into the finals. Otherwise he'd be playing all the young fellas. Dropping Campbell after half a game, is no more bizarre than dropping Jericho after what had been his best ever game for the club. They do it because they do what they think is best for the match-ups and team structure on the day.

I do however believe that Neil Craig is still trying to get into the finals. Otherwise he'd be playing all the young fellas.

:thumbsu: Finally some sense. This should be obvious to everyone.

Will we make the finals? Probably not. But who knows. If Craig gets us there then we will all be singing his praises because he didn't "jump the gun" and give up the season too early.

It seems that some of the people here are only happy when everything is going swimmingly and we're 3 games clear on top of the ladder. Football doesn't work that way all the time.

Drummond, could you post your 22 to play port as you would have them line up on Saturday night?

The point being Drummond, that there is a whole picture that we are not privvy to. I asked those question not knowing the answers, I assumed you wouldn't either. Clearly you don't.
What didn’t I know? I know his opponents/where he played ect. The only thing I can’t comment on is whether he’s turned up to training on time which is a stupid question. Did Doughty not show up on time this week? Was Shirley late last week, but on time this week? See how pointless these questions are?

All you see is NORWOOD. What you fail to look at is team structure. You just believe that this player is playing well in SANFL and that player is playing poorly for the AFL, automatic swap. It's never that simple Drummond.
OK jenny. So Mattner’s a great defender and in good form is he? Last week he gave away a couple of stupid frees, as well as being run down deep in defence which cost us a goal. Not to mention his inability to stop his opponent. Pfeiffer’s been playing great in defence and has a build that allows him to play at the top level. I think this was a very realistic swap.

FFS, start supporting the Crows. You are forever bad mouthing the coach, the panel, the players (that you don't like) and very very rarely say anything positive unless it has to do with Norwood players. You would have to be one of the most disappointing supporters I have ever come across.
I will continue to support the Crows, but the changes to the team were just ridiculous. Go back and look at my review of the game last week, I praised Gill, Perrie, Welsh and I gave POTY votes. I’m not always negative, only when the teams come out and they will do no favours to our chances of winning.

FWIW, I constantly question things, (possibly why I get caught up in a few arguments in here :o). The difference between how I (and most others in here) question and how you do is marked.
You're only in arguments because you DON’T question things, others do, and you bag them.

Everyone in here (and their dogs) have been calling for Doughty and Shirley to have their "gold tickets" - GOD I HATE THAT SAYING - taken away and when they have, you bitch. They were never going to be dropped for good without warning. If dropping them for a week makes them play better I'm all for it. If it doesn't, then they have no-one else to blame when they are dropped for good.
I'm glad Shirley was dropped last week, not glad he's back in. I'm glad Doughty has been dropped, won't be glad if he's back next week.

jenny, you would think the Crows are sitting comfortably in the top 4 the way you carry on. Fact is this team is massively underperforming and we’re not going to make the finals. We’re on a 3 game losing streak and have lost 6 of our past 8 games. We’re really struggling at present so how bringing in Pfeiffer would make this team any worse is beyond me. Instead we're bringing in the same guys who are partially responsible for our bad form.

so basically your saying every year neil craig will try the same old players week in week out until its mathematically impossible to make the finals.. and then the last couple of rounds bring in a youngster or 2.. gee wot an exciting future we have.

:thumbsu: Finally some sense. This should be obvious to everyone.

Will we make the finals? Probably not. But who knows. If Craig gets us there then we will all be singing his praises because he didn't "jump the gun" and give up the season too early.

It seems that some of the people here are only happy when everything is going swimmingly and we're 3 games clear on top of the ladder. Football doesn't work that way all the time.

If we fall out of the finals race, we have a right to do a Drummond if the youngsters aren't given a go on mass & rest all the players carrying niggling injuries.