Crows plan Walker talks! (Part 2)

• Thread starter Thread starter Crow-mo

Lots of people ignoring the fact that Harper was quoted as saying they're confident of reopening talks with his management at the end of June here in their haste to argue about how much Taylor is worth or how lazy he is.

We got 22 blokes playing like Betty White out there.

Sorry but you are losing it, my post was after you had another dig at Walker when you said you would back off with the repetitive boring jibes.

How are they boring jibes???? They are my opinions. Seeing as he was dropped for 2 weeks they must also be the opinion of the people that count.

As a forward Walker is good but those days are gone,football has changed.

How are they boring jibes???? They are my opinions. Seeing as he was dropped for 2 weeks they must also be the opinion of the people that count.

As a forward Walker is good but those days are gone,football has changed.

Interesting that since he's been missing our defensive pressure hasn't changed and we are still leaking goals.

One thing in football that hasn't changed is if you kick more goals than your opposition you win.

As for boring, yes repeating your opinion over and over and over is boring.

As for whether your opinion was right because he was dropped for 2 weeks, does that mean your opinion was wrong for 7 weeks when he was considered in our best 22?:p

Saw Tex on plane flight out of Broken Hill.

If you can get an impression from just looking at him then I'd say he is staying...for now.

Also he was moving freely as far as his knee goes.

Interesting that since he's been missing our defensive pressure hasn't changed and we are still leaking goals.

One thing in football that hasn't changed is if you kick more goals than your opposition you win.

As for boring, yes repeating your opinion over and over and over is boring.

As for whether your opinion was right because he was dropped for 2 weeks, does that mean your opinion was wrong for 7 weeks when he was considered in our best 22?:p
Yeah good point ill ease up on Walker.

Just on repeating your opinion over and over is that like calling for the coach to be sacked over and over???

Yeah good point ill ease up on Walker.

Just on repeating your opinion over and over is that like calling for the coach to be sacked over and over???

It would be if it dated back to the Richmond trial game.

Saw Tex on plane flight out of Broken Hill.

If you can get an impression from just looking at him then I'd say he is staying...for now.

Also he was moving freely as far as his knee goes.

Of course he will be, I've just had surgery for the exact same thing, nice it didnt take him 6 months to get done.
You can walk on it and do heavy labor on it while you still have the injury but you can't tense your leg muscles or in heavy compression motions stabilize or your going down and it will swell up and shoot sharp pain for a while.

After the surgery you walk off the table, your in physio the next day, that just happens to be today, 6 weeks my doctor recommends.
Walker is a bit younger and has personal attention from club doctors so yeah 4-5.

No he hasn't and highly doubtful.

GC will get there before Adelaide. GWS have a much weaker draft to work from and haven't done nearly as well with their zone recruitment.

Not just that, but the Gold Coast as a region actually has appeal to attract out of contract players. GWS is going to be the AFL's white elephant, I thought it when the AFL first announced it and I still think it now. GC will be the far more successful and stronger of the two clubs in the future.

I'll wait with baited breath, but I already think the co-location has confirmed belief that the AFL is already worried about the market in that region and that they going to have games and memberships for sale in Canberra to try and boost the numbers and make them look better than what they really will be.

If they sell more than 10,000 memberships to people in NSW I'd be shocked, honestly the only way I can see GWS getting over 10,000 members is the boost from selling 4 game memberships in Canberra.

I have a source. A player that has already been approached by GWS.

I asssume that is a Crows player? If so it would be a bit silly for GWS to bang on about another Crows player they are after TO a Crows players given they can only get one from each team.

GWS are going to push the preverbial poo uphill for sometime. Why do you think the AFL expanded their poaching window and gave them the mini draft trade rights?

Would you want to live in Blacktown? Or, would you want to live in a nice part of Sydney and drive 1-2 hours to work, then the same back each day? Cost of living is much higher, and the standard of living much lower.

Now, who on the other hand would like to live on the beach, walk 5 minutes to work, be relatively anonymous if you wish to be, have the ability to walk to some nice clubs, work in the sun and get that same pay packet?

The GC got everyone they wanted because they're attractive. Who wouldnt' want to play for them? Not to mention, the zoning picks, 17 year olds and drafted kids they got are A grade.

Still confident Taylor is staying, and I imagine he's been through the above himself. Now he'd be focussed on getting back on the park, playing good footy and increasing his value before we re-sign.

At the end of the day, Harper's statement only really tells us one thing - Walker has not yet signed with GWS. All else is supposition, assumption and guesswork - and yes, I was being a bit mischievous with my previous post yesterday.

As I see it, there are several scenarios which may be playing out. I have no idea which is correct (and it may even be a scenario I haven't considered).
  • He may well be holding off, pending a decision regarding Craig's future. Craig doesn't seem to be able to get the best out of him and he may well be better off under a different coach. That said, if he displays the same work ethic under a different coach then he can probably expect even less tolerance than Craig has given him.
  • He may have been holding off in an attempt to boost his value with a break out season. This hasn't eventuated and his value has arguably fallen. Thus, he would probably be well advised to sign now, before his value can plummet even further.
  • He may have been holding off in the hope that GWS would make him an offer he couldn't refuse. The fact that his management are re-opening talks would indicate that GWS either didn't make an offer - or if they did, then it wasn't all that Walker hoped it would be. His GWS hopes dashed, his management is now forced back to the AFC's negotiation table.
I just don't understand Walker. He was one of our most impressive and hardest workers during the pre-season. He has the fitness and endurance to match our midfielders. Nobody can question his work ethic off the field - and I certainly never have. The question then is why his work ethic on the field is so poor - both offensively and defensively. If someone can answer that question, and provide a solution, then I reckon the AFC would pay them a very large sum of money indeed - because in doing so they would unlock the potential of one of our most talented players.

, I was being a bit mischievous with my previous post yesterday..

Trolling even..? ;)

, I just don't understand Walker. He was one of our most impressive and hardest workers during the pre-season. He has the fitness and endurance to match our midfielders. Nobody can question his work ethic off the field - and I certainly never have. The question then is why his work ethic on the field is so poor - both offensively and defensively. If someone can answer that question, and provide a solution, then I reckon the AFC would pay them a very large sum of money indeed .

The answer is that it isn't. It just isn't.

Trolling even..? ;)
I did put a :rolleyes: at the end of my post, to indicate that I wasn't being entirely serious.
It is and only those with blinkers on can't see it. The question is why there's such a discrepancy between his work rate off the field and on the field? That's the million dollar question.

I asssume that is a Crows player? If so it would be a bit silly for GWS to bang on about another Crows player they are after TO a Crows players given they can only get one from each team.

Nope not a Crows player. I know the year before when GC were "recruiting" they definitely used Ablett and Bock as "draw cards" to prospective players.

Trolling even..? ;)

Mate I am a big Walker fan and at times thought he was Blighty's love child conceived during a stopever in the Iron city, he was the Mesiah , however, here's the twist - at AFL level far too often he doesn't work hard enough.

I am not talking defensively, I am talking about imposing himself on games, busting his gut both leading or running down a player. Name one time where he has smashed a pack other than when he plays for Norwood - He cruises and at AFL level he can't do that and until he works as hard as he possibly can he won't reach the potential that we all had dreams of.

I want him in Crows colours for years to come when he decides he wants to give his all - I hope he doesn't go because he could be a match winner but currently he is not and most people should be able to see that.

I think Walker is an exceptional half forward flank with not enough pace, in a Key Position Players body.... Hear me out

He has one of the best legs in the AFL. He reads the play exceptionally well.
Hence why he is too good for SANFL..... But, he does not hit packs and I do not see him taking enough grabs to be the go to man of an AFL forward line.

Watch the Brisbane debacle, 1st half.... On about 4 occasions he should of at least made a strong attempt for the mark. He instead tries to run his defender under the ball and rove the spoils.

Buddy Franklin is fairness could be accused of playing a similar game. But how bloody good is Buddy's chasing. Buddy also has an aura and presence about him which Walker doesn't, yet!

I still think Walker could be anything from Carey to Cupido for what its worth, I am not writing him off at all, but to be a go to man in an AFL forward line, he needs to improve his contested marking.

I think Walker is an exceptional half forward flank with not enough pace, in a Key Position Players body.... Hear me out

He has one of the best legs in the AFL. He reads the play exceptionally well.
Hence why he is too good for SANFL..... But, he does not hit packs and I do not see him taking enough grabs to be the go to man of an AFL forward line.

Watch the Brisbane debacle, 1st half.... On about 4 occasions he should of at least made a strong attempt for the mark. He instead tries to run his defender under the ball and rove the spoils.

Buddy Franklin is fairness could be accused of playing a similar game. But how bloody good is Buddy's chasing. Buddy also has an auora and presence about him which Walker doesn't, yet!

I still think Walker could be anything from Carey to Cupido for what its worth, I am not writing him off at all, but to be a go to man in an AFL forward line, he needs to improve his contested marking.

How about we get the K-man out of there and start playing to Taylor's strengths.

His strength is not taking marks at this stage, I know that... And the way we deliver the ball he wont be getting very good service either...

His strength is getting the loose ball from 55 and off one step banging it ten rows back....