Autopsy Crows too good for Dogs (109-98)

• Thread starter Thread starter Mutt

Been plenty of footage on all of the footy shows today showing how bad our tackling was and how open our back half was on any turnover or loss of clearance. The ease with which they could enter their f50 was embarrassing. We need to change structurally firstly but also have a more defensive outfit with our personnel even if that means sacrificing some scoring. It's crystal clear a team with our defensive profile can't get near a flag.

Oliver G do U have numbers for broken tackles yesterday and how we fare in comparison to the rest of the comp for the year?

The broken tackles is a problem. It also looks like a bunch of our players are either being coached to corral rather than tackle, or are frightened that their oppo player breaks the tackle so they’re making the decision to corral on their own. I see Dale, Williams, McNeill, Bramble and at least a few others do it regularly.

It’s maybe a small thing compared to the defensive structures and personnel issues. But it seems like one thing that can be addressed in-season through technique drills and regular practice.

We lost a hard-fought game where we played below our best against a top side that I think played pretty close to their best, by just 11 points.

Mate, this is what’s incredibly frustrating and why so many are annoyed. It’s the same story every time we lose to a top 8 side. They were really good and we were below our best.

When are we going to be at our best?

Coaches Votes

Western Bulldogs v Adelaide​

9 Marcus Bontempelli WB
9 Riley Thilthorpe ADEL
6 Jordan Dawson ADEL
2 Ed Richards WB
2 Daniel Curtin ADEL
2 Reilly O'Brien ADEL

Mate, this is what’s incredibly frustrating and why so many are annoyed. It’s the same story every time we lose to a top 8 side. They were really good and we were below our best.

When we get a new coach.

Coaches Votes

Western Bulldogs v Adelaide​

9 Marcus Bontempelli WB
9 Riley Thilthorpe ADEL
6 Jordan Dawson ADEL
2 Ed Richards WB
2 Daniel Curtin ADEL
2 Reilly O'Brien ADEL
Dark 5 goals for Naughty and not even 1 vote

Well early in the season the reason that we weren't at our best was very clear; injuries to key players.
It's arguable we played at or close to our best with the teams we had on the park in most instances.

With some minor adjustments I think we are capable of beating anyone, we just need to keep searching for our best combination with the players available.

Finally had a chance to watch Kanos chat with Sarah Ollie….

He truly is a muppet

He speaks about Sydney and their match winners like Hayward, Heeney and how good they are getting Sydney over the line and keeping their slim finals hopes alive…they barely beat Stk….who we’ve torched twice by big margins and while he’s saying that, he’s calling us flat track bullies and who did we just beat in Syd….thats right, Syd….with all their players back

Kano is a dickhead. Don’t be like Kano

So Kano calls us Flat Track Bullies - I take that as a badge of honour.

Why? Because my first 5 years as a member we won about 7 games. Almost every week clubs like Carlton, Collingwood, Essendon, Richmond, North Melbourne, and South Melbourne took turns embarrassing us by 15 to 30 goals.

When we did win it was a 1 or 2 point win against fellow pathetic teams like St Kilda, Melbourne or Fitzroy.

So watching us destroy St Kilda twice by 12 goals, Essendon and Richmond by heaps, North by 8 goals, the Bloods by 9 points, and Carlton when they we're shot has been VERY enjoyable.

Would I like to get a win or 2 against Johnny Come Lately clubs like Adelaide, Gold Coast and Fremantle - absolutely, not to mention that any win against the Magpies and Cats is ALWAYS a great win - I would love to but a team is just a little too out of balance - all attack with not much out back.

Would I like to win another flag - sure - but I thought I would never see one in my lifetime, and while we have the Bont and Sam Darcy we are going to be challenging for a finals berth for a decade, and that is not too shabby.

Exactly what the club wants. Be happy we've 'made finals' even if we dont go anywhere.
Let’s not make a conspiracy out of it mate. I’m pretty sure the club aren’t plotting for the team to just make finals to keep the supporters happy. Is bevo getting a directive from the board to “play well enough to make finals, but bow out in the first elimination.”?