Crows v Blues...

I see this game as a genuine challenge for us. I watched Carlton beat the Bullies yesterday courtesy of Foxtel and quite frankly, they played very good footy.

Their mid-field is good although their rucks are average. As the game went on their mid-field became more and more dominant and they moved the ball on quickly and well, finally running all over the Bullies.

Then of course they have Fevola. A match-winner at his best and a curse at his worst.

The key to this game will be to win the mid-field and reduce the influence of Judd, Stevens, Scotland, Murphy, Gibbs and Simpson.

If we do this, we'll shut down Fevola's supply, and IMO win the game.

Not an easy one - far from it - but Adelaide in the end by 17 points.

Although we have the team to beat Carlton, I'm not 100% confident. We had the team to beat Port and screwed it up badly, and Carlton are just coming off beating one of the best sides in the competition. I think we will probably win... I just can't get that image of Fevola kicking the winning goal from the boundary line out of my head... :eek:

GIBBS!!!!!!!!!!

adelaide to have control over us for the first 3/4, but ultimately your team wont be able to stop our midfield class, as we overrun you in the last quarter and win! :cool:

please refresh my memory, isn't this the same tripe we heard prior to the last game we played

from memory

wasn't it the crows that over ran this so called midfield class on the last occassion

mate

this week it will not be a case of uncontested circle work in perfect TD conditions

I have noticed Carlton play pretty good footy at the TD when conditions are perfect

Rather the 'G. We actually don't play that well at the Dome and our record shows it. Will be an interesting game this week, could go either way... while Burton is a huge loss for you guys, you have the talent and depth to cover him. I am more worried about your midfield as they killed us last time.

I don't think we'll have any real problems dealing with the Blues. I watched us beat them at the G earlier in the year and am expecting more of the same.

Yes, we are missing Burton but he frustrated the hell out of me during that game - always trying to do too much. Even those people who would suggest that the Blues' midfield is better than ours would have to realise that our defence shits all over their forwards. If Truck/Bock/Moran can restrict Fev, I don't see where their goals will come from.

Dry weather = us by 10-20 points.
Wet weather = our bigger bodies will blow the margin out to 40.

Rather the 'G. We actually don't play that well at the Dome and our record shows it. Will be an interesting game this week, could go either way... while Burton is a huge loss for you guys, you have the talent and depth to cover him. I am more worried about your midfield as they killed us last time.

I would suggest that ground records are a useless stat, except for this year you guys have not played well anywhere

mate, nice to hear a Blue supporter actually rate our midfield, most of your supporters would not have a clue who some of our young midfielders are

see now this shits me 2 games for the entire year not in melbounre meanwhile we've travelled all over the bloody country!

That's just a ridiculous post.

Of course we're going to play the vast majority of our games in Melbourne, and you will of course be travelling a fair bit every season. We play the same home and away split as every other team in the competition. Go on, blame us for there being another 9 Victorian teams :rolleyes:

Anyway, looking forward to a good game. Our win over the Bulldogs shows that we can beat most sides when we're firing - it's just a matter of us showing up and playing good football. We tend to play well over at AAMI, and I think you'll struggle to kick goals, with Burton out. Having said that, I still think you'll win - but there's no doubt we will make a game out of it, and in all honesty, it wouldn't surprise me if we got over the line.

Looking forward to the day a few Victorian clubs collapse and crumble.

Once this happens the AFL will start to resemble an even competition.

If the Crows are required to travel at least 10 away games every season so should Victorian teams.

That being the case I know mathematics does not allow this.

But why should we not have more home games and Victorian teams that only play non-Victorian teams once not have to play that game outside Victoria.

For example the Pies should have been made to play the Crows at AAMI and not in Melbourne !

I would suggest that ground records are a useless stat, except for this year you guys have not played well anywhere

Nah. When I mean bad, I mean very bad... to put it another way, more likely worse than anywhere else. ;)

mate, nice to hear a Blue supporter actually rate our midfield, most of your supporters would not have a clue who some of our young midfielders are

I certainly rate your midfield. They are hard working and accountable... we will need to match you there if we are to have any chance.

Of course we're going to play the vast majority of our games in Melbourne, and you will of course be travelling a fair bit every season. We play the same home and away split as every other team in the competition. Go on, blame us for there being another 9 Victorian teams :rolleyes:

Although true about being another 9 clubs in Victoria, but why do you have to play the majority of them each season?

At least you get to see your club at least 18 games live per year irrespective of whether your the visiting team or not.

Why not play every club outside of Victoria at their home ground and try and see what real travelling is all about eh?

Although true about being another 9 clubs in Victoria, but why do you have to play the majority of them each season?

At least you get to see your club at least 18 games live per year irrespective of whether your the visiting team or not.

Why not play every club outside of Victoria at their home ground and try and see what real travelling is all about eh?

That sounds WAY too logical a solution! ;)

Pfffft.

The Crows had a list of players agreed by the AFL as eligible for Father/Son consideration with Gibb's name included on that list ... until the power-brokers at some never-to-be-named Melbourne-based clubs decided that the Crows shouldn't get Father/Son picks. Now the youngest father on the Crows father/son list, who played SANFL rahter than play for the Crows, is about 60 years old.

The powers-that-be in Melborune said "No Father/Son for YOU ... only for US!".

How exactly have Carlton paid any price at all for that behaviour as yet?

Mate, I as a supporter had nil to do with all the cheating that the club did re the cap rorting. Having said that I have had to endure endless beatings over the past 6 years, but still went along anyway, regardless of knowing before hand that we would be flogged. I estimate that I have seen us lose about 80 times in person over that period.

So dont get on your bloody high horse and tell me that we havent copped our whack.

Re the Father Son rule, you are reaching there pal. If I remember correctly there is a SA member on the commission which makes these bloody rules, perhaps you should take it up with him!

Some of the other stuff I have been reading on this thread about home ground advanctage, and how Adelaide have to travel more than VIC teams, at least you have a genuinie home ground advantage for your home games, pretty much guaranteeing you a genuine shot at the finals every year, most of our home games there is no bloody advantage. I read that we should travel to every interstate team and play them on their home ground. Not a bad idea, as long as the interstate teams played their home games in Darwin, therefore a neutral venue.

Crows supporters are generally pretty balanced in tehir views, thats why I started this thread, wish I hadnt bothered now, getting as bad as your friends from Alberton Oval.

Mate, I as a supporter had nil to do with all the cheating that the club did re the cap rorting. Having said that I have had to endure endless beatings over the past 6 years, but still went along anyway, regardless of knowing before hand that we would be flogged. I estimate that I have seen us lose about 80 times in person over that period.

So dont get on your bloody high horse and tell me that we havent copped our whack.

Re the Father Son rule, you are reaching there pal. If I remember correctly there is a SA member on the commission which makes these bloody rules, perhaps you should take it up with him!

Some of the other stuff I have been reading on this thread about home ground advanctage, and how Adelaide have to travel more than VIC teams, at least you have a genuinie home ground advantage for your home games, pretty much guaranteeing you a genuine shot at the finals every year, most of our home games there is no bloody advantage. I read that we should travel to every interstate team and play them on their home ground. Not a bad idea, as long as the interstate teams played their home games in Darwin, therefore a neutral venue.

Crows supporters are generally pretty balanced in tehir views, thats why I started this thread, wish I hadnt bothered now, getting as bad as your friends from Alberton Oval.

Yes because its the Crows fans who are ruining the thread :rolleyes:

nice to take the easy way out and blame the Crows fans. We wish you hadn't started the thread either, if you haven't noticed we have been able to have weekly threads called "face off" threads which have always been a great read with both sets of supporters putting their two cents in

It just seems Carlton fans can't help themseves in being annoying little ********s.

I see this game as a genuine challenge for us. I watched Carlton beat the Bullies yesterday courtesy of Foxtel and quite frankly, they played very good footy.

Their mid-field is good although their rucks are average. As the game went on their mid-field became more and more dominant and they moved the ball on quickly and well, finally running all over the Bullies.

Then of course they have Fevola. A match-winner at his best and a curse at his worst.

The key to this game will be to win the mid-field and reduce the influence of Judd, Stevens, Scotland, Murphy, Gibbs and Simpson.

If we do this, we'll shut down Fevola's supply, and IMO win the game.

Not an easy one - far from it - but Adelaide in the end by 17 points.

Spot on Macca.

Rooster Lad - I admire your SANFL loyalty to go to Noralunga ot watch North rather than the Crows. Will be bloody freezing down there. What are North's chacnes? I think they may have bottomed out and should probably do it quite easily.

Hmm what a load of shit Jeremias.

Carlton play 4 interstate games this year (only 1 in the first 10 rounds)

I don't care what you say but that's bullshit.

Try playing in Subi twice, AAMI twice, SCG, GABBA, SS & Aurora all in one season and see where you'd be on the ladder. You wouldn't know what ****in hit ya if you actually had to travel interstate more than 4 times a year.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=435739&highlight=Adelaide

That's the Carl v Adel thread in Round 6 from your board.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=436093&highlight=Carlton

And that's the thread from our board in Round 6.

Both threads were 300+ posts long and both supporters were dishing it out equally so don't give me this "you're as bad as your friends from Alberton" rubbish. Take a look thru some of those threads as well mate and I think you'll find it's the Carlton fans being annoying little shits and carrying on about how their midfield is superior to ours and rah rah rah.

Woulda thought Carlton fans would have learnt their lesson after the utter shit they posted last time.

Oh and lol, Carlton already talking prelim finals ... :D

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=470101

Hmm what a load of shit Jeremias.

Carlton play 4 interstate games this year (only 1 in the first 10 rounds)

I don't care what you say but that's bullshit.

Try playing in Subi twice, AAMI twice, SCG, GABBA, SS & Aurora all in one season and see where you'd be on the ladder. You wouldn't know what ****in hit ya if you actually had to travel interstate more than 4 times a year.

How is this our fault? You get two showdowns every year for the same reason we have more melbourne games. Cold hard cash. Gimmie a 30 game season playing everyone home and away anyday.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=435739&highlight=Adelaide

That's the Carl v Adel thread in Round 6 from your board.

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=436093&highlight=Carlton

And that's the thread from our board in Round 6.

Both threads were 300+ posts long and both supporters were dishing it out equally so don't give me this "you're as bad as your friends from Alberton" rubbish. Take a look thru some of those threads as well mate and I think you'll find it's the Carlton fans being annoying little shits and carrying on about how their midfield is superior to ours and rah rah rah.

Woulda thought Carlton fans would have learnt their lesson after the utter shit they posted last time.

Oh and lol, Carlton already talking prelim finals ... :D

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=470101

The best thing about those threads is the Carlton supporters talking up Cameron Cloke and Kreuzer as way superior ruckmen to Griffin and Tippett:rolleyes:

Griff comes out and gets 35 tap outs and Tippett gets as many tap outs as Cloke and Kreuzer put together:eek:

Season is on the line for both clubs this week I reckon. Should be a beauty, wont be any more than 15 points in it either way.

Blues to get up in front of a packed house at AAMI by 12 pts, Fev to get 5, and dare I say it, Gibbs to be BOG.

Go Blues.

You lost all credibility when you said it would be a packed house :eek:

Spot on Macca.

Rooster Lad - I admire your SANFL loyalty to go to Noralunga ot watch North rather than the Crows. Will be bloody freezing down there. What are North's chacnes? I think they may have bottomed out and should probably do it quite easily.

I haven't missed a Noarlunga game for years, call me crazy as it is a long drive and the weather is crap. In about 01 or 02 maybe, I got there 20mins late and we were already 5 goals down, that was an awesome day.

North are up and down this season so we could win by 10 or lose by 5 or 6, it's hard to say but I will be able to tell in the first 5 minutes. I just hope they put the scores up on the scoreboard (which has a massive light tower blocking the view if you are on the opposite hill) as there are no other SANFL games on.

It's typical that the only game on has to be a North match which clashes with a big game for the Crows. My teams are on 1 game winning streaks (yay) so hoping to make that 2 each this Saturday arvo.

The best thing about those threads is the Carlton supporters talking up Cameron Cloke and Kreuzer as way superior ruckmen to Griffin and Tippett:rolleyes:

Griff comes out and gets 35 tap outs and Tippett gets as many tap outs as Cloke and Kreuzer put together:eek:

Way superior is pretty ridiculous but their ruckmen are hardly duds, we better keep a close eye on Kreuzer this week, especially around goal.

fryingpan............. they need to win most of their remaining games (starting this week) to even make the finals yet they will finish 5th and then stroll into a prelim final hahaha. These crap teams, as soon as they start to win they get so damn arrogant. Crows; you better put them in their place this week.

You lost all credibility when you said it would be a packed house :eek:

Ummm, why. I went to AAMI back in 2004 when we played there, god knows we were half the team we are now and the place was packed then.

Why wont the ground be full?

Crows v Blues...