Game Day Crows v Carlton, can we overcome Nicks?

I've used that, years ago --- expect multiple weeds from quality undigested seeds :grimacing:.

An ex-Italian mate works sheep dung into his soil pre-Spring and turns it over regularly.
His tomatoes (much later, of course) look, smell and taste like REAL tomatoes (not photoshopped):

View attachment 2303113

Foodland tomatoes (January 2025):

View attachment 2303114

See? I am more interested in your veggie garden than today's game :laughv1:. Apologies; others won't be.
But I'll watch the game in my NSW Outback Motel, anyway.

The difference is unbelievable. That's why nowadays better off growing your own fruit n veg if you can.

There was a play up against the Suns where he broke a couple of tackles and put through a dribble goal that season and I thought this guy has got it. Has he been Nicksed?
Probably.

Do you remember the first 3 games of this year? I was at the NM game at AO.
I reckon the passion/spirit and flair has gone since the Suns game, or maybe they finally see Nicks for the fraud that he is.

We struggled defensively over the first few games so now we’ve gone back to trying to defend at all costs. It robs us of our strengths and highlights our weaknesses, we still struggle to defend consistently and can’t score ourselves.

The coaches have been unable to bring a balance to our game between offence and defence.

If the team that beat us last week comfortably only kicked 5 goals last night..
To be fair, they got most of those 5 goals very late after the game was completely over

So it's actually worse

We struggled defensively over the first few games so now we’ve gone back to trying to defend at all costs. It robs us of our strengths and highlights our weaknesses, we still struggle to defend consistently and can’t score ourselves.
If only there was some warning available to the coaches that this might happen

Probably.

Do you remember the first 3 games of this year? I was at the NM game at AO.
I reckon the passion/spirit and flair has gone since the Suns game, or maybe they finally see Nicks for the fraud that he is.
Yes! I was excited and full of hope for the rest of the season. That hope and excitement has disappeared, and I don't have any expectations now. It is so hard to barrack for and support the Crows nowadays. :(

The coaches have been unable to bring a balance to our game between offence and defence.
And our new method of defending seems to be to concede the front half of the ground and overload the back half. Then we compress the ground to a small area, get boxed in and pressured and can't move the ball out to score.

Continually last week it was backwards handball, backwards handball, dump kick out of the 50. Having guys like Laird and Milera being big ball handlers down there certainly isn't helping us be aggressive with our ball movement back there either.

Friday Night Footy….

At 11:15pm 🤪

In University days…okay this is the sweet spot….

30 years later…not so much

🤣

Yes! I was excited and full of hope for the rest of the season. That hope and excitement has disappeared, and I don't have any expectations now. It is so hard to barrack for and support the Crows nowadays. :(

Injury hit bombers and saints and then north Melbourne. At full strength we beat them like you’d expect any team vying for 6th-12th to do. Not sure why people thought we were heading to the pointy end based on those results.

Like a lot of sides around the 6th to 14th area, these 2 sides are very unpredictable.

Their recent form however, is better than ours.

We just don't know which Crows will show up today, Crouch out balances the midfield better and Buttsy is a pretty solid replacement for Murray. Don't necessarily mind the Berry inclusion, he'll fight and scrap all day unless the rest of our midfield in the last few weeks. Draper out is disappointing and 99% of us have the same mindset on the Smith inclusion.... I just hope he doesn't have too bad of a day.

The only real worry I have matchup wise, and it's a big worry.... is TDK against ROB, i think each side otherwise are pretty evenly matched across the board.

Big day here - Husband is mad Carlton… here’s hoping for Gather Round 23 style start. Sat behind the city end goals that night. Was lots of fun for me with footballs (🤣) flying over head. Didn’t see the husband for most of that game 😂😜
Missus is Carlton...we were there too...I think she's only seen them beat us once - here's hoping that stays the same. Unfortunately, I suspect she'll have the last laugh tonight. I'm even more worried after our performance last week against the Dockers (who really belted us in the midfield), and seeing their game last night. Alarm bells are ringing...

We are like Freo. Awful one week, get battered in the media and by fans, then come out firing the next week.

If we can't win at home 90% of the time, we won't make finals because we struggle away (except Round 2).

Crows to win this week but lose the Pear and Pies.

And our new method of defending seems to be to concede the front half of the ground and overload the back half. Then we compress the ground to a small area, get boxed in and pressured and can't move the ball out to score.

Continually last week it was backwards handball, backwards handball, dump kick out of the 50. Having guys like Laird and Milera being big ball handlers down there certainly isn't helping us be aggressive with our ball movement back there either.

Laughed all preseason when people describe Milera as having speed, breaking lines and an elite leg. If he has any of these attributes they’re not deployed game day, but I bet he’s awesome at training.

Game Day Crows v Carlton, can we overcome Nicks?