Crows v Kangaroos

Thats exactly why we should play him now Shinners.
Why wait for the real stuff if hes fit?

Should be a good game against North.
By all accounts Deano is backing his charges which is a good thing when your'e bonding as a new group.

One thing we wont want to be is leg weary.
...maybe North by a whisker over the sapped Crows who may be reeling from the trip North
:(

Okay. With the absolutely sh*t house news that Welshy has pulled an abductor muscle and is back on the injury list. this is how I think we'll line up.

FF: Bode, Perrie, Burns
HF: Edwards, Stevens, Ladhams
C: Burton, Stenglein, Doughty
HB: Torney, McGregor, Johnc ock
FB: Smart, Bassett, Hart
R: Clarke, Goodwin, McLeod
I: Biglands, Bickley, Gallagher , Reilly, Rutten, Mattner
E: Shirley, Crowell, Schuback

Not sure about Crowell's fitness. If he was 100% he could take Rutten's place on the bench, but I doubt that he will be 100%.

Not sure about Bass either, he didnt look too good on the news tonight. Stinga could be the only addition.

Jerome

Originally posted by Davo75
All of your obsessions with naming a line up for a minor game like this semi final makes me want to puke!!!!

/B]

Totally uncool.

I hope you don't have a whinge later in the year saying "why isnt this player getting game, he's playing well in the SANFL" cause I'm gonna throw your post right back at ya!

Jerome

Originally posted by macca23
Okay. With the absolutely sh*t house news that Welshy has pulled an abductor muscle and is back on the injury list. this is how I think we'll line up.

Not sure about Crowell's fitness. If he was 100% he could take Rutten's place on the bench, but I doubt that he will be 100%.

YEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!!!! Gags is back in!!!!!!:D

Welshy's injury is definetly sh*t house news:mad: I think you will find Schuback is set to miss another 2-3 weeks. If Bassett doesn't make it I really would like us to play Rutten at FB for a whole game. Overall, should be a good game. It would be interesting to see what effect the trip to Darwin had on us.

Will be close to the line-up with the Crows looking to bring Stenglein, Bassett & Crowell in. So I expect Rutten or Mattner to drop out.

FWIW here is my side for the match against the roos. I promise this is the last time this week:D

FF: _ 10. Matthew Bode _ 22. Ian Perrie _ 40. Chris Ladhams
HF: _ 9. Tyson Edwards _ 19. Mark Stevens _ 5. Ronnie Burns
C: _ 21. James Gallagher _ 20. Tyson Stenglein _ 24. Brett Burton
HB: _ 15. Jason Torney _ 16. Ken McGregor _ 34. Ben Hart
FB: _ 7. Nigel Smart _ 8. Nathan Bassett _ 18. Graham John****
1R: _ 4. Matthew Clarke _ 36. Simon Goodwin _ 23. Andrew McLeod

Int: _ 35. Rhett Biglands _ 26. Mark Bickley _ 11. Michael Doughty
____ 33. Brent Reilly _ 25. Ben Rutten _ 39. Martin Mattner

Emg: _ 1. Andrew Crowell _ 12. Robert Shirley _ 44. Nathan Bock

Same 22 as mine with the cards just shuffled a bit differently Stiffy.

If Crowell is passed fit, then Rutten or Mattner could be in danger of losing their place. Probably Rutten. What do you think?

It would be a tough call mate. Apparently Crowell has passed his fitness test and is available for selection. Rutten has probably not done enough to warrant a selection but having said that for the sake of team balance (and security as far as injuries are concerned) I would have one true KPP on the bench. Stevo had a bit of a rest during last weeks game and Rutten came on. I think we will still take it a bit easy with Stevens and for that reason I would like a true KPP on the bench. I know Crowell is capable of playing leading FF role but I would feel a lot safer with 1 of the big fellas playing in KPs.

IMO it would be between Crowell and Mattner. Mattner was solid in the 2 games without setting the world on fire. Crowell was a disappointment against Port and didn't play last week. Its a tough call but I trust selectors will make the right choice.

Don't you just love it when its hard to pick a side:D . I am having a lot of trouble reducing the side from 26 to 24 now. Imagine how much harder will it be to reduce it to 22 with Carey and Ricciuto coming back for round 1 and Welshy somewhere about mid season.

It would be a tough job being a selector that for sure.:D And thats the way we like it.:D

I think you are on the money Macca. Crowell is likely to play.

Just throw in my choice not that much different to Stiffys & Maccas line up,

C: Reilly, Stenglein, Burton
I: Biglands, Bickley, Gallagher , Doughty, Schuback, Shirley
E: Mattner, Crowell, Rutten

Would start Reilly on the ground this week & see if he can build on his impressive start to the year so far,

Would also give young Schuback a run that is if he is available,

I also think Shirley deserves another run so i guess that means Crowell misses out,

Originally posted by noddy

Would also give young Schuback a run that is if he is available,

I also think Shirley deserves another run so i guess that means Crowell misses out,

I think the latest on Schuback is that he is still injured, noddy, but I'm not 100% sure of that.

If Shirley gets a game in front of Crowell or Rutten, it leaves you with a very small bench other than Biglands and no cover if a KPP gets injured. I agree he played well enough to deserve another game but I don't think he'll get it for the sake of team balance.

I agree with the sentiments above.

We should run as many of the kids as we can, while we can, so that we can learn what they do.

We all know full well what Crowell can (and can't) do. Crowell's chance of selection in any Crows 22/24 is borderline at the best of times this year.

I think we've seen enough of Bock at this stage and I don't think Smith is ready. Agreed with Noddy that Reilly deserves to start on field.

Rutten is a question mark. I'd probably give him another run instead of Shirley.

Agree with Noddy again on giving Schuback a run if fit. Otherwise I'd bring Mattner back in.

So I'd say...

I: Biglands, Bickley, Gallagher, Doughty, Schuback(Mattner), Rutten
E: Mattner(Bock), Crowell, Shirley

Fair team that! These selection difficulties are great! Imagine trying to squeeze this into 22 and then adding Carey, Roo and Welsh into the mix!!

I think the latest on Schuback is that he is still injured, noddy, but I'm not 100% sure of that.

If Shirley gets a game in front of Crowell or Rutten, it leaves you with a very small bench other than Biglands and no cover if a KPP gets injured. I agree he played well enough to deserve another game but I don't think he'll get it for the sake of team balance.

your probably right about my bench being on the small side so if Schuback is injured i would give Rutten a seat & elevate Bock to the emergency list, still think Shirley will get a start though macca,

Injury list is

Crowell Stenglein Basset and Massie - Test

Carey and Nelson - One week

Ricciuto -1- 2 weeks

Welsh - 5 weeks

Shcuback - Ankle - 2 to 3 weeks

Bratton - seven weeks

Hentschell Shell and Marsh are available

Any chance of Schell getting a surprise call up?

Well we know that it's the 25 from last week with Stenglein, Bassett and Crowell added to make up the 28. See link below

http://afc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=77533

So it comes down to the 4 to miss. Smith and Bock are near certainties to miss IMO.

I think another to miss will be Shirley (very harsh, I know, but IMO it's Stinga or Shirley but not both) . If I'm wrong and Shirley stays it would have to be at the expense of Mattner.

The 4th to miss should be bewteen Rutten and Crowell . Personally I'd play Rutten and omit Crowell, but I think they will go the other way.

As napsyd says , wait until there's only 22 to select, with Carey, Ricciuto and Welsh (and maybe Begley) added to the selection mix. A terrific problem to have.

And oops ....... I've forgotten Ben Marsh as well!! :D

Originally posted by Jars458
Any chance of Schell getting a surprise call up?
Only if he were sqeezing Ben Marsh out of the team. ;)

Originally posted by napsyd
I agree with the sentiments above.

We should run as many of the kids as we can, while we can, so that we can learn what they do.

We all know full well what Crowell can (and can't) do. Crowell's chance of selection in any Crows 22/24 is borderline at the best of times this year.

I think we've seen enough of Bock at this stage and I don't think Smith is ready. Agreed with Noddy that Reilly deserves to start on field.

Rutten is a question mark. I'd probably give him another run instead of Shirley.

Agree with Noddy again on giving Schuback a run if fit. Otherwise I'd bring Mattner back in.

So I'd say...

I: Biglands, Bickley, Gallagher, Doughty, Schuback(Mattner), Rutten
E: Mattner(Bock), Crowell, Shirley

Fair team that! These selection difficulties are great! Imagine trying to squeeze this into 22 and then adding Carey, Roo and Welsh into the mix!!
I like the look of this side. Good point about giving Rutten another go instead of Crowell. Watched Rutten in the game at Norwood & he looked all class. Has struggled a bit since then. Perhaps if the Roos play Petrie as a forward Ben could play on him. Also, reckon we should go for plenty of runners on the bench as midfield rotations may be required as last weeks conditions are likely to take something out of the players.

As a positional change I would like to see Burton more as a HF flanker who floats around a bit. Reckon Ladhams / Bode would be better suited to the wing.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
I like the look of this side. Good point about giving Rutten another go instead of Crowell. Watched Rutten in the game at Norwood & he looked all class. Has struggled a bit since then. Perhaps if the Roos play Petrie as a forward Ben could play on him. Also, reckon we should go for plenty of runners on the bench as midfield rotations may be required as last weeks conditions are likely to take something out of the players.

As a positional change I would like to see Burton more as a HF flanker who floats around a bit. Reckon Ladhams / Bode would be better suited to the wing.

Thanks, it was mostly borrowed from Noddy though so thanks Noddy.

Most field positions are more about tradition these days then having an actual ground positional meaning, don't you think? I'd like to see Bode more on the ball this week then the last two and as you say Burton more in a forward role.

We shall see.

Originally posted by napsyd
Thanks, it was mostly borrowed from Noddy though so thanks Noddy.

Most field positions are more about tradition these days then having an actual ground positional meaning, don't you think? I'd like to see Bode more on the ball this week then the last two and as you say Burton more in a forward role.

We shall see.
Appologies to Noddy then. :)

True, players tend not to play in traditional positions these days. However with Burton - whilst I like him covering more ground than he would across FF, I'm not sure he is our best option as a wingman. Reckon HF is perfect as he can float down to the FF line & go up the field if required. Reckon Ladhams is a better wingman & Bodey should be rotated on the ball with our gun-3 & Edwards. Not much in I suppose...

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin

That is exactly the reason I selected Rutten before Crowell. Kangaroos rotate a number of tall players through their forward line with the likes of Brown, Morell, Pertie and Hale. Hale and Pertie also get a run in the ruck. As a result we need a true KPP on the bench, hence my choice of Rutten over Crowell.

I think Kenny McGregor will get Brown but if roos play a resting ruckman up forward in Petrie or Hale, then I would like to see Rutten pick up Brown and McGregor to pick up either Petrie or Hale. Bassett should pick up Morell.

Cheers

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
That is exactly the reason I selected Rutten before Crowell. Kangaroos rotate a number of tall players through their forward line with the likes of Brown, Morell, Pertie and Hale. Hale and Pertie also get a run in the ruck. As a result we need a true KPP on the bench, hence my choice of Rutten over Crowell.

I think Kenny McGregor will get Brown but if roos play a resting ruckman up forward in Petrie or Hale, then I would like to see Rutten pick up Brown and McGregor to pick up either Petrie or Hale. Bassett should pick up Morell.

On the Roos talls, we have also been known to use Petrie in defence. He takes a solid mark and he's superb with the one percenters. Brown could play CHF or CHB. It also seems that Porter will ruck before dropping back in defence. So our use of the talls is more than just ruck and playing forward.

Smith, Bock, Shirley and Rutten are the 4 to miss from the final 24 announced in the Advertiser this morning.

No surprises there.

Smith and Bock were certainties to miss, and as I've said before it's either Stinga or Shirley, not both, which means that Shirley only gets a game when Stinga is injured.

Crowell's availability squeezed Rutten out, and he's a bit stiff to miss. Wouldn't have minded having one more look at Rutten in the pre-season comp but as suspected that wasn't going to be the case if Crowell was available.

With the exception of Ricciuto, Carey and Welsh it's the strongest 24 we could put on the park.

Once these 3 are available it's going to be hard to pick a further 5 to miss from the starting 22 if they are all available!!!

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
You can say that again!!!!!! Its a headache we are looking forward to having.:D
Over the season, there are usually a few injuries (hopefully nothing long term), so our improved depth will be important. Should help our consistency & keep pressure on the players to perform (or risk being dropped).