Crows v Pork : Wrap

Great result but ...

I hope they get the website live scores working better by the time the real season starts, living in Brisbane means no game on TV until 11:20pm and no radio coverage even on the Net so the official site is the only option.

The updates stopped completely for over 40 minutes on the crows game yet the Brisbane game only slowed to 7 minute intervals between scores ! (supposed to be every 30 seconds.)

Luckily it sprang back to life for the last 20 minutes of the game but then when full time came the stats page refused to load anymore so yes I got an update to say full time but no way to find who kicked our last goal and still have no idea who kicked our 9 pointer as the stats page isnt set to record that info !

Pretty poor for the official AFL site,

OK whinge over, only 2 hours till the replay :)

5: Goodwin
4: Clarke
3: Edwards
2: McLeod
1. Ladhams

Thought Perrie provided a good target when he went forward.
I still say Smart should have retired. I know its only a Wok game but hes too damn slow.

Add Rutten to the slow list too; the QE2 has a smaller turning circle or Adam Richarson

Now for the Waist Coats in Darwin. Bring it on.

As for the new "recruits" not mentioned? Torney did ok I, thought Ronnie shirked 2 hard ball gets and Bock and Rielly were encouraging

Re: Re: Crows v Pork : Wrap

Originally posted by Pred
Congrats, you bunch of homosapiens

p.s. is that the correct spelling of -sexual? -s-a-p-i-e-n? :)

Thanks mate, you missed an absolute beauty!! Could have gone either way, and we managed to steal it at the end.

Both sides are definite top 4 this year. When you consider who each side had out, it showed their depths of reserves.

Re: Great result but ...

Originally posted by Daz^
I hope they get the website live scores working better by the time the real season starts, living in Brisbane means no game on TV until 11:20pm and no radio coverage even on the Net so the official site is the only option.

The updates stopped completely for over 40 minutes on the crows game yet the Brisbane game only slowed to 7 minute intervals between scores ! (supposed to be every 30 seconds.)

Luckily it sprang back to life for the last 20 minutes of the game but then when full time came the stats page refused to load anymore so yes I got an update to say full time but no way to find who kicked our last goal and still have no idea who kicked our 9 pointer as the stats page isnt set to record that info !

Pretty poor for the official AFL site,

OK whinge over, only 2 hours till the replay :)

Ladhams kicked a checkside goal about 30 mtr out to put us in front with 1 second to go
Goody nailed the pensioner.

thanks

Thanks for that.
Hey its only the wizard thingamajig but close game with the Power is a good sign as despite everything we might wish chances are they are a top 4 side this year and hopefully it means we are right up there again this year.

Bring on the real stuff I say !

Daz.

P.S same thanks in other thread but didnt want to look ungrateful for the answers !

Good match all around, though our second quarter could certainly be forgotten.

What happened to Stevens? I missed the first five minutes of the coverage and didn't hear any info, if they gave any on that. Was it some sort of late injury? Rutten was given a run at CHF (I'm guessing he was the late replacement for Stevo), so I guess Rutten couldn't have been injured like thought by someone in the other thread (Jerome was it?)

Originally posted by topjars
Watching that kick on telly I didnt think it had the carry off the boot. Good on 'im
Must have been a beaut game to witness

That is something that really ****ed me off completely. Why was there not a Port player in the bloody goalsquare!!! The ball passed thru the goals at about head height.

Bloody good game tho!! Ive never seen such an intense pre season game before. Skills were good, the umpires were deadset shocking (gotta wonder why Smart punching the ball over the goal line wasnt counted as rushed), but the intensity, attack on the ball and the man was simply awesome for this time of the year.

Whilst it was only a preseason game & both coaches were experimenting, I'll take a 1 point win rather than a 1 point loss.

As I thought with Primus out that we would dominate the rucks. Clarke fed Goody, Macca (ie. both in for stellar years), etc beautifully in the 1st quarter - but note no Primus, Francou, etc in the centre square! I had it re-affirmed that Ackland is not a ruckman & Lade is a long way from his best. The good news for Port is that this forced Brogan to step up & he will take over as Port's 2nd ruckman now French has left ... but my carton of beer on Ackland becoming an AA ruckman in his career is looking very, very safe (as he is either a forward or cactus) :D

We lost momentum when we took our best players out of the centre square in the 2nd quarter & parts of the 3rd. I don't mind the experimentation as Port were also doing the same (ie. can't get too c()cky about the result).

I love Ladhams game - not only the last kick, but his quick gives in tight circumstances were fantastic.

Burton - no think music, just use your instinct as you have no decision making ability. grrrrr!

Forward line struggled IMO, but Stevo, Carey & Welsh will make a difference.

Apart from Brogan, other positives for Port were Pickett is a bargain buy & will add heaps (no suprise here), Salopak looks like he can make an impact of the bench in 2003, & Chadly looks like he could even take an extra step (although credit to Smarty for quietening him down in the last part of the game).

Originally posted by Macca19
Bloody good game tho!! Ive never seen such an intense pre season game before. Skills were good, the umpires were deadset shocking (gotta wonder why Smart punching the ball over the goal line wasnt counted as rushed), but the intensity, attack on the ball and the man was simply awesome for this time of the year.
Best pre-season game for intensity so far. Th rushed rule is that you need to be in control of th ball - ie. if you just puch in through it is a point I believe. Thought the umpires were OK in the 1st half or so, but lost the plot with some crap decisions for both sides in the last quarter. :o

I had to leave before the beginning of the last quarter to beat the traffic :mad: but listening to the 5AA broadcast led me to believe that the siren may have went early.

Either that or a few minutes completely passed me by... but I ain't complaining!!! :D :D :D

Originally posted by Macca19
That is something that really ****ed me off completely. Why was there not a Port player in the bloody goalsquare!!! The ball passed thru the goals at about head height.

Can't disagree with anything you said there Macca. I couldn't believe it either when there wasn't a soul in the square and it certainly didn't go through at a great height, did it.

Best pre-season game I've seen. As you said very intense, extremely physical but fair, with good skills from both sides. When you consider that both sides had quality players out, it makes their performances even better. Both sides are in for a big year IMO.

Umpires were ordinary and seemed to go with one team and then the other. Not sure about the Smart spoil because I don't know what the rule in these Wok games is supposed to be for a spoil.

Hope Tredders is alright - he's my favourite Port player. Seemed to be a dislocated kneecap which he belted back into place almost immediately. With a bit of luck he'll be there for the first real game.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Burton - no think music, just use your instinct as you have no decision making ability. grrrrr!

Forward line struggled IMO, but Stevo, Carey & Welsh will make a difference.

Yeah Burton is a worry at times. Im surprised Basset started in the forward line I would have opted for Perrie / Burton.
Sarges first mark and goal would bought a SMILE to D Jarmans lips

Originally posted by raboyle
I had to leave before the beginning of the last quarter to beat the traffic :mad: but listening to the 5AA broadcast led me to believe that the siren may have went early.

Either that or a few minutes completely passed me by... but I ain't complaining!!! :D :D :D

I hate the 5 minute warning.

The timekeeper MUST have thought " Aw bugger it Ill press it at the bounce down just to add a bit of theatre

C'mon mate its only a pre-season.

But a few positives for both teams. I thought Brogan was teriffic in the ruck 2nite and Salopek was pretty good. Chad Cornes in the first half was absolutely teriffic and gave Smart a runaround.

From Crows perspective:

1. Andrew Crowell:

I was disappointed with him. He started on Dew and was beaten then switched on Pickett and was beaten. Pretty poor showing from Crowell 2nite.

4. Matthew Clarke:

Started like a house on fire and played exceptionally in the 1st quarter and towards the end of 4th but went missing for the rest of the game and overall was probably beaten by Brogan

5. Ronnie Burns:

A major disappointment tonight. Was matched up by Wanganeen and was clearly beaten. Spent a lot of time on the bench.

7. Nigel Smart:

Was soundly beaten by Chad Cornes for about 2 1/2 quarters. Came back and kept Cornes quite for the rest of the game. Also seemed to stop Port's supply across half forward and provided a lot of run from defence.

8. Nathan Bassett:

Started at FF as I predicted and was very quite in the 1st half. Managed to kick a goal before being moved back to defence. Got corked thigh and finished the game on the bench.

9. Tyson Edwards

Reasonably quite in the 1st half but was excellent in the 2nd half and was one of the major reasons for the victory. Overall a good game by Tyson

10. Matthew Bode:

Up and down game from Bodey. Did a few good things but drifted in and out the game. Needs to improve his consistency.

11. Michael Doughty:

Solid game from Dogga. Didn't play a lot of minutes today but did good things when he was on.

15. Jason Torney:

A workman like performance from our new recruit. Did a lot of 1%ers and team things. 2 things that stand out was Torney throwing himself in front of Nick Stevens and spoiling when it apperared certain that Port would go inside their 50. Also his clearence from the centre square to Ladhams who handballed to Goody for 9 pointer:D Overall a solid game

16. Ken McGregor:

Kenny was pretty quite but came good when he was needed. Took a couple absolutely great packmarks in the 4th quarter when port tried to rebound from defence.

18. Graham John****:

Looks like Stiffy has put on a bit of muscle. Played mainly in defence and did a very good job. Did the hard stuff and provided run from the defence. A solid game from Stiffy.

20. Tyson stenglein:

Although he was quite as far as his own stats are concerned, he did an excellent job on Josh Francou. Just what you would expect from Stenglein

21. James Gallagher:

Didn't get a lot of ground time but had a shocking turnover that you would not expect from a player with his skills. Overall a poor showing from Gags.

22. Ian Perrie:

He made me eat a humble pie.:) He added a bit of bite to our forward line when he came on in the 2nd half. Kicked a beautiful goal from the boundy line something you would not expect him to do. Overall a solid game from Sarge.

23. Andrew McLeod:

Was very well held by Kane Cornes in the 1st half. Moved to defence in the second half and was usual macca. He took and absolute screamer over Schofield. A Mark of the Wizard Cup IMHO.:D. Was very instrumantal in the win with his 2nd half performance from Half Back

24. Brett Burton:

Was busy all night and got a fair bit of a stick from Port boys. Gave away 2 stupid 50m penalties. Kicked a beauty from the boundy just before half time. Overall a very good game from the birdman.

25. Ben Rutten:

Played at CHF and was very quite. Kicked a goal and provided a contest. The players never really looked for him but did a few good things. Overall has to lift if he is to be a CHF.

33. Brent Reilly:

Came on in the 2nd half and handled himself well. Did a couple of good things without setting the world on fire. Looks to have a bright future.

34. Ben Hart:

Mr. Reliable was exactly that. Surprisingly matched up on Tredrea and did a reasonable job before tredders got injured. Later played on Lade and shut him down well.

35. Rhett Biglands:

Played well and took a beautiful mark at CHF. Overall a solid game from a "big unit":D

36. Simon Goodwin:

Our best player IMHO. Kicked a few goals including a 9 pointer at very important time of the game to bring the defecit back to 2. Took an absolute cracked of a mark being sandwiched between 2 port players and made it even better when he converted. Excellent game from Goody

39. Martin Mattner:

He did his bread and butter 1 %ers. Matched up on a taller Cain Ackland and did a fine job

40. Chris Ladhams:

Played a great game and kicked a winning goal.:D Played mainly across half forward and took a few very good marks. Did a lot of good things and seems to have improved from last year. A Great game from Lads.

44. Nathan Bock:

Played a few minutes but did not have much of an influence. Was interchanging with Burns and neither of them had a good game.

Overall a very intense, physical match worthy of a showdown. I am concerned with us drifting out of the game in certain periods. We need to put in a 4 quarter effort week in week out. I have to say umpiring was absolutely crap tonight. Umps better get their act straight for the start of real stuff.

Does anyone know why Mark Stevens was withdrawn from the side. I was not very optimistic when I heard this but we won with a makeshift forward line which we should take as a positive. Bring on the Eagles.

Originally posted by topjars
I hate the 5 minute warning.

The timekeeper MUST have thought " Aw bugger it Ill press it at the bounce down just to add a bit of theatre
Yeahh, Ch9+1 claiming that the players/coaches call it red time. doh, the only people who call it red time are the commentators themselves!! :rolleyes:

Originally posted by macca23
Best pre-season game I've seen. As you said very intense, extremely physical but fair, with good skills from both sides. When you consider that both sides had quality players out, it makes their performances even better. Both sides are in for a big year IMO.

Umpires were ordinary and seemed to go with one team and then the other.

I couldn't agree with you more. Both teams were very good and both showed that they have a fair bit of depth. This game was worthy of a september final let alone the Wizard Cup. Umpiring was more shocking than usual. It must be the orange outfits:confused:

Best players were Goodwin, McCleod, Chad Cornes and Brogan.
Had we won I would have picked Brogan, since you won I'll go for Goodwin.
The pleasing aspect for Port is that our better players were "different" players, whereas in your case it was the "usual suspects". That has probably more to do with the training regimes than anything else.
The players of interest to me
Selopeck-his time will come. Has natural ability and courage.
Thurstans-could get game time this year, but..........lets just say he needs to do more.
Morgan-...........lets just say he needs to do more. Nuff said.
Ackland-I think Kane McGoodwin has copyright on what I want to say.
Lade- If he slows up any more he will end up as a guest on the Flintstones. Can you imagine a team with Lade and Biglands as their rucking duo?
Brogan-still can't work out why he wasn't getting games last year.Had we won BOG game.
Pickett- usual type game. Will be good to see how Williams handles his periodic lack of accountability.
Cassisi-Is where Kane Cornes was in 2001. Will improve.
Cochrane-just like all the Roos have been saying, he is a trier.
McGregor- usual not much of anything and just enough to keep my spot type of game. He also has the occasional better game interspersed with the occasional crappy game.

Originally posted by PAfolwr
Best players were Goodwin, McCleod, Chad Cornes and Brogan.
Had we won I would have picked Brogan, since you won I'll go for Goodwin.
The pleasing aspect for Port is that our better players were "different" players, whereas in your case it was the "usual suspects". That has probably more to do with the training regimes than anything else.
The players of interest to me
Selopeck-his time will come. Has natural ability and courage.
Thurstans-could get game time this year, but..........lets just say he needs to do more.
Morgan-...........lets just say he needs to do more. Nuff said.
Ackland-I think Kane McGoodwin has copyright on what I want to say.
Lade- If he slows up any more he will end up as a guest on the Flintstones. Can you imagine a team with Lade and Biglands as their rucking duo?
Brogan-still can't work out why he wasn't getting games last year.Had we won BOG game.
Pickett- usual type game. Will be good to see how Williams handles his periodic lack of accountability.
Cassisi-Is where Kane Cornes was in 2001. Will improve.
Cochrane-just like all the Roos have been saying, he is a trier.
McGregor- usual not much of anything and just enough to keep my spot type of game. He also has the occasional better game interspersed with the occasional crappy game.

I thought Goodwin and Edwards were the Crows best and Stevens and Brogan for Port. Chad Cornes was outstanding for the first 2 and a half quarters, until Smarty quietened him somewhat from then on.

Apart from Brogan, don't agree with your comment that your better players were "different" players. Stevens, Wanganeen, Chad Cornes, James and Schofield are surely established players.

As an outsider, Brogan has always looked like the one on Port's list that would step up. Lade looks to be finished and a sprint between him and Rutten would be agony to watch. Ackland just doesn't do enough and can't ruck. But Brogan will be a genuine asset to Port this year.

Also agree that Thurstans and Morgan need to do more if they intend to be there in 2004. Thurstans does look the more likely of these 2 though.

Pickett showed glimpses of why he can be a matchwinner while Cochrane was steady.

Kane Cornes did a great job on McLeod for the first half, but McLeod gave him a lesson in the second, while Junior Burger showed his versatility with a good game in defence.