Crows v Swans

Well with no recent posts on your board, I thought I better start a thread on this game. Where are all the Swans supports? I know Grayham is talking about hibernation - strange considering finals are coming up soon!

So do you guys give yourselves a chance? Ball out is a huge loss considering the form of Clarke / Biglands. I would expect our midfielders to get 1st use this week. Also, robs Goodes from the forward line. Confident the Hound will once again do the job on BBBB.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Well with no recent posts on your board, I thought I better start a thread on this game. Where are all the Swans supports? I know Grayham is talking about hibernation - strange considering finals are coming up soon!

So do you guys give yourselves a chance? Ball out is a huge loss considering the form of Clarke / Biglands. I would expect our midfielders to get 1st use this week. Also, robs Goodes from the forward line. Confident the Hound will once again do the job on BBBB.

Of course we're a chance. Aren't sitting 2nd for no reason.

The loss of Ball leaves us a bit short in the ruck & tall man stakes, but perhaps we can shark a bit of the ball from Crow taps to even it up a bit.

Generally your mob do alright against us, and with the game being in Adelaide you'll obviously start as favourites.

Our best chance is to get good, quick, quality disposal into the forward line and let Mick, Nick and Bary sort out your defenders. If we can break 50/50 in the midfield it'll be closer than most expect.

FWIW, I'm looking forward to the game as a win here sets up the winner nicely for a shot at top 4 come seasons end.

We have a shot - losing Ball will hurt, but mainly because of his around the ground ability rather than his ruck work. Last time we smashed you guys in Adelaide you killed us in the ruck, but our midfield did very well.

Still, realistically I expect a loss by about 4 goals.

BTW - most of our comments are on RWO.

Originally posted by NMWBloods
We have a shot - losing Ball will hurt, but mainly because of his around the ground ability rather than his ruck work. Last time we smashed you guys in Adelaide you killed us in the ruck, but our midfield did very well.

Where is RWO?

I went to the SCG to watch the last Crows v Swans game & I thought we easily won the game - mainly due to the poor skill level of the Swan's players that day. Obviously have improved heaps since then, because I thought you were on target to be a bottom-4 not top-4 team. Also, Crows took the foot off the pedal in the last half when the game was under control. Won't be able to that this week. I expect we will the game through winning most of the clearances. Looking forward to the game!

Where is RWO?

http://redandwhiteonline.com/forum/

I went to the SCG to watch the last Crows v Swans game & I thought we easily won the game - mainly due to the poor skill level of the Swan's players that day. Obviously have improved heaps since then, because I thought you were on target to be a bottom-4 not top-4 team. Also, Crows took the foot off the pedal in the last half when the game was under control. Won't be able to that this week.

You guys flogged us that day in overall skill level. I was thinking of bottom 4 too!!

I was thinking of the game at AAMI when we won comfortably - maybe 2001.

I expect we will the game through winning most of the clearances. Looking forward to the game!

Should be very interesting. Have you read Eade's analytical piece on the game - very good.

http://afl.com.au/default.asp?pg=opinion&spg=display&articleid=109333

I disagree - although I think Adelaide will win the flag - even without Ball you are going to give this game a shake. I think Roos will cover the loss as he done all year when others have been out. Ball being out will be less of a problem for the Swans than say Gardiner has been for West Coast.

Swans by 5 points

Originally posted by tully
I disagree - although I think Adelaide will win the flag - even without Ball you are going to give this game a shake. I think Roos will cover the loss as he done all year when others have been out. Ball being out will be less of a problem for the Swans than say Gardiner has been for West Coast.

Swans by 5 points
If the Swan beat the Crows, then the Crows will not win the flag, as we will miss out on a top-4 spot. For the record, I reckon the Crows will win by 5+ goals.

Originally posted by tully

Swans by 5 points

I agree that Ball's loss may not be as catastrophic as some thought, but I think we will find Adelaide a bit too tough. Should be an excellent hitout for us though - see how well our guys go under real man-on-man pressure.

I think you will be flogged and justifiably by the best side in the comp.

From an expectation year, I think this has to be the year of the crows. They have spent up on buying several key players including ronnie and carey. The pressure is on the side to win it all this year. If not all hell will break out I suspect.

New coach if no success ?????.

Given that, they should have the desire to go all the way in 2003. Tomorrow will depend a lot on the weather but if swans get within 20 points at AAMI, I will be happy.

Go swans

Originally posted by swansfan
From an expectation year, I think this has to be the year of the crows. They have spent up on buying several key players including ronnie and carey. The pressure is on the side to win it all this year. If not all hell will break out I suspect.

Given that, they should have the desire to go all the way in 2003. Tomorrow will depend a lot on the weather but if swans get within 20 points at AAMI, I will be happy.

Go swans

looks like you gonna be mizzabul sister.....:D :D :D

Go swans
I would say there is more pressure on our cross-town rivals to perform in the finals than the Crows. Sure we got a couple of more than useful experienced players to add to our stocks, but we have also planned for the future by adding good kids like Rutten & Mattner last year. It won't be the end of the world if we don't win, but I reckon quietly we are a good chance as it is an even year. Also, Ayres is safe to the end of his contract. Unlike other clubs, we don't sack coaches mid-contract.

As a non Croweater, I suspect Williams and Port have got another year if they do not win it this year before any pressure comes on key players and the coach.

The Crows went out and bought Burns at 30 and Carey at 32 to complete the side to win it all this year. This was meant to be the big year. If the Crows do not then I suspect there will be wholesale changes including the coach. The fans expectation this year is very high as they have been building for this year for some time.

I suspect you are very wrong! There will be no wholesale changes at the Crows regardless of how we go in the finals. No panic stations at AFC unlike other clubs. We still have plenty of youngsters to come through to replace the likes of Carey & Burns once they finish their careers. I agree with the bit about the expectations, but there are even more on the minor premier given their last few finals campaigns.

BTW, bad luck about today. You gave us a real scare. I was very worried when Goodes was lining up for goal very late in the game. It was good to win a close one for a change!

Cheers mate.

You guys are bloody lucky there's no appeal process for match results though. That Carey goal in the last few minutes was DODGY! :( :mad: By rights, I reckon we should be the ones celebrating tonight.

Having said that, you guys probably didn't deserve to lose either. Good luck over the next month... although I can't say I wish you well for the finals! :)

Originally posted by CharlieG
You guys are bloody lucky there's no appeal process for match results though. That Carey goal in the last few minutes was DODGY!

I had a really good look at that at the game.

I don't think it was dodgy, because that implies some uncertainty.

I'm certain that it was over the line when Carey took possession of it, so it should have been a point IMO.

You were stiff. Really stiff.

The one positive for the Swans IMO is that they showed that they are a genuine chance for the flag, along with Port, Brisbane and Adelaide.

Why does everybody keep going on about the Carey goal? ok ok it was over the line, but then again Burton's mark was a blatant mark and wasnt paid and that resulted in a goal to Sydney, so if Burton had been paid the mark and Carey was awarded the point, Crows still would have won.

But the Burton mark only came about because of the soft, dodgy free kick paid to Carey against Schauble. Schabule pushed him out of the way, exactly as had been done at least 3-4 times during the day by other players, yet for some reason Carey was given a free kick. At that stage we had the ball and were taking it away. Carey's kick went to Kennelly who kicked to Burton.

The key difference is Burton was more than 50m out yet Carey kick a goal.

Originally posted by macca23
I had a really good look at that at the game.

I don't think it was dodgy, because that implies some uncertainty.

I'm certain that it was over the line when Carey took possession of it, so it should have been a point IMO.

You were stiff. Really stiff.

The one positive for the Swans IMO is that they showed that they are a genuine chance for the flag, along with Port, Brisbane and Adelaide.

I agree.

Carey was comfortably a metre outside the line - look at where his feet were. What was the goal umpire thinking?!?

Anyone who states that they KNOW the whole of teh ball was over the whole of the line are kidding themselves

The fact Carey's body was over the line doesn't end it becuase he has very long arms and its where the balll is that matters

None of the TV replays showed that with any compulsion.

I think it PROBABLY was over but then again there were MANY bad decisions in that game.

Crows goal to Perrie in the square from a free was a disgrace.
Free against O'Loughlin on Goodwin for a legitimate bump was a disgrace.

Burns marked ball - knocked out of hands not paid. Ball goes down other end - same thing to Williams mark paid.

Burtons mark - antoehr 50 50 decision

Free in the centre in the last minute that led to Goodes shot on goal - clearly not there at all.

Down the ground free against Bickley was not down the ground - it was as he kicked it.

Schneiders goal could have been touced or hit the post

Creswell's goal could have been touched

All these things had an impact. To blame one incident is silly

Swans were unlucky no doubt about it but the Crows were due some luck

Roos should stop whinging. Take a leaf out of Ayresy's book from close loses and take it on the chin.

Swans were fantastic though esp in the third quarter and will be a real danger come finals time.

Very impressed with Lewis Roberts-Thompson

Originally posted by Jars458
Anyone who states that they KNOW the whole of teh ball was over the whole of the line are kidding themselves

The fact Carey's body was over the line doesn't end it becuase he has very long arms and its where the balll is that matters

True, but Carey was also reaching up past Schauble, so given that his feet were easily a metre behind the line, there is no way the ball could still have been in.

None of the TV replays showed that with any compulsion.

I think it PROBABLY was over but then again there were MANY bad decisions in that game.

No doubt about that.
Crows goal to Perrie in the square from a free was a disgrace.
Free against O'Loughlin on Goodwin for a legitimate bump was a disgrace.

Burns marked ball - knocked out of hands not paid. Ball goes down other end - same thing to Williams mark paid.

Burtons mark - antoehr 50 50 decision

That wasn't 50/50 - that was a clear mark.

Free in the centre in the last minute that led to Goodes shot on goal - clearly not there at all.

Down the ground free against Bickley was not down the ground - it was as he kicked it.

Schneiders goal could have been touced or hit the post

Creswell's goal could have been touched

All these things had an impact. To blame one incident is silly

Normally I agree, but when it happens in the last couple of minutes of a game decided by less than a kick, then it has a lot more weight than these other "decisions".

Swans were unlucky no doubt about it but the Crows were due some luck

Roos should stop whinging. Take a leaf out of Ayresy's book from close loses and take it on the chin.

Swans were fantastic though esp in the third quarter and will be a real danger come finals time.

Very impressed with Lewis Roberts-Thompson

Yeah, it tends to all even up. Roos generally says little, but probably thought it couldn't go without comment. I'm sure he'll get on with next week's game during the week.

From a Swan's viewpoint, despite the loss, I think it was a fantastic game and a real show of character by our guys.

Adelaide are a funny team - at times they look great and others they look a bit lost. Has been a bit like that all year. I wonder which we will see during finals. Unless they are playing us, hopefully it's the former.