Crows Vs Geelong

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

I wouldn't quite go as far to say that you guys were crucified by the umpiring, most interstate teams get nothing when they play interstate because there's no crowd reaction when something happens that should be a free kick. The same thing happens to Geelong when we play interstate... it's just another annoying thing about this game.

Originally posted by ScouseCat
I wouldn't quite go as far to say that you guys were crucified by the umpiring

I understand what you're saying mate, but when Geelong scored 3 goals that were 100% gifts and we got denied a clear freekick 10-15 metres in front of goal - which resulted in the player going off for a good quarter it's fair to use the word 'crucified' IMO:

1. First quarter. Clearly touched on the line - signalled a Geelong goal.

2. Torney penalised for a throw, which on the replays was a clear handball. Geelong then go forward to Ben Graham who is paid a mark that Bassett got a touch on - Graham goals.

3. Aaron Lord paid the softest of holding freekicks 10m out straight in front against Graham John****. Lord Goals.

4. Scott Welsh absolutely hammered by Darren Milburn after disposal - the one where he got bruised/cracked/broken ribs - and play on was called with no freekick given 10-15m out straight in front.

It's very rare that there are that many clear-cut incidents that have denied or given goals in a game - and they all went Geelong's way. We can gloss over them now because Adelaide won but I tell you what... if the Cats had've won by a kick or two I'd have called for a swab.

Cheers :)

Originally posted by dyertribe
I understand what you're saying mate, but when Geelong scored 3 goals that were 100% gifts and we got denied a clear freekick 10-15 metres in front of goal - which resulted in the player going off for a good quarter it's fair to use the word 'crucified' IMO:

2. Torney penalised for a throw, which on the replays was a clear handball. Geelong then go forward to Ben Graham who is paid a mark that Bassett got a touch on - Graham goals.

3. Aaron Lord paid the softest of holding freekicks 10m out straight in front against Graham John****. Lord Goals.

4. Scott Welsh absolutely hammered by Darren Milburn after disposal - the one where he got bruised/cracked/broken ribs - and play on was called with no freekick given 10-15m out straight in front.

It's very rare that there are that many clear-cut incidents that have denied or given goals in a game - and they all went Geelong's way. We can gloss over them now because Adelaide won but I tell you what... if the Cats had've won by a kick or two I'd have called for a swab.

Cheers :)
How about Matthew Scarlett throwing Roo out of the way in the goalsquare late in the 2nd quarter. No free kick. Then just before half time Roo does the same thing to Scarlett and gets pinged. On both occasions umpire was 2 meters away from the incident. The number of holding the balls and over the shoulder tackles that went unpunished today was just mind boggling.:(

Originally posted by macca23
Sorry noddy, your man Ben is not available. Ive nailed a netball hoop onto his forehead and he's serving duty as the goal post on a netball court in the parklands. :D

And they said he was useless!! :rolleyes:
I knew he was good for something. Are you sure he is tough enough to endure girls bumping into him??????;)

On the line !!!!!!!!!!!!! Try 2 metres inside the line.I was side on to it and was amazed the ump gave it a goal.He'll be in the bush next week with Derek Humphrey-Smith.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
The number of holding the balls and over the shoulder tackles that went unpunished today was just mind boggling.:(

at least it was both ways they were shockers.There was one where McLeod should've got a free and another where McLeod should've been pinged.Umpire Brett Rosebury [#8] didn't seem to want to pay holding the ball all day.

Originally posted by JUBJUB
On the line !!!!!!!!!!!!! Try 2 metres inside the line.I was side on to it and was amazed the ump gave it a goal.He'll be in the bush next week with Derek Humphrey-Smith.

As you say, never on the line. clearly a long way short of the goal line.

Just for the record, it was the same goal umpire who changed ends after half time and called that shot of Doughty's touched, when it was over the line this time by as much as a foot.

He'd be lucky to ever be seen at this level again this year after two such poor decisions in the one game.

Fair dinkum how bad were the umps today?!!!

We were CROWCIFIED!

You know it's bad when even Eddie McGuire is going into bat for us.

Geelong got 3 goals that were 100% undisputed gifts and where was the freekick for Welshy when he got nailed by that thug Milburn?

We should've won by a clear 5 or 6 goals if things were fair.

Reckon the umps are taking it upon themselves to try and restore some Vic pride?

Umpires crucified you. Get your hand off it.

That had very little influence on the result.

But as usual, I don't see you complaining about the soft frees you received. Conveniently forgot those, have we?

Originally posted by Catman

But as usual, I don't see you complaining about the soft frees you received. Conveniently forgot those, have we?
Get off the grass mate. Even blind freddy could see what a pathetic performance that was. How many free were paid Adelaide's way in the 4th quarter?????? How many holding the balls went unpunished??????

Which of our princely sum of 12 frees was soft?? Would be interested in knowing.

On the other hand the TV commentators had no problem spotting the soft charities which led to goals in your 23 free kicks.

Not to mention the Geelong vice-president masquerading as a goal umpire with his 2 ridiculous pro Geelong decisions

As for the as usual comments, comments abusing the integrity of the umpires are NOT the norm on this board, especially when we are the WINNING side.

Catman, your the one with your hand on it! Umpires had as absolute shocker, including the goal umpire who cost us 10 points. No doubt bad decisions were made against the Cat too, but the Crows easily copped the brunt of most bad decisions. Fortunately it only cost us percentage today not 4 points.

Which of our princely sum of 12 frees was soft?? Would be interested in knowing.

On the other hand the TV commentators had no problem spotting the soft charities which led to goals in your 23 free kicks.

Not to mention the Geelong vice-president masquerading as a goal umpire with his 2 ridiculous pro Geelong decisions

As for the as usual comments, comments abusing the integrity of the umpires are NOT the norm on this board, especially when we are the WINNING side.

How about Biglands getting a free for a slight push from Steven King or the soft free against Matty Scarlett for a push out, which lead to Scott Welsh's first goal?

We got 1 goal from a free. Hardly unfair as you seem to infer.

How do you work that out Kane?
Well we were ripped off 10 points by the goal umpire for starters (ie. you were paid a goal that was a point & Dogga's goal was called a point). Then go back & count the goals which the Cats got through soft free kicks & compare to the Crows. Roo was ripped off the ball in the goal square - play on. He does the same & as a free paid against him. Where's the consistency? Welshy should have got another shot at goal after been whacked by that thug Milburn. Do you want me to go on...

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Well we were ripped off 10 points by the goal umpire for starters (ie. you were paid a goal that was a point & Dogga's goal was called a point).

The 2nd one was touched inside that line,so the ump got that one right.

If we want to pick out bad decision's,I'll list a few :

2nd qtr
Graham clearly held by Hart as he went for the ball in front of the Brownlow Stand - NO FREE.

Graham marks,goes to take off and gets grabbed by the ankle - NO 50 METRE PENALTY

3rd qtr
Graham punches the ball into the air [the only one to touch it],then marks it - NO MARK PAID

4th qtr
Biglands shoves Milburn in the back and marks to kick the Crows last goal.

That's just a few obvious shocking decisions.

Let's face it,we both got screwed.

BTW,you shouldn't pay attention to the commentary that Eddie McGuire dribbles.

BTW,you shouldn't pay attention to the commentary that Eddie McGuire dribbles. [/B]
I didn't listen to any Ch9 commentry yesterday as I was listening to the radio broadcast! I reckon Eddie is a poor commentator.

Not doubting there were many bad decisions against Geelong - I mentioned this is my 1st post on this thread - just that there were more bad decisions against the Crows. Umpires had a shocker.

If we want to pick out bad decision's,I'll list a few :

2nd qtr
Graham clearly held by Hart as he went for the ball in front of the Brownlow Stand - NO FREE.

50 - 50 - Hart was holding Graham by the arm, Graham had his arm over Hart's shoulder. No free to give.

Graham marks,goes to take off and gets grabbed by the ankle - NO 50 METRE PENALTY

Should have been a 50.

3rd qtr
Graham punches the ball into the air [the only one to touch it],then marks it - NO MARK PAID
What, has Graham got 3 hands or something? Smart punches through, the ball caroms off in the line that Smart's fist was going. Clearly, clearly came off Smart's fist first.

4th qtr
Biglands shoves Milburn in the back and marks to kick the Crows last goal.
If they'd picked out that one, it would have been as wrong as the one against John**** - and a lot softer than many they didn't pay (Gardiner's misstimed attempt in the first quarter, for example).

That's just a few obvious shocking decisions.

Let's face it,we both got screwed.

BTW,you shouldn't pay attention to the commentary that Eddie McGuire dribbles. [/B]

If you think the Cats got screwed over yesterday, I'd hate to see your definition of a good run from the umps.

We can agree on two things. It should have been 50 against Ben Hart (just like it was 50 to Ronnie Burns), and Eddie McGuire is an awfully bad commentator.

Originally posted by PAfolwr
Just a quick question. Did Geelong tire?

Looked like it to me, surely. The legs of a lot of Geelong players just gave out right around crunch time in the final term, after the Crows grabbed the lead.

I don't think the players can have any excuse for that-- although there were other reasons as to why the Cats lost and (conversely) why the Crows won. Ten rounds into the season, the players shouldn't be having issues with match fitness, and should be able to see the game out. This goes for our senior players and our young guns alike.

But great win by the Crows yesterday. Like it was said on this thread, nothing fancy, just a hard, workmanlike effort. The Crows just wanted it more, that's all, and it showed...

Good luck to you guys for the rest of the season.

It's funny, being at the ground I didn't get that worked up about the umpiring. There were a few holding the balls that weren't paid to us, and the usual strange random ruck infringements. But every time there was a free kick that I couldn't understand, there was no replay screen to look at :(. Plus a partial Geelong crowd isn't exactly going to back you up.

I missed Welsh getting crunched as I was watching the ball in flight, and when it hit the post I threw my head back in disgust. When I saw him on the ground I was more concerned with his well-being rather than any free kick we should have recieved.

What got me more frustrated was the sloppy skill errors that cost us. I recall a James Gallagher turnover (yeah a poor kick from Gags - hard to believe eh? :p) resulting in a Geelong goal. Two poor kicks on the run from Mattner at half forward really f*cked me off too.

Originally posted by you_idiot

But great win by the Crows yesterday. Like it was said on this thread, nothing fancy, just a hard, workmanlike effort. The Crows just wanted it more, that's all, and it showed...

Good luck to you guys for the rest of the season.

Thanks for that mate.

Neil Kerley was talking about the game on 5AA this afternoon, and although I think he was half under the weather, I thought he was right when he said that it was the Cat's key forwards that let them down. They hardly had a sniff, which meant that all of your smaller players hard work was wasted.

I reckon you'll be celebrating a victory after next weekend. :)

...although I think he was half under the weather,
Half under the weather?!?!?!?!?!?!:eek: Mate you give him more credit than he deserves. He's had a few too many.:)

But the more I think about it , the more I agree with him that we should start Welsh on the bench against Hawks and bring him into the game half way through the first.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Half under the weather?!?!?!?!?!?!:eek: Mate you give him more credit than he deserves. He's had a few too many.:)

But the more I think about it , the more I agree with him that we should start Welsh on the bench against Hawks and bring him into the game half way through the first.

I'm happy with that one too Stiffy. Start with the big frame of Biglands at FF, and then slot Welshy in.

How we line up at the start will depend on whether Carey and Burns are starters or not.

I'm happy with that one too Stiffy. Start with the big frame of Biglands at FF, and then slot Welshy in.

How we line up at the start will depend on whether Carey and Burns are starters or not.
Carey will start and I don't think Burns will come up this week. Start Ladhams instead of Welshy and half way through the quarter release Welsh to work his magic.

I think there is something about players not perofrming in their 2nd game after long injury lay off.:(