Crows Vs Port Key Match-ups

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

Originally posted by DaveW
I disagree. Adelaide have depth; Massie, Doughty and the injured Welsh have yet to play a match this year.
As a non Crow-supporter, Massie and Doughty don't exactly jump out at me as great players. I can remember Welsh, and have seen him play well in the past. Are Massie and Doughty really indicative of good depth?

Originally posted by Pred
As a non Crow-supporter, Massie and Doughty don't exactly jump out at me as great players. I can remember Welsh, and have seen him play well in the past. Are Massie and Doughty really indicative of good depth?
Did you watch any Adelaide matches last season? :rolleyes:
Doughty was awesome as a wingman this time last year, before perhaps dropping towards the end of the year. Massie took a while to find his feet in his first season with us last year, but he eventually slotted in nicely at half back and most thought he was our best in last year's preliminary final.

That would be your perception. Jarred Poulton doesn't strike me as a great player but he does his bit just like Massie who is younger and more versatile than Poulton.

Doughty is a very good young wingman and he would be an equivelant of say Guerra in your side. If Welsh was at Port I am certain that he would have been in your best 18 no question.

Brett Burton frustrates the hell out of me but he still is a good player that would be in 22 if he wasn't injured.

James Begley is another one that is injured.

I think we have our fair share of injuries mainly to our forward line. If you ask me good forward line players are just about most difficult to replace. Goal kickers are hard to find and Welsh (47) and Burton (51) have kicked a lot in a season.

Injuries are part of footy and you have to deal with them. I am still confident we can beat Port as long as we don't get any injuries to key players during the week.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I am still not convinced that McGregor can take on and beat Tredrea that why I didn't go for Smart on Cornes. If I am wrong then Smart is the obvious choice for Chad and Hart to pick up Burgoyne in what I think would be a very good match up.

As for Schofield I remeber him killing us off in a couple of Showdowns recently and he is such a dangerous running player that is ust about best in AFL at selling the dumby and kicking a lot of runnin goals.
From memory McGregor did OK on Tredrea last time, so should be given 1st crack again - particularly given that Tredders will be underdone.

As for Schofield, I would play Ladhams on him, as I reckon they will play loose of each other & Chris can do more damage. That would leave Stinger v N Stevens, Goody v James & Bicks v Carr (with Roo starting forward).

Hey, I never claimed to be an expert on Adelaide players. But unfortunately I did see a few of their games last year. Two of them in particular I remember pretty well. Just givin' it from my point of view, however ill-informed, that's all.

Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
From memory McGregor did OK on Tredrea last time, so should be given 1st crack again - particularly given that Tredders will be underdone.

As for Schofield, I would play Ladhams on him, as I reckon they will play loose of each other & Chris can do more damage. That would leave Stinger v N Stevens, Goody v James & Bicks v Carr (with Roo starting forward).

My mamory might be playing up with me but I cannot recall McGregor ever playing on Tredrea.:(

I think Ladhams would be a bit more of a handful in the forward line. I would be tempted to give him a job up forward on Wanganeen.

I am not sure that Roo is as effective if he starts deep in the forward line as he is when he is thrown down there for a rest or to give us a spark. I would start him on the ball so he flattens the little sh*t in Carr like he did with Whitnall in 2001 at Optus Oval. Once he needs a rest, throw him up forward to unsettle Port's defence. Just out of curiousity who would Port match up on Roo when he goes forward?????? Wilson??????

My mamory might be playing up with me but I cannot recall McGregor ever playing on Tredrea.:(

I think Ladhams would be a bit more of a handful in the forward line. I would be tempted to give him a job up forward on Wanganeen.

I am not sure that Roo is as effective if he starts deep in the forward line as he is when he is thrown down there for a rest or to give us a spark. I would start him on the ball so he flattens the little sh*t in Carr like he did with Whitnall in 2001 at Optus Oval. Once he needs a rest, throw him up forward to unsettle Port's defence. Just out of curiousity who would Port match up on Roo when he goes forward?????? Wilson??????
Didn't McGregor play on Tredrea in the wizzer game? I would play Edwards on Wanganeen as Ladhams isn't defensive enough. Play him on Schofield & both will play loose ofeach other. ie. Would prefer Schofield running loose than Wanganeen, who would cause damage. I would start Bicks on Carr as I don't think Port have an obvious matchup for Roo up forward. Think Kingsley has played on him in the past, but probably wont play this week.

Nah Hart played on Tredrea in Wizzer before he went of with a dislocated knee cap from Hart's tackle;)
Hmmm, I'm sure McGregor has played on Tredrea before & done OK. Perhaps it was the last showdown game. As our CHB, he deserves 1st crack & should give us better balance enabling Smart to tackle C Cornes, Hart to play on S Burgoyne, etc.

Just out of curiousity who would Port match up on Roo when he goes forward?????? Wilson??????
Ohhhhhh, let's see now....Josh Carr, Shaun Burgoyne, Kane Cornes, Monty, Wanganeen, or, as you say, Wilson. Non-question really. While Ricciuto is a great player, there are a ton of options who can match up favourably on him.

Carr is better suited in the midfield, particularly with no Francou, S Burgoyne will be needed up forward, K Cornes will have his hands full with Macca & not convinced Monty as great a player he is would have enough Strength for Roo. Wangas on Roo would be very interesting, but Wilbur is the obvious choice. So Pred, considering Wilson will probably play, you wouldn't have room for Kingsley too (considering they are similar positional players)??

Hmmm, I'm sure McGregor has played on Tredrea before & done OK. Perhaps it was the last showdown game. As our CHB, he deserves 1st crack & should give us better balance enabling Smart to tackle C Cornes, Hart to play on S Burgoyne, etc.

All i remember is Smart playing on Tredrea, and Tredrea convincingly winning that battle!

Originally posted by AngelEyes
All i remember is Smart playing on Tredrea, and Tredrea convincingly winning that battle!
I thought Smart played on Tredders in showdown XI, with McGregor playing on him showdown XII??

Good enough depth to be better than Ports.

I'm not sure why stiify has doubts over McGregor - as you say McGregor has played on Tredrea before & done OK, and McGregor at CHB hasn't had his colours lowered by anybody for many, many games now.

McGregor isn't up there with Hart in terms of being "Mr Reliable" - but he is slowly moving in that direction.

IMO - McGregor on Tredrea (especially since Tredders is coming off an injury), Smart on Cornes, Hart on Junior Burger, Torney on Pickett, Johnco(k on the old burger.

Massie & Doughty & maybe Perrie in, Marsh and Burns out, Reily the other to miss if necessary.

Put Ricciuto down forward & let Wangas worry about him all day.

I thought Smart played on Tredders in showdown XI, with McGregor playing on him showdown XII??

Showdown XII he had 12 marks, 21 possessions and got a Brownlow vote, so even if McGregor did play on him, he didn't do a great job.

Have to agree with Kane's match ups, let McGregor have first try on Tredrae & Nigel on C Cornes, Benny on the younger Burgoyne with Stiffy on his brother & Torney looks a good match up for Pickett, on the midfield Stenglein is a cert to mind Stevens but apart from that i would let the rest of our on-ballers play their normal game & go flat out to blow the Port Power away,

Hmmm, I'm sure McGregor has played on Tredrea before & done OK. Perhaps it was the last showdown game.

Last showdown Mcgregor did play on Tredrea. Last showdown Tredrea had 21 disposals, 12 marks, kicked 1 goal, and was 2nd best on ground!

IMO Kenny should be given first try on Tredrae, Smart on Cornes

Perhaps Edwards to start up forward to match up on Wanganeen, although I'd be tempted to give Ladhams a go and see if he couldn't put Wanganeen under pressure with a couple early goals!

Just a thought, recon they might bring Mattner back in for Reilly, Just a little bit harder sort of player, recon Burns might get the chop too.....maybe for Massie or God forbid Nelson (hope not!) just didn't do the hard things( chase & tackle) that the Crows pride themselves on, Perrie for Marsh-even though Marsh is a bit stif ,brought into the side and given no chance in the ruck then chucked up forward for a few minutes, anyway Perrie is the much better forward option and if both Biglands and Clarke are o.k Marsh should go.

Originally posted by Macca19
Last showdown Mcgregor did play on Tredrea. Last showdown Tredrea had 21 disposals, 12 marks, kicked 1 goal, and was 2nd best on ground!

Think your wrong Macca19, McGregor was on Tredrae in showdown XI Nigel was on Tredrae for most of the day in XII untill he was benched, wasn't that the "bash-em up" showdown ??

Nah mate Smart played on Tredrea both times. 1st time honours were with Smarty while 2nd time Tredders took him to the cleaners.

BTW McGregor was injured for 1st showdown last year.;)

Originally posted by Macca19

I just dug up the tape today of SHowdown XII and McGregor DIDN'T play on Tredrea. Smart played on Tredrea on both occasions last year. McGregor lined up on resting ruckman.

Originally posted by noddy
Think your wrong Macca19, McGregor was on Tredrae in showdown XI Nigel was on Tredrae for most of the day in XII untill he was benched, wasn't that the "bash-em up" showdown ??

Hate to be the bearer of bad news noddy, but McGregor didn't play in Showdown XI.

Whoever did stand Tredrae in Showdown XI should do it again as Tredders only had 7 kicks 4 handballs in that game, with one goal.

If you ever want to check any player from any team's stats from any match, just follow the link below

http://stats.rleague.com/afl/afl_index.html