Crows Vs Redlegs Review

• Thread starter Thread starter Stiffy_18

RoosterWedgie said:
Scores on www.safooty.net

Only 9 goals in it this year, that's very damn impressive by Norwood. Not so impressive by the Crows.

Crows looked pretty ordinary. Ver ordinary indeed. Dropped marks, missed handballs, clumsy tackles.

Good job it is only Feburary.

mate at the game told me that we should have won by more but we fumbled like girls and our forward movement was strange. a few good signs, and still too early to make any calls or predictions, just didnt play very well.

First hit out of the year - to be expected.

Hentschel was awesome up forward and I reckon Chris Knights had about 35 touches and also snapped a good goal.

BOG for sure.

Also caught up with Sammy Eliott which was good, good bloke.

Have to agree we where pretty ordinary. However the the fact we had Roo, McLeod, Hart, Bassett, Edwards, Welsh, Torney and Dogga sitting in the stands says a lot. Add the fact that Thommo was in horrible form...I don't think it was so bad.

k
xx

Very ordinary game Infact the highlight was probably OBJs girls handing out his Jack lives here stickers in his favorite black and white colours

Actual scores quarter by quarter were as follows

1/4 time Crows 4-1 Norwood 2-2

1/2 time Crows 9-4 Norwood 2-3

3/4 time Crows 13-6 Norwood 4-6

Full time Crows 19-7 Norwood 8-7

Crows won by 66 points

Goalscorers: McGregor (5), Hentschel (4), Perrie (3), Meesen Bode Skipworth Knights Burton Vince Bock (1)

I'll write a report as well.

Once again it was a great night at Norwood Oval.

I got there half way through the 3rd quarter. Bryce Gibbs was there but he didn't play for the time that I was watching. He was sitting on the interchange. He is definetly a midfielder. Too short of KPP. Build wise, he could play AFL straight away. He still needs a bit more beef but as far as build is concerned he could play straight away.

The skill level from both sides was pretty ordinary. A couple of players from the state squad caught my eye a bit. Linsey Thomas and Daniel Stanley (PAFC) James Boyd (SAFC). All did a couple of things that showed great football brain and awareness. James Boys is tiny though. He is shorter than Skippy.

Now onto the Crows players

Adrian Bonaddio - Big lump of a lad. Very strong. Not a bad lead. Decent pair of hands. Does attack the ball very well. He has a little bit of an unusual kicking style from set shots but he did convert his one and only opportunity he had in the time I was watching. Stuggles a bit below the knees though.

Tom Redden - Din't notice him.

Sam Elliott - Reads the ball off the hands pretty well. He is a bit on the smallish side. Played as a forward pocket and kicked a goal.

Alan Obst - Not really noticable apart from a couple of times he broke a tackle to dish of a handball to a running team mate.

Brad Sugars - Now this boy impressed me. Has a bit of pace (by no means speedster), reasonable in the air and just gets to the contest. He is an in-between height but he has a nice frame that will fill out really nicely. Kicked some really good goals. Showed some class and goal sense. Struggled a bit on the wing but he is a dead set HFF. Easily the best of our players from the first game.

State U18s beat Norwood reserves quite convincingly. I don't remember the score but it was a pretty reasonable win (around 40 odd points)

Now onto the main one. A LOT of players didn't play tonight. Clarke, Griffin, Bassett, Edwards, Doughty, Hudson, Torney, Welsh, Johncock, McLeod, Stevens, Gibson, Ricciuto, and Hart are the players that didn't play tonight. As a result the game wasn't as fluent as you would expect and the final margin (11 goals) not as convincing as the one last year.

Structually, there is not a hell of a lot different than to last year. We do try to set up the zone on opposition kick ins quicker and we do set it inside 50. Topjars will be pleased that we converted well in front of goals (19.7 121 - a conversion of 73%)

We started off with the following line up

Code:
B: Massie Rutten Van Berlo
HB: Mattner Bock Hinge
C: Jerocho Thompson Burton
HF: Knights McGregor Goodwin
F: Bode Perrie Hentschel
1R: Biglands Reilly Skipworth

INT: Meesen, Shirley, Pfeiffer, Maric, Douglas, Vince, Porplyzia

John Meesen - Didn't play a great deal. His first stint was as a forward coming on for McGregor and immidiatly he kicked a goal. A pretty impressive snap shot over the shoulder even for a little fella let alone a 200 cm ruckman. He did a bit of rucking after that and really was all over the joint. Mis-timed his leaps and didn't do a great deal in the ruck. Still a fair way of being really AFL ready.

Kris Massie - As always tried his heart out. Courge and all but he just made some really dumb decisions. Held on to the ball for too long too many times. He didn't get caught holding the ball but he just waited too long and had to ruch his disposal that ofter went everywhere else but where it shoudl have.

Scott Thompson - Lairised too often. Butchered it a hell of a lot. Just didn't take it seriously enough. Did a couple of good things that we expect from him but he just lairised too much for my liking

Nathan Van Berlo - He has beefed up a bit and he played a good game accross HB. Continued to show some great courage and got his fair share of the footy. Certainly put his hand up for selection next week.

Matthew Bode - The little tiger. Fought for every thing, kept getting the hard footy and even managed to sneak a goal or two. Really liked his game. Didn't kick it around the body and his kicks hit the target. Makes the 22 surely.

Robert Shirley - Played a solid, Shirley like game. Criagy rotated him with Thommo. I assume to maintain the hardness factor around the stoppages.

Hayden Skipworth - For all of you that thinkhe will be pushed out of the team. Well think again. Certainly in the top 3-4 players tonight for us. He kept getting the footy. Kept getting the clearences and kept making an impact when he was on the field. He even kicked a goal when he went forward. If thats how he has performed during the pre-season, his spot is well and truly his and it will take a hell of a lot to take it off him.

Ken McGregor - Your typical Kenny McGregor game. Kicked his 4-5 goals. Contested everything. Took a couple of really strong marks. Send a scare through the Crows fiathful when he landed akwardly on his back or hip in the 4th quarter but got up and kicked the goal.

Darren Pfeiffer - Didn't play until the 4th quarter. Still pretty raw. He will need time. In one play he did really well to out-body his opponent in one on one contest to take a mark but stuffed it up by playing on and getting caught. Not enough game time to draw any real conclusions.

Ivan Maric - His ruckwork is OK and he took a nice mark in the defensive 50 but he is too indecisive when he gets the ball. Too slow to get rid off it. He got caught a couple of times. He is suffering from Massie syndrome. He got more time than Maric and performed a bit better but for our sake lets hope that Biglands and Clarke can stay healthy and in form for the whole year because if we are to rely on Meesen or Maric to be back up ruckman, I think we are in trouble. They show some promise but they are both a fair way off being AFL ready.

Chris Knights - Started off between HFF and wing and spent most of the game playing as a wingman. Started off a bit slow but then just went nuts. Kept getting the footy and his kicking seems to have improved. A typical Chris Knights game. Got plenty of footy, used it pretty well and managed to sneak forward and crumb himself a goal. Shoudl play most games this year.

Ian Perrie - He left off where he finished last year. Contested everything. Split packs, took marks and kicked goals. Hell he even kicked a snap shot goal. He finished with 3 or 4 if I recall correctly.

Brett Burton - EASILY the best player in the first half. He was EVERYWHERE. One minute he is taking a mark on HBF and the next he is kicking a goal at the other end. His defensive work was superb. I lost the number of times he got back and saved our backsides with defensive spoils. Mr 1%ers tonight. Really deserves a big pat on the back for his defensive work tonight. Got a fair bit of the footy, marked well and used it well.

Ben Rutten - A rock in the back line. Didn't give his opponent a sniff. Provided a bit of run out of defence a couple of times. I particularly like one play. There were 3 norwood players in a pack going for the ball. Truck comes running in, splits the pack, picks up the ball and delivers a pin point pass to Knights on the wing.

Richard Douglas - built like a tooth pick but I can see why those at West Lakes rave about his work around stoppages. He just keeps getting it. He does get pushed off the ball easily but thats understandable. With a bot more muscle and strength he will be fine. A classy little player. I like him. Very footy smart. Showed a bit of leadership by yelling instructions at players while setting up the zone. He will be good down the track no doubt

Bernie Vince - Played mainly on the wing and one thing you notice is his desperation. He just went in a couple of times without fear. He also did a couple of things that had pure class written all over them. I think he also will take a bit of time but he does have that bit of something about him.

Luke Jericho - Very quiet game from Jezza. I was hoping he would do more. Started on the wing then played a bit forward. He did have limited PS so maybe he is still to catch up with the rest of the squad.

Brent Reilly - Played as an onballer and did a pretty good job. He got a bit of the footy but what was pribably most impressive was his despersation. He just kept throwing himself at the footy and quite often he was the player at the bottom of the pack. He had a more dominant game this time last year but he was more in and under this time around.

Rhett Biglands - His ruckwork was good. He got a bit of the footy early, playing a kick behind the play BUT he just kept messing up the disposal. He typically takes a month ot get into form as he is not a natural footballer. Ifhe doesn't get injured, he will play himsefl into form by round 1.

Simon Goodwin - Played most of the game as a HFF. He presented well but dropped some marks that you expect Goody to take. He had a hitout, didn't get injured and that all that really matter.

Trent Hentschel - What a ********ing freak. I recall him kicking 4 freakish goals. 2 in particular that let you scratching your head thinking how the hell did he do that. First goal was a piece of magic. A congested pack 25 meters out in front of goal. Hentschel comes it, ducks and weaves, gets a foot to the ball, kicks it through the eye of the needle and it dribbles through for a goal. A couple of minutes later, he charges out of the goal square, gets the footy and has a snap over his shoulder without even looking at the goals and its straight through the middle. In the second QTR he marks about 30 meters from goal hugging the boundary line. He doesn't run around to kick it. He has a srtaight kick at it. Straight through. He kicked another one from the boundary line this one some 50 meters from goal. Dropped a couple of overhead marks that he shoudl have taken but overall its was a pretty good game from Rowdy. Played the 4th quarter at CHB.

John Hinge - not prominent but he just keeps putting his head over the ball. He gets knocked off and he is straight on his feet going for the ball. He gets crunched between 2 norwood players, he gets up, picks up the ball and fires a handball to a running Douglas. Decent game from Hinge.

Martin Mattner - Played as a HBF. Took a couple of strong overhead marks, showed us a bit of Marty evasive magic and did his bit. Had a hitout, din't get hurt and its all good.

Jason Porplyzia - He is short but he is very nuggety. GREAT disposal by foot under pressure. Played mainly in the midfield and got some quality touches there.

Nathan Bock - Played 3 QTRS at CHB and played the 4th at CHF, managing to kick a goal. Provided a lot of run from defence. Had his head almost taken off twice in one play. Got a fair bit of it. Ran from defence. Had some good plays mixed with a couple of mistakes. Overall a pretty good game from Bocky,

Final Score

Adelaide 19.7. 121
Norwood 8.7. 55

Thanks for the report stiffy very well done as per usual, it is only early Feb, so nothing to be worried about at this stage I wouldnt think, just need to make sure we contiune our good conversion in front of goal and make sure we hit our targets, from the sounds of things that is what will be worked on this week on the track.

Great post Stiffy. Would pretty much agree with everything you said. Burton was terrific, Goody was good (no pun intended) and I thought Knights was fabulous.

k
xx

Stiffy_18 said:
Once again it was a great night at Norwood Oval.

I got there half way through the 3rd quarter. Bryce Gibbs was there but he didn't play for the time that I was watching. He was sitting on the interchange. He is definetly a midfielder. Too short of KPP. Build wise, he could play AFL straight away. He still needs a bit more beef but as far as build is concerned he could play straight away.

The skill level from both sides was pretty ordinary. A couple of players from the state squad caught my eye a bit. Linsey Thomas and Daniel Stanley (PAFC) James Boyd (SAFC). All did a couple of things that showed great football brain and awareness. James Boys is tiny though. He is shorter than Skippy.

Now onto the Crows players

Adrian Bonaddio - Big lump of a lad. Very strong. Not a bad lead. Decent pair of hands. Does attack the ball very well. He has a little bit of an unusual kicking style from set shots but he did convert his one and only opportunity he had in the time I was watching. Stuggles a bit below the knees though.

Tom Redden - Din't notice him.

Sam Elliott - Reads the ball off the hands pretty well. He is a bit on the smallish side. Played as a forward pocket and kicked a goal.

Alan Obst - Not really noticable apart from a couple of times he broke a tackle to dish of a handball to a running team mate.

Brad Sugars - Now this boy impressed me. Has a bit of pace (by no means speedster), reasonable in the air and just gets to the contest. He is an in-between height but he has a nice frame that will fill out really nicely. Kicked some really good goals. Showed some class and goal sense. Struggled a bit on the wing but he is a dead set HFF. Easily the best of our players from the first game.

State U18s beat Norwood reserves quite convincingly. I don't remember the score but it was a pretty reasonable win (around 40 odd points)

Now onto the main one. A LOT of players didn't play tonight. Clarke, Griffin, Bassett, Edwards, Doughty, Hudson, Torney, Welsh, Johncock, McLeod, Stevens, Gibson, Ricciuto, and Hart are the players that didn't play tonight. As a result the game wasn't as fluent as you would expect and the final margin (11 goals) not as convincing as the one last year.

Structually, there is not a hell of a lot different than to last year. We do try to set up the zone on opposition kick ins quicker and we do set it inside 50. Topjars will be pleased that we converted well in front of goals (19.7 121 - a conversion of 73%)

We started off with the following line up

Code:
B: Massie Rutten Van Berlo
HB: Mattner Bock Hinge
C: Jerocho Thompson Burton
HF: Knights McGregor Goodwin
F: Bode Perrie Hentschel
1R: Biglands Reilly Skipworth

INT: Meesen, Shirley, Pfeiffer, Maric, Douglas, Vince, Porplyzia

John Meesen - Didn't play a great deal. His first stint was as a forward coming on for McGregor and immidiatly he kicked a goal. A pretty impressive snap shot over the shoulder even for a little fella let alone a 200 cm ruckman. He did a bit of rucking after that and really was all over the joint. Mis-timed his leaps and didn't do a great deal in the ruck. Still a fair way of being really AFL ready.

Kris Massie - As always tried his heart out. Courge and all but he just made some really dumb decisions. Held on to the ball for too long too many times. He didn't get caught holding the ball but he just waited too long and had to ruch his disposal that ofter went everywhere else but where it shoudl have.

Scott Thompson - Lairised too often. Butchered it a hell of a lot. Just didn't take it seriously enough. Did a couple of good things that we expect from him but he just lairised too much for my liking

Nathan Van Berlo - He has beefed up a bit and he played a good game accross HB. Continued to show some great courage and got his fair share of the footy. Certainly put his hand up for selection next week.

Matthew Bode - The little tiger. Fought for every thing, kept getting the hard footy and even managed to sneak a goal or two. Really liked his game. Didn't kick it around the body and his kicks hit the target. Makes the 22 surely.

Robert Shirley - Played a solid, Shirley like game. Criagy rotated him with Thommo. I assume to maintain the hardness factor around the stoppages.

Hayden Skipworth - For all of you that thinkhe will be pushed out of the team. Well think again. Certainly in the top 3-4 players tonight for us. He kept getting the footy. Kept getting the clearences and kept making an impact when he was on the field. He even kicked a goal when he went forward. If thats how he has performed during the pre-season, his spot is well and truly his and it will take a hell of a lot to take it off him.

Ken McGregor - Your typical Kenny McGregor game. Kicked his 4-5 goals. Contested everything. Took a couple of really strong marks. Send a scare through the Crows fiathful when he landed akwardly on his back or hip in the 4th quarter but got up and kicked the goal.

Darren Pfeiffer - Didn't play until the 4th quarter. Still pretty raw. He will need time. In one play he did really well to out-body his opponent in one on one contest to take a mark but stuffed it up by playing on and getting caught. Not enough game time to draw any real conclusions.

Ivan Maric - His ruckwork is OK and he took a nice mark in the defensive 50 but he is too indecisive when he gets the ball. Too slow to get rid off it. He got caught a couple of times. He is suffering from Massie syndrome. He got more time than Maric and performed a bit better but for our sake lets hope that Biglands and Clarke can stay healthy and in form for the whole year because if we are to rely on Meesen or Maric to be back up ruckman, I think we are in trouble. They show some promise but they are both a fair way off being AFL ready.

Chris Knights - Started off between HFF and wing and spent most of the game playing as a wingman. Started off a bit slow but then just went nuts. Kept getting the footy and his kicking seems to have improved. A typical Chris Knights game. Got plenty of footy, used it pretty well and managed to sneak forward and crumb himself a goal. Shoudl play most games this year.

Ian Perrie - He left off where he finished last year. Contested everything. Split packs, took marks and kicked goals. Hell he even kicked a snap shot goal. He finished with 3 or 4 if I recall correctly.

Brett Burton - EASILY the best player in the first half. He was EVERYWHERE. One minute he is taking a mark on HBF and the next he is kicking a goal at the other end. His defensive work was superb. I lost the number of times he got back and saved our backsides with defensive spoils. Mr 1%ers tonight. Really deserves a big pat on the back for his defensive work tonight. Got a fair bit of the footy, marked well and used it well.

Ben Rutten - A rock in the back line. Didn't give his opponent a sniff. Provided a bit of run out of defence a couple of times. I particularly like one play. There were 3 norwood players in a pack going for the ball. Truck comes running in, splits the pack, picks up the ball and delivers a pin point pass to Knights on the wing.

Richard Douglas - built like a tooth pick but I can see why those at West Lakes rave about his work around stoppages. He just keeps getting it. He does get pushed off the ball easily but thats understandable. With a bot more muscle and strength he will be fine. A classy little player. I like him. Very footy smart. Showed a bit of leadership by yelling instructions at players while setting up the zone. He will be good down the track no doubt

Bernie Vince - Played mainly on the wing and one thing you notice is his desperation. He just went in a couple of times without fear. He also did a couple of things that had pure class written all over them. I think he also will take a bit of time but he does have that bit of something about him.

Luke Jericho - Very quiet game from Jezza. I was hoping he would do more. Started on the wing then played a bit forward. He did have limited PS so maybe he is still to catch up with the rest of the squad.

Brent Reilly - Played as an onballer and did a pretty good job. He got a bit of the footy but what was pribably most impressive was his despersation. He just kept throwing himself at the footy and quite often he was the player at the bottom of the pack. He had a more dominant game this time last year but he was more in and under this time around.

Rhett Biglands - His ruckwork was good. He got a bit of the footy early, playing a kick behind the play BUT he just kept messing up the disposal. He typically takes a month ot get into form as he is not a natural footballer. Ifhe doesn't get injured, he will play himsefl into form by round 1.

Simon Goodwin - Played most of the game as a HFF. He presented well but dropped some marks that you expect Goody to take. He had a hitout, didn't get injured and that all that really matter.

Trent Hentschel - What a ********ing freak. I recall him kicking 4 freakish goals. 2 in particular that let you scratching your head thinking how the hell did he do that. First goal was a piece of magic. A congested pack 25 meters out in front of goal. Hentschel comes it, ducks and weaves, gets a foot to the ball, kicks it through the eye of the needle and it dribbles through for a goal. A couple of minutes later, he charges out of the goal square, gets the footy and has a snap over his shoulder without even looking at the goals and its straight through the middle. In the second QTR he marks about 30 meters from goal hugging the boundary line. He doesn't run around to kick it. He has a srtaight kick at it. Straight through. He kicked another one from the boundary line this one some 50 meters from goal. Dropped a couple of overhead marks that he shoudl have taken but overall its was a pretty good game from Rowdy. Played the 4th quarter at CHB.

John Hinge - not prominent but he just keeps putting his head over the ball. He gets knocked off and he is straight on his feet going for the ball. He gets crunched between 2 norwood players, he gets up, picks up the ball and fires a handball to a running Douglas. Decent game from Hinge.

Martin Mattner - Played as a HBF. Took a couple of strong overhead marks, showed us a bit of Marty evasive magic and did his bit. Had a hitout, din't get hurt and its all good.

Jason Porplyzia - He is short but he is very nuggety. GREAT disposal by foot under pressure. Played mainly in the midfield and got some quality touches there.

Nathan Bock - Played 3 QTRS at CHB and played the 4th at CHF, managing to kick a goal. Provided a lot of run from defence. Had his head almost taken off twice in one play. Got a fair bit of it. Ran from defence. Had some good plays mixed with a couple of mistakes. Overall a pretty good game from Bocky,

Final Score

Adelaide 19.7. 121
Norwood 8.7. 55

Thanks for the report Stiffy, good to see everyone came through unscathed.

Crows 19-7 defeated Norwood 8-7 by 66 points

An interesting game that never rose to particularly great heights. It was a scrappy game riddled with errors and lairising, punctuated by occasional moments of brilliance.

It started that way in the first quarter - very disjointed with no system at all - and while the game had its moments, the absence of around 9 first choice players certainly had an effect on the overall standard of our game.

In a way that was good as it highlighted the individual performances, both good and bad.

The rucks were rotated basically three ways, Biglands on first, followed by Maric, followed by Meesen, and it's fair to say that was the order in which they performed.

Just a word to those who don't want Clarke to play in ruck this year, neither Maric or Meesen are AFL ready on tonight's performance. Biglands provided the most drive when rucking, coupled with some useful things around the ground, marred of course by his usual brain fades. He is certainly not the sharpest tool in the shed, but was by far the best ruckman for the Crows.

Maric was pretty good with his ruckwork, and probably broke even in this department, but certainly provided less drive than Biglands, while his work around the ground is not yet up to par.

Meesen was a huge disappointment when rucking IMO. In fact he barely got hand to ball at all, and Norwood always took control when he was rucking. He had a nice little patch from a forward pocket in the second quarter kicking a lovely left foot snapped goal, and setting Bernie Vince up for anothet with a slick handball. but as a ruckman he was a complete failure tonight and would have to improve dramatically on that effort to be a chance this year.

The on-ballers were rotated in two batches of 3. The premier trio were undoubtedly Riley, Thompson and Skippy who generated a ton of drive when in the centre and on the ball. The second trio of Douglas, Porplyzia and Shirley all had their moments, but not to the degree of the big boys.

All KPP's did well with Hentschel snapping 2 freak goals plus kicking his other 2 from very acute set shots. Mcgregor had a seemingly quiet night yet kicked 5 goals, while Perrie played pretty well roaming far and wide and snaffling 3 goals.

Down back Bock dominated the CHB position and Rutten looked pretty good at FB.

The game itself certainly offered no clue as to what Adelaide's new forward methods might be - certainly one would hope that it didn't involve the massive over-use of handball, indirect play, and poor decisions that were often on display tonight.

However it did answer some questions IMO in respect of young players and those on the fringe.

Knights - played HFF and wing, plus appeared to sneak onto the ball at times. Would love to know his stats as he just kept racking them up. He's a gun in the making - a real gun. Must be in the starting 22.

Van Berlo - played HBF all night. Good game and has really beefed up. Will be a long term quality player. Must be in the 22.

Richard Douglas. All I can say is, well done AFC - he's a beauty. Very light at this stage but he is the best genuine roving package prospect that we have had IMO. A true rover, with all the skills of great vision, pace, courage, tackling, evasive skills and disposal. Could be too light for this year, but gee, what a long-term prospect.

Maric and Meesen - not there yet. Ruckmen take longer and these boys need longer.

Porplyzia - or should I say Manos. He has no neck!! :p He did pretty well really and would be around the fringe of selection. Went in hard, tackled hard and uses the ball well. He doesn't have that classy touch to his game that Douglas does though, so I'll reserve judgement.

I like Vince. He had short stints on the ground and always did something pretty useful when he was there. He could well make it. He does seem to have a touch of class at times.

Pfeiffer only played the last quarter. did a couple of neat things but didn't see enough of him to draw conclusions.

Skipworth played a bottler. Got caught a couple of times through lack of pace, but he will retain his spot on that effort. He was Mr pepper and salt - in everything.

I loved Reilly's game. He has stepped up, based on that game. Got a ton of the ball, used it well, tackled ferociously and was very high in our best players.

Not sure about Bodey. He played pretty well without being dominant. Usage of the ball was good, but can we fit him in?

Hinge played HBF and was pretty handy without being spectacular.

The two biggest negatives were as follows:

Jericho - the invisible man. Started on a wing, eventually went up forwrad and did sweet fk-all in both positions. Must lift his game or he's a certain delistee at year-end.

Massie the stuffer-upper. Got the ball a bit, but dear oh dear, his decision making screamed "delist me"!!

My Best Players

Burton. Terrific game and looked a classs above most players on the ground

Knights. Just keeps on keeping on getting the ball. He's a machine.

Reilly. Really liked his game tonight. See above.

Skippy. Great game - once again see above

Bock. Dominated his CHB oposition.

Thompson. got a ton of the ball but lairised badly.

Others that could well have been there were Hentschel and McGregor.

Douglas to get my Rising Star nom for the night!! ;)

Actually the report of the game is a fairly average one as it doesn't mention the opposition once. If you want to kid yourself that that performance, by wildly overpaid and over peroxided show ponies, was anything to write home about then you deserve another season like last year.

Credit Norwood at least with exposing some of your players as being reactive, slow of thought and selfish. And this from an SANFL team whose total wage bill wouldn't cover Mark Riccuto's annual beard maintenance.

This thread doesn't alter my opinion of Crows fans one iota.

TopsyWaldron said:
Actually the report of the game is a fairly average one as it doesn't mention the opposition once. If you want to kid yourself that that performance, by wildly overpaid and over peroxided show ponies, was anything to write home about then you deserve another season like last year.

Credit Norwood at least with exposing some of your players as being reactive, slow of thought and selfish. And this from an SANFL team whose total wage bill wouldn't cover Mark Riccuto's annual beard maintenance.

Mate, articles are written for an audience, and on the Adelaide Crows Board, the articles are written about the Crows for the benefit of the Crows supporters. They don't give a fling fk who played well for Norwood, and neither did I, other than what weaknesses it exposed in the Crows.

If you want to write your review of the game with a Norwood slant, you're entitled to do so and post it on the SANFL board.

Stiffy_18 said:
O

Adrian Bonaddio - Big lump of a lad. Very strong. Not a bad lead. Decent pair of hands. Does attack the ball very well. .

Kris Massie - As always tried his heart out. Courge and all but he just made some really dumb decisions.

Nathan Van Berlo - He has beefed up a bit and he played a good game accross HB. Continued to show some great courage and got his fair share of the footy.
Matthew Bode - The little tiger. Fought for every thing, kept getting the hard footy and even managed to sneak a goal or two.

Ian Perrie - He left off where he finished last year. Contested everything. Split packs, took marks and kicked goals.
Ben Rutten - Truck comes running in, splits the pack, picks up the ball and delivers a pin point pass to Knights on the wing.

Bernie Vince - Played mainly on the wing and one thing you notice is his desperation. He just went in a couple of times without fear.

Brent Reilly - Played as an onballer and did a pretty good job. He got a bit of the footy but what was pribably most impressive was his despersation. He just kept throwing himself at the footy and quite often he was the player at the bottom of the pack.

i find what i quoted as very promising as it would appear we have some hard nuts wanting to play

i quoted the hentshell bit as this guy could be the difference in 06 if this is a sign of things to come

TopsyWaldron said:

well pi$$ off from the board then losewr

Does anyone want to have a guess at the 22 this year, from what I read here there's a few entries but who's out? I'm assuming (desperatley hoping) young Doughty will be forced out of the side but who else is going to step aside for Knights and or anyone else? It's not like we can drop Edwards or Macca for Douglas.

Eggzoi said:
Does anyone want to have a guess at the 22 this year, from what I read here there's a few entries but who's out? I'm assuming (desperatley hoping) young Doughty will be forced out of the side but who else is going to step aside for Knights and or anyone else? It's not like we can drop Edwards or Macca for Douglas.
we might never know until the last trial game before rnd 1

Eggzoi said:

Very difficult, as it looked like Skippy and Doughty out, and Knights and Van Berlo in.

Skippy complicated that tonight by playing a real ripper. thank goodness there is another 4 pre-season games to help with these selections.

Douglas will probably not be this year. At best, probably later in the year in the event of injury. He's a next year starter IMO and a beauty at that.

In summary, too early to tell.