Crows Youngsters

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

Vince - he is clean - and he has a penatrating kick - he was worth pick 32 - take it from me.

Knights - very good with the footie- he runs to the right spot - but he must improve defensive part of his game - tackling needs to improve.

Van Berlo - will play round 1 - so courageous and assured for one so young. Future captain.

Maric - believing in himself more each week. Needs gametime at this level.

Skippy - out of form even before injured. Other players have gone past him at this stage.

Jericho - that goal told us what he can do - he needs more self beleif at his level. With belief comes improves performance and a better more confident attack on the ball.

Bode -much much better effort, but still does not kick enough goals. Worked his butt off - good defensive pressure.

Perrie- no-one works harder but you cannot afford to kick into the man on the mark from 15m out. Once again this poor effort changed the momentum of the game.

Stiffy - seems out of sorts at the moment.

Rutten - agree with somneone else earlier also looked out of sorts on the night.

Hinge - better effort but still needs to hit through the ball more and increase acceleration when he has ball.

Birdman - ability to infuriate or shower heaps of praise - he needs to make less mistakes though at his age however.

Macca, Goody and Tyson relatively quiet. Better last quarter from the MAc man.

Mattner train did well on much taller opponents - needs to be freed up though so he can give us that offensive run out of defense.

Hentschell - continuing to show us more in his armoury.

Reilly - looks ot have lost a bit of bulk and has more pace this year. Like his more physical approach.

Thomo - we need to see more from him as well.

Our backline will look and act more effectively when Bassett and Hart return. How long before Bassett makes it?

Biglands - would like to see him take the bit between the teeth more often. A couple more grabs per game needed. Thought he was Ok though.

Forwards seemed to get in each others way more this week. We do not seem to play this ground that well. What do others think?

Gets! said:
Nah we dont need Bailey. We got Clarke, Biglands, Maric, Meesen and Griffin. Gibson can also pinch hit in the ruck.

Stiffy_18 Vince only had one shot at goal...and it was a snap.

Speaking of Gibson, I heard the new Norwood coach on the radio and he said that he was really impressed with his game against Port. He said that he still has a lot to learn but was very clean down back. Very happy with Vince in his first game.

Drummond said:
Great summary mate.

I actually think Roughead is more suited to the backline, but tonight he was great up forward. The kid can play, there's no doubt that he could turn into one of the best players in the competition. To be honest I thought he beat Rutten tonight on many one-on-one contests, I don't know what was wrong with Rutten but he looked slow tonight. He struggled to contain Roughead on many occasions in the last quarter, and it just looked as though he wasn't quite 100% fit. Anyone else get the same feeling?

reckon roughhead needs to be played the rest of his career at CHF-FF. not one of his better games, but has just turned 19 in january, so has plenty of time ;) anyone that can take a contested mark like roughhead has the potential to tear games apart in this league. check out this link

Knights - Not as good as last week but still a good game from Chris. It scares me when I tell myself he is only 18

u are **********ting me, u have some sorta gun on ur hands here. couple of u guys called this very very early last year.:eek:

Drummond said:
Great summary mate.

I actually think Roughead is more suited to the backline, but tonight he was great up forward. The kid can play, there's no doubt that he could turn into one of the best players in the competition. To be honest I thought he beat Rutten tonight on many one-on-one contests, I don't know what was wrong with Rutten but he looked slow tonight. He struggled to contain Roughead on many occasions in the last quarter, and it just looked as though he wasn't quite 100% fit. Anyone else get the same feeling?

reckon roughhead needs to be played the rest of his career at CHF-FF. not one of his better games, but has just turned 19 in january, so has plenty of time ;) anyone that can take a contested mark like roughhead has the potential to tear games apart in this league. check out this link, couple of marks from last year when roughy was playing for box hill :D

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=179794&highlight=Roughead

Knights - Not as good as last week but still a good game from Chris. It scares me when I tell myself he is only 18

u are **********ting me, u have some sorta gun on ur hands here. couple of u guys called this very very early last year.:eek:

Drummond said:
Great summary mate.

Didnt Rutten have a groin issue? I was under the impression he was going to be rested this week because he left the track early with groin soreness. He definately looked like he wasnt moving freely.

Roughead does look good, so does Franklin. Theyre both top 5 picks though, so they should be emerging stars.

Franklin looked the best to me, always provided a strong lead and had great hands below his knees, obviously still a bit rough but will be awesome when he puts it all together.

Although Boogie played really well again and looks all class, I thought the Count was a tower of strength on the HBF.

He looks like he's much bigger than last year and his reading of the play was exceptional.

The Bernie was very classy in parts and didnt look out of place on the big stage. Will be interesting to see him play more pre season games.

Hinge did a few nice things but couldnt get into the game IMHO.

To be fair on The Wall (Jericho) you cant play well and sit on the bench at the same time. Some here thought he went cold in the 2nd and early in the
3rd term but he was on the bench.

Big Evaaaaan also did some nice work and his 2nd and 3rd efforts were something that took my eye.

Blue Red and Gold said:
Franklin looked the best to me, always provided a strong lead and had great hands below his knees, obviously still a bit rough but will be awesome when he puts it all together.
both roughy and franklin just turned 19. so they have time.

do u guys reckon VB is in ur best 22, looks another midfielder u have scored late in the draft.

who is ur recruiting guy?

LukeHodge15 said:

do u guys reckon VB is in ur best 22, looks another midfielder u have scored late in the draft.

I understand they are only young, they will be exceptional talents.

VB is a Definate midfielder if you ask me, but at the moment I like seeing him come off the half back line.

I have a feeling Meeson is home sick. Now i didn't expect him to set the world on fire but he hasn't really shown anything. Yeah he could be a late bloomer and its only been 1 year but i've been a bit dissapointed. At the moment it looks like Maric has overtaken him.

Gets! said:
VB is definetely in our best 22. Was taken at pick 24.

Chris Knights was taken at pick 56 which is quite amazing really...

Is VB there yet. I have Knights and Reilly ahead of him.

B: Johncock Rutten Bassett
HB: Torney Bock Hart
C: Mattner Ricciuto Goodwin
HF: Thompson McGregor Perrie
F: Welsh Hentschel Burton

R: Biglands McLeod Edwards

INT: (Maric or Clarke), Shirley, (2 of Knights, Reilly, Van Berlo, Doughty, Massie, Skipworth, Bode, Jericho, Vince, Hinge, Porplyzia, and whoever else)

AdelUniCrowFan said:
Is VB there yet. I have Knights and Reilly ahead of him.

B: Johncock Rutten Bassett
HB: Torney Bock Hart
C: Mattner Ricciuto Goodwin
HF: Thompson McGregor Perrie
F: Welsh Hentschel Burton

R: Biglands McLeod Edwards

INT: (Maric or Clarke), Shirley, (2 of Knights, Reilly, Van Berlo, Doughty, Massie, Skipworth, Bode, Jericho, Vince, Hinge, Porplyzia, and whoever else)

Hell. When you look at it on paper like that, if all players are available, selection is going to be damned tough.

Your starting 18 all have to be in the 22 IMO.

One ruckman and Shirley look to be a must as well.

Knights and Reilly also have to play IMO.

Yet VB deserves to be in there as does Bode. The others will have to queue behind this pair.

What a problem to have - a good one. Injury will probably sort it out though.

LukeHodge15 said:

Sorry mate I missed that last question.

Our recruiting manager is James Fantasia. Has a great record of plucking talent late in the draft.

LukeHodge15 said:

Fantassia but you wouldn't want him as he has a history of wasting high draft picks:

Blue Red and Gold said:

Our recruiting manager is James Fantasia. Has a great record of plucking talent late in the draft.

James still has a bit of proving to do. If he hadnt picked those late ones (johncock, henschel, rutten, bock & mattner) he wouldnt be our recruiter anymore, cause theres nothing else to add. Reilly maybe thats it. Considering he got lucky in one draft means until the 2004 draft he had a bit of a dry patch. The new pressure NC has brought in to perform has made a few things change in recent times. Just the general feeling you get is that since 2004 we've picked up some good players. Plus JF has been given all the picks which doesnt hurt either.

Big test will be how the likes of skipworth and even shirely who goes up and down a bit perform when the stars go. I notice jimmy was quick to stamp them as quality players and how he had alway had 'faith' in them last yr when asked about them.

Blue Red and Gold said:

seems to have a better record late than early........would that be a fair assesment?

although u guys have been pretty well starved of draft picks the last 10 years.

adelaide

16.douglas
17.pfeiffer
32.vince
48.obst:thumbsu:

8.meeson
24.VB
28.gibson
40.maric
56.knights:thumbsu:

14.watts
31.krueger
58.hudson:thumbsu:

32.jericho
56.shirley'
68.begley

12.reilly
44.finnan
59.schuback

hawks

3.ellis
6.dowler
14.birchall
18.bailey
22.muston:thumbsu:
38.tuck (f-s)

2.roughead:thumbsu:
5.franklin
7.lewis
21.murphy
26.little
53.taylor

25.miller
41.dawson
51.ball

8.brennan
51.boyle
65.veale

2001-where would we be without this draft???

1.hodge:thumbsu:
16.ladson
20.elstone
32.brown
36.mitchell
48.cox

seems both clubs value the draft a bit different now to a few years ago. think all clubs do apart from maybe sydney

LukeHodge15 said:
seems to have a better record late than early........would that be a fair assesment?

although u guys have been pretty well starved of draft picks the last 10 years.

adelaide

16.douglas
17.pfeiffer
32.vince
48.obst:thumbsu:

8.meeson
24.VB
28.gibson
40.maric
56.knights:thumbsu:

14.watts
31.krueger
58.hudson:thumbsu:

32.jericho
56.shirley'
68.begley

12.reilly
44.finnan
59.schuback

hawks

3.ellis
6.dowler
14.birchall
18.bailey
22.muston:thumbsu:
38.tuck (f-s)

2.roughead:thumbsu:
5.franklin
7.lewis
21.murphy
26.little
53.taylor

25.miller
41.dawson
51.ball

8.brennan
51.boyle
65.veale

2001-where would we be without this draft???

1.hodge:thumbsu:
16.ladson
20.elstone
32.brown
36.mitchell
48.cox

seems both clubs value the draft a bit different now to a few years ago. think all clubs do apart from maybe sydney

Why the thunbs up next to Obst?? Mate, Mitchell at 36 is a steal as hopefully Knights at 56 will be for us. In Fantassia defense, he has done extremely well with some late draft pickies and had a particularly good year in 2001. The jury is still out on 2004, 2005 draft picks..

SpringChoke said:
Why the thunbs up next to Obst?? Mate, Mitchell at 36 is a steal as hopefully Knights at 56 will be for us. In Fantassia defense, he has done extremely well with some late draft pickies and had a particularly good year in 2001. The jury is still out on 2004, 2005 draft picks..

Spring how did he have a gd year in 01? DO you mean the rookies at the end of 02?

outback jack said:
johncock, henschel, rutten, bock & mattner

didnt find these guys in the drafts on afl.com

i'm assuming that they were picked up in the rookie draft or pre-season drafts. good list of guys there.

SpringChoke said:

was only allowed 6 thumbs,;) i ran out............i rate obst, reckon he is a steal that late.

im a huge fan of KP players though. especially with early picks.......mids should only be taken early if they are absolute stand outs. thats why ellis at 3 irks me.:mad: :mad:

But he did Jack, he did find those gems so your point is irrelevent. I could easily turn around and go, if he didnt stuff up his first round picks he would be the best recruiter in the league.

outback jack said:
James still has a bit of proving to do. If he hadnt picked those late ones (johncock, henschel, rutten, bock & mattner) he wouldnt be our recruiter anymore, cause theres nothing else to add. Reilly maybe thats it. Considering he got lucky in one draft means until the 2004 draft he had a bit of a dry patch. The new pressure NC has brought in to perform has made a few things change in recent times. Just the general feeling you get is that since 2004 we've picked up some good players. Plus JF has been given all the picks which doesnt hurt either.

Big test will be how the likes of skipworth and even shirely who goes up and down a bit perform when the stars go. I notice jimmy was quick to stamp them as quality players and how he had alway had 'faith' in them last yr when asked about them.

jackie boy, you are over-looking one thing.

Fantasia recommends players to the selection committee - the coach has the final word. For 5 years before 2004 and 2005 that man was Gary Ayres.

Because they don't know much about the later picks themselves, coaches are more likely to heed their Recruiting team's advice, whereas they seem to have a greater influence on the early picks so perhaps the blame for early picks should be levelled at coaches?

On balance I think our recruiting in the past 2years has been good - is this because Craig puts more faith in Fantasia and his team?

It'd be interesting to know.