Crows Youngsters

• Thread starter Thread starter Drummond

macca23 said:
Because they don't know much about the later picks themselves, coaches are more likely to heed their Recruiting team's advice, whereas they seem to have a greater influence on the early picks so perhaps the blame for early picks should be levelled at coaches?

that's a really interesting way of looking at it, and you could well be right.

macca23 said:
jackie boy, you are over-looking one thing.

Fantasia recommends players to the selection committee - the coach has the final word. For 5 years before 2004 and 2005 that man was Gary Ayres.

Because they don't know much about the later picks themselves, coaches are more likely to heed their Recruiting team's advice, whereas they seem to have a greater influence on the early picks so perhaps the blame for early picks should be levelled at coaches?

On balance I think our recruiting in the past 2years has been good - is this because Craig puts more faith in Fantasia and his team?

It'd be interesting to know.

I dont reckon we can blame everything on ayres. What seems to have happened was for 2-3yrs the club took their eye off the ball and Gary got the boot and blame, while everyone else kept their job. There has been a noticeable change with somethings, almost an acknowledgement of below-par performance previously of the club as a whole.

With the picks, you could see ayres as the type of person that might override a decision. Maybe a bit harsh though, who knows what goes on behind the scenes. The last two yrs we’ve had better picks too. I think theres no doubt NC has seen it as an area of weakness or atleast undeveloped with the extra appointments we've had in the recruiting department since hes been in charge. Maybe it was a hint or he just thought james needed some extra help! Sometimes when the pressure is put on ppl perform.:)

Blue Red and Gold said:
But he did Jack, he did find those gems so your point is irrelevent. I could easily turn around and go, if he didnt stuff up his first round picks he would be the best recruiter in the league.

ok but if you were making out that 'its another gem from fanta' like some do, its relevant because he needed those gems to have an acceptable overall drafting record.

outback jack said:
ok but if you were making out that 'its another gem from fanta' like some do, its relevant because he needed those gems to have an acceptable overall drafting record.

logic's not a strong point of yours is it jack?

Have you heard the saying "if your aunty had balls she'd be your uncle" ?

The Crows Truth said:
Spring how did he have a gd year in 01? DO you mean the rookies at the end of 02?

Actually you're right. I thought it was 01 then I remembered the club saying it was okay they used early draft picks on Carey as we supposedly had 3 rookies ( Rutts, Bock and Mattner )that all would have gone top 20 or 25 ish.

LukeHodge15 said:
didnt find these guys in the drafts on afl.com

i'm assuming that they were picked up in the rookie draft or pre-season drafts. good list of guys there.

Johncock - #67 at the 2000 National Draft
Hentschel - Pre Season Draft selection (year ?, selection ?)
Bock - #25 2001 Rookie Draft
Rutten - #40 2001 Rookie Draft
Mattner - #51 2001 Rookie Draft

To avoid confusion... 2001 rookie draft is the draft which took place between the 2001 & 2002 seasons. They changed the date of it a while back, so it gets very confusing when trying to work out which draft refers to which year.

Vader said:

To avoid confusion... 2001 rookie draft is the draft which took place between the 2001 & 2002 seasons. They changed the date of it a while back, so it gets very confusing when trying to work out which draft refers to which year.
Hentschel was in the same draft class as Rutten, Bock, Mattner, Reilly, Finnin and Schuback.

Back in those days the National Draft was held in november (same as now) but the pre-season and rookie drafts were held in january of the following year (2002).

So even though those boys were in the same draft some of them got drafted in November of 2001 (Reilly, Finnin and Schuback) and some got drafted in the PS and Rookie drafts in January of 2002 (Hentschel (PSD), Thomas (RD), Bock (RD), Mattner (RD) and Rutten (RD).

Another interesting thing is that Rutten was our last pick in the Rookie Draft and he probably turned out to be the best player for us from that draft class.

Vader said:

i challenge any team to come up with a better classman of rookies in one year than that.

actually would be an intersting concept to put forward.

I put pen to paper today and made my side for Round 1. I can't believe some of the players I left out, we have so much depth. Vince, Massie, Maric, Porplyzia, Jericho, Doughty were all left out, and I couldn't even fit in Bode or Van Berlo. :eek: If we remain healthy again this season, there are going to be some extremely difficult decisions to be made by the match committee. It’s a great problem to have though.

I actually feel VB is a certainty to be in the 22 come round 1. He has been outstanding, it will be tough to fit him in but after playing 10 or 11 games last year and showing huge signs of improvement this year it would seem weird he wouldnt get a go.

Blue Red and Gold said:
I actually feel VB is a certainty to be in the 22 come round 1. He has been outstanding, it will be tough to fit him in but after playing 10 or 11 games last year and showing huge signs of improvement this year it would seem weird he wouldnt get a go.
I posted my 22 in this thread.

I had Clarke, Knights, Reilly and Hart as my interchange players. Van Berlo was in my emergencies.

hmmm it is tough, I really dont rate Shirley, he has been an honest tryer but I think there is a bigger upside to someone like Van Berlo.

I just think it would seem weird by NC, who has stated he wants to give the youngsters more of a go, if he then left VB out of the side after his much improved start to the season.

It will be interesting.

macca23 said:
All good comments.

Just on Reilly, he was a Nick Stevens type of winger when we drafted him - definitely an outside receiver.

He's copped a fair bit of flak in the last couple of years while the club has been changing his role from that to an inside mid-fielder - that's chalk and cheese in anyone's book.

Last year in particular he was being groomed in short bursts for this role because of the need for skilled players to step up into this role when the big 4 we currently have all depart virtually at the one time.

Including the game against Norwood, he's been one of our hardest working, fiercest tackling mid-filders in all 3 games, while still showing some silky skills.

I picked him before a ball was bounced in anger this year to be the big improver of those already in the team, because of the learning process forced on him by Craig last year.

So far he's looking damned good!!
:eek: what about all of us long standing supporters of Reilly who have had to put up with DT.

I think I said - watch this kid....now he's added tackling - and he must have layed the most tackles of any Crows player on Saturday... his game will go to a new level.

DT DT where are you????

Wayne's-World said:
:eek: what about all of us long standing supporters of Reilly who have had to put up with DT.

I think I said - watch this kid....now he's added tackling - and he must have layed the most tackles of any Crows player on Saturday... his game will go to a new level.

DT DT where are you????
Turn it up why don't ya :P

I am still waiting for your report on all of our youngsters and finge players from the weekend ;)

Here's my rating in 2006 so far of the youngsters I've seen play:

1. Knights - Kid can read the game, a natural footballer not athlete. Bit slow and DEFINATELY need to work on his defensive game to be a real good player.
Not sure how he will handle a tag as he progresses...does he have the capability to lose a tag...not sure. Kicking is a bit iffy but confident that will get better the longer he's in the system.
Needs to run the lines....currently he props and kicks...not good enough. Tackling is very ordinary at present but that's consistent with a non defensive attitude.

2. Vince - Only seen this guy twice, once in last years final and on Saturday night....he will be a ripper and arguably the best of our current crop. Needs to bild up and gain a yard in pace but that'll happen. His touch and ball skills are as good as Macleods when he first started.

3. Van Berlo - will be a good steady player...has definately changed his game since being drafted as he's diving to the bottom of packs. Will get better consequently in man on man duals as he progresses.
Iam worried that he still appears to rush his kicks in his second season - kicks alot under pressure not a sign of a really good player who always appears to have plenty of time.

Saw Ball last week for St Kilda and honestly no-one appeared to want to go near him....that's a sign of a really good player.

4. Porplyzia - again a footballer first and athlete second. Great hands and excllent kick. In and under who can hit targets with his handballs in tight situations. Needs a yard of speed but reads the game well and that can compensate to a degree.

5. Jericho - My pick a few weeks ago (with much derision) of the player to improve in 2006. Saw some aspects on Saturday night of his talent BUT if he doesn't learn to use his body and tackle the bad might outweigh the good.

6. Maric - Second game was a huge improvement on his first. Has courage, a bit of mongrel and a great work ethic. Wants to be an AFL footballer and that's enough to say he's got a good future...how good...too early to tell.

7. Hinge - was unimpressed in his first game but my attention was jolted by some things he did against Hawthorn. Is he better than an average footballer....way too early to predict.

Stiffy_18 said:
Turn it up why don't ya :P

I am still waiting for your report on all of our youngsters and finge players from the weekend ;)
Off line for 4 days mate - just got back on - its spewing from my finger tips;) :p

Wayne's-World said:

1. Knights - Kid can read the game, a natural footballer not athlete. Bit slow and DEFINATELY need to work on his defensive game to be a real good player.
Not sure how he will handle a tag as he progresses...does he have the capability to lose a tag...not sure. Kicking is a bit iffy but confident that will get better the longer he's in the system.
Needs to run the lines....currently he props and kicks...not good enough. Tackling is very ordinary at present but that's consistent with a non defensive attitude.

2. Vince - Only seen this guy twice, once in last years final and on Saturday night....he will be a ripper and arguably the best of our current crop. Needs to bild up and gain a yard in pace but that'll happen. His touch and ball skills are as good as Macleods when he first started.

3. Van Berlo - will be a good steady player...has definately changed his game since being drafted as he's diving to the bottom of packs. Will get better consequently in man on man duals as he progresses.
Iam worried that he still appears to rush his kicks in his second season - kicks alot under pressure not a sign of a really good player who always appears to have plenty of time.

Saw Ball last week for St Kilda and honestly no-one appeared to want to go near him....that's a sign of a really good player.

4. Porplyzia - again a footballer first and athlete second. Great hands and excllent kick. In and under who can hit targets with his handballs in tight situations. Needs a yard of speed but reads the game well and that can compensate to a degree.

5. Jericho - My pick a few weeks ago (with much derision) of the player to improve in 2006. Saw some aspects on Saturday night of his talent BUT if he doesn't learn to use his body and tackle the bad might outweigh the good.

6. Maric - Second game was a huge improvement on his first. Has courage, a bit of mongrel and a great work ethic. Wants to be an AFL footballer and that's enough to say he's got a good future...how good...too early to tell.

7. Hinge - was unimpressed in his first game but my attention was jolted by some things he did against Hawthorn. Is he better than an average footballer....way too early to predict.
Any comments on Reilly and Hentschel?

Stiffy_18 said:
Any comments on Reilly and Hentschel?
I remember interviews with Thommo who was given advice by Ratten in his only coaching year at Melbourne...he said the best way to get involved in a game is to tackle.

It seems coincidental that after Thommo arriving at Adelaide that suddenly Reilly has taken on that advice....it appears to be a deliberate thought process.

I have said and said that this guy will be a very good player....IMO he's gained a yard in pace, he's a thinker and has sublime hand and foot skills.

What more can I say......

Hentschell - well his confidence is at an alltime high.....really the only thing that's held him back.

Seems to have tried to straighten up his approach to gaol, has a turning circle a midfielder would kill for and starting to really jump for marks - in for a great year.

Wayne's-World said:
I remember interviews with Thommo who was given advice by Ratten in his only coaching year at Melbourne...he said the best way to get involved in a game is to tackle.

It seems coincidental that after Thommo arriving at Adelaide that suddenly Reilly has taken on that advice....it appears to be a deliberate thought process.

I have said and said that this guy will be a very good player....IMO he's gained a yard in pace, he's a thinker and has sublime hand and foot skills.

What more can I say......

Hentschell - well his confidence is at an alltime high.....really the only thing that's held him back.

Seems to have tried to straighten up his approach to gaol, has a turning circle a midfielder would kill for and starting to really jump for marks - in for a great year.
Reilly - A role player off the bench like Doughty last year or a genuine midfielder that becomes integral part of our side, a player that amongst first picked every game?????

Hentschel - Are you game enough to set any targets for this year in terms of goals kicked?

Stiffy_18 said:
Reilly - A role player off the bench like Doughty last year or a genuine midfielder that becomes integral part of our side, a player that amongst first picked every game?????

Hentschel - Are you game enough to set any targets for this year in terms of goals kicked?
If thy're going to play Roo, Macca, and Goody out of the midfield a lot this year - I would suggest Thommo and Reilly would be genuine midfielders.

A lot of last year for Reilly IMO was as much as Craig saying to Reilly look and learn as it was of him role playing.

He's definately come into 2006 a better player.

Hentschell - I'll say 40 - 45 as a roaming forward

Wayne's-World said:

Excellent report WW. Agree with all of the things that you have said.

WW - Richard Douglas reminds me very much of one Paul Kelly from the Sydney FC when they were th same age - both skinny kids, but bothe laden with talent and courage and leadership abilities.

I said in an earlier post VB could be a future captain of the club. This boy will not be far behind him.

Credit to the boys in the recruiting dept. - they are picking people with real character and ticker.

Unlkie a few others I hope the Balck Douglas plays this week.