Cryptocurrency mega-thread

The gains are exponentional at this stage now.

My portfolio is sitting at around $75k from $12k invested, with major percentages in ripple, verge and icon. If it goes bonkers next year it’s paying the house off. Completely mortgage free with 2 investment properties at 30 would be nice, especially with my first kid due in April.

The gains are exponentional at this stage now.

My portfolio is sitting at around $75k from $12k invested, with major percentages in ripple, verge and icon. If it goes bonkers next year it’s paying the house off. Completely mortgage free with 2 investment properties at 30 would be nice, especially with my first kid due in April.

That’s so good! When did you start investing? I started dabbling end of November and have progressively invested. At this point I’m 8k of capital in the game with a position of ~25k. Pretty much solely in on Ripple and Verge, now. Have tried other altcoins but just don’t believe in them so I got off them and consolidated my seat on the aforementioned.

I've got a more diversified approach to crypto with the view that in the longer run (I use this loosely as 1 week in crypto is bloody long!!) of this bull market spreading your bets across a multitude of coins gives you a better chance of making moderate to significant returns than betting on a handful with higher initial investments. So far that has worked out for me in that my portfolio remained 150%+ and did not suffer significant losses across the past few days when markets went flying down as I had some alts that kept pumping to support the positions bleeding satoshis. However, it also makes me a bit jealous when I see people making a killing taking higher risk positions. At the end of the day it's back to finance 101; risk vs reward, as it is I am a very risk averse individual and I would never have been able to get these sort of returns in such a short time frame with any other investment.

Put a few k into verge when it dipped and now it’s already tripled in just over 1 day. You gotta love crypto return. The asx will never be the same to me lol

I've been fortunate to have been on the A2M ride for the past 2 years, I saw the opportunity when I was working in a pharmacy and noticed people buying up baby formulas and decided to do some research. However, these equity gains are nothing (esp. on ASX) to what we're seeing with crypto returns. It is un****ingbelievable. If we're not seeing 20% gains in a few days now it's like which coin is going to do that? Let's buy into that. In equities 15-20% returns p.a. is considered very good!!

I see crypto to be a huge opportunity for everyday people to make some solid returns and boost their financial profiles esp the younger generations who are suffering from high house prices, low wage growth, high household debt etc. Also for me, working in finance now, I can't invest in most financial instruments so for something like this to come up where I can make strong returns that would normally take 5-10years in a short time frame is huge for my personal finance goals and setting myself up (fingers crossed!).

have all of the Korean crypto exchanges been shut down or suspended? They are still showing values from before the 30% crash of 2 days ago...

EG: Bitcoin Cash is paying $1000 more on both Bitthumb, Korbit and Coinone, compared to other non-korean exchanges.
https://coinmarketcap.com/currencies/volume/24-hour/

I hold a decent block of dgbt.

Got 2/3 of the McAfee coins so far.

Is he tweeting at a specific time each day? Might have to try ride some of these waves

He tweets between 12am-2am it seems AEDST

I’ve had both before the tweets though.

The McAfee tweets are most useful for day traders, because it looks like whatever he tweets has a shoot up in price, but that shoot up will die off over time, he's not going to keep retweeting it, I think his tweets are potentially better for day traders rather than hodlers.

That's it.

By the way I've just DM'd him on Twitter to get a heads up on the next coin -- I'll let you guys know what it is when he gets back to me.

[emoji41]

Even if you missed the digibyte spike and got it at .09 or .10 its nothing to get stressed over. DGB will be a huge target for whales now with McAfees blessing on the tech in my uneducated and noob opinion.

My prediction for next McCafee pump is SiaCoin or Bitbay.
I'm in Sia and I've seen some nice gains. A huge pump would be fantastic! Might sell out and perhaps buy back once hype drops if he were to tweet about it lol

ICON up 75%, im the new McAfee.
Man I bought a small allocation of ICON this arvo. Been reading up on it all morning, they seem set to take off once there's more publicity. Apparently market cap is withheld atm so it's not featuring in top 100 coins on coinmarketcap. Excited for this one!

well the total supply is 400,000,000. So to simplify if all are in circulating supply, the market cap is about 1.2 billion. That would put it in the top 30. My question then would be, how much growth is left in this coin? The most similar coin in numbers would be Steem.

good on people making money with xvg (i made a little myself) but be very wary of any long term outlooks. it is a total shitcoin whose rise is entirely attributable to shilling and fomo. It will crash and burn once the wales have had their fun and if Wraith turns out to be vaporware (again) that could be sooner rather than later.

XRP and XVG are such polarising coins, there’s almost no in between. It’s 95% people who consider them the greatest, or they’re just a shitcoin.

XRP is a reddit laughing stock cos it’s a “bankers shitcoin with too many in circulation - will never hit $1US” aaand where is it now.

With XVG this was “just another pump and dump”, followed by “just a big pump and dump”, followed by “Its just fomo will never last.” Meanwhile it’s pushing an ATH again on Binance.

Not saying you’re definitely wrong, just find it funny how much hate those coins get and how they’re performing.

a lot of the hate would come from people who didnt HODL i reckon.

When i think of shitcoins i think of DOGE. It was made as a joke and despite this being commong knowledge its almost up to 800 million market cap. Could wake up any day to find the creators have cashed out as multi-millionaires laughing at everyone left with scraps.

Cynicism in crypto trading is healthy imo. I won't touch ripple because i'm anti-bank, charging us huge fees and interest and giving shit service now they sook lol, screw the banks. Plenty of alt coins to make a dollar on.

Sitting here with my spacesuit on ready to go to the moon! I have a feeling 2018 will be an insane ride. HAPPY NEW YEAR!!