Cuddles must go now !!

• Thread starter Thread starter sumavich

My only beef with Pav would be if he took the captaincy when he wasnt committed to us and then going home and tossing it back, this would be insulting to Freo and would undo alot of the positives he has done for Freo.

I'm not in favour of him or any player\s dictating who coaches us.

My spin on the actual situation is that he wants success and whomever the coach is, is irrelevant. If CC gets us success then thats all hes wanting, talk of him dictating who is appointed is rubbish.

I wouldnt begrudge him going home, hes provided us with ample service and providing he ensures we're fairly compensated then I'll wish the guy all the best!

I agree for the most part Freo Shark - Pav didn't have to take the captaincy - the offer for co-captain with Josh Carr was certainly there if he wasn't 100% committed to staying. I'd consider it to be a pretty low act if he was to walk away - as far as I'm concerned, we would have fulfilled our contractual obligations as would he and that is where it ends. I'd still be very surprised to see him go though.

If he had rejected the captaincy though it would have been a clear message that he was planning to leave. I'm sure that at the start of the year Matthew Pavlich was intending to stay. Now he is starting to realise that we are going nowhere and realises that if he wants success he will probably have to return home.

If by trying to save his job you mean trying to get us into the finals then I'm prepared to live with that.
Take no offence, but seriously what would a berth in the finals, in the bottom 4 of the 8, do for Freo. I would think that getting to the finals like that might just get you Connolly all over again. A thing that should not happen, I'm sorry Freo you had potential, down the track I hope you still have a window, but Chris is not a coach, he should prepare to leave.

Care to enlighten us wiz

What Ford Fairlane said mate, if CC is coaching reports suggest Pavlich will leave. Apparently he i waiting on a decision as to who coaches to decide whether he plays with us or not.

My spin on the actual situation is that he wants success and whomever the coach is, is irrelevant. If CC gets us success then thats all hes wanting, talk of him dictating who is appointed is rubbish.

I agree, when they say his decision will be influenced by who is coaching us in 2008 it doesn't mean that he wants to have an input on who we appoint. If we some how turn things around and have a good year, Connolly will get a contract and Pav will probably stay. If an experienced coach is appointed in early September Pav will probably stay. If we appoint an untried coach other than Harvey or Bond, or re-sign Connolly without playing finals he will probably opt to go home.

What Ford Fairlane said mate, if CC is coaching reports suggest Pavlich will leave. Apparently he i waiting on a decision as to who coaches to decide whether he plays with us or not.

I took it to mean that if CC gets the bullet He will wait and see who is appointed and what their plans are, not any slight on CC.

If a new coach is appointed and decides it is "time to take a couple of steps backward , so we can go forward" He will be out of here , and I won't blame him.

My only beef with Pav would be if he took the captaincy when he wasnt committed to us and then going home and tossing it back, this would be insulting to Freo and would undo alot of the positives he has done for Freo.

I wouldnt begrudge him going home, hes provided us with ample service and providing he ensures we're fairly compensated then I'll wish the guy all the best!

Good points.

It just struck me that Pav wouldn't want to do a Buckley ..........

CC will walk himself when its time IMO.It's so easy to say sack the coach but not so easy to replace.Whats with the "He's had 5 years" rubbish does that mean that every coach has 5 yrs to get a flag or go:D

Personally thats the lowest act possible i would never watch the crows play again ,i'm from the old school and captains don't jump ship they are the most important player on the playing list and really i don't care whether he stays or goes coz the message is clear and i 'd rather have Magic, Peake or Dodd as captain coz i know whether hell or high water they'll be here coz they love every second of it

Agreed 100%.
I have loved the guy since he was a fat 17 year old palying for Woodville and will aslong as he is a Dockers, which is he plays wth us his entire career he is a Dockers for life.
But IF he does what your wrote than he can get fu*ked as far as i'm concerned, thats a Leigh Colbert all over. Look how that worked out.

That is a huge IF though, so at this very moment Pav wear purple so i love the guy.

Channel 7 just claimed that Pav is waiting to see who's coaching next year before signing.

If this is true then who would you guys wish to remain if the choice was there??

Oh god someone please tell me this is a no brainer, please!

CC will walk himself when its time IMO.It's so easy to say sack the coach but not so easy to replace.Whats with the "He's had 5 years" rubbish does that mean that every coach has 5 yrs to get a flag or go:D

Nope five years for the team to reach its full potential.

what do people think about dean laidley? he would be a big chance i think

I have no problem with the Balga bred Junk Yard Dog. Tough as nails and has won a premiership(s) as a player and has managed to do very well with the North Melbourne/Gold Coast Roos with what he's had to work with in regards to a morphing playing list over the last few years.
He Western Australian which will please the "has to be a local" crowd, and has spent many years over east so he isnt caught up in the pathetic weasles microcosm we have over here. Although, I'm not sure he'll want to uproot his family and life to come back over here. He seems to be quite loyal to the Roo's. But I think he is a fine candidate for the Purple Horde.

I have no problem with the Balga bred Junk Yard Dog. Tough as nails and has won a premiership(s) as a player and has managed to do very well with the North Melbourne/Gold Coast Roos with what he's had to work with in regards to a morphing playing list over the last few years.
He Western Australian which will please the "has to be a local" crowd, and has spent many years over east so he isnt caught up in the pathetic weasles microcosm we have over here. Although, I'm not sure he'll want to uproot his family and life to come back over here. He seems to be quite loyal to the Roo's. But I think he is a fine candidate for the Purple Horde.
I agree, but apparently his wife loves Melbourne and won't uproot the family.

Money does talk though.

CC has to go this week. when put under pressure CC crumbles.
If im correct does anyone remember last year 06 Havery coach Freo against the Roos and we won.( with know drama). The players played a very exciting brand of footy, us fans loved it. I dont think most of the player at Freo like CC, they ones that do like to suck up to him to get a game or two. Freo have a top list to get us to the GF, but come game day CC chooses the players and til now those choices have not been smart. Havey should make a stand to take the head coach job now, to show his full potiential. All the players will listen. Freo may or may not win all games or make or not make the finals with him there. But Freo recruited him thinking he would coach Freo one day. Ricky Hart should bite the bullet and SACK CC this week or tomorrow, and Havey give the job like they intended to, to begin with.

what do people think about dean laidley? he would be a big chance i think

how dare you mention his name, he was after all an eagles player at one point of his life! that would automatically mean that he doesn't know how to coach because he

1. played for the eagles

2. my mothers friend's next door neighboor saw him walking down the street one day and he didn't smile so he is terrible for the job.

3. can't communicate with his players.

that sounds pretty standard and based on these FACTS he is no good...

2. my mothers friend's next door neighboor saw him walking down the street one day and he didn't smile so he is terrible for the job.

that sounds pretty standard and based on these FACTS he is no good...

Well actually, I think this would be a bloody good thing, little less smiling, little more winning, that's what we need.

and yes I am aware that you are being sarcastic, but what is your point really? that people are sharing their opinions based on what they know and have heard about new coaching candidates for freo? Frankly mate things would be pretty quiet round here if people didnt do things like that.

Well actually, I think this would be a bloody good thing, little less smiling, little more winning, that's what we need.

and yes I am aware that you are being sarcastic, but what is your point really? that people are sharing their opinions based on what they know and have heard about new coaching candidates for freo? Frankly mate things would be pretty quiet round here if people didnt do things like that.

my point is people believe what they want to believe whether its true or not

I have to bring it up again. The only thing that will happen if Connolly remains coach, is the Brand will suffer. Get rid of him now, before the Brand is gone !!!
And once he's gone the media will get off our backs and have a go at the pathetic Toast.

If St Kilda's president is any indication we will have Schwab around for ever.

It is impossible to get rid of Board members particularly from a Board that is made up of 'mates' who 'forgive each other'.

Freo Mafia. Freo Council. Notre Dame. Same old story. Not worth worrying about. We continue to be in their incapable hands.

Laidley wouldn't walk into that.

If St Kilda's president is any indication we will have Schwab around for ever.

It is impossible to get rid of Board members particularly from a Board that is made up of 'mates' who 'forgive each other'.

Freo Mafia. Freo Council. Notre Dame. Same old story. Not worth worrying about. We continue to be in their incapable hands.

Laidley wouldn't walk into that.

Oh someone please tell me he will, failing the sheeds thing being any chance (cause I just doubt it is.) I am now firmly on the Laidley bandwagon.

But if what you are saying is true then i reckon no coach would want to be part of it, so lets hope you are wrong.

CC will walk himself when its time IMO.

Its_Time_m1347789.jpg