Culture problem...

The Houlihan thing sounds about right. Why else would he have been dropped?

Scotland was dropped earlier in the year for being out on the piss one night at crown, not sure if he missed a training session or was out too late. Just lucky for the match commitee his form was down the week before (13 touches...i think?)

If thats the case i'll hazard a guess that he probably hasn't learnt his lesson!

;)

The nightclub they actually ended up at wasn't CQ it was Tramp in King St.

And for you people saying it doesn't need to be brought up, thinking it is rumour and innuendo you are simply denying the fact that these are high profile players on very large salaries, they are employed to perform at their physical optimum. I would suggest that by going out until the sun comes up the night after a loss is no way to look after your body.

Even more disappointing is the fact we see every week Fevola is struggling with his ankle/foot injury. Going out to the crack of dawn surely couldn’t be good for you could it.
As I stated in another thread, these blokes deserve and are entitled to head out for a drink on a Saturday/Sunday night after a match, but NOT until 7-8-9am. Especially during the MIDDLE of the football season.

Very unprofessional, very selfish. Letting the club and all involved down.

Well that is a horse of a different colour, even worse if they ended up there, Tramp is not a club you want your high profile players hanging around in the early hours of the morning at any time of year let alone during the season. Its a morning club, meaning that its at its best at around 5 or 6 in the morning, can get really messy there! This is ****ing not on...

back to the OP
I think it is great that you have shared the story with us and I think it is vital that the club identifies problems like this and deals with them. Hence why I want the names of all. remember as well others may have been out even later at other venues.

It is very important that this information DOES get back to the club. It is something the coaching staff need to be made aware of! How pissed off do you think the coaches would be if the read this and didn't know who was mistreating their body.

Fevola is an ALCOHOLIC. we all saw how good he performed last year when off the piss. He is an alcoholic and he needs to be brought into line and he needs to be rehabilitated by the club. This is called a relapse and all players should be named on the off chance this gets back to the club.

I have played a lot of footy and have mixed that with boozing. You can't train hard, you suffer from soreness, slow recovery, you train poorly, your endurance is sapped for days, you suffer from soft tissue injuries. I have tried drinking and playing and going off alcohol and playing and you train better, you get fitter, you become less susceptabel to injuries, you recover well and you play a damn side better.

I can not see how you could be successful at that level and binge drink. You can't.

Do the club and the team a favor and name names. These players need their problems sorting out before they get worse. You would be doing the players a favor in the long term by naming them.

I have no problem with the players going out, but if they are staying up late and drinking to excess then that's no good. It's part of their job and their massive pay cheques to not do things like this and it's gonna end up costing players their jobs.

For the success of these players long term and the success of the club this is an ussue that should not be covered up. Keeping this information to yourself is not in the best interest of the club. Spill the details if this is true, these players need assistance.

Not happy Jan.

If this was the case, than as far as I'm concerned Fev should of been dropped for the week if not more. How he could be partying it up when in theory cost us the game just bewilders me.

A binge drinker is not necessarily an alcoholic and vice versa. That's all. :)

Someone who drinks regularly is. Someone who drinks when they shouldn't and can't say no when they feel like drinking is.
Fevola is this level of alcoholic. It makes me wonder what other players at the club are, who is underperforming and playing inconsistant footy because they have an alcohol problem.

back to the OP
I think it is great that you have shared the story with us and I think it is vital that the club identifies problems like this and deals with them. Hence why I want the names of all. remember as well others may have been out even later at other venues.

I wont tar our youngsters in a public forum, everyone knows that fev and a few older players play up occasionally off the field and as vafa06 has said a few others who were at other venues later on that night can vouch for the story. I'm sure the club knows about it and i'm sure they are doing the best they can to correct any issues. Young guys are impressionable, they're famous with a fair bit of pocket money so if some of our senior players are setting a bad example its pretty easy to follow, staying out late on the drink with your mates is alot of fun, i've done it many a time, with the treatment these guys get from club owners, women and patrons in general it would be even moreso..

What i'm upset about is guys like Fev should know by now that is not the way to go, thats not what wins you games or premierships, they've got to show more hunger and discipline. I'm sick of losing games like last night.

I'm not going to name them here, but maybe a private letter to the club
may be the way to go?

it's taken 3 pages, but I would have thought the obvious quesiton is 1) if this is true and 2) was the reason or part thereof of why Hoops was dropped, where is the disciplinary aciton for Fev?

I wont be naming anymore names so stop asking, there is nothing wrong with being out for a drink by the way, I'm saying a few players took it to far and we'll leave it at.
But you started like a bull at a gate with the correct intentions. No quitters. Go all the way or go home

Honestly mate.. Thanks for the info and we trust what yr saying is true... But I agree that seeing yv named 2 players, the others there have to be named otherwise yr branding all the players with it... :thumbsu:

If this is going onhow about every friggin player reports to the club each day at 9am and takes a breath test fair dinkum this just gets me so angry

Also i think u should write an email to the CFC as this i pathetic... how hard is it for elite athletes to notdrink for 22 weeks

Not blowing the whistly very hard... A little tweat.

This would do no harm to the players or the club if they were named. Best to get on top of it while the players are young.

I highly doubt the club would know about it. They would like to.

The big question is......How many of the 8 played on Saturday night at the Gold Coast? Were they the ones who dished us up that fumbly, non focussed, flat, lifeless performance that I had to sit through on TV. And I nearly flew up there!!!

The only positive from all this is this year (first time for 7 years) I feel like we should have won each game and are really disappointed when we lose. A nice feeling to have back for us supporters, but are the boys coping with the expectations? If this thread is true, then they are maybe not ready or not professional enough yet to be tconsidered a 'finals' team.