The Other Day

Man comes in, grabs 2 bottles of strongbow, this is our conversation

"Got any free shit?"
"Nothing is free"
"dont be gay, gimme something"
"uh..why?"
"you have a stubbie holder, gimme an eagles one"
"they cost money..."
"ah **** it, just the strongbows, you know the place down the road have them 2 for 5 dollars, can you beat that"
"no we cant"
"Why not?"
"dont price match"
"ah thats ****ed, Ed harry Price matches this is why you guys are ****ed"
"that Ed Harry sounds like a decent guy then"
"This is why you work in rivervale, **** you"
"Have a plesent day sir!"
"Yeah suck my dick"
"Do you often ask men you've just met for fellatio"

"Dont be suck a ****ing queer ******!"

Good laugh.

Nice work:D:D:D

I work at Woolworths, and we have this one lady, who comes in pretty much every week, and is ridiculously fussy about things. She'll make you put one item per bag, then double bag half of those things, and she also refuses to put anything on the belt etc. etc. Worst part is most of the time she comes in really late, so we only have one or two people on register, and since she takes a long time to put her through, we get lots of angry customers after her considering we'd have long lines backed up.

She used to ask the service desk to borrow the phone every time she comes in, and proceeds to talk on it like for a while before she gets told to hang up. Recently, she also asks everyone in the store whether they can give her a lift home, even has the nerve to ask people who have just finished, to wait an hour before they go, so she can go "shopping at Coles" (she normally goes the pokies instead). Needless to say, she hasn't been too successful.

Bump

The Other Day

"Got any free shit?"
"Nothing is free"
"uh..why?"
"they cost money..."
"ah **** it, just the strongbows, you know the place down the road have them 2 for 5 dollars, can you beat that"
"no we cant"
"Why not?"
"dont price match"
"Yeah suck my dick"

Good laugh.

That type of customer are the ones that piss me off the most, infact I'm sure I've posted in this thread about some.

Last one I can remember was a guy that actually tried to haggle with me when buying 2 things each worth $5. No matter how many times I said "I can't give it to you any cheaper" he still wouldn't listen.

Bump

The Other Day

"Got any free shit?"
"Nothing is free"
"uh..why?"
"they cost money..."
"no we cant"
"Why not?"
"dont price match"
"Yeah suck my dick"

Good laugh.

Haha, the downtrodden worker strikes back :D

A funny one on sunday.
I went to coles to get some food, at the casher next in line waiting for this mid 50's woman. she goes through and then the cashier asks to check her bag. She went off "How rude, you don't ask to look in a womans bag, you should be fired, wheres your manager, I can't believe you're calling me a shoplifter, I feel sick at that thought" ete.

This went on a about 5 minutes and the poor bloke couldn't get a word in. I, after a night out hung-over and wanted to get home to watch some more cricket just let fly....
"what the f**k are you on you old bitch, its a condition of entry" and then she had a go at me I was wearing my "rehab is for quitters" tee-shirt and she said she finds that rude, I was rude and so and so"
I've told her "to get a f**king life & f**k off".

She stormed out and I told the poor bloke (who told me it was his second day) that next time get the manager, and call the police, if someone doesn't want you to look in their bag most likely they're hiding something.

Legally you dont have to open your bag and let the registee/security check, you can just walk out and they cant do shit. If they attemp to hold you and call the police and you have nothing in your bags they can get into major trouble lose their job/possibly even have a civil suite (assuming they physically held you up), hence why shoplifting in Australia is so easy you can only really be stopped by a citizens arrest.
Guidelines for shop attendes (generally):
That we cannot accuse someone of shoplifting inside the store as we must give them all the chances to buy the item.
That we cannot touch someone when they leave the store, no matter how much the item is worth.
If a attendee or shop security (the ones at JB HI FI doors for example) try to detain you and/or touch you in anyway you can:
1.Get them arrested for assault
2.Sue them for assault, damages, etc

Had some bitch who made me wait about 10mins to be served (someone handed over a phone and she was talking to her kid..) due to a personal call, didnt apologize or anything then asked to look in my bag (no please) i refused and just walked out got into my car and drove off.

AjsGuns said:

As a law student I can confirm this. Even cops aren't allowed to detain you without a genuine reason, let alone shop security.

Legally you dont have to open your bag and let the registee/security check, you can just walk out and they cant do shit. If they attemp to hold you and call the police and you have nothing in your bags they can get into major trouble lose their job/possibly even have a civil suite (assuming they physically held you up), hence why shoplifting in Australia is so easy you can only really be stopped by a citizens arrest.
Guidelines for shop attendes (generally):
That we cannot accuse someone of shoplifting inside the store as we must give them all the chances to buy the item.
That we cannot touch someone when they leave the store, no matter how much the item is worth.
If a attendee or shop security (the ones at JB HI FI doors for example) try to detain you and/or touch you in anyway you can:

Had some bitch who made me wait about 10mins to be served (someone handed over a phone and she was talking to her kid..) due to a personal call, didnt apologize or anything then asked to look in my bag (no please) i refused and just walked out got into my car and drove off.

While they can't force you, they all have signs as you go in - th "Conditions of entry", you are not entering a public place you don't have a right to enter and if you have no intentions of adhering to the conditions they set on your entry then you shouldn't enter.

Legally speaking those signs mean **** all, just as when you enter someones property and get bitten by a dog and they have one of those signs saying "dont enter my dog bites", does that mean the owner wont get sued? of course they will. They try to trick people into thinking that they are legally allowed to check bags however their not. Im in my second year of my law degree and have covered a few examples, also had a ex sargent as my legal studies teacher in year 12 who said the exact same thing, being that you can walk out and they cant do a thing.

What you should/shouldnt do morally is irrelevant.

I've had to stand on the door at work sometimes checking bags etc. One bogan as he was walking out...

Me: "How's it going? Do you mind if I just quickly check inside your bag?"
Him: "If you touch my bag I'm going to ****in' smash your face in"
Me: "No problems, enjoy your day"

Can't do much more than ask eh.

Another time a manager at work saw some woman put something in her bag, so she was waiting at the shop entry to check her bag herself. The woman told her to get ****ed. Manager said that she saw her put something in there, and she is allowed to check it. The woman waved the bag in her face and said 'get ****ed, you can't touch my bag' and walked off.

In situations like that I figure you should get in their face/ stand in their way til they push you away to get past, then they're fair game :thumbsu:

Note: Would not advise with giant bogan guy.

The best thing to do is to play it straight. Most people will not know that we cannot touch their bags, nor force them back into the shop.

My best mate and his mum (his mum being a supervisor, like me, but one rung above) chased out these 3 bogan girls, told them to come back in. He'd been watching them for the last 10 minutes, and they'd made a beeline for the cosmetic section.

She asked them to turn out their pram, pick up the young baby, and sure enough, under the pram was about $200 worth of cosmetics.
They're detained, cops called, the main one's back to juvi having just got out.

Legally speaking those signs mean **** all, just as when you enter someones property and get bitten by a dog and they have one of those signs saying "dont enter my dog bites", does that mean the owner wont get sued? of course they will. They try to trick people into thinking that they are legally allowed to check bags however their not. Im in my second year of my law degree and have covered a few examples, also had a ex sargent as my legal studies teacher in year 12 who said the exact same thing, being that you can walk out and they cant do a thing.

What you should/shouldnt do morally is irrelevant.

Yes, we'd covered that.

Walking away from them when they request it thoug IMO says a lot about your character.

You enter the store which has displayed conditions of entry, in doing so you are agreeing to those conditions. Not adhering to those conditions "because you can" to me shows that you are happy to do things that you know are wrong if you think you can get away with it.

The response should be
"I do not consent to having my bag searched, therefore I will not shop at this store"

Yes, we'd covered that.

Walking away from them when they request it thoug IMO says a lot about your character.

You enter the store which has displayed conditions of entry, in doing so you are agreeing to those conditions. Not adhering to those conditions "because you can" to me shows that you are happy to do things that you know are wrong if you think you can get away with it.

The response should be
"I do not consent to having my bag searched, therefore I will not shop at this store"
In any case if you don't consent to having your bag checked it is enough to have you barred from the store/plaza whatever, just because you could be shop lifting

The last couple of pages of this thread highlight how f*cked up the legal system is where the victims can end up being punished greater than those doing the wrong thing.

-If someone tries to steal something from your shop you basically have to kiss it goodbye and try to ban them from then on, because trying to get it back ins't worth it

-Squatters seem to have more rights than the owner of the property

-My sister was hit by a car that ran a red light and although there was witnesses that confirmed this, she got fined for failing to give way

The last couple of pages of this thread highlight how f*cked up the legal system is where the victims can end up being punished greater than those doing the wrong thing.

-If someone tries to steal something from your shop you basically have to kiss it goodbye and try to ban them from then on, because trying to get it back ins't worth it

-My sister was hit by a car that ran a red light and although there was witnesses that confirmed this, she got fined for failing to give way

House break-ins are just as bad, with intruders falling through the roof, cutting themselves on the window glass, being bitten by the guard dog - stuff not even related to the homeowner defending themselves - then successfully suing the homeowner.

If a customer ever complains, just go to the store room and make up some bullshit and you can't talk now and call a fake number hahah.

I thought this thread was going to be **** so I never read it. Just read the last 6 pages though, will read the rest when I get a chance. :thumbsu:

My sister works at Woolworths with the liquor store situated just around the corner from her store. Some time last year she told us of this man who went into the liquor store and bought something but also stashed a bottle or two in his clothes. One of the workers realised but by the time he tried to do something the guy had already ran off. Unfortunately for the thief, he left his wallet on the counter so when he went back in later on that day the cops were there waiting for him.

Not the case. If you bail someone up that has shoplifted you are safe/protected by the law.
If someone refuses to show their bag you have the option of 'withdrawal of license' to attend premises.
The alternative is to give shop staff greater powers than police:eek:

Agree with the general premise of the post though - the legal system is fcuked.

After working in a supermarket and liqour store for nearly 9 years, I've pretty much realised that if shoplifters want to they can get away with anything. The only ones you can catch are the ones that give up without a fight (i.e kids and some women).

Even if you catch them, you then have to wait for the Police to come and from experience that can take up to 45 minutes around where I am as 000 dont deem shoplifting to be serious. Believe me sitting on the back of a drug stuffed theif for 20 minutes is not fun.

I have got to the point where if I catch someone and they start getting agressive then I will just tell them in stern words to put the stolen stuff down, gtfo and never come in the store again or I will call the cops. In the end, its not my stuff they are stealing so it is not worth getting in a fight with a maniac for it.

Thank christ I have graduated uni and can get out of retail

Not a customer, but I had someone complain about our receptionist.
They had been calling to introduce themselves ( not to sell printing supplies, of course not, strangers ring us to introduce themselves all the time ) and our receptionist had been short with her.
I just said that she could lodge a formal complaint if she wished, which would ensure the matter was reviewed by our general manager. She decided not to lodge a complaint.
I went over to reception and stirred her a bit and had a laugh about it. While I was there the same woman rang again. Receptionist " I told you we arent interested " and hangs up. More laughter all round.

Not a customer, but I had someone complain about our receptionist.
They had been calling to introduce themselves ( not to sell printing supplies, of course not, strangers ring us to introduce themselves all the time ) and our receptionist had been short with her.
I just said that she could lodge a formal complaint if she wished, which would ensure the matter was reviewed by our general manager. She decided not to lodge a complaint.
I went over to reception and stirred her a bit and had a laugh about it. While I was there the same woman rang again. Receptionist " I told you we arent interested " and hangs up. More laughter all round.

This sounds very familiar, printing supplies!
Did you and Dawn then go and stir up Gareth?;)