D GRADE: Give me something...

Scribe said:
Yep - had a stint at Collingwood, then played for OMs for a few years, and coached the Salesian U19s last season. Highly respected and will be a very good coach for the club in 2006.

By all reports he dominated yesterday against peninsula- only played the second half a mate was saying.

been lucky enough to play rep footy with Mick. Hazzell. There is no better bloke/ player to ever pull on an ammo jumper than this fellow. Great to hear he is playing again with his old club and I wouldn't mind betting he takes them a fair way....

Good luck Mick

uglydermie said:
been lucky enough to play rep footy with Mick. Hazzell. There is no better bloke/ player to ever pull on an ammo jumper than this fellow. Great to hear he is playing again with his old club and I wouldn't mind betting he takes them a fair way....

Good luck Mick

would it be fair to say that salesian mite in fact be favourites to get promoted ? i would have thought peninsula would have been favourities ? came 3rd last year behind old geelong and rupertswood. Full strengh peninsula who lost a lot of 19s players lost by 18 points to salesian who did have a few players out and hazell only played a half. He's a machine.

streetball said:
would it be fair to say that salesian mite in fact be favourites to get promoted ? i would have thought peninsula would have been favourities ? came 3rd last year behind old geelong and rupertswood. Full strengh peninsula who lost a lot of 19s players lost by 18 points to salesian who did have a few players out and hazell only played a half. He's a machine.

Aquinas will be raging favourites. Picked up a lot of quality players from the efl. Glen Eira will also be very good.

fair call about the two teams that have been forced to play D2 this year after poor performance last year, only because the remaing teams in d2 from last year are no good, Peninsula really do play alot through shaun paze and as good as he is can't do it all. williamstown, in my humble opion would be the best of the teams that still remain, as per previous post i would expect the two teams in Aquinas and glen eira to be the teams to beat and werribee the best of the two teams comming up.

spent a lot of time watching teams in d2 last year, and ogs and rupo were clearly better then everyteam they faced, salesian could be an improver, ivonhoe terrible, very old, oakleigh no good, again very old but may improve to play finals.

will be an interesting year in the world of D2 ammo's footy.

Yesterday 16:03sideshowbobfair call about the two teams that have been forced to play D2 this year after poor performance last year, only because the remaing teams in d2 from last year are no good, Peninsula really do play alot through shaun paze and as good as he is can't do it all. williamstown, in my humble opion would be the best of the teams that still remain, as per previous post i would expect the two teams in Aquinas and glen eira to be the teams to beat and werribee the best of the two teams comming up.

spent a lot of time watching teams in d2 last year, and ogs and rupo were clearly better then everyteam they faced, salesian could be an improver, ivonhoe terrible, very old, oakleigh no good, again very old but may improve to play finals.

will be an interesting year in the world of D2 ammo's footy.
Didn't Ivanhoe beat Williamstown, Salesion and Oakleigh last?

lions den, they very well may have beaten all of them one of the two times they played, i don't believe they beat all of those teams once, all i was saying is they appeared to be fairly old last year, and correct me if i am wrong but i don't think they have u/19s whereas the likes of a werrbiee, very young, oakleigh -they have u/19, salesian have u19s have the ability to put some kids in and have them run all over ivonhoe, and lets not forget that ivonhoe escaped relagation by the skin of their teeth, with bentleigh not being able to beat swinburne by more then 14points in the last game.

sideshowbob said:

good point sideshow

does anyone know how the therry V Werribee game went ?
result ? full team / better players ?

heard old carey weren't that flash ?

any other news from games over the weekend

sideshowbob said:
does anyone know how the therry V Werribee game went ?
result ? full team / better players ?

heard old carey weren't that flash ?

any other news from games over the weekend

Nunawading beat BT by about 1 goal......i think. No scores were kept apart from the guy running the tiny scoreboard, but his frequent trips to the bar meant a few scores were missed. The 1/4s with Nuna kicking with the gale seemed a tad longer aswell.
Having said that, Nuna were good and deserved to get up in a pretty decent game.

guys, any word on games over the weekend ?

interested on how bulleen , old carey and yarra valley old boys went.

Had a look at the rupo v therry game out at rupertswood, very tuff hit out for both sides, rupo won by 5 goals after being three goals down at 3/4 time.

Therry could't run with the boys from sunbury,

Bulleen Temp and Old Geelong played a game at Como. With both sides playing against each other in round one at Bulleen they where both keeping a bit up their respective sleeves. I think BT won the game but only by a goal or two. Old Carey got flogged by Monash 2 weeks ago who in turn got beaten by St leo's on Saturday.
Word is Yarra Valley may be battling a bit this year... can any one confirm?

i heard prahran lost to williamstown by around four goals in a practice game and have lost a few key players such as bevan and sleight!

all spot on except I think Prahran should have enough left in he tank to beat Therry. Yarra Valley are rooted from all accounts, struggling to make 2 teams. Could be a whiteash for the C's to start their assult. Game of the round to be BT v Old Geelong. Do we know if Vickers Willis is playing this season?

vickers is playing i am pretty sure. Didn't play the prac game v BT but heard he would be back for round 1

Can assure you all that old geelong will go close to winning the gf in 2006. Saw them play alot last year and if the keep the same list no one will stop them.

big call very early aboput old geelong!
Still some very solid teams in D1 remaining from last year. Prahran, old carey both finalists, with bt and st leos not far away!

any names? They will still have their core like dolly, kent, angus, evans etc? Good 19s coming through you would think they would push for top 2-3

Evans, Stewart-Holmes, Thompson. Not sure if James "Jogger" White (ex-Richmond) is back, he left halfway through last year (and then returned for the semi vs Prahran where they lost)