D GRADE: Give me something...

all iknow is that it will add a big dimension to the bullants line up and will increase there chances to make an impact during finals football this year??
whats the deal ugly?? will he play every week?? will he even play at all???

not really sure gents - I am certainly not involved in the inner circle. All I know is that his younger brother plays in the seniors (only 18 and a gun) and that Ryans interest levels have risen over the past month.
He is a ripping kid and I think it would be hard for most of us to understand the dissapointment he went through over the past few seasons with Essendon. He has taken the first half of the season off to play soccer (His old man played with MAN U) and has been training with us on and off for most of the year. Our fingers are crossed,

Cheers - UGLY

Ryan bain - thats the Essendon one I referred to - what about the ex-Richmond forward who kicked 100 with BT in 1999 or 2000? Ugly, open up and give us the truth. Playing or not?

Oggs and Oc still the teams to beat come finals, despite OCs reputation of choking when it counts.

CU- Steven "Bomber" James is training with the boys BUT very unlikely to play. He is now 39 years old (not that you would know it). He is by far the best player EVER to have played at the club. He played more that 80 games with the tigers including 5 goals on debut against the pies.

I would not be worrying to much about him playing thou.

At the moment I'd say Old Carey and Bulleen Temp could be meeting in the grand final. It's hard to say though as every team in the four has been smashed by one of the other top four teams, so it could come down to who gets the teams they want in the finals. There is no Fitzroy Reds this season.

On another topic, which teams do you reckon have the best and worst websites/best and worst jumpers in D1?

At the moment I'd say Old Carey and Bulleen Temp could be meeting in the grand final. It's hard to say though as every team in the four has been smashed by one of the other top four teams, so it could come down to who gets the teams they want in the finals.

Both OC and BT claim they have some big inclusions ready before the 2nd half of the year...if half of this is true I would be suprised. Any of the top 4 could win it...YV the smokey (good key forwards) to make finals, but will only play 1 final if they make it.

On another topic, which teams do you reckon have the best and worst websites/best and worst jumpers in D1?

Ripping question Toohas...

Best Jumpers:
Carey, Therry, Prahran, Glen Eira, St Bedes Mentone, Werribee and Monash Blues

Worst Jumpers:
NOBS, Aquinas, Hampton, Parade, Ormond...and anyone wearing Hawthorn or Geelong jumpers (they stink).

Xavs and BT have good websites..

Yeah, I think most of the D1 teams have pretty good jumpers. Banyule and Old Mentonians have an ordinary mix of colours, like Ormond did last year. Rupertswood's is a bit too busy for my liking, but it's not bad. I'm not a fan of Glen Eira's or Aquinas (D1 has picked it up a notch in the fashion stakes by losing those two and Ormond). Old Carey's is good, I like St. Leo's, ours is good I reckon, as is Bulleen Temp's and Therry's. Monash Blues jumpers are a bit pretty boy, but they're unique and they stand out, similar to Prahran. I reckon it's a good look.

With websites, Bulleen is clearly the standout in our division. Old Mentonians are up there too. I think our website is pretty good, but it's boring for the people that can't log in, probably could be a bit more for people who are just browsing. Old Geelong's is good (not afraid to talk some smack in the match reports too, which is refreshing). Therry and Banyule's sites look pretty classy. E-SL's is improving and is now one of the better sites in our comp. Rupertswood needs to be designed better and Prahran might as well not have a website.

What about clubrooms and after match? Which clubs have the best facilities and which clubs are the best for sticking around after an away game? Therry's were good, a lot of memorabillia on the walls and beer on tap. Old Mentonians were pretty good from what I remember (played there last year and I was concussed, so I'm probably not the most relaible critic). Rupertswood are good: nice and spacious. I think our rooms would be up with the best in the division. Prahran's were pretty good too. Bulleen and St. Leo's were good last year. Old Carey's were ordinary, but I think it might have just been a temporary setup we used last year.

From memory, Old Mentonians and St. Leo's stayed around for a fair while after our home games against them, good to see as they were both on the wrong end of the scoreboard. Those two teams would probably be up there as the best groups of blokes on and off the field, in the comp.

Tips:
Emmaus St. Leo's vs Old Mentonians: Ballard will dominate the hitouts and I think the importance of Buckle returning to the side is being underestimated.

Old Carey vs Yarra Valley: This game, actually the next month (OC, Rupo, OG, B-T) will, in all likelihood, make or break our season. OC are a great unit and it certainly won't be easy.

Old Geelong vs Bulleen-Templestowe: I can only go by what I have seen and in our games against these two sides, Old Geelong kicked five goals for the day, whereas Bulleen-Temp outscored us eighteen goals to four after quarter time. Obviously OG must match up pretty well against the Bullants as an easy victory away from home in round 1 points to. A coin toss for me.

Therry Penola vs Prahran: Rumor has it that Therry were threatened with a Sunday training session at half time of the game on Saturday (when they were in the lead). At home again, I expect them to come out breathing fire. They'll win comfortably and put the pressure on us to keep winning.

Rupertswood vs Banyule: Rupertswood have to get back on the winner's list at home, if they lose this one, it would take a massive effort for them to recover.

Toohas said:
Tips:
Emmaus St. Leo's vs Old Mentonians: Ballard will dominate the hitouts and I think the importance of Buckle returning to the side is being underestimated.

Like you I believe EMS will have a strong finish whilst they will not make finals they may shape them , underate them at your peril.
EMS to win

Old Carey vs Yarra Valley: This game, actually the next month (OC, Rupo, OG, B-T) will, in all likelihood, make or break our season. OC are a great unit and it certainly won't be easy.

Saw the BT v YV game, the first qtr is the best footy I've seen this year by any side - then again so was the next 3 by BT (Bazaar game)
YV forwards are big and strong, if however their midfield is not on top they don't get use and thats how BT won shut down the midfield.

OC have Collins and Parton on the ball a couple of big but slow Ruck man who play the kick behind in the hole , also live wire forward in Tiras, (hold "as best you can" Parton and collins in the middle, and run with Tiras and you limit their ways to goal.
ThinK YV can do this and will win.

Old Geelong vs Bulleen-Templestowe: I can only go by what I have seen and in our games against these two sides, Old Geelong kicked five goals for the day, whereas Bulleen-Temp outscored us eighteen goals to four after quarter time. Obviously OG must match up pretty well against the Bullants as an easy victory away from home in round 1 points to. A coin toss for me.

OG big and strong, not super quick apart from the 2 small rovers that change forward, kickins are predictable and dictated by the smalls who lead early so as to be in a position to crumb for leading talls.
Forwards are strong and dangerous if in space and their defence has been awesome but for 1 game - Very even side and good depth in reserves.

BT strength over the footy and improved accountability in the midfield along with the emergence of multiple ways to goal recently is key, they have not lost an away game this year and OG have not lost a home game - Could this be the Grandfinal??

Tipping BT (to even he ledger at 1 each)

Therry Penola vs Prahran: Rumor has it that Therry were threatened with a Sunday training session at half time of the game on Saturday (when they were in the lead). At home again, I expect them to come out breathing fire. They'll win comfortably and put the pressure on us to keep winning.

TP very good strong side, surprsied they cant find a way to win recently, this week - TP to win well

Rupertswood vs Banyule: Rupertswood have to get back on the winner's list at home, if they lose this one, it would take a massive effort for them to recover.

Think these 2 sides are similar, Rupo the more skillful (if allowed space) 19 who plays HBF and runs off all the time is a good player but recent post by (Ugly) suggests he likes it to be going his way, not sure who the player is that kicked 7 last week but thats a day out, Banyule Ruck man is better that Rupos and their CHB is terrific, but Rupo also have no 10 on the wing who is super quick and a couple of other forwards that are very strong.
Rupo to win

tips this week:
OM to beat ST Leos by 10 points
YV to beat OC in the upset of the round
BT over Og by 5 goals
rupo to get back on the winners list over banyule
therry to beat the two blues

Not sure if YV defeating OC will be upset of the round, seeing as all 3 tipsters tip them at present.

OC to win by 6 goals at home (undefeated at home this year)
Rupo by 5 goals
Therry by 10 goals
St.Leos by 1 goal (toss of the coin game)
OGS by 5 goals (play Como well)

Hi all. Re jumpers, Old Carey's is a ripper. However it would be better without the panther. As would BT's minus the ant!! Big fan of the classic hoops of Old Geelong.
I am not a fan of the streak look on jumpers, so would have Rupo and Banyule in the Ugly (Dermie) basket!

This weeks games look interesting on paper. I see a few are jumping on the YV bandwagon. They are certainly improving and may cause an upset against the OC.

I will go for:

YV by 5 pts at Bulleen. This will tighten the whole top 5-6 right up.
Rupo by 7 goals. Need to be impressive to restore confidence.
OGS to win by 5 goals. Play Como well with their hard running style.
OM's to keep in touch with the leading pack. 4 goals.
Therry by 10 goals. Need a big win to turn season around.

Perhaps not enough!! But as you can see from #674, i rate you guys highly.

To my defence, i tipped you guys in our first round of tipping when you played OM's at home. This game was obviously an aberration, however it tricked me into tipping Therry the next week. You won by a point, so i wasn't far off.
Then i tipped you to beat the OC, as you guys have the wood on them, especially i thought at home.
My decision to tip Rupo at home against you last week was more a tip for Rupo, than anything against BT. I would have tipped them against anyone. I thought they had to stand up after a few shockers. Again, i wasn't far off.
And finally, as good as you guys are, i made a statement a few weeks back that OGS will not lose at home this year. Again this means i will tip them at Como everytime.

DG is a big fan of BT. I think they are a cert to be in top 2-3, and with GF experience and a few wise old heads, will be very hard to beat in September!

Might be time to start shaking the tin to help ILSS raise some money to get his dial up account back up and running..... I have yet to see his report on the BT v Rupo game!

I Love Sandra Sully said:
oK.... HERE IT IS LADS. THE GREAT NEWSREADERS TIPS.

Rupo over BT by 10 points
OC to beat Banyule by 31 points
Therry to beat YV by 4 points
OM over Prahan by 32 points
Og's over leos by 23 points (if this was at Como i would have said 100)

Uglydermie........I have nothing to say to you until we are back in buisness......which will be as of 4:30pm Sat Arvo.

The silence is deafening. Rupo supporters, what is up?? Are there injuries, big ommissions, etc, or are you just in a little rut? The pack is chasing hard. Can you turn it around??
DG-Man will be at Como on Saturday and is very excited about the heavyweight clash that will unfold before my watchful eye.

Keep on the lookout for the mysterious man in the sunglasses and overcoat, who is partial to a hotdog and/or pie!

or perhaps the DG-Man is the one with the ball on a string across the half back line.....It would explain your love of como and all things OG!

Ugly :)

Uglydermie... been busy at work. Will be posting before the weekend.
here is a quick taste of things to come:

BT did not beat Rupo.

Rupo beat Rupo.

Back on the wagon everyone....because the rupi are ready to roll again.

I Love Sandra Sully said:
Uglydermie... been busy at work. Will be posting before the weekend.
here is a quick taste of things to come:

BT did not beat Rupo.

Rupo beat Rupo.

Back on the wagon everyone....because the rupi are ready to roll again.

Ilss,

Can you confirm a rumor, that there is some in-fighting at the club??