D GRADE: Give me something...

uglydermie said:
how about Kent? he is a gun cricketer too?

Unfortunatley Stewart-Holmes and Tommy Evans will be O/S in England. Kent is playing this year. Jogger White is also playing. Dolly is burning up the track. Steve Collins (ex Scotch onballer) is also raring to go. A heap of new recruits and a bunch of talented youngsters, plus the core of last years team = Premiership. However i need to keep a lid on it...Na Premiership.

Word is that Old Geelong have lost a heap of premiership players and haven't really recruited. Always a problem when the older ones win a premiership. Hard to keep them for a crack at the next grade.

evens is a massive loss to oc. Very quick and good skills. How is the ex scothch bloke travelling?

bullant10 said:
evens is a massive loss to oc. Very quick and good skills. How is the ex scothch bloke travelling?

Evans is a huge loss i agree. Along with Kent and Dolly, definately one of the top 2-3 last year. Collins is travelling very well. Has brought with him a level of professionalism with attitude and training i haven't seen at OC's b4. Should be couple of good Bulleen local derby's this year!

guys, all reports that rupertswood are getting stronger each year as they progress. the young players have brought the club through the ranks to reach their under 19 side to section 1 this yearand at the same time the seniors have reached d1 in 6 years. all reports, they have got the same bunch of players down there including plummer,boxall, brennan, phillips, mcewen, moule, gaunt. just to name a few. mcewen kept evans down to nothing in the 19s grand final. we all know in here seniors is a step up but look at the avergae age of afl clubs these days. im a bernards boy and have kept a close eye on the progress of rupertswood as some of the other boys who are interested. prediction rupertswood to b section in 4 years and for experienced quality players to start going to them to play in the next 2-3 years without recruiting. Old carey will be strong, as will Banyule if they kept their up and coming players from the under 19s.

digger9 said:
guys, all reports that rupertswood are getting stronger each year as they progress. the young players have brought the club through the ranks to reach their under 19 side to section 1 this yearand at the same time the seniors have reached d1 in 6 years. all reports, they have got the same bunch of players down there including plummer,boxall, brennan, phillips, mcewen, moule, gaunt. just to name a few. mcewen kept evans down to nothing in the 19s grand final. we all know in here seniors is a step up but look at the avergae age of afl clubs these days. im a bernards boy and have kept a close eye on the progress of rupertswood as some of the other boys who are interested. prediction rupertswood to b section in 4 years and for experienced quality players to start going to them to play in the next 2-3 years without recruiting. Old carey will be strong, as will Banyule if they kept their up and coming players from the under 19s.

mate exactly right - rupo are the emerging force of sunbury , a club that has a great junior program and are consistantly producing good footballers . also lost a lot of quality to st bernards for a couple of yrs but seem to be covering them and will again go up a grade this yr , -
interesting to note - st bernards without the regular influx of rupo stars they enjoyed in the premiership/grand final era, struggling last yr and favorites to get relegated this yr,
will be poetic justice the yr bernads drop and rupo rise

Hello boys

I am an avid fan of all the VAFA leagues, I have been for quite a few years now and I think digger is correct in that Rupertswood is certainly on the rise and will become quite a force in the VAFA ranks.
But my question is what are the players like this year?
I have herd there is quite a young list down at the club and haven’t herd much about these players you have mentioned, I only know of Brennan who kicked a truck load of goals last year in D2, can you give me an insight to these other young up and comers you mentioned.

rumours have it that brennan was offered substantial amounts of money by several clubs but opted to stay down at rupo with his mates.

the running players such as moule phillips boxall plummer and the likes look extremely fit and raring to go. with the addition of a couple of key recruits over the preseason and an influx of u19 talent rupo should be a force this year. in both d grade and in the 19s

there has been a couple of key losses over the summer none bigger though than james house who has left to play at a fellow sunbury team for what rumours say to be quite a considerable amount of money

No questions asked about Brennan, after kicking so many goals in a season you would expect a player of that caliber to be poached by other clubs. It’s good to see a good player playing football where he wants to rather that being draw to other clubs which all they care about is giving the big bucks to so called “superstars” who after 1 or 2 years leave the club out in the cold and they are back to square 1 pressuring other clubs guns players to fill the void once again.

Just wondering if there are any boys this year in the senior squad who played 19s last year?
I remember there were 2 or 3 Rupertswood boys who played in the u19’s rep squad and just wondering if they stuck around or went else where for the illustrious dollar?

Can’t say ive heard of a James House before, is he any good?
What are his qualities that the woodsmen will miss?

continuing on about rupertswood, i hear that they have a massive inclusion into their tall timber this year being matt clarke. he is the brother of vfl superstar at geelong this year and last year/vafa representative in recent years in simon clarke. reports have it that he has the arms like the wingspan of a hawk. a rugged back pocket player from wangaratta named zeb milne has been training the house down according to a spy that we have had down watching them. he looks like steve monagetti, so all you d section teams know who to tag when you play against rupertswood. he will dominate. all reports from my spy down at carey is that they are looking strong even with the losses of key midfielders. i have heard that the prahran team is training well and looking for a big year.

Digger 9, from what I've read, you're either involved or close with someone who is involved at Rupertswood. Besides Clarke and the other pick ups, who else looks the goods at Rupo? Know anything about any other D1 sides?

Word is that Old Geelong have lost a heap of premiership players and haven't really recruited. Always a problem when the older ones win a premiership. Hard to keep them for a crack at the next grade.[/quote]

Safe to say my mail here was pretty average. Am sacking my Old Geelong spy. Interesting set of results. Couldn't get to the Old Carey game this week. Always good to start with an away win. ANyone catch any D Grade games and have any insights worth sharing??

Gday all. Was at the Banyule, Rupertswood game. Rupertswood were too good. But i have daughts if they will go all the way, they seemed very young and i cant help but think when they come up against the bigger and stronger teams they could struggle. I was also speaking to a rupertswood official and i heard that they were missing alot of players. Could you rupertswood people confirm? Banyule shall go ok this year. and can any of you ruperswood people on here tell me why on earth is Keenan playing in the twos? As i have been involved in the amature squad the last couple of years and have seen him down there and he is a very smart and skilled footballer. Cheers

Had a look at the second half of Banyule v Rupertswood, #1 for The Rupertswood team was a stand out and absolutely dominated, he is knee high to a grasshopper, but very quick, strong and very hard at it with skills to boot, anyone got information on this young kid? looks like he could be playing at a much higher level.

keenan hurt is knee falling down the steps at the attic, chasing what many say was something that resembled a cross between a wilderbeast and a wild pig. Just being eased back into it from reports

zeb milne was it?, lighting quick defensive player who will no doubt push into the ones within the next few weeks.

footy_nerd said:
there has been a couple of key losses over the summer none bigger though than james house who has left to play at a fellow sunbury team for what rumours say to be quite a considerable amount of money

Right, how much are these rumours talking about??? Shame that James had to leave Rupo, unfortunately some of the people at Rupo are a little unprofessional in thier dealings...
Super side though Rupo, and as long as they continue to keep thier younger talent from taking a step and going to stronger teams they will be very good for a long time...

St.Kev's Cowboy said:
Digger 9, from what I've read, you're either involved or close with someone who is involved at Rupertswood. Besides Clarke and the other pick ups, who else looks the goods at Rupo? Know anything about any other D1 sides?

sorry st kevs, i am from sunbury and do have interest in the local footy. i went and watched the kangas on saturday as I am recovering from a rib ijury i sustained running back into a pack at the Royal Pub. will be fit to play in the bernards guernsey this saturday. I have sources down at rupo and other d1 teams, rupo are travelling well without giving too much away. geelong are going to be a force. it seems that after saturdays effort of prahran, my report was inconclusive during last week. Unsure on the others at present time. I am working on it though.

I Love Sandra Sully said:
Had a look at the second half of Banyule v Rupertswood, #1 for The Rupertswood team was a stand out and absolutely dominated, he is knee high to a grasshopper, but very quick, strong and very hard at it with skills to boot, anyone got information on this young kid? looks like he could be playing at a much higher level.
What I heard is that he did play well but no standout. Plenty of more better players on the day for rupertswood including Monkhorst, Vidovic and Spider Burton. i didnt get to see the match but reports are that the big men played a big part in the win. St bernards have got off to a good start in a grade. anyone see the match? i missed it.

Here is a bit of a report on the BT v Old Geelong game. Sadly for me (BT Supporter from way back) OG were fantastic. Any suggestion of a premiership hangover was dismissed with a great team effort. No less that 17 members of their flag winning team played on Saturday with a couple of others to be added in the next few weeks. Very strong on ball group- headed by Bayles (33), number 6 and number 2. For the losers, only a couple of blokes could hold thier heads up. Kaine Burridge played well in his first game for 18 months as did Jordon Wise and Greg Chivas.
All in all it was an ordinary day for the bullants but until every one has played each other once you don't really know where you stand. For our sake we can only hope that OG rack up a few more scalps along the way to make our 7 goal hiding look reasonable.....::
Keep up the good work on this thread. D1 is alive and well and we all appreciate the efforts of everyone keeping us upto date.
Cheers Ugly

uglydermie, what's with the BT website being so good ( giving yourselves a wrap ), no good getting blokes back to the club if you dont come out to play or there no good ?

Old Geelong that good ? or you blokes just didn't turn up on the day ?
Hope you boys turn it aroun this week. GO BT !!!

Therry may have found the whole left by edwards with bannister slotting 7, again i thought therry would win , but for the two blues to only kick 3 goals for the day, well can some provide me with what happened ?

Old carey as expected won, without anyone really staring, could be a long year for the YVOB'S,

old Ment , big win most surprising result of the weekend for me,

Rupo won well, scores flatter The bears, from reports that i heard they were 5 1/2 goals up half way through the last, then restered their guns, the bears kicked one after the siren to bridge the gap,

mmmmm where to start! Old geelong where good, as you would expect a team to be coming off a year when they only lost 1 game. The booted 6 goals in 15 minutes in the 3rd quarter to break the game open and never looked back from there. BT had a shocker nd would expect them to bounce back. Great result by Therry- the bannister boys (about 50 of them) can play but word is that Prahran may battle a bit this year. Good win by Rupo - any win at Banyule is a good one and Old Carey are sure to be there abouts at the end of the season. Big surprise to me was the St Leos game - I thought they may have the better of Old mentone. Lets give it a few more weeks before we hammer the nail into sides BUT 0-2 is very very ugly indeed!! Who are you supporting Sideshow?

Any news out there D-Grade fans??
I hear Old Carey have Kent, Munter, Angus and Jogga White returning this week. Had to drop 4 from last weeks winning team.

Now how do you get the team so quickly Moss rocket.. you must have pretty reliable source of information.. How many late changes possible and who are the players???

When was Buckle sent off for Leos?? this would have had an enourmous impact on the game, as will his missing the 6 next weeks.Could be game over Animals before he returns

oc37 said:
Now how do you get the team so quickly Moss rocket.. you must have pretty reliable source of information.. How many late changes possible and who are the players???

Hi OC37. Does this mean you wear number 37 for Old Carey or Old Camberwell?? Or perhaps an ex who used to wear that number? I have an ear to the ground at the club. Probably shouldn't be flashing around too much info, however this site is really only visited by a few fans of D Section and i am yet to see a Prahran boy amongst them. I think the OC's may be in for a solid year. I agree with your call on the other thread with AL Parton. I remember watching him kick 3 goals in a winning Old Xavs premiership 3 or so years ago. Can play, very very hard at it!! Not sure about any late changes.

Maybe both Moss Rocket.. i had actually never heard about this site until a few around the club mentioned it..i think a lot more peopel know about it now.. all fun anyway