D GRADE: Give me something...

St.Kev's Cowboy said:
Anyone know what happened to Stewart-Holmes from Old Carey? Still playing or O/S? Heard he was one of the better 19s a couple of years ago

Unfortunatley Stewart-Holmes and Tommy Evans will be O/S in England

SKC,

from an earlier thread. Evans was a very good player (top 3-4 IMO) Stewart-Holmes, pretty good. Not in the best 12, but certainly a senoir player.:thumbsu:

St.Kev's Cowboy said:
Any news of injured guns likely to come back into first's sides in the next couple of weeks?

Old Carey have plenty to come in. Side in round 1 vs Yarra Valley had 2 players only from the semi final team last year. I think 4 came back last week, and they have another 6-8 to come back over the next 6 weeks, with another few expected back mid-late year (work / OS committments)
Current team is pretty good. There 3-4 best players are playing, with the rest a very even unit. Not sure even if people return whether the side will change too much. I think the Ressies this year will therefore be very strong.

Moss Rocket said:
Old Carey have plenty to come in. Side in round 1 vs Yarra Valley had 2 players only from the semi final team last year. I think 4 came back last week, and they have another 6-8 to come back over the next 6 weeks, with another few expected back mid-late year (work / OS committments)
Current team is pretty good. There 3-4 best players are playing, with the rest a very even unit. Not sure even if people return whether the side will change too much. I think the Ressies this year will therefore be very strong.

Spot on there Moss, we have so many blokes atm that we don't know what to do with 'em all! May have to revive Clubbies, up to 10 blokes missing 2's each week (same with 19s..)

Real shame about the clubbies. They have battled for a few years when numbers were down. Now we have up to 20 players missing selection in 2's and 19's each week, plus the dozen or so who would have played clubbies.
Anyway, we certainly have depth, but as i said before, our best players are playing at present, and even though we have plenty to return, i'm not sure how much better we will get. Big game this week against Mentone @ Mentone. They have started the year well, and i think would have there hopes set on a finish between 3-5. So a win away there would be a very good one. Fingers crossed!

Moss Rocket said:
Real shame about the clubbies. They have battled for a few years when numbers were down. Now we have up to 20 players missing selection in 2's and 19's each week, plus the dozen or so who would have played clubbies.
Anyway, we certainly have depth, but as i said before, our best players are playing at present, and even though we have plenty to return, i'm not sure how much better we will get. Big game this week against Mentone @ Mentone. They have started the year well, and i think would have there hopes set on a finish between 3-5. So a win away there would be a very good one. Fingers crossed!

Thanks mate, hope we can bring home the bikkies from down Keysy way this Sat. As for the CLubbies, something may be happening very soon - watch this space I guess...

Here's the mail this week:

Therry, early seaon pacesetter, will win comfortably at home against Leos whose best will be vewry competitive despite an ordinary start.
Careys "cavalcade of superstars" (at least according to this forum!) will get them over the line against Mentone, should be too physical believe it or not with Dolly back.
Prahran will be the upset of the round at home over Rupo, have a feeling they'll improve massively this week and Rupo have limped in twice.
OG's track out to Domeney for a tough one against the Valley boys who won't be the easybeats many are predicting - similar list to last two years and they've been more than competitive but OG's in a tight one.
And Bulleen Temp might just have too many weapons for the young Banyule Bears.

See how we go eh!!! Dont say I wasn't right!

St Leos struggling,this will make it 0-3 and fighting out relegation with Prahran and Banyule.
Therry by: 32

Carey will have to do more before I join their band wagon, over confident, over rated.
Mentone by: 8 pts.

Prahran can't get worse and all the Ruppo hype must inspire Prahran to perform far better close one.
Prahran by: 1pt.

Old geelong to big to strong by 36pts over Yarra.
Old Geelong: 36 pts.

Banyule will need the home ground advantge to keep the margin under 10 goals, Bulleen temp greter depth of talent.
Bulleen temp by 42pts.

This thread is kicking #%$#! Keep up the good work...
Ugly reckons:

St Leos to make a stand. Can win this and will! ST L by 15

Mentone better at home but not good enough to beat OC. OC x 36

Ruppo to beat Prahran (but another win that wont mean much) by 40

OGs to win by 30.

Bullants should beat the Bears and with 5 positive changes at the selection table the margin could be more than 50 points.

Good luck to all concerned.

Ugly loves sitting back on Friday night enjoying a couple of quiet ales only to wish that he was still young enough to pull the boots on for his beloved ANTS....

Old Carey aint over confident. Don't worry about that. It wasn't thatl ong ago we were in G Grade with 25 guys playing. Club is improving, numbers are great and we would love to get to C Grade.
Yes there are a few blokes pumping them up on Bigfooty, but that's what bigfooty is all about. Most of the guys don't even play.
Like Ugly, i would love to pulling on the boots tomorrow. Unfortunately, a little old, a little slow and a large bit too fat!

Go C's

Wow, what a forum i've just found. Love D Grade Amatuer footy.
Big matches today. YV upset OGS by 8 goals. Rupo and BT get up. Old Carey win by 6 and Therry remain undefeated. My spies tell me that OGS were hopeless. YV poor start to the season may be a reflection of the cattle thay had in the first 2 rounds, rather than what we can expect of them over the whole season. BT get up again in a close one. Not playing all that well yet, when they click, they will be better.
DG-Man thinks top 4 will be Therry, OC, BT and OGS.
Big game next week. OC v Therry will be a ripper. Think Therry may be the team to beat this year. Look for BT, Rupo, OGS and Leos to also notch up wins.

Keep posting lads. The more talk, the more intersting it all becomes!

Didn't see a D Grade today. Was watching Old Xavs v O-Tri. Have been reading through this thread. You are a BT man. I think they will have a good year this year. You guys, OC and OGS were all pretty even a few years back and the nucleas of all 3 teams remain. Rupo and Therry are interesting ones. Might try and catch the OC v Therry next week. Should be ripper. Winner may have claims to be early flag fav. Never seen Rupo play. Can't knock 3-0. SHould be a massive year.

Moss Rocket,
I thought you were an OC man. What you doing tipping Mentone.?Tell me your not one of those who picks with the head and not the heart??
Old C,s "rocketing" to 3-0. You think thay can beat Therry next week. Will be a beauty.

Played against Carey in 98 when they won the flag in one of the E grades. Had a guy playing FF then called Matthew Spencer, should have kicked 100 if he had played a full season. I had a really good battle with him both times we played. Is he playing for anyone now? It surprised me following the progress of Carey in the years after 98 that they didn't progress up the grades more because although we were only playing E grade it looked like they had a side that could take them a lot further.

DG-Man

Thought Mentone away would be a difficult assignment. Happy to be proved wrong. Anyone see the game? What about the OGS result. Have YV had players missing? OGS perhaps not as good as first thought.
Anyone see any games over the weekend / have anything to report.
Site is a little quiet lately??

Spencer did his knee after kicking about 70.. never been able to play again.. knee just not the same

missed the BT game on the weekend but happy to see they won. Never easy at banyule. Ogs result was a shock but again YV can grow a few extra legs at home. How many did Dolly kick this week? Big game against Therry this week...although I still think they may be kidding themselves a bit and havent beaten much yet.
Moss- What can you tell me about OM? We play them in a few weeks!

don't worry about OGS, first game they have lost in a year, i wouldn't want to be playing in a two blues jumper this week.

Midas, rupo have beat who they have had to play, yes they may have limped across the line, but from all reports have been well short of their best side in all three games,so they are maybe lucky to have not drawn ogs, oc's and bullen early, they will see were thay are at this week agaist OM'S.

Ugly, puzzled by your comment ( Rupo to beat Prahran (but another win that wont mean much) by 40 ) why would that be the case ?

Do you not rate the team from sunbury ?

BT, good win away, would like to know why the margin was so close, with an impressive five positive changes ?

game of the round as everyone would agree this week will be Therry V OC's, might even get a look at this one myself,

Been a pleasure reading this great material, keep up the good work and winning form.

Sideshow. I do rate the boys from Sunbury but I think the boys from Toorak Park might be in for a long season. You can only beat the team you are up against on the day and three from three is a great start.

BT game was on a windswept dung heap and from all account were just happy to get out of there with the 4 points and ake the short drive home with out any injuries.

Ugly,

Didn't see the game first hand but heard it was a good win by OC's. Hard to win down there. That's why i foolishly tipped OM's.
Can't really help you with OM's style or players. Last year they were pretty quick and gave a bit of lip. Certainly a game you would like to win as they are probably going to be around the 4-6 mark on ladder at seasons end IMO. Big game this week OC's vs Therry. Hopefully a nice sunny day to watch a bit of classic D-Grade footy.

old geelong result very suprising,
anyone catch that game or have heard what happened. Geelong were raging favorites and thought they would have done it easy after having seen them beat bulleen comfortably in roulnd one. Will YV be a top four side?