D1 2009 - Part 2

Nice one HBP.

If only I could trim down to young Pat's 65kgs! Could do without the shoulder length hair though. Will try to get front and centre of the camera this Saturday.

I daresay if Rupo win, any video footage will be archived immediately. Never to see the light of day.

Betstar's market is running at $1.55 Rupo, $2.35 Roys with the line set at 9 points to Rupo. Pressure will be well and truly on the Woodsmen to finally grab some silverware to fill the trophy cabinet.

I'd hate to be carrying that enormous expectation. Imagine if they failed at the last hurdle after such a brilliant season this far! :p

Nice one HBP.

If only I could trim down to young Pat's 65kgs! Could do without the shoulder length hair though. Will try to get front and centre of the camera this Saturday.

I daresay if Rupo win, any video footage will be archived immediately. Never to see the light of day.

Betstar's market is running at $1.55 Rupo, $2.35 Roys with the line set at 9 points to Rupo. Pressure will be well and truly on the Woodsmen to finally grab some silverware to fill the trophy cabinet.

I'd hate to be carrying that enormous expectation. Imagine if they failed at the last hurdle after such a brilliant season this far! :p

Bit early in the week for mind games Scribe. No more pressure than carrying the weight of the ghosts of Fitzroy past , present and future!

Think it is going to be a great days footy showcasing two of the leagues up and coming clubs.

VAFA%202009%20D1%20Grand%20Final.jpg

You know where to find us!

Don't worry GaryBaldi, we are enjoying the moment mate.

It's just great to be able to show the world what a pack of dogs the Werribee blokes are and why they will never progress any higher than D1. He sure did talk the talk number 13....

I wouldn't be too sure about us not enjoying the moment after Saturday. There is a bloody good feeling around the club and I am very confident we are going to do the right thing on Saturday.

2009 shaping as a great year. come on Reds and Sainters!!!

mmmmmm yes, im sure no fitzroy player EVER hit someone behind the play this year. :rolleyes: i mean, we could chat about the bloke that elbowed spud in the throat behind play in our first meeting of the year, ensuring he was coughing up blood and had to miss the next 3-4 weeks, or maybe the bloke that bit leigh brennan......... but u know, glass houses and that.

wont progress higher than D1? maybe ur right. but for a club that has come up a division with a young list, we can only get better.

mmmmmm yes, im sure no fitzroy player EVER hit someone behind the play this year. :rolleyes: i mean, we could chat about the bloke that elbowed spud in the throat behind play in our first meeting of the year, ensuring he was coughing up blood and had to miss the next 3-4 weeks, or maybe the bloke that bit leigh brennan......... but u know, glass houses and that.

wont progress higher than D1? maybe ur right. but for a club that has come up a division with a young list, we can only get better.

Not sure whether or not their budding videographer would put that sort of stuff up on you tube. that would be incriminating on the reds good nature as civilized footballers who would never put a foot wrong.

Haha - everybody hates Werribee.

Ever the word smith Scribe, kudos.

Games within games, and mind games before the game...it can only be Grand Final week. There is something about this time of year that always makes it that tad nicer, summer is around the corner and close to a year of hard work comes to fruition.
Fitzroy thoroughly deserve their spot in the battle for D1 bragging rights and will be just fine in C Grade next year. They have a very disciplined operation that revolves around corridior footy, which, as they say in the classics, is the shortest avenue to goal. Smart and effective and up and about at the right time.
Werribee although having a great year, just were't quite there yet. I like their game, skillful, aggressive and very much momentum reliant. If they can get consistency thrown into that group, the flag is all but theirs next year.
Whitefriars, a lot of injuries, big players missing big games but still proved they have more good years ahead. Will go into 2010 full of confidence and rightly so. All the best to both mobs.
Rupo have been on a mission to avenge their fall from grace after a very rapid climb up the ranks. I like the pace, youth, attack on the footy and confidence this bunch exubes. The clash of styles is evident but I think it will make for an enthralling contest come 2:15 Saturday.
A lot of emotion on the Fitzroy side with the faithful set to come in their droves, ABC reports and You Tube channels showing they've got the support.
Rupo have that expectation that comes with being the best performed side all year and in my opinion they will just prove that at the big dance.
Absolute best of luck to 2 great clubs, but Rupo for mine by 15 points
Cheerio
Dud ;)

Atonello given 2 matches at the tribunal.

He wasn't on the website as a player to attend the tribunal. Could this be as a result of the strike at 1:55 on the youtube video.

Yep. Wise move to take the 2. He got red carded for it, and 99 times out of 100 that ends up in suspension. Not much point stringing it out really.

What massive pressure there must be at BSO this week. ABC TV coverage, the expectations of the long suffering Fitzroy Faithful and the lingering 65 years since the last flag. Boy oh boy, I know who's boots I'd rather be walking in...

Nice try Lemms! The last Fitzroy senior flag was 2005, but the last Rupo one was.....help me here mate.....um I'm looking through the archives.....I'll find it soon......sorry it's got me beat. :p

No pressure at BSO, especially now Coggsy Dullard did an ACL last night and Ross Borland fractured his wrist hitting the wall at the Richmond Pools in a recovery swim. We're decimated for height and given Rupo are 18 and 1 for the year compared to our 13 and 7, we might as well call it off and present the medals to your boys this Thursday night.

Word on the streets is KB organized Salesian alumni Nathan Buckley and David Schwarz to speak to the playing group tomorrow night, given they both have experienced the pain of getting so close but falling short.

We've got Martin Pyke coming to talk about being in the right place at the right time and pinching flags when you don't really deserve it. All academic in my view with Betstar now adjusting the odds into $1.15 Rupo and the Roys now blowing out to $5.50 given these critical injuries. Line is now 29 point with BOG betting as follows:

B.Whitehead (Rupo) $2.50
L. Brennan (Rupo) $5.50
J. Phillips (Rupo) $7.00
G. Phillips (Rupo) $8.00
D. McGovern (Rupo) $10.00

Cheers

Frase

What massive pressure there must be at BSO this week. ABC TV coverage, the expectations of the long suffering Fitzroy Faithful and the lingering 65 years since the last flag. Boy oh boy, I know who's boots I'd rather be walking in...

To quote General Patton: "Pressure makes diamonds"

65 years since last flag i think you seem to have forgotten the reds in 2001,2003 and 2005 thats not even 65 months. the boys have a history of making the big one and winning it. Good luck to the royboys:thumbsu:

It appears you guys have seen straight through my thinly veiled attempt at applying massive amounts of pressure in your camp. :D

We have a great respect for the Roys and can't wait for Saturday, should be a ripper whatever happens.

Nice try Lemms! The last Fitzroy senior flag was 2005, but the last Rupo one was.....help me here mate.....um I'm looking through the archives.....I'll find it soon......sorry it's got me beat. :p

No pressure at BSO, especially now Coggsy Dullard did an ACL last night and Ross Borland fractured his wrist hitting the wall at the Richmond Pools in a recovery swim. We're decimated for height and given Rupo are 18 and 1 for the year compared to our 13 and 7, we might as well call it off and present the medals to your boys this Thursday night.

Word on the streets is KB organized Salesian alumni Nathan Buckley and David Schwarz to speak to the playing group tomorrow night, given they both have experienced the pain of getting so close but falling short.

We've got Martin Pyke coming to talk about being in the right place at the right time and pinching flags when you don't really deserve it. All academic in my view with Betstar now adjusting the odds into $1.15 Rupo and the Roys now blowing out to $5.50 given these critical injuries. Line is now 29 point with BOG betting as follows:

B.Whitehead (Rupo) $2.50
L. Brennan (Rupo) $5.50
J. Phillips (Rupo) $7.00
G. Phillips (Rupo) $8.00
D. McGovern (Rupo) $10.00

Cheers

Frase
Hey Scribe
Love it!
Suggest you start your next post with "Once upon a time..."

Well done to the Reds for beating Werribee!

Werribee are truely a scum team, both supporters and players and I'm sure that everyone in the ammos is happy to see them go out in straight sets!!

Number 13s actions sum up the club to a tee and it is only one of hundreds over the season, most teams would be embarrassed by such behaviour....no doubt Werribee are proud of themselves and believe that it was an act of "tough footy".

Werribee are truely a scum team, both supporters and players and I'm sure that everyone in the ammos is happy to see them go out in straight sets!!

Number 13s actions sum up the club to a tee and it is only one of hundreds over the season, most teams would be embarrassed by such behaviour....no doubt Werribee are proud of themselves and believe that it was an act of "tough footy".

No use wasting time putting this on big footy. No one in Werribee would be able to use a computer for starters and if they had one they would have stolen it. Do they have a website yet? WWW.Feral

Morons... Have you ever thought that maybe you have conformed to the typical view everyone else has of werribee because most of you are sheep and refuse to think about something without others approval...? God this sh!t's me... Sure it wasn't a smart thing for Matty to do but if we recorded his whole year you would see 50 marks of him floating across and back into packs... a great player.. let himself down in that instance and again people with no mental capacity go at him like he killed someone and go back to the old sh!t farm/feral stereotipical insult that everyone else uses becuase they have the brain capacity of a 5 year old...

I'm even considering playing next year (try to) and getting the boys drilled this pre-season just so they can have a crack at you boys again...

You have to remember they have one of the youngest lists and just come up from D2 to D1 and made the final 4.. great effort.. now they will build over the pre-season and have a real crack at smashing this competition..

By the way i don't play for them. I play down in geelong but a couple of mates do.

They will be back next year!!!

Cheers
Jacky

ps. good luck in the GF and next year...

Look who popped his head out from underneath the rock. Welcome back Kruzering, your comments amaze me. 'Hundreds over the season'. Were you at every game of Werribee's?

I'm sure we would not have heard a whisper from you if the Friars had not have made the grand final in the magoos.

Just put your head back under the rock, and actually come out when you have something decent to say. Your really getting boring with the same ol' sh1t that you come up with.

Good luck to your boys, but even better luck to NOBS for back to back.

Look who popped his head out from underneath the rock. Welcome back Kruzering, your comments amaze me. 'Hundreds over the season'. Were you at every game of Werribee's?

I'm sure we would not have heard a whisper from you if the Friars had not have made the grand final in the magoos.

Just put your head back under the rock, and actually come out when you have something decent to say. Your really getting boring with the same ol' sh1t that you come up with.

Good luck to your boys, but even better luck to NOBS for back to back.

Kruzering = Bigfooty pest. Must be fun being unemployed and looking for people to bite back on your comments.