D1 2009

[quote=sideshowbob;14373141Nobs are flying, beat om by 7 goals, then have more scoring shots then friars away, massive game today in what shapes as classic contest so early in the season, i expect both sides to finish in the four, match of the round - will rupo be 3-0 at 16:45 today ? lets hope so,

Good call Krusty. Nobs took it right up to us in a great game of footy. We played terrific today, so to kick 24-7 is an indication that we were on our game, given that, NOBS are right there in the mix.

Well done to Fitzroy, bouncing back, i think all 3 sides we have played will have a fair bit of say throughout the season.

I tipped SMD to bounce back last week, so well done to their turnaround from the first 2 rounds.

The comp is alive and very hot.

Good to see so many of the young (senior and U19) Aquinas lads back in their rooms after their respective games. No doubt the seniors will have many better days in the coming weeks, as we jumped them early but they fought out the second half well. The screamer taken by #11 in the final term must go in to Ch 9 in the next week or so.

As for us, well the skipper Jim O'Reilly enjoyed his switch to the other end of the ground with 5 snags, whilst Conor Dullard showed why he could well be the most dominant big midfielder this grade has seen since Al Parton tore it up for Old Carey in 2006.

We had to learn fast after last week's 'lesson' at Sunbury and, whilst there's plenty of work to do to match the competition pacesetters, hopefully next week's hitout back at at tidier BSO against OMs will be a corker.

Good hard fought win by the Tigers. Prahran are a big strong side and will definately win games this year. Great ground to play on.
Looking forward to Aquinas this week at home.

As for us, well the skipper Jim O'Reilly enjoyed his switch to the other end of the ground with 5 snags, whilst Conor Dullard showed why he could well be the most dominant big midfielder this grade has seen since Al Parton tore it up for Old Carey in 2006.
I had to nick off at 1/4 time Frase, but the Reds looked to have clicked into a nice gear by that stage. Athers looked good.

I had a pre-arranged engagement at Blackburn vs Balwyn, and whilst he wasn't the dominant midfielder on the ground, "Dolly" Parton put the wind up any Balwyn player that was in his vicinity. He is still an imposing man.

For the record (and yes i know it's not D1 VAFA), Blackburn were busted with 19 men 6 minutes into the last stanza and were leading the reigning premiers by about 3 goals at that stage. Amazing scenes. I'd never seen that before.

Anyway, Go Reds.

Here is something for the record Maphead..

OMentonians’ Hard Line Coach and major rear admiral A.Hayes will be most likely be asked to step down after committee members attended training last week

2 issues were raised by the committee.
1-After taking OMs for tackling training it was clear he had little to no experience in the area despite a comprehensive resume and….

2- It would appear as if someone else was making all tactical gameday changes.

I hope that he will be able to continue his coaching career with the W. Tigers as they are really good guys. Pause. Not.

OMentonians’ Hard Line Coach and major rear admiral A.Hayes will be most likely be asked to step down after committee members attended training last week

1-After taking OMs for tackling training it was clear he had little to no experience in the area despite a comprehensive resume and….

I hope that he will be able to continue his coaching career with the W. Tigers as they are really good guys. Pause. Not.

Boy what a rollercoaster so far for the hooded ones! The effort put up by the Friars on Saturday was pretty poor against a team that clearly wanted the ball more on the day. South Melbourne scrapped well and were able to capitalise with their talented forward line while the Friars never got started. Anyway the lads were a forlorn sight after the game and will need to improve 1000% to beat Prahan who will be playing for their season this week.

The great thing about our game is that we have next week to look forward to! Well done SMD you thoroughly deserved your victory.

Not sure if the "Maphead" reference is for me DKP, but if it is, I do not have the slightest idea what you are talking about. If is wasn't, then "play on".

Like the competition this year with 4 or 5 teams showing premiership promise. Difficult to pick a realistic contender at this stage but with rupertswood sitting at the top of the table, they probably would show the shortest odds at round 3.

I dont think you can have a complete view until after round 9 when eveeyone has played each other. Thats when injuries etc. will start to play a part.

very true saints,
thats they key and everyone should know that - injuries can destroy a clubs season in the blink of an eye ( rupo 2008 for example )

for what's it's worth after rd 3.

Rupo - 3.80 - only cause they are 3-0. must improve on last year.
NOBS - 4.50 - result was a lot closer then scores would suggest on sat
TIGERS - 6.00 - young, fast, quick ball movement = alot of wins in 09
FRIARS - 9.00 - side down from c grade - far to good to not play finals

OMS - 11.50 - clearly the best of the rest - home ground advantage big +
FITZROY - 18.00 - will beat the sides below them, great jumper
STH MELB - 25.00 - great win, maybe the start of something ?- i think not
AQUINAS - 51.00 - started well, but haven't played anyone

LEO'S - 81.00 - new boys to d1, but will be better placed in d2 in 2010
TWO BLUES - 101.00 - 0-3 says it all, terrific ground

terrific comp this year, some big games again this week, vafa footy is alive and well :thumbsu:

Rupertswood
(daylight)
Werribee
NOBSPC
Whitefriars
Old Mentonians
(daylight)
Fitzroy
South Melb Districts
Aquinas
Emmeaus
Prahran

Agreed it's still early days, but I reckon you're overrating Werribee there Richard...At least you offered more than Snips, who came up with a truly groundbreaking revelation that Rupo are gonna be one of the top sides this year. Thanks for the scoop Snips.

very true saints,
thats they key and everyone should know that - injuries can destroy a clubs season in the blink of an eye ( rupo 2008 for example )

terrific comp this year, some big games again this week, vafa footy is alive and well :thumbsu:

very good sideshow - although id say rupo would be 2.40 rather than generous odds at 3.80

and i dont agree that there are big games this week - think top 5 sides play the bottom 5 sides - hopefully there is a few upsets though to keep it interesting as amateurs always is!!

very good sideshow - although id say rupo would be 2.40 rather than generous odds at 3.80

and i dont agree that there are big games this week - think top 5 sides play the bottom 5 sides - hopefully there is a few upsets though to keep it interesting as amateurs always is!!
I think you need to check the fixture. 2v5 and 3v4. Reckon that constitutes BIG GAMES, even though it is early in the season.

I dont think you can have a complete view until after round 9 when eveeyone has played each other. Thats when injuries etc. will start to play a part.

Keals, have i heard correctly that your big recruit Bellingham Aka "not quite right" has gone back to Colts?????

i think rupertswood are the best team thus far because they have not lost a game and are on the top of the ladder

very true saints,

good stuff. i think the bottom 5 are correct and in the right order.
Interesting to have Mentone behind the Tigers when Mentone beat them by 40 odd points, and having just lost to SMD Friars will need to improve quite a bit to warrant 4th favouritism....

Keals, have i heard correctly that your big recruit Bellingham Aka "not quite right" has gone back to Colts?????

Thats is right on the mark. Decided after the Aquinas game to go back to the Colts. Im not sure why but have to respect his decision, and wish him all the best. If Cheevo can kick 7 every week though it will be nice.
We have also lost Tom Cronan who was a handy pick up but he has diceded to move back to Perth to be with his girlfriend.
I think we had a 85% to full strength side in Saturday and played really well so hopefully can build from that and have a good year

Thats is right on the mark. Decided after the Aquinas game to go back to the Colts. Im not sure why but have to respect his decision, and wish him all the best. If Cheevo can kick 7 every week though it will be nice.
We have also lost Tom Cronan who was a handy pick up but he has diceded to move back to Perth to be with his girlfriend.
I think we had a 85% to full strength side in Saturday and played really well so hopefully can build from that and have a good year

Dont think Tom will agree with that statement, but seeing as though he doesnt get on here, fair play... CBC are in A grade ammos over there so hopefully he gets a crack at the 1's.

Still stunned about Matty. Dont think he got a good picture of how we like to play, we were horrible in the first two rounds, but good luck to the him at the colts, hope he can add some value to their squad.

haha i know im big harps but 60 or 70 surely not that big lol plus aqualina is a legend of the club he can have #13 ill take #17 thanks prez;);) on a serious note though im rapt that my clerance has gone through and can now look foward to havin a good year down at smd and hopefully add some silverwear to the cabinet down at lindsey hasset res.....

didnt take him long to jump off the bandwagon. must be a ripper bloke.....

'respect his decision,' holding back on what you really think saints?