D1 2009

didnt take him long to jump off the bandwagon. must be a ripper bloke.....

'respect his decision,' holding back on what you really think saints?

No not at all. It's his decision entirely. If I were to have a go at home it would be fairly hipocritical of me seeing as though I had a go at the Colts for not clearing him and respecting his wishes. At the end of the day whether I do or dont "respect his decision", my thoughts don't matter.

good news from old mentonians star young gun dave bardoel has been cleared of the swine flu. watch out players in old metonians ones your spot is bout to be taken.

No not at all. It's his decision entirely. If I were to have a go at home it would be fairly hipocritical of me seeing as though I had a go at the Colts for not clearing him and respecting his wishes. At the end of the day whether I do or dont "respect his decision", my thoughts don't matter.
After being spanked by Aquinas full back Anth Williams maybe he thought it would be easier to get a kick in the 2s at Port Colts

Would not take Krusty's 3.80 just yet, i think we are around the 7.00 mark. Mentonians form over the last two weeks is irresistable. NOBS believe me are right in it, and W/Friars will play finals. That leaves Aquinas, Fitzroy,Werribee and SMD who would consider themselves strong chances. The comp is very alive.

Rupo over Leos by 3pts, this will be a toughy for the early favorites
Nobs by 18 over an improved SMD
Werribee by 22 at home over Aquinas
OMent by 36 over Fitzroy (not sure why)
W/Friars by 50 over the Prahan blues

Good Luck to all

On current form can't see St Leo's getting near either Rupo team this weekend. Hope the ground is in good shape as it looked like the Great Sandy Desert last season. Rupo will face some challenges but St Leo's not one of them.

I can't understand how odds are calculated. $7.00 might be ok for the favourite in the Melbourne Cup KB but I don't think it's Rupo's true odds at the moment.

Song of the week: 'The Sound Of Silence'

Would not take Krusty's 3.80 just yet, i think we are around the 7.00 mark. Mentonians form over the last two weeks is irresistable. NOBS believe me are right in it, and W/Friars will play finals. That leaves Aquinas, Fitzroy,Werribee and SMD who would consider themselves strong chances. The comp is very alive.

Good Luck to all

What is going on down at NOBS? Have they got many players to come back, i know Barker has been playing 2´s and kicked 5 last week so i guess he will be in this week. Anyone else?
Will they fly under the radar a bit with some of these other teams coming through this year?

Good Luck to all

KB false modesty doesn't suit my good friend put a 7 in front of your anticipated result and I reckon you've got it right!!

A great night down at Friar HQ tonight and heard that the coach drew a "line in the sand" on Tuesday night after the SMD result, one on one for 2 hrs and apparently a real toughy. So I am tipping that the 2 blues will face a pretty focused team on Saturday - Friars by 20 points

Rupo by 73
Weribee by 66 as most Ringwood boys wont find the ground
OM by 12
NOBS by 23 (based on last week Cronan is a big loss)

Friars will improve with Baggoley, Power, Langford and Malone to return shortly.

Grade seems good but noticed a couple of weeks ago zero NOBS players in for a drink at the Friar cave which was disappointing. Need to have that to ensure that footy is enbraced properly!!

KB I want 30 points in next time.

Not sure I have a song of the week but if I had one I would hope it would be Lilly of Laguna!!

Here is something for the record Maphead..

OMentonians’ Hard Line Coach and major rear admiral A.Hayes will be most likely be asked to step down after committee members attended training last week

2 issues were raised by the committee.
1-After taking OMs for tackling training it was clear he had little to no experience in the area despite a comprehensive resume and….

2- It would appear as if someone else was making all tactical gameday changes.

I hope that he will be able to continue his coaching career with the W. Tigers as they are really good guys. Pause. Not.
So can you update us Dave, who's coaching this week, did he get the boot? Or are you just one of those guys that gets on here and talks rubbish???

On current form can't see St Leo's getting near either Rupo team this weekend. Hope the ground is in good shape as it looked like the Great Sandy Desert last season. Rupo will face some challenges but St Leo's not one of them.

I can't understand how odds are calculated. $7.00 might be ok for the favourite in the Melbourne Cup KB but I don't think it's Rupo's true odds at the moment.

Song of the week: 'The Sound Of Silence'

$7 way to high obviously - prob $2.20 about now

Should we even show up??? What % would we get if we forfeited to Rupo - anyone know??

We could all just go watch match of the round which for mine is the Roys hosting OM's who blew us away last week

So time to tip

OMs to stamp themselves as legit and beat the Roys by 5 goals

Werribee easily over Aquinas out at Soldiers - 48 points

SMD over Nobs - no reason 12 points

Whitefriars comfortably enough over Prahran - 36 points

And if we dont get blown out of the water our best possible result is the Animals by 1 point over Rupo

Cheers

After the results of the last two weeks, i am going to refrain from any tipping until a little more order is restored.

Good luck to all on the weekend.

carn the districts!

So can you update us Dave, who's coaching this week, did he get the boot? Or are you just one of those guys that gets on here and talks rubbish???

there has been some divine intervention and the pontiff will remain as coach until round 12. However watch for OM's to come home with a wet (dripping) sail under my tutelage with a diet of burgers, Winnie blues, champagne sunrises and busted hymen.

so there you have it, no coup as yet
im back working the greyhound
and golden boot is back at school where "theres always time for a hand shandy with andy"

there has been some divine intervention and the pontiff will remain as coach until round 12. However watch for OM's to come home with a wet (dripping) sail under my tutelage with a diet of burgers, Winnie blues, champagne sunrises and busted hymen.

so there you have it, no coup as yet
im back working the greyhound
and golden boot is back at school where "theres always time for a hand shandy with andy"

red roy is that you?

And if we dont get blown out of the water our best possible result is the Animals by 1 point over Rupo

Cheers

Trust me drifter you will not get blown out of the water, your form is OK, other than what looks like a blowout second half last week after being level at half time.
We have been up and about and playing good footy, hope this continues.
In 2006 when you got relegated and we got promoted it was 1 a piece and we could have easily lost both games. That is what is great about Amateurs, you have to be on your game to win every week.

What is going on down at NOBS? Have they got many players to come back, i know Barker has been playing 2´s and kicked 5 last week so i guess he will be in this week. Anyone else?
Will they fly under the radar a bit with some of these other teams coming through this year?

M.Barker, M. Keown, P. Bryar, M. Carney, D. Crooks, N. Evans... at least

Rupo V Emmeus by 80 points
OM V Fitzroy by 24 points
Wfriars V Prahran by 60 points
NOBS V SMD by 36 points
Werribee V Aquinas by 81 points

Not sure I have a song of the week but if I had one I would hope it would be Lilly of Laguna!!

Thanks for the reminder Jack. I love the melody and lyrics of this great song. You should google the song and find out its history. Great story. It wouldn't get passed the thought police these days. You should have a look at the images also. Can you really put on the sheet music 'The world's greatest coon song.' I'm racing out to buy some Kiwi nugget and singing it Al Jolson style.

ps; No disrespect to the St Leo's team. On current form it doesn't look like a close game. I hope you turn it on and make it interesting for the spectators. There's nothing better than a good game of footy and a close result.

Good old fashioned contest yesterday at BSO with the home side running away with the game in the final term.

OMs started each of the first three terms with a flyer and we kept having to peg them back through good pressure footy around the contests and run/carry on the rebound.

It wasn't until we kicked the first 2 of the final term that we felt comfortable, as Hecker (BOG), Teasdale and Kinsella all remained dangerous contributors for the visitors. I was particularly impressed with Wiltshire's games game too, very hard around the contest and played well up forward.

We had a pretty even contribution for our lads, with Dullard, Meighen and Benny Atherton all continuing their good starts to the season. Kudos to the OMs lads for sticking around for a beer or two afterwards. Given the result, they were obviously disappointed and also had a club function that night, but still came back pretty much en masse.

Congratulations to their outgoing president Mick Lawes (who I understand is relocating to Brisbane soon) for his efforts too. A great VAFA man in his own right. We look forward to the return bout in round 10 (!) where we know they'll be even harder to toss down at Keysie.

Cheers

Frase

Ruppo are very happy to take the 4 points at the animals home ground. The Baranello brothers are guns, 16 up forward played very well. The game was pretty close to shot at half time, Emmaus fought hard to the end, but the goal umps had us down for 19 goals when we kicked 20 as everybody else knew at the game, including timekeepers and club officials.
Poor old Matty Takacs who kicked 5 was docked one for the sake of the unrepentant Animals goal umpire.

SMD coming up, should be a cracker as they are most improved over the last two weeks and had the benefit of a practice match at our ground pre-season against Therry.

I was absolutely disgusted in aquinas' performance after the game down at soldiers yesterday. Never in my short period in the ammo's have i seen a team show such poor spirit after a game, not one Aquinas player stayed back for a beer or the post match presentations.

Pretty pi$$ weak effort if you ask me

Ruppo are very happy to take the 4 points at the animals home ground. The Baranello brothers are guns, 16 up forward played very well. The game was pretty close to shot at half time, Emmaus fought hard to the end, but the goal umps had us down for 19 goals when we kicked 20 as everybody else knew at the game, including timekeepers and club officials.
Poor old Matty Takacs who kicked 5 was docked one for the sake of the unrepentant Animals goal umpire.

SMD coming up, should be a cracker as they are most improved over the last two weeks and had the benefit of a practice match at our ground pre-season against Therry.

Well played to Rupertswood - their foot skills on the break chopped us up big time especially in the 1st half. On a bigger ground they will be harder to stick with also.

I agree the score was 20 goals - how this wasnt corrected is a mystery to me. One got missed in the 1st quarter which isnt good enough - have to apologise to Takacs as he was robbed.