D1 2009

well done to scudda on making his return to senior footy after that terrible injury he sustained in last year's 2's granny, everyone at werribee hopes he gets through the game and tears it apart - go tiges!

What a great day out at Friar Park, a combined winning margin across the day of nearly 350 points

The 19's started the day with the biggest win then the ressies just got to the 100 point margin before the Seniors started slowly, trailed by a couple of goals at qtr time but dominated from there to win by 108 points or so, mainly helped by 2 extremely dominant qtrs with the wind which both netted 8 goals or more

Once the Friars hit their straps and started attacking the ball hard after qtr time there was little Aquinas could do to stop them, one of the best performances i have seen from the club in a couple of years

Ruppppo had a convincing win today out at Soldiers Reserve. They have a few out so it is still June.
On my behalf i must say it was poor form of us organising a rehab at 5:15 at the Hoppers Crossing Pool. The boys did come in after the game very briefly but i do not think it is etiquette in Amateurs to do this. I hope this is a once off as IMO it is very important to support and enjoy clubs company after a game in the Amateurs.

On the games, Werribee two's could quite easily have been 6-8 goals up at half time. It was a credit to how our boys played in the second half, i think Werribee have some very capable 2nds players, so their depth is pretty good.
The senior game was frenetic early in difficult conditions. I thought we outplayed Werribee over the day, however they would rue their missed opportunities in the third quarter.
Yes we probably are favorites after the first half of the season, so we will happily be the hunted. I think we have the talent to sustain our form.

Observation....
True, Roopo have no flags, but here's something to ponder.....
They have no big names, no outside recruits and no ex AFL players coming out of retirement just for the finals series.
Just a very young club playing the game in the truest sense of the ammo comp. Damned good effort really !!

dundee love your passion and loyalty. Ruppo have achieved what other clubs can only dream of in their short history in the VAFA. They have a vibrant U/19 structure which is the lifeblood of their club and will ensure continual development and success.

Had the chance to see the 2nd half of the Werribee and Ruppo game. It turned out to be more of a clinic as Ruppertswood toyed with Werribee. They are a very impressive unit, well drilled well coached and just to good. As has been stated before they did seem very young so I would suggest that there is a lot of upside to their side and that is a scary thought.

We need to apply pressure on the ball carrier and be accountable and it will be a great contest.
Looking forward it:)

Righto West where to from now? You have been beaten by 3 of the top 5 teams and you got smashed today!! Maybe there is more bluster then braun down your way??

Aquinas just too small for the Friars today, tough day for the bloods but they have a great bunch and a really good coach so they will be ok long term!

Big upset at Keysie and means a massive game for the Friars next week against a really in form side!!

D1 starting to separate and you would reckon relegation is betwwen Bloods * 2 and the animals! Rupo red hot for the flag with the Bees next in line, Friars, Roys & Panthers pretty even after that!

NOBS Nowhere

jack,

your kidding yourself, you are the 2nd best team in the comp with plenty of upside, you have beat bees, fitzroy and lost to oms away and we just got over you in rd 1,

like you say, the bees unless they are playing someone outside the four they struggle, lost to friars / rupo at home and oms away ( i know they are now outside the four but before the round started they were in there )

And the funniest comment of the night for the werribee coach to get up after the game to announce " they know were comming ", haha

Terriffic new rooms down there though., great blokes and looking forward to the rematch in a months time - weird draw.

Kingbrown, just a one off i would have thought mate with the rehab, the werribee boys were happy as we brought plenty of travellers to make the happy trip home.

Had the chance to see the 2nd half of the Werribee and Ruppo game. It turned out to be more of a clinic as Ruppertswood toyed with Werribee. They are a very impressive unit, well drilled well coached and just to good. As has been stated before they did seem very young so I would suggest that there is a lot of upside to their side and that is a scary thought.

Legend, you are correct there are several players returning from injury over the next couple of weeks which will make our list stronger, however very hard to push their way back in with the side going the way it is,

Good problem to have,looking forward to the werribee posters giving their version of yesterdays match.

jack,

your kidding yourself, you are the 2nd best team in the comp with plenty of upside, you have beat bees, fitzroy and lost to oms away and we just got over you in rd 1,

like you say, the bees unless they are playing someone outside the four they struggle, lost to friars / rupo at home and oms away ( i know they are now outside the four but before the round started they were in there )

And the funniest comment of the night for the werribee coach to get up after the game to announce " they know were comming ", haha

Terriffic new rooms down there though., great blokes and looking forward to the rematch in a months time - weird draw.

Kingbrown, just a one off i would have thought mate with the rehab, the werribee boys were happy as we brought plenty of travellers to make the happy trip home.
Are you for real SSB? Were you even there? Cause if you were you would have to be a complete blonk to think that Kirk didn't have his tongue just about bursting through his cheek when he said it. Seriously, do you think that after what transpired throughout the day that he would say something like that? I think not you dill.

As for the rehab session i too thought that it was a little poor planning for probably Rupo's closest road trip for the year. Didnt thik to book the pool for 615? Anyway well done to Rupo, maybe now they can start telling everyone how good they are and not how good everyone else is. Still think that the race amongst the top 5 teams is wide open. Having said that they are an awesome side that are very very firm favorites.

I don't think Sideshow was having a crack, because everyone had a good laugh at the speeches. I just thought he might be a Carlton man. Not sure that plenty of beers correlates with rehab. The pool evidently closed at 6p.m.hence the 5:15 booking, I certainly agree the planning could have been better, at least we had 20-30 odd supporters stay for awhile.

IMO Amateurs always comes up with results that bemuse on any given week, generally because most seasons the comps are pretty even. So i'm tipping plenty more upsets, when relegation kicks in and sides lose players through injury anything can happen.

I will say having been a very happy supporter, i believe we have the most talented list in the comp, we are still very fit and i think our speed is our major strength followed by our pressure we exert on the oppositions. This week i feel we are unbeatable but that is today, i am not silly enough to think this can't change.

The games what i seen was played in great spirit. I think both clubs have a healthy future and both love being in the Amateurs in spite of coming from the wrong side of town.

your right KB, i wasn't having a crack, as you said it was quite funny considering they had just been belted by close enough to 11 goals, we knew he wasn't serious, how could he be ?

I have posted before, the tigers are where we were 3-4 years ago, they are heading in the right direction, their game style will have them win more then they lose and will most probley play finals this year which is a terrific effort, heck they may even do the double promotion, good luck to them,

WEST, you are a credit to your club, blokes like you and KB, make footy clubs great places to be,

again looking forward to the rematch in about a months time, where i agree there will be plenty of upsets between now and then.

Well done Ruppo. One of the Best sides I have seen. Fast, relentless and committed right to the end of the game.
We didn't put pressure on the ball carrier (couldn't catch them) and definately we were unaccountable.
On the upside we are 2nd and have room to improve. ALL you other turkeys who want to put the boots in when we lose, just remember this is our first year in D1 and to go in 2nd at the half way mark shows we are not just going to make up the numbers.

Legend, you are correct there are several players returning from injury over the next couple of weeks which will make our list stronger, however very hard to push their way back in with the side going the way it is,

Good problem to have,looking forward to the werribee posters giving their version of yesterdays match.

10 Goal last quarter is pretty impressive. Rupo have the cup in the bag dont they.......

Yes, let's put the pressure on Ruppo, (which is well deserved) as they are definately flag favourites BUT half a season to go and then finals, and as we all know funny things happen in finals.
Let's not forget OM,NOBS,ROYS etc. there not out of it either. So everybody calm down and let's take it 'ONE WEEK AT A TIME";)

It aint over til its over !

Any news from the Prahran v OM game ? Interested to hear how it panned out.

Very disapointed. We felt we were unlucky not to be further up at 3/4 time (9-12 to 9-3 at the final break and they kicked a goal after the siren of 3/4 quarter time) but prahran thouroughly deserved their win.
We certainly didnt underate them, we just didnt take out opportunities in the first 3 quarters. Could have gone into the break 6-3 and equal second. Instead 5-4 and 5th, so massive loss....
controversial/interesting decision payed with a minute left to put prahran up by 3 points, having said that we probably got the better of the decisions throughout the day.

Yes, let's put the pressure on Ruppo, (which is well deserved) as they are definately flag favourites BUT half a season to go and then finals, and as we all know funny things happen in finals.
Let's not forget OM,NOBS,ROYS etc. there not out of it either. So everybody calm down and let's take it 'ONE WEEK AT A TIME";)

looking at the names that NOBSPC had in this week it seems as if they are getting a few back...still missing Barker, maxton and a few others...how did they play on the weekend?

Whilst we sit bottom of the ladder and are not the measuring stick - NOBs impressed me last Sat.

They jumped on us from the word go - took all their chances up forward and made us look completely inept going forward - infact their back 6 was terrific.

We are obviously fighting for survival now at Emmaus but NOBS showed plenty on Sat to suggest they will challenge for a finals berth on the run home.

You can rule out the bottom 3 clubs and you can lock in Rupertswood.

That means we have 6 teams battling for 3 spots (have to include Prahran) which means many crunch games on the back 9.

Lets hope the Animals can atleast interfere with a few of the contending clubs

Cheers

Whilst we sit bottom of the ladder and are not the measuring stick - NOBs impressed me last Sat.

They jumped on us from the word go - took all their chances up forward and made us look completely inept going forward - infact their back 6 was terrific.

We are obviously fighting for survival now at Emmaus but NOBS showed plenty on Sat to suggest they will challenge for a finals berth on the run home.

You can rule out the bottom 3 clubs and you can lock in Rupertswood.

That means we have 6 teams battling for 3 spots (have to include Prahran) which means many crunch games on the back 9.

Lets hope the Animals can atleast interfere with a few of the contending clubs

Cheers

Drifter you are spot on with your observations regarding the 6 teams battling for the finals berth.

Werribee - Clearly and deservedly next best to Ruperstwood, sounds like injuries may affect them at present. Hard running team but perhaps lack some height in their backline.

Friars - On the improve as a team, no real champions just a good even lot that try hard.

Fitzroy - May be the smokey's had a heap of injuries when they played Friars and looked pretty ordinary but have shown they are very capable throughout the year.

OM's - Land of the giants out there! Small ground may count against them as the season wears on, plenty of talent though.

NOBS - Lurking quietly and dangerously, kicked poorly against Friars and lost their best player early in the game. Clearly pretty capable with some good exeprience, maybe a question mark on their pace.

Prahan - Showing very good form with 4 wins from their last 5 games. Were hard at it at Friars and have a genuine star in Dempsey, will know a bit more after Saturday but tipping a very tough game for the Friars.

Saturdays tips:

Friars over Prahan 10 points
NOBS by 55 points over SMD
Werribee by 40 points over Aquinas
Om's 4 points over Roy Boys
Rupo by 77 points over ESL

Drifter hope your boys can do better then my prediction, really surprised that you didn't go better last week. When we played you, your talent was outstanding! Did you have injuries?

sorry to be the bearer of bad news, But the infamous David "barbs" Bardoels season has come to an end, due to his sore knee injury. However he has been weighing up his future and could be quiting the game he loves to start up an triathlon career. just to round things up I heard one of their star players mite be leaving to Ireland to start up a gaelic career.

one of thier star players.

All the best
Baz

Drifter you are spot on with your observations regarding the 6 teams battling for the finals berth.

Werribee - Clearly and deservedly next best to Ruperstwood, sounds like injuries may affect them at present. Hard running team but perhaps lack some height in their backline.

Friars - On the improve as a team, no real champions just a good even lot that try hard.

Fitzroy - May be the smokey's had a heap of injuries when they played Friars and looked pretty ordinary but have shown they are very capable throughout the year.

OM's - Land of the giants out there! Small ground may count against them as the season wears on, plenty of talent though.

NOBS - Lurking quietly and dangerously, kicked poorly against Friars and lost their best player early in the game. Clearly pretty capable with some good exeprience, maybe a question mark on their pace.

Prahan - Showing very good form with 4 wins from their last 5 games. Were hard at it at Friars and have a genuine star in Dempsey, will know a bit more after Saturday but tipping a very tough game for the Friars.

Saturdays tips:

Friars over Prahan 10 points
NOBS by 55 points over SMD
Werribee by 40 points over Aquinas
Om's 4 points over Roy Boys
Rupo by 77 points over ESL

Drifter hope your boys can do better then my prediction, really surprised that you didn't go better last week. When we played you, your talent was outstanding! Did you have injuries?

No no injuries - NOBS just jumped on us and kicked straight - sounds simplistic but thats it!!

What type of player is Dempsey for Prahran???

Tips

ESL in the upset of the season - 1 point
Werribee (decimated by injuries) should get over Aquinas 16 points
Friars just over hard working Prahran 24 points
Fitz V OMs - really hard to tip - OMs shouldnt have lost last week - Roys by 2 goals
Nobs to defeat SMD - on last weeks form - 30 points

Cheers

Every team can mark down a loss on the back 9 if they have to veture out to "Friar Park". As Aquinus found out, a 3 goal lead at quarter time wasn't enough to save them from a 100 point defeat.

In the words of our very own MR T (kaldor) "I pity the fool!"

Am looking forward to the big trip away tomorrow at Aquinas. Last night was one of the best training nights we've had for a while. Really looking forward to see how it translates to the game. This is a game we must win if we are to play finals. Good luck to our boys.

Just get one of your thugs to KO number 20 (long blond locks) and the games is yours.