D1 2009

Be careful what you say about Bloods22 Gary, he might write up an email to the VAFA. Wouldn't be the first time either.

Baldi, i do apologise i thought you were talking about seniors, unlike some i can admit when i am wrong. However i do not remember any king hits in that game, i was playing in that game too... i remember a good hard battle, in fact both that game and the grand final were tight tough affairs?!?!

Be careful what you say about Bloods22 Gary, he might write up an email to the VAFA. Wouldn't be the first time either.

Pretty sure anyone can get a clarification on rules smudger??

Anyone from NOBS care to speak about Barker signing up? playing this week?

Hmm....I see what you mean Eddie. I guess at least you'll get consistency with Nick Fennessy the only whistleblower at Friar Park tomorrow.

We've got RDFL covering almost all umpiring bases including 1 field, both goals and both boundary at BSO. :eek:
Consistency aint always great, but I'm just glad its not one of the umpires from last week :p

A full compliment almost of RDFL out at BSO, thats rare, usually only see that at Rupo with them providing half the umpires for the odd game closer to Melbourne

Have to say after todays results it's going to be a pretty big ask for SMD or Aquinas to catch ESL/Prahran and avoid relegation.

Obviously SMD gave a pretty good account of themselves against Rupo, but the Roys weren't particularly brilliant in kncoking off a decimated Aquinas (word has it 32 senior listed players unavailable for various reasons). We should get 3 or 4 back for next week, which will be critical as the Friars are well and truly on fire at the moment.

As for the Bloods, they played the game in great spirit, but with their U19s and reserves also struggling to get a full compliment on the park, the boys from East Ringwood will need to dig deep in the coming weeks.

Still, this is the VAFA and we all know there's more twists and turns to come in the final 7 weeks. You'd have to think the battle for 4th is reduced to 3 sides (Fitzroy, OMs and NOBSPC), with the top 3 jostling for position until finals roll around.

Was a good performance today by the Friars, tight in the first half with most scoring down the far end but come the 2nd half the Friars were able to break away a little and the rain made it difficult for any comeback

Must also for the first time this season say well done to the men in white, luckily in tough conditions they found a 2nd umpire and they both did a good job

Most would have thought ruppppo's trek out to Lindsay Hasset oval was a mere formality. A side that is riddled with injury with form pretty ordinary, With scores level at half time most felt Ruppo might break the shackles, and to a degree we did, but as i had my first stubby on the first floof of the heavily secured SMD clubrooms i realised this is a club with fantastic success with premierships aplenty over the last 5 years. Were we good today? i reckon we were. A win is a win is a win. Today was testament to the Amateurs with a side fighting for relegation taking it up big time to us as the ladder leaders. Good luck to SMD for the rest of the year, might surprise a few.

Hate to bring up points from last weeks main topic. But the Werribee reserves side are a disgrace. Someone at Werribee needs to pull the team and in particular certain players and tell them to have a look at themselves, and also to sit down and watch closely how their ones side goes about their business - quite professionally. very professionally in comparison to their reserves side.

Agreed. Werribee ones are as fair as any team, but their reserves looked to be anything but. Fair few snipers going around in their 2's.

Most would have thought ruppppo's trek out to Lindsay Hasset oval was a mere formality. A side that is riddled with injury with form pretty ordinary, With scores level at half time most felt Ruppo might break the shackles, and to a degree we did, but as i had my first stubby on the first floof of the heavily secured SMD clubrooms i realised this is a club with fantastic success with premierships aplenty over the last 5 years. Were we good today? i reckon we were. A win is a win is a win. Today was testament to the Amateurs with a side fighting for relegation taking it up big time to us as the ladder leaders. Good luck to SMD for the rest of the year, might surprise a few.

Glad you enjoyed your day at South KB. I must say that our guys put in a much better performance than the rubbish they dished up at North the previous week. Rupo are a very well drilled and classy outfit with plenty of speed and when the foot went down our boys saw the back of quite a few blue and yellow jumpers. Well done to both sides on what was a very entertaining game.
In other SMD news, on Saturday night Choco Hannan took the cash in South's innaugural Wii Wimbledon Championship downing a gutted Gary Simm in 5 sets. Federer watch out!

agree with above, their senior side terrific, hard running ball players, twos terribee thugs
ive noticed in the record that werribees list has definately had a few changes. the 2's are not the side they use to be. Their 1's played a great game on the weekend, a very hard working team.
To any one from NOBs, how is your player going who was taken off via ambulance?

I'm not from the inner sanctum at Soldiers, but I did watch the weekends' games and notice a marked change in the line-up in the early fixture from the last time I saw them a month ago.

Quite a few lads who've been playing Club XVIII have been brought in, which isn't unusual in a long VAFA season, but I don't think they are necessarily 'thuggish' or whatever one may wish to call it.

The club's going in the right direction with the seniors still on track for a solid top 4 finish. Hopefully the 2s can find their early season form and turn things around with the right brand of footy.

Thought NOBSPC were very good in both games, and I would be surprised if they weren't figuring in the finish come late August.

Cheers

Grum

I'm not from the inner sanctum at Soldiers, but I did watch the weekends' games and notice a marked change in the line-up in the early fixture from the last time I saw them a month ago.

Quite a few lads who've been playing Club XVIII have been brought in, which isn't unusual in a long VAFA season, but I don't think they are necessarily 'thuggish' or whatever one may wish to call it.

The club's going in the right direction with the seniors still on track for a solid top 4 finish. Hopefully the 2s can find their early season form and turn things around with the right brand of footy.

Thought NOBSPC were very good in both games, and I would be surprised if they weren't figuring in the finish come late August.

Cheers

Grum
maybe you can answer this grum,
will cam lee stay on next year or will he follow the money like trent lee has?

maybe you can answer this grum,
will cam lee stay on next year or will he follow the money like trent lee has?

"Fair shake of the sauce bottle mate". :D

Anyone approached by a VFL side to test themselves at that level whilst still under 23 would be silly not to take up the opportunity. I'd be more concerned if they walked to WRFL Div 2 sides for coin. Clearly this isn't happening.

Agree - enough of the Werribee haters.

Their ones have done a tremendous job sitting 2nd after winning the D2 flag last year and losing a gun to the VFL which is what many of the top Ammos clubs do.

They also sit 2nd with a pretty decent list of injured players including Addamo from the state game which is rough luck.

The Werribee 2's are an interesting case though - did the creation of the Club 18's split the playing ranks alot??? They dominated D2 in 2007 and 2008 (did they lose a game) - any insider have any thoughts on the drop off other than the rise in grade??

Finally its a small concession to move off the bottom but the relegation battle is on in earnest and sadly we are still right in the middle. Need a few wins soon because SMD and Aquinas are well overdue to grab some 4 points

How much do Willi Reserves pay?

Muppet.
this was just a comment tt, so there is no need going around calling people muppets. cam lee would be silly not to play for cash considering his skills. must enjoy playing with mates rather than for coin, but it was still something i was interested to know.
for someone who doesnt live in werribee or even play footy your quick to shoot your mouth off on this or any other subject regarding werribee.
also, im not here bad mouthing the club the players should be proud of where they are sitting in d1 especially when they are the most hated club on here.

The Werribee 2's are an interesting case though - did the creation of the Club 18's split the playing ranks alot??? They dominated D2 in 2007 and 2008 (did they lose a game) - any insider have any thoughts on the drop off other than the rise in grade??

Werribee 2's were beaten by SMD in 2007 due to a magnificent coaching performance:D

Agree - enough of the Werribee haters.

Their ones have done a tremendous job sitting 2nd after winning the D2 flag last year and losing a gun to the VFL which is what many of the top Ammos clubs do.

They also sit 2nd with a pretty decent list of injured players including Addamo from the state game which is rough luck.

Finally its a small concession to move off the bottom but the relegation battle is on in earnest and sadly we are still right in the middle. Need a few wins soon because SMD and Aquinas are well overdue to grab some 4 points

Good win by you blokes on the weekend Drifter.

Hopefully you blokes keep pulling the odd 4 points here and there and stay out of the drop zone.

There is no money in Div 2. But there would be some Div 1 sides that would love most of Werribee's players.

Rupppo have 3 at Werribee: Baddeley, Quigley and Short and i'm with Scribe these blokes are trying to better themselves. Still see the boys down the club and we would love them playing for us. Matty Little (Williamstown) we still see regular along with Jessie Smith (Wangaratta). Jessie earns good coin and this is hard to begrudge since he played a couple of AFL games, Matty is a gun in the VFL competition. We still have young players who have the ability to play at VFL level and wouldn't begrudge them having a crack at the higher levels. Jarrod Silvester played his whole junior career at Rupppppo so it is great to see him at 24 make his debut at Richmond.

We still do lose players and this is generally unfortunate, however this is the reality of it and you have to move forward.

agree with above, their senior side terrific, hard running ball players, twos terribee thugs
Assuming you are from Rupo you Miss Finland, i would have thought that the 2's game played at soldiers was a cracker. As for being a disgrace, i think that some of you buttercups might need a couple of jars of Cement. Granted that there was a smallish melee on sat i can guarantee you we never use these tactics in any pregame tactics. In fact anyone who knows me and my coaching style will tell you that i dont find belting blokes tough. So while we might attack the footy and hit hard by no means are we thugs. If any of our highly esteemed opponents have a problem with our players feel free to talk to me after the game rather than jumping on the computer where you can hide.

As for the lack of success, well we've gone up a grade lost a few and obviously have some injuries but we are happy that the ones a going well. As we all know you dont get promoted winning two's flags.

assuming you are from rupo you miss finland, i would have thought that the 2's game played at soldiers was a cracker. As for being a disgrace, i think that some of you buttercups might need a couple of jars of cement. Granted that there was a smallish melee on sat i can guarantee you we never use these tactics in any pregame tactics. In fact anyone who knows me and my coaching style will tell you that i dont find belting blokes tough. So while we might attack the footy and hit hard by no means are we thugs. If any of our highly esteemed opponents have a problem with our players feel free to talk to me after the game rather than jumping on the computer where you can hide.

As for the lack of success, well we've gone up a grade lost a few and obviously have some injuries but we are happy that the ones a going well. As we all know you dont get promoted winning two's flags.

can verify this game could not have been played in better spirit imo.

Just notice the fella who struck the Aquinas reserves coach 2 weeks ago copped 6 weeks last night, which basically rules him out until rd 18. Hopefully we can all put this behind us now.

Still, judging from the Investigation results, I think we should all be thankful we don't have Old Essendon in our grade! :rolleyes: