D1 - 2010

Too right Will I Am

Tips:
Monash V Bullen - Massive game and with Uni exams/holidays im going to go with Bullen in an upset
South V Williamstown - Williamstown to win comfortably
Werribee v Aquinas - Thinking this will be the biggest winning margin of the season
Peninsula V NOBS - Peninsula are pretty tough at their home ground and wont help NOBS running game
Whitefriars V Old Ment - Old Mentonians are on a bit of a roll and will win again in a hard fought out contest

Too right Will I Am

Tips:
Monash V Bullen - Massive game and with Uni exams/holidays im going to go with Bullen in an upset
Werribee v Aquinas - Thinking this will be the biggest winning margin of the season
Peninsula V NOBS - Peninsula are pretty tough at their home ground and wont help NOBS running game
Whitefriars V Old Ment - Old Mentonians are on a bit of a roll and will win again in a hard fought out contest

its being played at sportscover if that changes your tips.....

Too right Will I Am

Tips:

Monash 33points - second best team
Willy - 79points dont need a reason
Werribee - 123 points, save your petrol, the environment and yourselves Aquinas, just stay at home.
NOBs - 22 Points Nobs are extremely competitve
Old Mentonians - Will flog Friar tucks.

Well its good footy weather, wonder if we'll see a few boilovers?? Probably not.....

Monash too solid at the Frearson to avenge last years 2 dismal showings vs BT
Willy but not by very much, they are only just travellling
Werribee to paste Aquinas, long trip for nuthin'
Peninsula to solidify their finals spot over the NOBs
Friars to win at home (no other reason!!)

Werribee - 123 points, save your petrol, the environment and yourselves Aquinas, just stay at home.

Monash to beat Bulleen by 10 points- These sides will finish 2 and 3 - Played anywhere but Monash id be tipping Bulleen Temp.

Williamstown to beat SMD - Vanderloo to have a field day as SMD continue to be deplorable.

Werribee to belt Aquinas - If only Fitzroy were D1 to make this grade more intersting. 130 points.

NOBS to beat Peninsula - Big month ahead for NOBS and must win 2 at least of Peninsula/Monash/BT - NOBS will like the space at Elsternwick and will run all day. By 12 points. ATM i dont think Peninsula will make the 4 with the their road home, will be confirmed tomorrow.

Whitefriars to beat Mentone by 24 points. Simply because Old Mentone are nooo good. Particulary away from their park.

Anyone else noticed that Emmeus St Leos and Prahran are stuggling in D2 - does this suggest half of D2 should be in D1???

Trevor's Tips

Monash V Bulleen - Important game - hope we rise to the occasion
SMD V Willy - Williamstown to win comfortably
Werribee v Aquinas - ditto
Peninsula V NOBS - NOBS on the big park - very interested in this one though
Whitefriars V Old Mentone - OMs just a little too good but won't shock me if Friars put in another big home ground effort and sneak home

You sound as confident about this week as you did before your finals campaign last year,you loser.

Don't mean to sound rude hear but you guys sounded pretty confident going into this year........I do believe it was something along the lines of "Aquinas will play finals this year." - I may be wrong.

maybe the bees went in a little to confident last year, i can understand that they would have been confident to make the GF, however they were never going to win, rupertswood were without any doubt by far the best side in D1 last year from RD1 - GF day,

The bees are well on track to do what Rupo could not last year, win every game, it is a long year but ticking all the boxes at the half way mark,

Agree with Panda, Aquinas just have not yet lived up to preseason hype and they are running out of chances.

They may infact hit their staps this week, wouldn't that liven up this board next week.

Do aquinas know what the word finals mean anymore.

Bit rich to throw the loser tag. Especially since you guys have made such a good habit of it.

and for what its worth here's my top 10:

1. Florence (BT) - gun
2. Snow (OM) - had him as my league BnF, cant be too far off
3. Lee (WER) - very good against us so he lived up to the hype.
4. Rees (PEN) - classy, quick strong on baller
5. The redhead from Monash, dunno his name but so fast over 5m out of a pack, skillful
6. Taylor (WER) - leading goal kicker, so cant be too bad!
7. Vanderloo (WIL) - kicked multiple goals in every game
8. Niezen - without losing credibility this is based purely on being in the best 8 times in 8 games.
9. Gray (WIL) - onballer who loves to sneak forward and kick a few.
10. Fairbanks (OM) - dominated us first round then got injured, powerful.

Apologies to Whitfriars and NOBS, i really dont know enough about your list. Probs biased to have 2 Willy players (same as WER) but ohwell

Most disappointing - Cultera and Krakouer

perhaps i should have had him higher up, the big beef vanderloo goes bang and kicks 12!!!!

Trevor's Half Way Review

My predictions were ok:
1 werribee(predicted 36) correct - only OMs gave them a real fright
2 peninsula(32) actual = 24 - lost to Aquinas and 'sold' a home game to get pumped by NOBS which they may rue big time at the end
3 monash(24) correct
4 bull/temp(24) actual = 16 - over rated them slightly but when all players on deck they can test anyone
5 NOBs(20) correct
6 Friars(16) actual = 12 but lost by 3 points today!
7 Old Ment(12) actual = 20 - underrated these boys slightly - they can challenge
8 Willmstwn( 12) actual = 16 - a handy unit when all on deck
9 Aquinas(4) what happened today?! gone
10 SMD(0) knocked off Aquinas

My final ladder

1 werribee - gutsy prediction!
2 monash - I'm biased but huge depth will help. I still say throw a blanket over 2nd - 6th
3 NOBs - good depth and on their day they look very good
4 OMs - could end up 2nd or 7th but solid unit
5 bulleen temp - have some real goal kicking power and if they fire regularly will make it higher
6 peninsula - I'm joining the others who think 2nd half of year looks a lot harder and today's scores don't help me. % is going to count in the end.
7 willy - would reasonably think they can still make it, but will be tough
8 friars - those 2 close home losses are really going to hurt
9 aquinas - watch out for SMD on today's scores!
10 SMD - back to D2

Great Post Trevor

Some interesting game this weekend. If Old Mentonians beat Peninsula this Sat, they will be out of the four. And NOBS have a chance to cement their spot in the four and make it very difficult for Bullen to play finals

Good points TIU - I'd be backing both those to happen at home. Also think Willy will be having a huge crack at Werribee at home. Good form last week and just about season on the line. Werribee subconcious might be slowly starting to lose interest and think about finals... will be fascinating to see if they can get closer this time.

Dont know about the last point, but the last time Willy played Werribee at home, I think there was only a few points in it.

I know its been a while and sides and stuff are different, but Willy have always been good at home.

Dont know about the last point, but the last time Willy played Werribee at home, I think there was only a few points in it.

I know its been a while and sides and stuff are different, but Willy have always been good at home.

Do believe it was a solitary one........

That won't matter though, Werribee will win easily.

Trevor's Half Way Review

My predictions were ok:
1 werribee(predicted 36) correct - only OMs gave them a real fright
2 peninsula(32) actual = 24 - lost to Aquinas and 'sold' a home game to get pumped by NOBS which they may rue big time at the end
3 monash(24) correct
4 bull/temp(24) actual = 16 - over rated them slightly but when all players on deck they can test anyone
5 NOBs(20) correct
6 Friars(16) actual = 12 but lost by 3 points today!
7 Old Ment(12) actual = 20 - underrated these boys slightly - they can challenge
8 Willmstwn( 12) actual = 16 - a handy unit when all on deck
9 Aquinas(4) what happened today?! gone
10 SMD(0) knocked off Aquinas

My final ladder

1 werribee - gutsy prediction!
2 monash - I'm biased but huge depth will help. I still say throw a blanket over 2nd - 6th
3 NOBs - good depth and on their day they look very good
4 OMs - could end up 2nd or 7th but solid unit
5 bulleen temp - have some real goal kicking power and if they fire regularly will make it higher
6 peninsula - I'm joining the others who think 2nd half of year looks a lot harder and today's scores don't help me. % is going to count in the end.
7 willy - would reasonably think they can still make it, but will be tough
8 friars - those 2 close home losses are really going to hurt
9 aquinas - watch out for SMD on today's scores!
10 SMD - back to D2

Trev reckon that you've got it pretty right but would have Willy 5th, Peninsula 6th and BT or Friars 7th.

Word just through Aquinas sacked their senior coach last week - Bloods have lowered the boom at Ringwood!! Seems to be a big move by the club. Are they letting the players off the hook by taking this action?? Has the coach been the victim of poor prior years performances??

Interested to hear from Bloods supporters?

Word just through Aquinas sacked their senior coach last week - Bloods have lowered the boom at Ringwood!! Seems to be a big move by the club. Are they letting the players off the hook by taking this action?? Has the coach been the victim of poor prior years performances??

Interested to hear from Bloods supporters?

supposedly he was told that they were getting rid of him before the weekends game and the coach asked if he could coach against the bees so he could atleast finish up at the half way mark.

seems like the easy way out that aquinas have blamed the coach and not the players too. its not just the coach out there on game day, all should be accountable for their disappointing performances.

good luck to their coach in future.

Trev reckon that you've got it pretty right but would have Willy 5th, Peninsula 6th and BT or Friars 7th.

thanbks jack, but we'll have to have everything go right to end up 5th (hopefully 4th tho)!

I think its safe to say that friars are out of contention but would expect them to figure in who makes the final 4 as they'll upset a few in the last 9.

BT really seem to be up and down, so i dont have any idea where they'll end up. Are they quite a young side? is that the main factor in their inconsistency or have they had a bad run with players coming in and out through injury each week?

very young, with not a great deal of depth.

thanbks jack, but we'll have to have everything go right to end up 5th (hopefully 4th tho)!

I think its safe to say that friars are out of contention but would expect them to figure in who makes the final 4 as they'll upset a few in the last 9.

Will it's been a funny year down at Friar land this year and I know they are very disappointed as a group after making progress last year. Couple of real thrashings at the hands of the 2 W's, poor 2nd halfs against BT & NOBS, 2 * 3 point losses against Peninsula & OM and their 3 wins.

Anyway hopefully as a team they can get some consistency in the 2nd half and win more then they loses! Young guys coming through are starting to show some solid develoment so future looks ok, maybe this year is a learning year.

This weeks derby at Aquinas should be a beauty with the Bloods players having to step up to justify their committee's decision.

Anyway looking forward to our lunch against you blokes should be a beauty out at Friar Park Saturday week.

Reports back from the Willy game was that you were super impressive so that was the basis of my picks having seen BT & Peninsula.