D1 - 2010

SO following the action on some other threads here's my predictions for 2010, based on what I saw last year, and what I know of this year coming! Looking forward to some strong commentary especially about teams comin up or going down.

PRESEASON FORM

1. Werribee - Deserve to be pre season favourites based on their performance last year. Obviously crueled with injury towards the end of last season but with plenty of potency around the ball and a talented forward line will be tough to toss!

2. Friars - My team and an extremely disappointing finish last year felt by all through the club!! Like Werribee lots of injury and went into finals against the Roys under manned and got spanked big time! Been in A grade and want to get back thereabouts so with not many losses and a couple of very good EFL recruits they will challenge hard - But I may just be biased??

3.NOBS - Not picking them with any certainty as their list seemed old last year Harwood, Sleep, Barker etc but they play with some purpose and perhaps with the St Pats connection kicking in they will focus.

4.BT - Just remember them being good competitors but believe they have lost some inportant players in Bain and Voglis, not the less TED will be hard to win at so they should be OK.

5.Aquinas - IMO will be the big improvers of the grade, plenty of run a star forward and a lot of attitude. Think their bodies will be too smal in the end but believe they will seriously challenge!!

6.Monash - Remember them from a couple of years ago but they look like they have lost some really good players which will hurt them. Always a mystery though the Blues so could finish anywhere, good luck to the returning coach.

7.Willy - Just a guess but their efforts in the GF suggest they are a feisty crew who play with passion, loved the entry in the almanac! Seem to be placed with spirit which is good.

8. SMD - Play with passion but lack resource will be the shinboners of the grade and hang in there. Can't see them being a threat though on 10!

9. Peninsula - Don't know anything except the reflections on their dismal end to the year last year, apologies if I've got this horribly wrong and in any case we get to find out rd 1!!

10. OM - My most disappointing team from last year seem to be playing with little or no comitment would need the proverbial bag of cement to harden the F$%& up! D2 beckons softies!

Interesting post Jack, I dips me lid to punters prepared to stick their neck out in mid Jan and predict how the season will unfold. This time last year SMD were tipped from flag favorite to wooden spoon and at this time of the year with no new rego forms signed and no shots fired in anger it's always based on a gut feel.

Also interesting that you reflect on The Friars past experience in A section, BT and NOBS are two more clubs to have played at that elite level in my lifetime however with all due respect to their current lists I'm sure they would admit that a return to the upper echelons of the VAFA is still a fair way off. At D1 level though? I'd expect more wins than losses.

Om's for the spoon? Surely you jest, in a year where travel comes with a capital T, Mentone will dominate at Keysborough winning the required 5-6 games to stay in the grade at the very least.

Willi are a smoky, played them in 2007 in D2 where their season was wrecked by injury and rated them very highly. They have improved since and IMO will cause massive headaches for opposition sides.

Any praccy matches planned? We have East Brighton, Sunshine Heights and Monash Blues. I know Werribee have Ajax, who else is sorted?

Interesting post Jack, I dips me lid to punters prepared to stick their neck out in mid Jan and predict how the season will unfold. This time last year SMD were tipped from flag favorite to wooden spoon and at this time of the year with no new rego forms signed and no shots fired in anger it's always based on a gut feel.

Also interesting that you reflect on The Friars past experience in A section, BT and NOBS are two more clubs to have played at that elite level in my lifetime however with all due respect to their current lists I'm sure they would admit that a return to the upper echelons of the VAFA is still a fair way off. At D1 level though? I'd expect more wins than losses.

Om's for the spoon? Surely you jest, in a year where travel comes with a capital T, Mentone will dominate at Keysborough winning the required 5-6 games to stay in the grade at the very least.

Willi are a smoky, played them in 2007 in D2 where their season was wrecked by injury and rated them very highly. They have improved since and IMO will cause massive headaches for opposition sides.

Any praccy matches planned? We have East Brighton, Sunshine Heights and Monash Blues. I know Werribee have Ajax, who else is sorted?

Congrats on the birth of the new baby Harps.

Thanks Keals, you'll be glad to know he's above average in height, has hands like buckets, is starting to beat up his 18 month old brother already and bears a striking resembelance to Gary Ablett Snr.

Word is North Melbourne have put away the number 18 'till 2028

That's if the golf career doesn't take off.

Get to training you bum!

Like nobs.......

Geez, must have taking you a few days to think of that mate.

NOB's did a princess park time trial last night with about 35 there and a few of the boys ran below 11.30 and fair chunk looking very fit. Obviously like most clubs the closer it gets to the season starting, the more numbers that will turn up.

Geez, must have taking you a few days to think of that mate.

NOB's did a princess park time trial last night with about 35 there and a few of the boys ran below 11.30 and fair chunk looking very fit. Obviously like most clubs the closer it gets to the season starting, the more numbers that will turn up.

Did the new coach bring anyone with him? Nobs will need some recruits to be anywhere near it!

New coach doing very well and a much needed breath of fresh air.

Will be very competitive this year.

Rocky (aka mate of Killers)

Enough of the charade, not sure what you're trying to achieve.

NOBSPC unable to lure old St Joes boys Harding, Costello x2 and Rees from Therry, but may have secured the services of P.Dunn.

good to see Aquinas testing themselves playing all D2 sides.

Dont worry about us mate, just worry about ur own backyard and playing us come the 19th of June!!!

Plenty of new faces down at the club from 2009 and also a lot of our young kids getting better makes for an exciting time in 2010!!

Although everyone is confident in February!!

Just noticed a few transfers from Whitefriars to the EFL??? Oviously being surrounded by EFL clubs like Aquinas this can occur quite often, especially when $$$$ is flashed around. Just wondering if these guys are ones players or could be under 19s players going back to their EFL clubs after enjoying another yr of under age footy??

My source down at the friars suggested they have only lost one senior player to an EFL side. The rest were all club 18 players.
More on the flip side with them gaining a few big names from an EFL side who should play seniors.

I know i'll get hit for this..... but after training last night NOBSPC and Werribee will play C grade in 2011.

Lakeman -
Very big call to say you have Dwayne Kelly covered given you've lost another 4 to Chirnside Park and 1 to Doncaster East? I see there's 4 from Blackburn coming over and 1 from Vermont (Sweetland) - not household names any of them. Did they play much senior footy at these 2 clubs?

BTW: always good to gain fellas who have been exposed to the highest metro levels.

Whitefriars welcomes back the mighty Aaron Kenez for season 2010!

He has been tragicly struck down by injury since 2004 and hasn't played at 100% since he was a 17 year old in A grade. After 4 seasons off as assistance coach of the 2s he is back and starting to make an impact on the track.

Hopefully he can recapture the form that saw him boot 75% of the teams total goals in a game against Marcellin in A grade.

Hopefully he can recapture the form that saw him boot 75% of the teams total goals in a game against Marcellin in A grade.[/QUOTE]

Was that the day you kicked 2 goals 7 in the mud?

Fair effort that!

Whitefriars welcomes back the mighty Aaron Kenez for season 2010!

He has been tragicly struck down by injury since 2004 and hasn't played at 100% since he was a 17 year old in A grade. After 4 seasons off as assistance coach of the 2s he is back and starting to make an impact on the track.

Hopefully he can recapture the form that saw him boot 75% of the teams total goals in a game against Marcellin in A grade.

Hasn't played for 6 years...and hasn't played without injury since he was 17 (assume it's before 2004?)....pin your hopes on him!!!