• South Melbourne

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yarra Valley

Votes: 0 0.0%

Just got back from a visit to Royal Melbourne Hospital where the Reds reigning dual B&F winner Chris Meighen is awaiting surgery on multiple fractures to his nose, left orbital and cheekbone.

Followed an accidental head clash in last night's intra-club match.

Doubtful he will play before June. :(

Just got back from a visit to Royal Melbourne Hospital where the Reds reigning dual B&F winner Chris Meighen is awaiting surgery on multiple fractures to his nose, left orbital and cheekbone.

Followed an accidental head clash in last night's intra-club match.

Doubtful he will play before June. :(
Not good at all.
I wasn't too far away from where it happened and his nose didn't look too good, didn't think he did his check bone as well. Huge loss.

look out for the dark horse nobs this year. Good recruiting, lots of young talent and too many KPP's to have positions for. Playing a practice match against Parade (D2) tomorrow, so will see how that goes..

I reckon all practice matches in the VAFA (irrespective of what section it's in) should start no later than 6:00pm to avoid hot weather like tomorrow. A 6:00pm start (providing the quarters are 4x15min duration) would make it much easier for the players & supporters, rather than watch your team run around in 30+ degrees temperatures, and also to take advantage of daylight saving as well. If the ground that the practice match is played on has lights as well, then use them for the 2nd half of the game.

I for one am looking forward to running around on Monday night in 36˚.

It'll do one thing for you, blow out whatever crap is in your system.

This statement makes no sense whatsoever Jase.

Having a 6:00pm start time makes it a lot easier for everyone-players, officials, spectators. If you want to see your players struggle in the heat in 35-40 degrees temps, the you've got a problem. It'll be better to play in much cooler conditions (around 5:30-6pm) rather than in a heatwave. And also it'll make it easier for those who have cricket commitments to come down & watch the practice game, rather than miss out on it altogether.

1. So we've got the Under 19s playing from 6:00-7:30, the ressies playing from 7:45 to 9:15 and the seniors playing 9:30 to 11:00? And that makes the spectators more comfortable? I'm guessing you're not on the committee at the Rovers with some of these "I reckon it'd be good" hare-brained schemes that you come up with, Jascave.

2. Don't know if you've ever played footy, but 35+ degree practice matches are not uncommon. If the other 35 players on the ground can cop the elements, I'm going to cop them, too.

3. Do you work for the Bureau of Meterology? I wasn't aware that it dropped from "unbearable weather" to "bearable weather" between 5 and 6pm.

4. Who gives a rats a*se about cricket players wanting to watch the game? If they're willing and able, they will. If they're not, they won't. Who cares? And if I'm a cricket player, I wouldn't give a rats a*se about my mate's footy club until Round 1, if at all. I'm not really interested in making conditions more comfortable for any spectators, to be honest. If you're uncomfortable, stay home. It's a practice match, for God's sake.

You have stated that games should start no later than 6pm, wouldnt 730 under lights be even better??

fitzroy reds assistant coach - paul harris of ivanhoe fame is on the books with watsonia in div 2 nfl
whats the go there
has his speed found him out in the ammos
has a desire for cash got him across the line
did he fail to make the transistion from player to coach

also prahran afc
i heard last year that matt lucas ex st kevins was going to play for the blues
did that eventuate and if not where has he ended up

sth melb dist
i wonder how killers ravings will go down with some of the " colorful" types at smd ?

fitzroy reds assistant coach - paul harris of ivanhoe fame is on the books with watsonia in div 2 nfl
whats the go there
His mate is the coach

has his speed found him out in the ammos
There are plenty of good runners in the Ammos who wouldn't go near half the contests that Harro would. Speed and endurance mean nothing if you can't get the ball.

has a desire for cash got him across the line
I wouldn't expect that Watsy are exactly paying the sort of coin that would pay off a mortgage.

did he fail to make the transistion from player to coach
Last year he was both.

There were many things that did not eventuate the way I'm sure he would have expected, or liked in 2007. Having the Senior Coach moved on during the season would have been just one of many factors that would have prompted him to leave the Reds. Despite all that was going on though, he was still at every training session and didn't miss a beat. Harro's a good fella, has a really good work ethic and i hope he goes well at Watsonia.

You forgot to mention that he's the sort of bloke who would think twice about skipping a practice match for quality time with his missus.

Gotta admire that in a bloke don't you Mappa?

PS - hope the airconditioning in the renovated house blows up tonight whilst we're sweating it out against Ormond.

You forgot to mention that he's the sort of bloke who would think twice about skipping a practice match for quality time with his missus.

PS - hope the airconditioning in the renovated house blows up tonight whilst we're sweating it out against Ormond.

I think he may be spending most of his weekend tending to a certain South suburban website which is time well spent in my opinion Mappa, even if the wife and your footy coach don't agree. Keep up the top work mate:thumbsu:

Surely we are not back harrassing me again....... for the record, i did my sweating with the OPTIONAL group on Saturday morning my man ! And sweat we did

I think he may be spending most of his weekend tending to a certain South suburban website which is time well spent in my opinion Mappa, even if the wife and your footy coach don't agree. Keep up the top work mate:thumbsu:

Do the South lads need an age-ing centreman-cum-FF to bolster their playing stocks?

It could be arranged........

sth melb dist
i wonder how killers ravings will go down with some of the " colorful" types at smd ?[/quote]

killer is going gret guns at the moment. fitting in nicely. Bit hard at the moment as the shit GP takes away our ground then fu*ks it for 2 months but we are getting good numbers to training. Should be another good year for SMD.

sth melb dist
i wonder how killers ravings will go down with some of the " colorful" types at smd ?

killer is going gret guns at the moment. fitting in nicely. Bit hard at the moment as the shit GP takes away our ground then fu*ks it for 2 months but we are getting good numbers to training. Should be another good year for SMD.[/quote]

killer is going gret guns at the moment. fitting in nicely. Bit hard at the moment as the shit GP takes away our ground then fu*ks it for 2 months but we are getting good numbers to training. Should be another good year for SMD.
[/quote]

Good post Briza!!:confused:
12.37am - you should be asleep.