• South Melbourne

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Yarra Valley

Votes: 0 0.0%

nah mate, very good mates with a bloke from BT u/19's. he played against some of them in u/19s then against them in senoirs.....
also played cricket against biggs....hes just a tagger tho

bloody good tagger though.. will be missed by the OM's boys. One of very few who could actually hold his head up after the Hampton final.

Before I engage in what is now a very lively D1 thread i must apologise to certain collingwood individuals who may not be as challenged as alledged by ME previously. To Josh and Nick I'm sorry about the dispersions on your mental health. I'm looking forward to you getting put to sleep early in the real season. GAGF'd

I should of known that Collingwood supporters would be first to squeel to the mods.

Anyway, moving on, D1 Ammos,

wrong,matthews was waiting for ormond.and then he got shafted.
killer was appointed by south but if matthews hadn't been so loyal he would have got the job.
no offence to south

That's almost correct bedford, gease, I'd love to know where you get your mail but it's not quite right. Mathews was interviewed while still under Ormond contract (while Ormond were shopping around, mind you) but the selection committee were leaning toward Killer after the interviews.

I know for a fact that he cares, particulary about the one in the same grade that he missed to be overlooked for a relegated coach.

Killer may be a relegated coach but his CV reads more premierships than Dave's, and at South, we're into flags, so excuse us for choosing a bloke who knows how to win. Listen, Dave was very close to getting the job, very close, the selection committee ummed and arred for days and in the end both SMD and BT got the coach they wanted, bragging rights will come in September and I can't wait!

How about old mentonians, from a very good source i hear that 4 - 5 players will be over seas till july of there starting finals team (one of these players was named in scribes team of year) the other player named in the team of year is having a operation on his knee. and with out snow because of VFL commitments.

Snow's a big loss, but the 4-5 going overseas is pretty much standard for a VAFA side. If you keep more than 15 of your best 22 between seasons, you've done well.

Their reserves finished 2nd - suggesting good depth, and their U19s went OK in Div 3 last year.

Throw in their ground access over summer (huge asset), and the fact they were 60 seconds away from promotion to C grade - I'll still have them starting warm favorites for the 2008 flag.[/quote]

Have to agree with Frase here, Old Mentone are the club to beat in D1, looking forward to renewing hostilities with Ben, we owe him from our D3 days (when he was at St Jons) and he will know about it!

I'm yet to see about 10 of our regular reserve lads too - a few are away, or going overseas, whilst some just take a while to get into the swing of pre-season.

Oh well, at least I know why.....:D It's going to be easy for me to advise those in the last category why they can start the season in the 3rds after the graduating U19s and/or new recruits who've worked solid for 3 months have proven their worth and pinched their spots. If asked why, the answer is simple - you didn't work hard enough and there's fitter and more committed blokes in the side.

I'm tipping Harps would have a similar tale from SMD (might have to wait for his red card to expire before he can enlighten us though) :p

Right now our fringe 1 slash 2's players are the life of the party on the track, with a couple of retirements from our Premiership team these blokes are doing all they can to become consistant starters. While our numbers are down the first 18 are still hungry. Look out D1, SMD will provide plenty.

How about old mentonians, from a very good source i hear that 4 - 5 players will be over seas till july of there starting finals team (one of these players was named in scribes team of year) the other player named in the team of year is having a operation on his knee. and with out snow because of VFL commitments.

Only one new recuit.. in Teasdale.
If all this is true has Magee's bubble burst???[/quote]

well more than 4-5 players missing.....they'll struggle

wiltshire, prowse, wilton, s.fairbanks, moon, carrol, biggs, snow - all played last year, all 21 and under.

get on the reds![/quote]

who?? never heard of most of these blokes... I wouldn't be getting too excited about these departures

wiltshire, prowse, wilton, s.fairbanks, moon, carrol, biggs, snow - all played last year, all 21 and under.

get on the reds!

who?? never heard of most of these blokes... I wouldn't be getting too excited about these departures

Boris - given we lined up on each other in the prelim and even I recognise some of those names I'm curious as to why you haven't heard of them. Care to explain?

As for the post by firsthome. Why is it that Biggs could hold his head up? If he was doing a tagging job in the prelim, depending on who his role was to tag he either a) got murdered, or b) played on a bloke who shouldn't have played in either the prelim or the GF. A 'tagger' would want to beat any such opponent.

Boris - given we lined up on each other in the prelim and even I recognise some of those names I'm curious as to why you haven't heard of them. Care to explain?

As for the post by firsthome. Why is it that Biggs could hold his head up? If he was doing a tagging job in the prelim, depending on who his role was to tag he either a) got murdered, or b) played on a bloke who shouldn't have played in either the prelim or the GF. A 'tagger' would want to beat any such opponent.

Micky, Biggs had a shocker in the Prelim, but so did all of his mates. After the 2nd semi, Mentone were spent...no secret there. They deserve to start favourites this year. Interesting to see if the loss of all of these players that Boris has never heard of (Brett Fairbanks, Biggs, Snow???) can be covered.

I totally agree with HBP on this one. Frankly, it happens at most clubs, that plenty of players take a year off, or move on, or retire between each season.

FWIW - and I appreciate these names won't mean much to many D1 forum members - the Reds have lost Harris, Dann, Rawlins, Mitchell, Dunlop, Zanos, Murnane, Zacek, Orton, Kenna, Shuttleworth and Edmund. Basically 12 of our top 30 from last year including a playing assistant coach, two former club captains and both senior vice-captains from 2007.

The key is to identify those within your list who can and are willing to improve to fill those spots, as well as recruiting quality replacements.

ztotally agree with HBP on this one. Frankly, it happens at most clubs, that plenty of players take a year off, or move on, or retire between each season.

FWIW - and I appreciate these names won't mean much to many D1 forum members - the Reds have lost Harris, Dann, Rawlins, Mitchell, Dunlop, Zanos, Murnane, Zacek, Orton, Kenna, and Edmund. Basically 11 of our top 30 from last year including a playing assistant coach, two former club captains and both senior vice-captains from 2007.

The key is to identify those within your list who can and are willing to improve to fill those spots, as well as recruiting quality replacements.

Scribe, whisper is that Dann may not end up at OT...

Dee,

Perhaps he's going somewhere other than OT's - I don't know.
I haven't been privy to any discussions (if there have been any) between the Reds and Scott, but I'm not banking on him playing for us - it would be a massive bonus if he did.

Frase

Dee,

Perhaps he's going somewhere other than OT's - I don't know.
I haven't been privy to any discussions (if there have been any) between the Reds and Scott, but I'm not banking on him playing for us - it would be a massive bonus if he did.

Frase

Darbs, How do you know so much about so many different clubs/leagues?

(Just to let you know Frase, Maghamez burning down at Templestowe. Glad he's not with you guys this season! (kicked 12 against us over 2 games in '05)

if biggs was that bad i would hate to see how bad his mates were considering he was named best for om's... he will be a lose for OM's. Snow will be hard to replace.

I dont think you will see mentone play finals this year. big call i know. but with that many players missing for a lot of the year.. and no one to really replace them it will be a up hill battle for magee.

I played over 300 games of VAFA football before I took up umpiring. I umpired 450 plus games in A Section alone, including 5 A Section Grand Finals and was the founder and original shock jock of VAFA Sunday on 88.3 Southern FM. I now hold a very senior position in VAFA football and am a true VAFA legend.

Tell us how good you really think you are champ!!

sounds like you are a true vafa footy legend.
Pity someone else couldn't tell us and you had blow your own trumpet.

Killer may be a relegated coach but his CV reads more premierships than Dave's, and at South, we're into flags, so excuse us for choosing a bloke who knows how to win. Listen, Dave was very close to getting the job, very close, the selection committee ummed and arred for days and in the end both SMD and BT got the coach they wanted, bragging rights will come in September and I can't wait!

I think the comment wasn't meant to be criticising South harps, but rather pointing out that Matthews wasn't happy about losing out to someone who he perceived had an inferior record to his.

I played over 300 games of VAFA football before I took up umpiring. I umpired 450 plus games in A Section alone, including 5 A Section Grand Finals and was the founder and original shock jock of VAFA Sunday on 88.3 Southern FM. I now hold a very senior position in VAFA football and am a true VAFA legend.

Tell us how good you really think you are champ!!

sounds like you are a true vafa footy legend.
Pity someone else couldn't tell us and you had blow your own trumpet.

Eh! Orange...old BS has only told you half of his footy CV..agreed some of his mates on BF should have detailed his CV for all the newbies, so please find following the other footy credentials from the great man that he has told us previously. That's 37 years of commitment to top level football fella and don't you believe it!

Originally Posted by Brian has spoken
My resume Big footy fan: 27 St Kilda Under 19 games, 12 VAFA D Section games, 74 VFA senior games with the mighty Zebras when Gaggs was skipper, 2 years overseas, 5 years off, then a kick in the park in the Ammos for 1 season.
So what does that prove? You tell me, and by the way I dont eat bread.

I think the comment wasn't meant to be criticising South harps, but rather pointing out that Matthews wasn't happy about losing out to someone who he perceived had an inferior record to his.
well he has friar boy

Point taken Rocky, perhaps South should take it as a compliment that Dave thought the job should be his. IMO Beaumaris are probably the only party not happy with the result of the coaching re-shuffle, from the clubs perspective anyway.

[/quote]well more than 4-5 players missing.....they'll struggle

get on the reds
![/quote]

woke up this morning to find that i wasnt playing this year, defintely news to me, training last night was just for fun i guess.....

i wouldnt worry bout the boys in canada, all are back before the halfway mark of the season in an 18 round year. plus regular gym sessions and 6 months of snowboarding might just help prowse overcome his girly chicken legs....haha

Point taken Rocky, perhaps South should take it as a compliment that Dave thought the job should be his. IMO Beaumaris are probably the only party not happy with the result of the coaching re-shuffle, from the clubs perspective anyway.

Interesting link there Harps - how close did our old SMD coach Rabs go in the coaching selection? - I thought he was a certainty with the young boy still there.

The Beauy link? Nothing to do with Rabs, to do with Barnes going to Ormond and the eventual BT and Mathews partnership. My understanding is that Rabs never applied for the role, I'd be rapt if he came back to South in some capacity but over a beer in a Yarraville back yard the word was Beauy juniors.
Looking forward to seeing the young boy step up and dominate stoppages this year, should be just about entering his prime this season. May need his own supply of elastoplast though!

The Beauy link? Nothing to do with Rabs, to do with Barnes going to Ormond and the eventual BT and Mathews partnership. My understanding is that Rabs never applied for the role, I'd be rapt if he came back to South in some capacity but over a beer in a Yarraville back yard the word was Beauy juniors.
Looking forward to seeing the young boy step up and dominate stoppages this year, should be just about entering his prime this season. May need his own supply of elastoplast though!

No worries Harps, I must have been in the loo. Surprised if he left Beauy he would have at least applied for the SMD role. Not to worry - Cheers

get on the reds![/quote]

woke up this morning to find that i wasnt playing this year, defintely news to me, training last night was just for fun i guess.....

i wouldnt worry bout the boys in canada, all are back before the halfway mark of the season in an 18 round year. plus regular gym sessions and 6 months of snowboarding might just help prowse overcome his girly chicken legs....haha[/quote]

Plus it would be great if Shagger could justify his nickname and get some Canadian lovin'

get on the reds![/quote]

i wouldnt worry bout the boys in canada, all are back before the halfway mark of the season in an 18 round year. plus regular gym sessions and 6 months of snowboarding might just help prowse overcome his girly chicken legs....haha[/quote]

well said titeleash I read your posts with great interest, welcome back for the year or should i say tightcave