D2 D2 Ammos 2008

Which bank should I go to Barry;)

D. Boundy 10

How high scoring was yesterday - looks like shoot-outs all over the pace (Wer-Ban excluded)

I can only comment on my game

SMS were missing quite a few really key players so we were lucky to meet them yesterday. They kicked the 1st 3 and then we settled well after that and gradually pulled away.

A game of streaks though - we were right on top in the 3rd - nearly 10 goals up and then SMS piled on 5 goals in 5 minutes and it tightened right up.

Their Goal kicking coach should get a pay-rise!!!

Anyhow happy to get steady late in the game after they had pulled within 12 points.

Pretty much the same story in the 2's - opening a lead and then pretty much keeping a small buffer all day

Which bank should I go to Barry;)

D. Boundy 10

Gold. I think we are all lining up for a piece of that.

For what its worth, my thoughts on the teams after reading about the first 4 rounds (admittedly I have seen no games) so I am only going on what I have read and heard. I would be interested in others thoughts on the teams. Seems to be a very close season.

Werribee- Clear premiership favourite and currently best team in the comp.
Banyule- Have had good form and appear to be a good team. Will be right in the mix.
ESL- Seem to be a good team and have some important early wins on the board. Another team right in the mix.
Glen Eira- Just dont seem to play bad football. There only loss was a close one to Old Paradians and seem an extremely competitive side.
Old Paradians- With their full list available they are as good as anyone in the comp. From what I have heard they have some classy young kids who are very quickly on the rise. Dont write them off
SMS- This is one team I know little about. I would imagine they will improve as the year progresses.
Ivanohoe- Have made the step up from the lower section and certainly have not been disgraced. Ivanohoe will always be a tough game and never ever discount them.
Old Westbourne- A hard form guide to read. Will certainly win their share of games as the year progresses. In the mix for a place from 4th-8th. Next few weeks are crucial.
Bentleigh- Another side I know little about. Seem to be very competitive each week.
Therry Penola- Just as people were writing them off they strike back with a big win. This club will not lay down and die. Expect a resurgence from them throughout the year.

Good hard fought out game by the boys at Werribee. Excellent in the backline and onball brigade not to let Banyule score their first goal till halway through the third quarter. Great to see so many Banyule people remain after the game. A real credit to the club:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Next week is rivalry round with Westbourne. Should be a great game as it always is.

How about some 2s footy, it all seems to be 1s on here at the moment. Saw the werribee-banyule game, can't believe they kicked over 30 goals seeing as though they only kick 4 till qtr time. How were all the other games?

From what I have seen Therry will be competitive but I don't think they will trouble many sides.

What are the problems at Therry anyone? Dropping down I would have expected more.

Interesting result out at Ivanhoe Park. Everyone has been writing THERRY off and they go out and give Ivanhoe a good belting on the weekend! Someone please explain. Surely the hoes werent that bad......

amazing scoreline of werribee 8.11 to banyule 1.8 at 3/4 time. 8.1 might've made it interesting. good to see therry get on the board and hopefully someone can knock off werribee soon (although I dont think so), I'm sure everyone likes to see upsets and close competition

Hoping to improve on the 2/5 i've gotten each of the first 3 weeks.
ESL over SMS in a close one
OP over Bentleigh comfortably
Werribee over Banyule by about 4 goals
Ivanhoe over TP by a few goals
OW over Glen Eira easily
Harps, good luck for your 4th loss this weekend and hope you enjoy your short stay in D1!!:eek:

Hey Eddie, if anyone is going to make themselves look like an idiot on this thread I'd appreciate it if you left it to me although after these brave comments you are now definitely the clubhouse leader for 2008.

I too am hoping our stay in D1 is a quick one, as short as it was in D2, as long as it is just as successful:eek:

Disappointing result for OW on the weekend. I attended the game and the first half was one of the best Ilve seen this year. There were some big, but mostly fair hits, and spot-fights breaking out overwhere.

The sting went out of the game in the second half and the warriors looked uninterested. GE however started to use the corridoor and kicked away in the third. OW missed a host of set shots at goal, 6 in a row in fact, whilst GE were kicking them from everywhere. Last year OW won easily most games, and there seem to be a few who do not realise that D2 is a lot more competitive. Put simply, OW did not want the win as much as GE.

Harps good to see the 1's beat Aquinas. Bad luck for you guys losing by 8 points. There's still next week:thumbsu:

Disappointing result for OW on the weekend. I attended the game and the first half was one of the best Ilve seen this year. There were some big, but mostly fair hits, and spot-fights breaking out overwhere.

The sting went out of the game in the second half and the warriors looked uninterested. GE however started to use the corridoor and kicked away in the third. OW missed a host of set shots at goal, 6 in a row in fact, whilst GE were kicking them from everywhere. Last year OW won easily most games, and there seem to be a few who do not realise that D2 is a lot more competitive. Put simply, OW did not want the win as much as GE.
Reckon the Warriors will be VERY intrested this week. Coaches, Fab Gatti vs Kirk Norton clash of the TITANS. Who will have bragging rights after Sarurday in the town:rolleyes:

Gold. I think we are all lining up for a piece of that.

For what its worth, my thoughts on the teams after reading about the first 4 rounds (admittedly I have seen no games) so I am only going on what I have read and heard. I would be interested in others thoughts on the teams. Seems to be a very close season.

Werribee- Clear premiership favourite and currently best team in the comp.
Banyule- Have had good form and appear to be a good team. Will be right in the mix.
ESL- Seem to be a good team and have some important early wins on the board. Another team right in the mix.
Glen Eira- Just dont seem to play bad football. There only loss was a close one to Old Paradians and seem an extremely competitive side.
Old Paradians- With their full list available they are as good as anyone in the comp. From what I have heard they have some classy young kids who are very quickly on the rise. Dont write them off
SMS- This is one team I know little about. I would imagine they will improve as the year progresses.
Ivanohoe- Have made the step up from the lower section and certainly have not been disgraced. Ivanohoe will always be a tough game and never ever discount them.
Old Westbourne- A hard form guide to read. Will certainly win their share of games as the year progresses. In the mix for a place from 4th-8th. Next few weeks are crucial.
Bentleigh- Another side I know little about. Seem to be very competitive each week.
Therry Penola- Just as people were writing them off they strike back with a big win. This club will not lay down and die. Expect a resurgence from them throughout the year.
Haven't really lived up to your alias here, have you.....thoughtless dribble is what you have written....Go watch some games & then give us thought provoking commentary & then you will be acknowledged as The Thinker

At the end of the day bad kicking bad footy. Both teams kicked nearly the same amount of behinds. Good luck this week and I hope you thrash the poo farmers

Harps good to see the 1's beat Aquinas. Bad luck for you guys losing by 8 points. There's still next week:thumbsu:

Second year in a row I've had to face the top team in round 5 Westy and I'm sure you and your mates are still high fiveing each other over last years effort. Main difference for me is that last year we were undefeated heading down to the poo farm and this year we're 0-4 and playing a team that went OK in "C". The question has to be asked, do I roll up on Saturday?:cool:

If you need half a dozen players I'm sure Stuey will accomodate you:D

Aaron Clough - Bentleigh
Mathew Spinoso - Old Paradians
Adam Kowalski - Therry Penola

A few reports from our section this week. Anyone care to add the reasons behind the reports and if you think they will go?

Aaron Clough - Bentleigh
Mathew Spinoso - Old Paradians
Adam Kowalski - Therry Penola

A few reports from our section this week. Anyone care to add the reasons behind the reports and if you think they will go?

Kowalski wasn't reported the bloke who headbutted him was

Mike - 'allegedly' would be a fair call I would think. Two sides to a story, lets not be judge and hangman all in one go.

Well done to Therry - way to good on the day - no excuses from Hoe park. Not often you kick 18.11 and get rolled, so we have some work to do. Very handy mid-field and a CHF who was on fire.

Thanks to all the Therry crew for staying around ( a long time ) for beers - great effort after a good game of footy.:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

Chump.

Haven't really lived up to your alias here, have you.....thoughtless dribble is what you have written....Go watch some games & then give us thought provoking commentary & then you will be acknowledged as The Thinker

At least I can spell my user name.:D Please instead of slagging off at people why don't you offer us some of your so called thought provoking insight. I look forward to reading it. Little bit hard for me to get to games but I am sure you would be happy to pay for my fares home each weekend.

Hey Eddie, if anyone is going to make themselves look like an idiot on this thread I'd appreciate it if you left it to me although after these brave comments you are now definitely the clubhouse leader for 2008.

I too am hoping our stay in D1 is a quick one, as short as it was in D2, as long as it is just as successful:eek:
Ouch, that stings:p
If you're not careful, you'll catch me at the top of the leader board, but at least you acknowledged my bravery. Did you tip your mighty reserves on the weekend?? I must say I'm disappointed about your seniors effort. You must now be confident of making the GF and moving onto C grade next year, no back to the D1 thread for you mate.

At least I can spell my user name.:D Please instead of slagging off at people why don't you offer us some of your so called thought provoking insight. I look forward to reading it. Little bit hard for me to get to games but I am sure you would be happy to pay for my fares home each weekend.
Thought provoking insight:

thi = wa

Werribee very reliant on the Lee bros to kick a winning score. Need the likes of Fastuca to stand up a history shows that it is rare that sides win premierships off the back of small forwards
Banyule have a quality midfield & would loike to see them throw Ash Brown forward. What happened to Gayfer as he would compliment this unit perfectly
ESL weren't far away last year & with Ellis, Robin & Beluscar kicking plenty of goals are a contender
Glen Eira Ryan Clark is leading the forward line but where is Bongo? Some good quality experienced leaders & always a physical contest
Old Paradians, no Boundy = no OP. Will struggle to stay clear of relegation
SMS are understandably taking time for the merger to gel & for the D4 guys to get used to D2 standard. Have a good list & will be in the mix fighting for 3-4
Ivanhoe, stop Angelo Pace & they will struggle to kick a winning score
Old Westbourne, need more from the likes of Horsburgh & Jeka & are still adjusting to the eveness of D2. Will be in the mix from 6-10
Therry Penola, does 1 swallow make a summer. Produced 1 out of the box on the weekend but seem to have little depth & are going to struggle to avoid the drop
Bentleigh, have the best player in the comp in Robertson but seem to lack consistancy. Sharp looks on the decline so needs some young guys to step up or they will be in the relegation zone all year

At the end of the day bad kicking bad footy. Both teams kicked nearly the same amount of behinds. Good luck this week and I hope you thrash the poo farmers

No argument there phantom. There were plenty of opportunities for our boys to pass the ball to players in better positions but decided to have a shot instead. Our second half was poor. Hopefully we can give the ladder leaders a run for the money. They don't have a great record out at Artic Park.

The Bentleigh vs Old Paradians game on the weekend was possibly the most over-umpired game I've ever seen. It was very easy to get a free kick...you pretty much just had to let out a groan while in a tackle and you'd get on.

Anyone else ever had a umpire trash talk them? I couldn't believe what I was hearing. Their role is to umpire the game, not give a commentary on the sport, or to act as a supporter from the sidelines.
There was also an emphasis on water boys not being able to run water until after a goal was kicked... Is this even a rule? And if it is, WHY?

Again it seems the umpires are more focused on unimportant details, and are missing out on the main issues...

There was also an emphasis on water boys not being able to run water until after a goal was kicked... Is this even a rule? And if it is, WHY?

Again it seems the umpires are more focused on unimportant details, and are missing out on the main issues...

I know what you mean BlackMamba. About 5 years ago I was water boy for the ones. I was standing about 10m from the boundry on the wing, the ball was deep in a forward pocket. The umpire blew his whistle, stopped the game ran over and orded me to move behind the line. Told me that I could not move onto the playing arena until after a goal was kicked or he would pay a free against us. I later checked and it is a rule. But lets just say the some umps have some priority's mixed up.