D2 Ammos

Aquinas look to be the team to beat, good numbers on the track is always a strong indication! Bentleigh will be terrible!!!!!!! D3 runners up, doesnt stand for much, there a one man band!!! Im sticking with the sides who finished 3rd and 4th at the end of the preseason. Salesian and Aquinas!
Salesian will dispose of sth melbourne easily guys, singh isnt a big loss, admit bobetic is huge, however the appointment of R. Mallet as coach allows Hazell to concentrate on the football and not coaching, watch for a big year!
With Glen eira being smokies and st leos hard to beat.

Aquinas look to be the team to beat, good numbers on the track is always a strong indication! Bentleigh will be terrible!!!!!!! D3 runners up, doesnt stand for much, there a one man band!!! Im sticking with the sides who finished 3rd and 4th at the end of the preseason. Salesian and Aquinas!
Salesian will dispose of sth melbourne easily guys, singh isnt a big loss, admit bobetic is huge, however the appointment of R. Mallet as coach allows Hazell to concentrate on the football and not coaching, watch for a big year!
i hear theres a guy at werribee named davo who is going to be a gun. goodluck yagabomb.

Hazell would be the best player in the comp on pure talent. So hard to stop as he runs hard, gets the hard ball and very quick. I really rate him highly. Then again you dont win a A Grade comp b and f if your no good.

Ladder after round 1.:
1. South 166%
2. Aquinas 164%
3. St Leos 122%
4. Glen Eira 105%
5. Banyule 102%
6. Werribee 97%
7. Willo 94%
8. Bentleigh 81%
9. St Johns 60.7%
10. Salesian 60%

Looks good to me.

Comments from the weekend - how about the BIG UPSET: South smashing Salesian?

Banyule/Werribee looks like it was a cracker.

Aquinas showing the class that everyone says they have.

St Leo's and Bentleigh had a good match today....however the flow of the game changed heaps.
St Leo's had the jump in the first quarter, with the Dees fighting back late in the second to make it only 3 points at half time.
3rd Quarter, again St Leo's were on top and broke away, and in the fourth they still looked like winning by heaps.
But with 10mins to go, Bentleigh kicked 5 or 6 goals....again making it a contest....and threatening to overrun the home team....
Being cautious, St Leo's started chipping it around and playing possession footy....only winning by a bit over 2 goals in the end.

St Leo's Guys to Look Out For:
Belly (#19 I think), a skinny full-forward/ruckman with a huge leap.
#7, a tubby, but hard running centreman.
#44, a sniper, who decks guys behind play, pretty sure he didn't get a touch though.
The Umpires....because a lot of the time the St Leo's players throw their head back, let out a big "Awww" while putting up their arms up appealing for the free. Our umps were OK today, but they still fell for it about half the time.
Keep an eye out for it when you guys play them...hahaha

Banyule V's Weribee looks like it was a cracker of a game! I dont see the smd V's Salesian as a upset. Maybe the margin but not the result. Salesian have lost some quility footballers. It was just great to be playing for 4 points again!!! Funniest thing at the Aquinas V's St Johns game was the umpire going down with cramp. Stretched, tried to get up and went down again like he had been shot. Brilliant!

Looks like you were wrong about south melb Kella!
Watch out for my mate Steve Aqualina played on ball last year but this year he is playing out of the goal square,very dangerous around goal kicked 5 this week and will kick some big bags this year!

Banyule V's Weribee looks like it was a cracker of a game! I dont see the smd V's Salesian as a upset. Maybe the margin but not the result. Salesian have lost some quility footballers. It was just great to be playing for 4 points again!!! Funniest thing at the Aquinas V's St Johns game was the umpire going down with cramp. Stretched, tried to get up and went down again like he had been shot. Brilliant!

I agree with you rick,don't think it was an upset at all, margin though just shows the cost of loosing many good players like thain and payne who kicked a few last yr for Salesian, and a genuine top player and bloke in bobetic along with the young fella to croydon who interesingly won by 20 goals, balwyn will dominate. Salesian will rely a lot on hazell, best player in the comp in my opinion, and dunne and morellso would be there key young players.

Jono will be out of pocket a fair bit if he keeps his form up :), sth melb are a quality side, few good ins, impressive showing by them, and a solid base to work from..I guess kella and jono didn't rate sth very highly although it is early in the season admiditly, they wont make the same mistake again, could be a big year down sth melbourne way.

Did that perri meka bloke play for werribbee who has kicked a lot of goals in his time ? :thumbsu:

St Leo's and Bentleigh had a good match today....however the flow of the game changed heaps.
St Leo's had the jump in the first quarter, with the Dees fighting back late in the second to make it only 3 points at half time.
3rd Quarter, again St Leo's were on top and broke away, and in the fourth they still looked like winning by heaps.
But with 10mins to go, Bentleigh kicked 5 or 6 goals....again making it a contest....and threatening to overrun the home team....
Being cautious, St Leo's started chipping it around and playing possession footy....only winning by a bit over 2 goals in the end.

St Leo's Guys to Look Out For:
Belly (#19 I think), a skinny full-forward/ruckman with a huge leap.
#7, a tubby, but hard running centreman.
#44, a sniper, who decks guys behind play, pretty sure he didn't get a touch though.
The Umpires....because a lot of the time the St Leo's players throw their head back, let out a big "Awww" while putting up their arms up appealing for the free. Our umps were OK today, but they still fell for it about half the time.
Keep an eye out for it when you guys play them...hahaha

Interesting summation Black Mamba. Thought the umps were fine -with the exception of deliberate out of bounds, and I thought the game was played in good spirits. Didn't see a blue all day - and Didn't see 44 belt anyone, however I am happy to bow to better judgement - just didn't see it. Agree though, he didn't get much of it. Thought we should have won by more, but Bentleigh fought it out well. 11 and 5 dominated in the second quarter, although we seemed to be able to keep 5 quiet in the second half. Wasn't sure what to expect with St. Leo's, but walked away quite happy in the end. Should be a cracking game next week against Aquinas - and with a couple to come back in - I'm going out on a limb to back us in.

Some very interesting results on the weekend but one that wasn't was the districts winning. We were very confident and with the players we have added are very confident for the year.

Lets hope the goose in the record relises where a good side and doesnt price us at $3.30 this week.

Interesting summation Black Mamba. Thought the umps were fine -with the exception of deliberate out of bounds, and I thought the game was played in good spirits. Didn't see a blue all day - and Didn't see 44 belt anyone, however I am happy to bow to better judgement - just didn't see it. Agree though, he didn't get much of it. Thought we should have won by more, but Bentleigh fought it out well. 11 and 5 dominated in the second quarter, although we seemed to be able to keep 5 quiet in the second half. Wasn't sure what to expect with St. Leo's, but walked away quite happy in the end. Should be a cracking game next week against Aquinas - and with a couple to come back in - I'm going out on a limb to back us in.
Agree that Bentleigh were probably flattered by the end scoreline but having said that, they played poorly for most of the day & came home strongly. With a few players still to return Bentleigh will no doubt improve. Don't think they will be the worst team

Some very interesting results on the weekend but one that wasn't was the districts winning. We were very confident and with the players we have added are very confident for the year.

Lets hope the goose in the record relises where a good side and doesnt price us at $3.30 this week.

Has Marco returned from Collegians this year?

He sure has. Played in the 2's on the weekend, will be hard for him to get into the ones as it will be for every player in the 2's or who are out at the moment. We had a very even performance on the weekend. You just want your 2's up and going so its puts pressure on the players to perform.

Agree that Bentleigh were probably flattered by the end scoreline but having said that, they played poorly for most of the day & came home strongly. With a few players still to return Bentleigh will no doubt improve. Don't think they will be the worst team

Who's still to return, might be alrite if they get a bit more height happening... their ruckman, did a decent job all day against a much taller st. leos pair... #5 robertson did look promising as did Tangas kicking 4 goals.

From all accounts, it was the backline that struggled for bentleigh, just didnt have that upper edge on the weekend.

Tips for this weekend - Round Two

AQUINAS OC
vs
EMMAUS ST LEOS

Aquinas at home will just edge out the Animals in a cracker of a game.

BENTLEIGH
vs
GLEN EIRA

Glen Eira will defeat Bentleigh at Bentleigh in a tough encounter for the Saints.

WILLIAMSTOWN CYMS
vs
WERRIBEE AFC

Willi will get over Werribee in the Western Suburb derby. D.Lee to kick another bag for the Seagulls.

SOUTH MELBOURNE DISTRICTS
vs
ST JOHNS

SMD will get over Jocs in another hard fought encounter.

BANYULE AFC
vs
SALESIAN AFC

Banyule will make it two in a row against the boys from Chaddy.

RFS out

He sure has. Played in the 2's on the weekend, will be hard for him to get into the ones as it will be for every player in the 2's or who are out at the moment. We had a very even performance on the weekend. You just want your 2's up and going so its puts pressure on the players to perform.

Plenty from SMD reserves put their hand up on Saturday and Marko proved he is not far away from his best with some damaging run in the forward pocket and a long bomb for 6 points. Have to agree with saints though, may be hard to break into the ones although gobbie's and chubba's performances are hard to ignore.

Wouldn't be foxing for underdog status eh RFS? SMD haven't beaten St Johns for a while.

Not at all. The mail out of Doveton is that they have been struggling for a venue to train for the last few months more so than others. So they will continue not to be at full strength until they return to Power Street. SMD was impressive according to my info also. So they may go 2 from 2.

Wouldn't be foxing for underdog status eh RFS? SMD haven't beaten St Johns for a while.

Don't think St Johns will be any good this year and will be very lucky to avoid relagation.

I heard they have only trained on a ground once, and have had low numbers at training.

Can anyone from Aquinas give us a report on the condition St Johns ground.

Don't think St Johns will be any good this year and will be very lucky to avoid relagation.

I heard they have only trained on a ground once, and have had low numbers at training.

Can anyone from Aquinas give us a report on the condition St Johns ground.
It wasnt in great nick. They must have just put top soil down because it stank a fair bit. A bit patchy but playable. Can see why they arent allowed to train on it though. If they did it would make it unplayable. Not the worst im tipping.

Great to see a true local footy club like South Districts going so well and I am here to tell you all they will WIN the flag

rabs2000, please.

I will go as far as to say that you might, and that is might make finals, to suggest that you will be good enough to number one play finals, secondly make the big dance and finally win the d2 flag on the back of one victory against one of the oldest teams in the ammo's ( great players at salesian but couldn't run out of sight on a dark night ) is a very very big call.

As stated earlier St. Leos will be the first team to progress back to d1, the final three spots are up for grabs, however aquinas look the goods so leaves it down to four to fill the other two spots in my opinon, werribee, glen eira, banyule and what for it Rabbs, Sth districts.

Tips this week

Leos
Glen eira
werribee
banyule
and south districts - ( from memory late last year, early this year i stated that the jocs = crapola, will finish in the bottom two )

Anyway good luck rabs in your quest for back to back glory.