D2 Ammos

hollywood i think you may have just dropped your bundle. you're probly right that the game between werribee and the hoers is a danger one for werribee which the hoers could easily snatch, however werribee will be too strong at home. But to say williamstown can beat aquinas???
willi are an absolute rabble and i have no doubt that without wheeler they'd be in even worse shape than they're in now (which i don't think is possible)

Coach Hollywood said:
Tips this week could include a few upsets I think? How's Ivanhoe, Williamstown to beat Werribee & Aqunias. Salesian, Peninsula & Oakleigh in the others.

Coach, Coach, Coach.......Williamstown ? I will streak through the main drag of Willi if they beat Aquinas the W/E. Werribee will be too strong for the Hoes. Oakleigh to win by 100+, Peninsula and LaTrobe to battle out a draw, and Salesian over GE

I live near Werribee and go down and see there games everynow and then. I know some of the guys down there and there expecting a good, hard clash.

Should be good if the rain stays away for us fans!

We shall see Saturday arvo

Dave

It may be a bit of a stupid prediction to tip Williamstown and to be honest I'd love for them to get a hiding as we play them next round, but I wasn't the only one to tip them. The Amatuer Record has tipped them by 8 points. He has also tipped Salesian by 2, Peninsula by 55, Werribee by 82? & Oakleigh by 72. I guess we'll see how close they can get tomorrow?

Also Streetball it looked like you had a few good players listed before, but i'm not too sure about Singh? How about you list the best 3 at each club? That would be interesting to see who some people pick. I'll have a think about mine over the weekend and list them on Monday.

It's on the VAFA website under the "Publications" Tab. Then click on the "Amatuer Footballer" Season 2006 then open up Round 7. They are printed on the Thursday and then added to the Web on Friday normally.

Coach Hollywood said:
It may be a bit of a stupid prediction to tip Williamstown and to be honest I'd love for them to get a hiding as we play them next round, but I wasn't the only one to tip them. The Amatuer Record has tipped them by 8 points. He has also tipped Salesian by 2, Peninsula by 55, Werribee by 82? & Oakleigh by 72. I guess we'll see how close they can get tomorrow?

Also Streetball it looked like you had a few good players listed before, but i'm not too sure about Singh? How about you list the best 3 at each club? That would be interesting to see who some people pick. I'll have a think about mine over the weekend and list them on Monday.

Coach Hollywood, i mainly followed the amateur football record to be honest, but from what i seen in the only game i watched in your comp: Salesian's standout would be M.Hazell. The others that i mentioned would be ones from the amo footballer. Interesting to hear your thoughts though.. You have a far greater knowledge of the competition so your summary would be better. Although i will try and look at the ones i already entered and come up with one sometime next week. :thumbsu:

Coach Hollywood said:

Coach (and Record Scribe), your prediction nearly had the locals of Willi ducking for cover if i had to run barea$$ed down there, but Aquinas did enough to get over the line. Oakleigh, Werribee and POBS comfortable victors looking at the results. Anyone care to offer a different view ? And the scribe correctly predicting a 2 point win to Chaddy. They must have had a heap out, GE aren't much chop

Well Willy single figures away from forcing a main st streak, maybe their coach posted HotShoeShuffle's post up in the rooms as motivation??

I've been doing a bit of research on this "Top 3 players per team" Post.
I've come up with I think are the 3 best per side at the moment, based on website best players, ability, my perception & talk around the traps.
We're yet to play Willy or La Trobe so judgement may change?

Aqunias - Glassbarrow, DenBraber, Wooden.
Peninsula - Payze, Murphy, Coghlan.
Salesian - Hazell, Payne, Ross.
St Johns - Arnold, Pattie, Rydquist.
Oakleigh - Bromley, McKenzie, Bell.
Glen Eira - Tsirogiannis, Massis, Sheedy.
Werribee - Whitten, Mentha, 27 & 7? Unknown due to the record's team list being incorrect.
Williamstown - Wheeler, Taylor, Hynes.
La Trobe - Caldrow, Waterman, Coulter.
Ivanhoe - Hunter, Wilson on currrent form & Harris? (May be a little biased with these tips so feel free to nominate others)

Does anyway else agree or disagree with this list? You may know some of the teams better than I do? Let us know what you think? A bit of help on Werribee would be appreciated also?

Coach Hollywood said:
Well Willy single figures away from forcing a main st streak, maybe their coach posted HotShoeShuffle's post up in the rooms as motivation??

I've been doing a bit of research on this "Top 3 players per team" Post.
I've come up with I think are the 3 best per side at the moment, based on website best players, ability, my perception & talk around the traps.
We're yet to play Willy or La Trobe so judgement may change?

Aqunias - Glassbarrow, DenBraber, Wooden.
Peninsula - Payze, Murphy, Coghlan.
Salesian - Hazell, Payne, Ross.
St Johns - Arnold, Pattie, Rydquist.
Oakleigh - Bromley, McKenzie, Bell.
Glen Eira - Tsirogiannis, Massis, Sheedy.
Werribee - Whitten, Mentha, 27 & 7? Unknown due to the record's team list being incorrect.
Williamstown - Wheeler, Taylor, Hynes.
La Trobe - Caldrow, Waterman, Coulter.
Ivanhoe - Hunter, Wilson on currrent form & Harris? (May be a little biased with these tips so feel free to nominate others)

Does anyway else agree or disagree with this list? You may know some of the teams better than I do? Let us know what you think? A bit of help on Werribee would be appreciated also?

Coach,

You're summary for every teams best players is pretty on the mark i reckon....however for willi i reckon B.***** (no.10) could squeeze in there in place of taylor, just my two cents but.

For werribee the 3 best there based on current form would have to be whitten, stornebrink and carson. mentha is back down at werribee vfl reserves and looks to be there for a little while having been in their best on the weekend. one of werribees all time guns would have to m.keogh as well but due to injury has only played a couple of games this year, he is a former captain and has won 3 of the last 5 best and fairests and well as being named in D3's team of the year on the ball and captain last year.

Tha Man,

I agree B.***** was a "bit stiff" to miss out (ha ha).
I think Stornebrink was the number 7, and the CHB with long hair was the number 27 but don't know his name?. Does anyone know who these guys are and if we're correct?

Any other changes to the list? What do you think about the Ivanhoe top 3?

coach hollywood,

i'm not too sure who you're on about, number 27 plays in our two's and i don't think anyone in the backline has long hair.......???

i played on saturday, tell me what number this mystery player played on and i might be able to shed some light on the subject.

on your top 3 at ivanhoe....definitely have to agree with hunter, probly the best ruckman going around in the comp at the moment. also the bloke who was given b.o.g for the one's, medium sized defender with a good grab number 15 i think, he looks like a good sort. not too sure about harris though....was worn tightly by scotty "the glove" kidd all day and am unsure if he actually gathered a stat. but being captain he must be good so i'll take your word there

He had longish wavey hair, played CHB and took a heap of marks. He played on our CHF who was number 19. Obviously he wasn't number 27 then?

Who does everyone think will win in what might be a grand final preview next round between Oakleigh and Peninsula?

I think Peninsula might win this one, and firm into strong premiership favourites.

Hi All,

You can get some idea on the best/consistent players by going to the below link.

http://www.vafa.asn.au/?s=results

Goto D2 section, click competition stats, sort by # of times in best and buddabing.

You get the matches played under M and NBest will give you the times in the best players. (See *)
Craig Taylor (WILLIAMSTOWN CYMS)703/06/2006111.57327Peter Walker (ST JOHNS OC)603/06/200610.171-6Kane Arnold (ST JOHNS OC)603/06/200661.002-6

These are the 3 best players based on this.

Thanks
Davo

TopCat, that's the club's best. I think you'd rather see what the oppostion think of each team rather than what their club thinks of them?

Footy addict said:
GE cant be that bad they keep coming so close.

Footy Addict, What are you talking about exactly? Are you talking about Williamstown? Because the comment you quoted from was in response to the best players listed on the VAFA website by the clubs, and how I think it is better to hear what other teams think are the best players instead? If you are talking about Williamstown then Yes I agree with you, they have been unlucky. Huge game this week @ Hoe Park.

Coach Hollywood said:
Footy Addict, What are you talking about exactly? Are you talking about Williamstown? Because the comment you quoted from was in response to the best players listed on the VAFA website by the clubs, and how I think it is better to hear what other teams think are the best players instead? If you are talking about Williamstown then Yes I agree with you, they have been unlucky. Huge game this week @ Hoe Park.
Sorry Coach hard to understand you bet, it was sent to the wrong person. Seen a few D2 games this year and cant believe how close the standard is from top to bottom.

Definetly pretty close Addict, It depends on how switched on you are for each game I guess? Tips for this week fellas are:
Aquinas, Ivanhoe, Werribee, St Johns & Oakleigh in a ripper at home.
Record Scribe has:
Aquinas, Ivanhoe, Salesian, St Johns, Peninsula.
Tips anyone?

Coach Hollywood said:
Definetly pretty close Addict, It depends on how switched on you are for each game I guess? Tips for this week fellas are:
Record Scribe has:
Tips anyone?

Coach i think you are spot on the money...Aquinas,Ivanhoe, Werribee to get up by bout 5 goals against Salesian, St Johns to get a win and Oakleigh will knock of peninsula by a couple of goals.

streetball said:
Coach i think you are spot on the money...Aquinas,Ivanhoe, Werribee to get up by bout 5 goals against Salesian, St Johns to get a win and Oakleigh will knock of peninsula by a couple of goals.

I'll take Salesian over Werribee. Am not very impressed with what i've seen of Werribee. The others sound good to me

Coach Hollywood said:
Record Scribe has:
Tips anyone?
Your kidding yourself coach Williamstown will beat Ivanhoe Comfortably Ivanhoe are a poorly coached bunch of rabble.

Darren Black said:
Your kidding yourself coach Williamstown will beat Ivanhoe Comfortably Ivanhoe are a poorly coached bunch of rabble.

Given that Ivanhoe have won 2 games more than Willi, who are yet to notch a win, what makes them a "poorly coached bunch of rabble" and not Willi. Are they a well coached bunch of hard luck stories ? Or poorly coached bunch of good players, not good enough to win ?

HotShoeShuffle said:
Given that Ivanhoe have won 2 games more than Willi, who are yet to notch a win, what makes them a "poorly coached bunch of rabble" and not Willi. Are they a well coached bunch of hard luck stories ? Or poorly coached bunch of good players, not good enough to win ?
We will see come saturday when the final score line has williamstown infornt due to some poor moves from the coach. I have heard that he, a full forward has named himself on the ball this week as he feels he needs the fitness. He is more interested in looking after himself then the team. That is why they are a poorly coached. Willy are due for a win.