D2 Ammos

Emmaus were always going to improve as the season went on, but to go out and win at Werribee will give them a massive boost. watch out on the run home!

as for Werribee....are they going to do a repeat of last season after their strong start and fade out in the 2nd half of the year?

Emmaus were always going to improve as the season went on, but to go out and win at Werribee will give them a massive boost. watch out on the run home!

as for Werribee....are they going to do a repeat of last season after their strong start and fade out in the 2nd half of the year?

It was a very good win for us.

Werribee are very quick and came a little in the 2nd half so I'd suggest they wont fade too much. But 5 into 4 doesnt go so someone has to miss.

To the tools on this thread who predicted 12 goals, 10 goals thrashing and didnt rate Emmaus - learn some respect boys.

Also to the the bloke who said Cameron Lee was the best talent in D2 for a fair while - youve got to be kidding - he didnt get a sniff in the 1st 3 qtrs and prob gave away 6 free kicks through mouthing off.

Anyhow - I still think Werribee are a good side and we are pleased to take the 4 pts and head home after 3 away games.

No-one in the bottom 5 safe from relegation either - its a good comp.

Cheers

Yabbie Yabbie Yabbie, mate honestly 3 weeks ago you eluded to the coach being sacked down at tigerland and now you have lit the match to blow up the bomb. I would love to know your source on these chinese whispers. Mate i reckon this page must be great for you, a no talent never was posting rubbish in between cyber stalking some innocent lady. Any way , nutjob the tiges have some very and i mean very talented players that will become available in the next few weeks so while they may have been a bit off on Saturday there is a long way to go. So if i were you maybe hold off making anymore of your brilliant rants before the bomb blows up in your face.

Just wanted to comment on the spectators this week, or the lack of.
Apart from Emmaus, no team has brought a crowd with them to support the games. Salesian didn't have anyone present and it felt like a dead game. Even South Melbourne only had a handful of reserves players and faithful at a crunch game. Aquinas I know brought a huge support at Banyule and maybe outnumbered the Banyule supporters. I know it sounds like hardly an argument, but you would think that with this division so close and a huge fight for finals spots, a few supporters would follow their team. Its good for the home side with sales and its great support for the away team against opposition supporters with huge mouths - including ours!

Maybe the Aquinas ground is too far away, but look for the huge support for the Bloods at Werribee and South Melbourne, our biggest travels.

Just wanted to comment on the spectators this week, or the lack of.
Apart from Emmaus, no team has brought a crowd with them to support the games. Salesian didn't have anyone present and it felt like a dead game. Even South Melbourne only had a handful of reserves players and faithful at a crunch game. Aquinas I know brought a huge support at Banyule and maybe outnumbered the Banyule supporters. I know it sounds like hardly an argument, but you would think that with this division so close and a huge fight for finals spots, a few supporters would follow their team. Its good for the home side with sales and its great support for the away team against opposition supporters with huge mouths - including ours!

Maybe the Aquinas ground is too far away, but look for the huge support for the Bloods at Werribee and South Melbourne, our biggest travels.

BigBlood,
Aquinas had a fantastic crowd at the game on Saturday that were vocal and positive in their support. I've always thought that the "Old Boys" teams throughout the whole comp have had an advantage in pulling a crowd to their games as the network between parents and school friends remains tight and Saturday arvo at the footy remains a big part of peoples social lives.
While South had a few of our supporters there they were kept pretty quiet by the fact neither of our teams could get on top and to be honest didn't have much to cheer about.
At the end of the day I thought the Aquinas crowd were probably worth a couple of goals, something our own supporters provide when we are at home. Hopefully the crowd enjoyed an entertaining day as I thought the first half was an outstanding standard of footy before Aquinas shifted up a gear and kicked ahead.
From all reports local footy crowds were up in all comps because no AFL games were played on Saturday.

BigBlood,
Aquinas had a fantastic crowd at the game on Saturday that were vocal and positive in their support. I've always thought that the "Old Boys" teams throughout the whole comp have had an advantage in pulling a crowd to their games as the network between parents and school friends remains tight and Saturday arvo at the footy remains a big part of peoples social lives.
While South had a few of our supporters there they were kept pretty quiet by the fact neither of our teams could get on top and to be honest didn't have much to cheer about.
At the end of the day I thought the Aquinas crowd were probably worth a couple of goals, something our own supporters provide when we are at home. Hopefully the crowd enjoyed an entertaining day as I thought the first half was an outstanding standard of footy before Aquinas shifted up a gear and kicked ahead.
From all reports local footy crowds were up in all comps because no AFL games were played on Saturday.

Harps

What are your thoughts on the Aquinas reserves side ? Who do you think is the better team in the seconds Werribee or Aquinas ?

Cheers,
RFS

Harps

What are your thoughts on the Aquinas reserves side ? Who do you think is the better team in the seconds Werribee or Aquinas ?

Cheers,
RFS

Good question above.

Now Aquinas over Sth Melb was a big result over the round.

Could anyone elaborate whether:

Aquinas put their best 4 quarters together or SMD were off their game/missing a few.

It was a big margin for such a tight comp.

Finally - from a SMD point of view would you carry any doubts from this game into your last round match return fixture??

Finally Banyule did the job well against Glen Eira - 6 goal margin again is pretty big. Its tight at the top and bottom!

Harps

Cheers,
RFS

G'day Sloth,

Aquinas' 2's were very well drilled, very fit and made us look soft on Saturday. There is a lot to like about their game style and the their coaching staff (3-4 of them) got the best out of a hungry unit.

Who is better? I'll choose to sit on the fence here mate as both clubs are very strong and I'd rather not give them anymore ammo than they already have.

See you again in a few weeks.

Very good win by the undermanned St Leos boys on the weekend, against a young, quick Werribee side. We are going along nicely, however I will be humble in victory.

I don't think there is any need to respond the the below quotes?:D

leos wont play in the granny they struggled to beat GE WHO ARE YET TO FIELD THERE BEST TEAM and had about 5/6 2's in the side,werribee should have a big win at home,and im predicting the bees 2's to win by at least 12 goals,leos 2's struggled against GE and only got up by 3 points now thats saying something.

gifted i can assure u that werribee do not rate leos..

G'day Sloth,

Aquinas' 2's were very well drilled, very fit and made us look soft on Saturday. There is a lot to like about their game style and the their coaching staff (3-4 of them) got the best out of a hungry unit.

Who is better? I'll choose to sit on the fence here mate as both clubs are very strong and I'd rather not give them anymore ammo than they already have.

See you again in a few weeks.

Harps did u guys have a few missin in the twos game as u didnt seem to have a full bench?? must say considering the scoreboard being so one sided ur boys didnt resort to any rubbish that some sides resort to when theyre down by that much.. played in good spirit... just a quick comment about the umpiring if any1 comes up again south 2s do not swear when on the field, even if its to urself or under ur breath, if the umpire hears it ur off the ground.. just a warning...

Also Harps must say the 1st half of the seniors is one of the best contested games i have seen all year with both teams going hard at it and even though the end result looked one sided, if both teams keep up that sort of pressure for 4 quarters throughout the year i have a feeling both sides will do very well!!

Very good win by the undermanned St Leos boys on the weekend, against a young, quick Werribee side. We are going along nicely, however I will be humble in victory.

I don't think there is any need to respond the the below quotes?:D

Good from you Kibe!!:thumbsu:

I guess the 12 goal hiding will come out at Bennettswood in Round 18 as the Bees took us way too lightly given they dont rate us etc....

All games big this week again - every side still playing for finals or D2 safety.

Banyule with limited reps on this forum are still doing well also.

Harps did u guys have a few missin in the twos game as u didnt seem to have a full bench?? must say considering the scoreboard being so one sided ur boys didnt resort to any rubbish that some sides resort to when theyre down by that much.. played in good spirit... just a quick comment about the umpiring if any1 comes up again south 2s do not swear when on the field, even if its to urself or under ur breath, if the umpire hears it ur off the ground.. just a warning...

Also Harps must say the 1st half of the seniors is one of the best contested games i have seen all year with both teams going hard at it and even though the end result looked one sided, if both teams keep up that sort of pressure for 4 quarters throughout the year i have a feeling both sides will do very well!!

Unfortunately in the 2's on Saturday we were very disorganised before the game for which I will take SOME of the heat (a plan that backfired and will never be repeated). I'm still waiting to hear from a couple of guys who were no-shows.
Also I was well and truly beaten in the coaching battle as I was forced to put myself down back on number 10 who then set about ruining my playing game by getting way more of it than I usually like. As a first year coach my coaching and playing suffer when I'm forced to do both.(I know, boo-hoo)

I was very impressed with the way our boys kept trying till the final siren and didn't start any rubbish and I'm glad you noticed and mentioned it, as I said to Javo earlier in the year after the Werribee game we will bounce back and provide a much tighter contest 2nd time around.

Playing/Coach - very good Harper!

Winning is fun so Im looking at Round 10 already

Match of the Round

Banyule at Sth Melb

You would have to go with SMD - did I read correctly they havent had a home loss since 2005?? Amazing. However if Banyule gets the points its squashes the top even more. Tough one but SMD by 30 pts

Bentleigh at St Johns

A must-win for both but St Johns cant let a home game go without the points. It will be hard fought but I just lean towards the JOCS by 2 goals

Aquinas at Salesian

Aquinas playing their best game of the year on Saturday. It might be close for a while with last week's win giving Salesian some life, but Aquinas to do enough - 5 goal win

Werribee at Glen Eira

A pumped up Werribee this week for sure against a hard-to-read GE. The Saints pushed us massively in their last home game. Really really hard to call. The Bees might have a few more goal kickers but nothing in this.

Willy @ Emmaus St Leos

Willy led us for 3 qtrs plus 3 weeks back, and have won their last 2 to move to 6th with a great percentage for a 3-6 side. Hopefully we match their midfield run and get ourselves a home win by a couple of goals.

Hopefully Jonno Healey tips against us for the 4th week in a row too!

Cheers

Drifter

Unfortunately in the 2's on Saturday we were very disorganised before the game for which I will take SOME of the heat (a plan that backfired and will never be repeated). I'm still waiting to hear from a couple of guys who were no-shows.
Also I was well and truly beaten in the coaching battle as I was forced to put myself down back on number 10 who then set about ruining my playing game by getting way more of it than I usually like. As a first year coach my coaching and playing suffer when I'm forced to do both.(I know, boo-hoo)

I was very impressed with the way our boys kept trying till the final siren and didn't start any rubbish and I'm glad you noticed and mentioned it, as I said to Javo earlier in the year after the Werribee game we will bounce back and provide a much tighter contest 2nd time around.

Very true on all counts harp. Its very dissapointing to see the lack of numbers for away games in the 2's. Dont know what the reason is but it needs to be addressed. We could have 2 strong teams but a handfull of people refuse to travel.
Onto the seniors game, Aquinas is the best side i have seen this year, willing to run in numbers and very clever with their switches. They dont all run to the the ball they zone off and very well drilled. We are looking forward to playing them again but have important matches coming up. A loss isnt always the worst thing that can happen to a team.

A loss isnt always the worst thing that can happen to a team.

Very true saints, as it seems like it took Aquinas' loss to Banyule the previous week to bring out their best footy. Banyule might get a bit of the same from a rebounding S.M.D this weekend!

Some massive tribunal appearances this week - can anyone shed any light on incidents?

Daniel Den Braber, Aquinas
Marc Lardo, Banyule
Christopher Sharp, Bentleigh
Joseph Hocking, South Melbourne Districts

Good question above.

Now Aquinas over Sth Melb was a big result over the round.

Could anyone elaborate whether:

Aquinas put their best 4 quarters together or SMD were off their game/missing a few.

It was a big margin for such a tight comp.

Finally - from a SMD point of view would you carry any doubts from this game into your last round match return fixture??

Finally Banyule did the job well against Glen Eira - 6 goal margin again is pretty big. Its tight at the top and bottom!

Maybe a bit of both. Aquinas were definately pumped up for the game, however South jumped them early and were the better team. Aquinas lifted and South dropped away with poor disposal and a second rate work ethic.

Looking at the fact that South had blokes who played both 2s and 1s games indicates we have a few out, but that's no excuse - Aquinas were a much better side on the day and played good hard footy. We needed that.

Maybe a bit of both. Aquinas were definately pumped up for the game, however South jumped them early and were the better team. Aquinas lifted and South dropped away with poor disposal and a second rate work ethic.

Looking at the fact that South had blokes who played both 2s and 1s games indicates we have a few out, but that's no excuse - Aquinas were a much better side on the day and played good hard footy. We needed that.

Fair report - I think both sides would be content turning 7-2

When guys are playing 2 games that is tough going too so thanks for update