D2 Ammos

Tips this week guys in my opinion thought i could get all 5 tips wrong :thumbsu:

Peninsula just against a resurgent ivanhoe by less than a kick.
Werribee by 2 goals Glen Eira although it could be a toss of the coin.
Salesian to win at home.
La Trobe to bounce back against St Johns.
Oakleigh to just get over an unlucky williamstown. Cheers :thumbsu:

Coach Hollywood said:
Blacky is definetly not the sharpest tool in the shed Sloth, or should I say "Balcky"? Anyone else got any tips for tomorrow?
HSS, Sloth & Streetball What do you guys think about tomorrow's matches?

Pirates - no contest
Werribee - will be a shocking game, someone has to win - or do they ?
Salesian - Aquinas will still be shellshocked
LaTrobe - St Johns are ordinary, lost 8 in a row
Oakleigh - Shootout : Mckenzie v Wheeler - Doug to kick 6

rightfoot_sloth said:
One thing Darren as a word of advice. Make sure you read your post before sending for everyone to read. Lack of spelling = lack of creditability.

Cheers,
RFS

Sloth, i think you will find it is credibility.................glass house maybe?

HotShoeShuffle said:
Sloth, i think you will find it is credibility.................glass house maybe?

Great work HSS I decided to come back and see what up roar my comments had made before. :thumbsu: :thumbsu:

As For you Slothy I think it is you who now has no credibility in this thread, you are going to need to redeem yourself as the great HSS has put you in your place, let's just hope you stay there.

Blacky has now become the official no.1 ticket holder to the HSS fan Club.

Round 11 results

Peninsula 21.12 d Ivanhoe 10.13
Glen Eira 14.11 d Werribee 14.10
Salesian 17.14 d Aquinas 7.10
St.Johns 11.9 d L /Uni 10.8
Oakleigh 12.12 d Williamstown 10.13

The big surprise for me was the Salesian versus Aquinas scoreline in both games.

rightfoot_sloth said:
Round 11 results

Peninsula 21.12 d Ivanhoe 10.13
Glen Eira 14.11 d Werribee 14.10
Salesian 17.14 d Aquinas 7.10
St.Johns 11.9 d L /Uni 10.8
Oakleigh 12.12 d Williamstown 10.13

The big surprise for me was the Salesian versus Aquinas scoreline in both games.

agreed RFS. Salesian is getting stronger every week from what a close mate at peninsula's 1's has been saying, especially with no 19s side, most of there kids stayed and are either playing 1's or 2's and ok. Salesian do have 3-4 kids that do go okay if cleared to play from there vfl club.

Having depth is probably a thing most teams struggle for at this stage but i had a look at the results and one aaron stevens played in the 2's this week along with some other seasoned 1's players.

RFS does your outlook to the final 4 change at all after the w/e's results ? I had peninsula and oakleigh to come top 2 followed by Aquinas then werribee, salesian to just miss out but now i mite have to change my top 4 and put salesian into running for a top 2 spot with glen eira playing brilliant footy against Werribee and Aquinas loosing in such a critcial game.

Coach/anyone what do we make of Aquinas? lost 2 in a row now after being rock solid at seasons start ? :thumbsu:

Aquinas would not want to drop their guard this week against St.Johns. I reckon they will defeat St.Johns but they wouldn't want to underestimate the boys from Doveton after they won on the weekend for first time in two months. Peninsula v Werribee will be a good game but I think Werribee might drop 2 in a row eventhough they did defeat Peninsula at Soliders. Its a long trip over the Westgate for the Tigers.

streetball said:
Coach/anyone what do we make of Aquinas? lost 2 in a row now after being rock solid at seasons start ? :thumbsu:

I wouldn't be getting off Aquinas just yet fellas, a few injuries from the game against us may not have helped either, but I'll wait to see how they fair against St Johns this week before writting them off.

As for Salesian we have them at home this week, so I'll give you my opinion on weather they are finals material or not next week.

Sloth, another close one for your boys. You must have been happy with that win? Williamstown this week should be another great match.

Sloth can you confirm that Werribee were 33 points up with 12 minutes to go, with Glen Eira kicking the last 5 to win by a point. Two losses by a point in the same year Old Glen Eira Coach Beddoe would not be happy.

Yes Fidel you are right on the money. GE did come back from a long way back to snatch the points in the end. It only further backs my earlier posts that D2 is the most even of the sections in VAFA this year. We will not be underestimating Williamstown as they have been very competitive in all of their games this year. Big game for the boys this week.

Fidel said:
Sloth can you confirm that Werribee were 33 points up with 12 minutes to go, with Glen Eira kicking the last 5 to win by a point. Two losses by a point in the same year Old Glen Eira Coach Beddoe would not be happy.

fidel,

i can confirm that werribee were up by 33 points half way through the last and got rolled by a bloody point AGAIN! had their meausre all day and thought young legs would carry through for the win but got steam rolled. the pairing of dyason and tsirogiannis out of the middle was absolutely brilliant to watch....even tho i was on the opposing team. lost two vital match ups in the forward line in the last quarter as well, which just quietly should not have been lost by the two werribee boys, sheedy and no.42 both bobbed up and kicked a couple each with their first two kicks of the game i think.

nevertheless a game which werribee should have won....i'd be mindful of glen eira in the next few weeks, come finals time they might be in with a shot....they could possibly snag 5 or 6 wins from their last 7 games.

streetball said:
agreed RFS. Salesian is getting stronger every week from what a close mate at peninsula's 1's has been saying, especially with no 19s side, most of there kids stayed and are either playing 1's or 2's and ok. Salesian do have 3-4 kids that do go okay if cleared to play from there vfl club.

Having depth is probably a thing most teams struggle for at this stage but i had a look at the results and one aaron stevens played in the 2's this week along with some other seasoned 1's players.

RFS does your outlook to the final 4 change at all after the w/e's results ? I had peninsula and oakleigh to come top 2 followed by Aquinas then werribee, salesian to just miss out but now i mite have to change my top 4 and put salesian into running for a top 2 spot with glen eira playing brilliant footy against Werribee and Aquinas loosing in such a critcial game.

As i've said before, Werribee are not flash. Losing from the position they were in will be very costly. I agree with your summation of Salesian. Very good team, and will play finals no doubt, not sure if they can win. As predicted, Aquinas were shellshocked and copped it fair and square. Peninsula won by 10 goals, but did not have it easy. Coach, your thoughts? Oakleigh keep rolling on, although it did look a close one there. St Johns first win in 9 games will come in handy for them, whereas La Trobe are major disappointments again. Look as though they might wallow in this grade for a few years more. Final 4, POBs, Oakleigh, Salesian and Aquinas.

HotShoeShuffle said:
Peninsula won by 10 goals, but did not have it easy. Coach, your thoughts? Final 4, POBs, Oakleigh, Salesian and Aquinas.

I'd have to agree with you there HSS, I think those 4 would be most likely to play finals.

As for my thoughts on Saturday's game, we should have won but we lost by 10. No excuses but I'll tell you what happenned. After we kicked the first goal of the last quarter and we're only 9 points down, we somehow had 9 goals in 15 minutes kicked against us. Similar to Aquinas problems last week, but on the other side of it this time was having no bench and a red card to add, which left us with 16 players for the last 10 minutes and rest is history.The scoreline wasn't flattering, but for 3 & 1/2 quarters we were probably on top, just need to put 4 quarters together which is why we are 3-8 but watch out Salesian next week if we do..

Coach Hollywood said:
I'd have to agree with you there HSS, I think those 4 would be most likely to play finals.

As for my thoughts on Saturday's game, we should have won but we lost by 10. No excuses but I'll tell you what happenned. After we kicked the first goal of the last quarter and we're only 9 points down, we somehow had 9 goals in 15 minutes kicked against us. Similar to Aquinas problems last week, but on the other side of it this time was having no bench and a red card to add, which left us with 16 players for the last 10 minutes and rest is history.The scoreline wasn't flattering, but for 3 & 1/2 quarters we were probably on top, just need to put 4 quarters together which is why we are 3-8 but watch out Salesian next week if we do..

I think your side has been quite impressive over the last few weeks coach and come friday my tips may even have your side as slight favourites on your home turf. :thumbsu:

tha man said:
fidel,

i can confirm that werribee were up by 33 points half way through the last and got rolled by a bloody point AGAIN! had their meausre all day and thought young legs would carry through for the win but got steam rolled. the pairing of dyason and tsirogiannis out of the middle was absolutely brilliant to watch....even tho i was on the opposing team. lost two vital match ups in the forward line in the last quarter as well, which just quietly should not have been lost by the two werribee boys, sheedy and no.42 both bobbed up and kicked a couple each with their first two kicks of the game i think.

nevertheless a game which werribee should have won....i'd be mindful of glen eira in the next few weeks, come finals time they might be in with a shot....they could possibly snag 5 or 6 wins from their last 7 games.

Another thing to note with Glen Eira is that they are expecting up to 8 players to come back into the senior side over the next 3 weeks. I know that everyone has their injuries at this time of the year, but winning games like last Saturday with 3 first gamers and some other raw kids adds strength to the mans comments. They have done it before too, about 4 years ago under Beddoe they were 1 and 8 before winning the last 9 just to miss the finals by 0.5%.

The man, what are your thoughts on the African kids??? Played well last Saturday IMO, were all involved in the last goal.

Joshieboy, are you the same Josh who played for GE's reserve side last week at CHF and sniped one of our players, mouthed off and imagined your possesions?

streetball said:
I think your side has been quite impressive over the last few weeks coach and come friday my tips may even have your side as slight favourites on your home turf. :thumbsu:

Thanks Streetball, the 3.7 in the 2nd quarter didn't help either, but that's football. We're all Looking forward to taking on Salesian this week.

joshieboy said:
but winning games like last Saturday with 3 first gamers and some other raw kids adds strength to the mans comments.

Guys, just interested in getting some feedback regarding this comment above? We had our 23rd Senior debut for the club on Saturday so far this season, are many other clubs in a similar position to this or is this a normal thing for Ammo's??

joshieboy said:
Another thing to note with Glen Eira is that they are expecting up to 8 players to come back into the senior side over the next 3 weeks. I know that everyone has their injuries at this time of the year, but winning games like last Saturday with 3 first gamers and some other raw kids adds strength to the mans comments. They have done it before too, about 4 years ago under Beddoe they were 1 and 8 before winning the last 9 just to miss the finals by 0.5%.

The man, what are your thoughts on the African kids??? Played well last Saturday IMO, were all involved in the last goal.

yes joshie you are not the only team around with injuries...or kids running around for that matter. as for the 8 players to come back, would i be right in saying that the only two worth anything would be bongo and massis?

as for the african kids...they seem to have a freakish ability to be able to find each other. i think the two that played out of the middle at different times number's 6 and 12 were the stand outs amongst the group.

i mentioned previously the pairing of dyason and tsirogiannis out the of the middle killed us but i neglected to add no.4 diamond as well. he was in just about everything.

Fidel said:
Joshieboy, are you the same Josh who played for GE's reserve side last week at CHF and sniped one of our players, mouthed off and imagined your possesions?

Ahhh hello again Fidel. You must be the nude nut playing behind the play and if I can recall did you fair share of mouthing off in that game.

I would have sniped you too, but you wouldn't go in any packs!!!!

Strike One Joshieboy, I have hair and who are you calling a nude nut from what I remember you dont have too much hair left either. Still clinging on to those few strands left on top, shave it all off and accept you baldness.

joshieboy said:
Ahhh hello again Fidel. You must be the nude nut playing behind the play and if I can recall did you fair share of mouthing off in that game.
I would have sniped you too, but you wouldn't go in any packs!!!!

Good Work boys, love to hear a bit of sledging going on in the Ammo's, hasn't been much off it compared to the DVFL I'd have to admit.

Joshieboy, not up to playing seniors mate? I'd like to see how tough you are up with the big boys, anyone can snipe in the D2 reserves half them don't even want the ball.

HSS, still haven't seen your team on the D2 team of the year thread? Have you seen many games in D2 this year?

Coach Hollywood said:
Good Work boys, love to hear a bit of sledging going on in the Ammo's, hasn't been much off it compared to the DVFL I'd have to admit.

Joshieboy, not up to playing seniors mate? I'd like to see how tough you are up with the big boys, anyone can snipe in the D2 reserves half them don't even want the ball.

HSS, still haven't seen your team on the D2 team of the year thread? Have you seen many games in D2 this year?

Here goes Coach.....

Hynes (Willi) Walker (StJ) Whitehead (Aq)
Bromley (Oak) Wilson (IA) Rees (POB)
Lee (WB) Whitten (WB) Tsirogiannis (GE)
Neilson (IA) Wheeler (Willi) Bobetic (S)
Mckenzie (O) Payze (POB) Pruscino (LaT)
Hunter (IA) Ludemann (LaT) Murphy (POB)

Hazell (S) Arnold(StJ) Madder (POB)