D2 Ammos

what do you guys make of the w/e results ? any other news in d2? havent been following the last week or so, would peninsula be the side to beat and who could be the smoky for this season ? :thumbsu:

streetball said:
what do you guys make of the w/e results ? any other news in d2? havent been following the last week or so, would peninsula be the side to beat and who could be the smoky for this season ? :thumbsu:

Good to see your back in town streetball, it's been a few weeks. Peninsula would definetly be flag favourites which hasn't changed since round 1 from my point of view. Aquinas and Oakleigh look like the one's to play them in the GF. Not much news on the D2 front at present. Maybe a revisit to the team of the year could be an option now we are at the half way point guys? Possible comp medal winners? I know our ruckmen Hunter would be leading if we had of won more games. Smokey would be Salesian but I don't think there up to it yet?

Agreed Coach in that Salesian aren't up to it. Seem to struggle a bit when playing away from Bosco Street. Also how many wins do you reckon you will need for the Hoers to stay up in D2 ?

Coach Hollywood said:
Good to see your back in town streetball, it's been a few weeks. Peninsula would definetly be flag favourites which hasn't changed since round 1 from my point of view. Aquinas and Oakleigh look like the one's to play them in the GF. Not much news on the D2 front at present. Maybe a revisit to the team of the year could be an option now we are at the half way point guys? Possible comp medal winners? I know our ruckmen Hunter would be leading if we had of won more games. Smokey would be Salesian but I don't think there up to it yet?

yeah coach your spot on the money i reckon with aquinas and oakleigh probably the two that would challenge come september. I haven't been following last few weeks so wouldn't know who should be put in the team of the year or possible comp medal winners. Maybe you could put up your team of the year to date and then a few players from each club that could be in running for the medal ?

streetball said:
yeah coach your spot on the money i reckon with aquinas and oakleigh probably the two that would challenge come september. I haven't been following last few weeks so wouldn't know who should be put in the team of the year or possible comp medal winners. Maybe you could put up your team of the year to date and then a few players from each club that could be in running for the medal ?

Streetball, there is another forum for the team of the year. Maybe someone can have a go on there? Haven't heard from Lion Den in a while maybe he can have another crack 8 weeks later? As for Comp Medal, like I said Hunter (IA) would be up there, McKenzie (OAK) has kicked a few. Taylor (WIL) has a few best on's but not enough wins. Murphy (Pen) has been solid. Whitten (Wer) would be a chance. Maybe some us can let us know who would be leading the B&F at their club to give us a better Idea?

rightfoot_sloth said:
Agreed Coach in that Salesian aren't up to it. Seem to struggle a bit when playing away from Bosco Street. Also how many wins do you reckon you will need for the Hoers to stay up in D2 ?
What club are you from anyway Slothy? Do you think 6 games would be enough to stay up for the hoes because I doubt they will win another game this year.

Tips this week fellas?
Mine are Ivanhoe, Williamstown, La Trobe, Peninsula, Oakleigh.
A few roughies but let's see how I go? Anyone else got some tips?

Coach Hollywood said:
Tips this week fellas?
Mine are Ivanhoe, Williamstown, La Trobe, Peninsula, Oakleigh.
A few roughies but let's see how I go? Anyone else got some tips?

good work coach hollywood especially on that ivanhoe upset over aquinas, very pleasing result :thumbsu: . what do you make of Aquinas Coach ? They were rated as a top 4 side i think by most ? Who are there key players/the way the try and play eg from saturdays game etc ?

Peninsula and Oakleigh kept going along in a solid fashion.

However, a big surprise to most would have been salesian winning away ?Thoughts?

St Johns were pretty ordinary i think too.

streetball said:
good work coach hollywood especially on that ivanhoe upset over aquinas, very pleasing result :thumbsu: . what do you make of Aquinas Coach ? They were rated as a top 4 side i think by most ? Who are there key players/the way the try and play eg from saturdays game etc ?

Peninsula and Oakleigh kept going along in a solid fashion.

However, a big surprise to most would have been salesian winning away ?Thoughts?

St Johns were pretty ordinary i think too.

Agreed I was very surprised that the Hoers got over the line against Aquinas. What were the conditions like at Aquinas Coach ? With St.Johns getting beaten by Willi so easily are they a possiblity to be relegated back to D3 ?

rightfoot_sloth said:
Agreed I was very surprised that the Hoers got over the line against Aquinas. What were the conditions like at Aquinas Coach ? With St.Johns getting beaten by Willi so easily are they a possiblity to be relegated back to D3 ?

Where should I start?
Blackie, good to see you've now shut up. No more wins hey?

Sloth, you still haven't answered the question of what club you follow in D2? Who is it? I guessed Willi back at the start of the year, but it could be La Trobe?

Streetball, Aquinas should make finals still, as they were a bit unlucky with a few injuries and never got into the game as we jumped them early.
I think the injuries came from our wanting the ball more compared to the last few games that's all the difference was. I can't give away games plans etc on this forum, that wouldn't be very fair to Aquinas would it??
Not to mention very unsportsmen like.

Sloth, The ground wasn't as bad as others have mentioned on this forum, although the wind was quite difficult to adjust too. St Johns won there first 3 games and have'nt won since, so yes they would be looking at relegation on that form.

Coach - I actually shoke your hand after a game in the first half of the season and referred to you by your poster name. I suppose that fact you just snuck home with a one point win might be a reason why you don't remember me. Anyway I will catch you for a cold beverage in a few weeks. Well done on your effort out in Ringwood.

Coach Hollywood said:
Where should I start?

Sloth, you still haven't answered the question of what club you follow in D2? Who is it? I guessed Willi back at the start of the year, but it could be La Trobe?

Streetball, Aquinas should make finals still, as they were a bit unlucky with a few injuries and never got into the game as we jumped them early.
I think the injuries came from our wanting the ball more compared to the last few games that's all the difference was. I can't give away games plans etc on this forum, that wouldn't be very fair to Aquinas would it??

Sloth, The ground wasn't as bad as others have mentioned on this forum, although the wind was quite difficult to adjust too. St Johns won there first 3 games and have'nt won since, so yes they would be looking at relegation on that form.

Coach Hollywood said:
Where should I start?

Super effort from your boys Coach, well done. After hearing of a team pulling the pin at half time on Saturday due to injuries, I pose this one to you coach.........should you be on the end of 9 "severe" injuries prior to halftime, and have only 13 fully fit players, do you continue? Or do you throw in the towel, tuck into a hot dog and few cans?

HotShoeShuffle said:
Super effort from your boys Coach, well done. After hearing of a team pulling the pin at half time on Saturday due to injuries, I pose this one to you coach.........should you be on the end of 9 "severe" injuries prior to halftime, and have only 13 fully fit players, do you continue? Or do you throw in the towel, tuck into a hot dog and few cans?

Who pulled the pin on the weekend?

hansie said:
Who pulled the pin on the weekend?

Yeah Good Question Hansie, who was that team Shuffle? I don't believe Aquinas where that bad off, as I heard they had 4 injuries by half time leaving no bench and there website reported the same amount of injuries.
They had 18 on the field at all times, but they lost there coach and and a tall which are keys to there team, so those losses wouldn't of helped.

rightfoot_sloth said:
Coach - I actually shoke your hand after a game in the first half of the season and referred to you by your poster name. I suppose that fact you just snuck home with a one point win might be a reason why you don't remember me. Anyway I will catch you for a cold beverage in a few weeks. Well done on your effort out in Ringwood.

Sloth, Look forward to it mate. Lot's of people call me Coach Hollywood so I wouldn't have caught on to your subtle hint, but I would have been concentrating more on the the relief of getting over the line like you said.
It sould be ripper over at your ground later on, looking forward to it.
How is the ground by the way? Never been there before so how is it looking? Anyone else wish to comment on Glen Eira's ground??

HotShoeShuffle said:
I believe it was East Keilor in the EDFL

So it was - just been reading EDFL thread about it. Bad form on their part, that sounds like junior stuff. Surely 9 blokes couldn't have all been hurt to the point that they couldn't sit in pockets, at FF etc...

HotShoeShuffle said:

HSS, It was a great effort by the boys and we'll need to back it up this week and try to take down Peninsula, aparently they flogged us at our ground last year and a few of the boys are out for some payback.

Should any team loose 9 players regardless of them being able to walk or what the injuries were, you never give up in a game. I don't know who should be more assamed? the 13 players who quit? the 9 players who refused to go back out there aftyer being injured? or the club for letting that happen? that's a question you could maybe answer HSS??

I also think it would be worth having a look at extending the bench to 6? Gives more players an opportunity to experience a higher level of football and covers you for injuries. I think some leagues have 6 at least in the reserves at present? HSS, didn't the DVFL bring in 6 for the reserves this year?

Coach Hollywood said:
HSS, It was a great effort by the boys and we'll need to back it up this week and try to take down Peninsula, aparently they flogged us at our ground last year and a few of the boys are out for some payback.

Should any team loose 9 players regardless of them being able to walk or what the injuries were, you never give up in a game. I don't know who should be more assamed? the 13 players who quit? the 9 players who refused to go back out there aftyer being injured? or the club for letting that happen? that's a question you could maybe answer HSS??

I also think it would be worth having a look at extending the bench to 6? Gives more players an opportunity to experience a higher level of football and covers you for injuries. I think some leagues have 6 at least in the reserves at present? HSS, didn't the DVFL bring in 6 for the reserves this year?

I believe they also touched you up earlier in the year didn't they ?

I agree that you should not quit.......what about the coach for letting the 9 players chuck it in? Surely there is a bit of responsibility lying with the coach ? If i was on that clubs committee i would be deeply embarrassed

I believe the DV has done this for the twos, not sure of its impact. Maybe you could do this in the twos, but not ones. I think having 6 players on the bench is too many. How many blokes complain now about not getting enough game time ? Surely those 2 extra blokes would be better off running around in the twos, getting a full game under their belts???

HotShoeShuffle said:
I believe they also touched you up earlier in the year didn't they ?

I agree that you should not quit.......what about the coach for letting the 9 players chuck it in? Surely there is a bit of responsibility lying with the coach ? If i was on that clubs committee i would be deeply embarrassed

I believe the DV has done this for the twos, not sure of its impact. Maybe you could do this in the twos, but not ones. I think having 6 players on the bench is too many. How many blokes complain now about not getting enough game time ? Surely those 2 extra blokes would be better off running around in the twos, getting a full game under their belts???

Yeah 81 points, after being only 3 goals down at half time.

The coach would have to take responsibility for that chucking in of the towel. I wonder if their is a law for minimum players on the ground before a forfiet? I know in cricket some leagues have a minimum of 8 required to start the match.

Interesting argument with the 6 bench with plenty of pro's and con's for either choice, I think Athe FL will have to introduce this rule first before any other league goes with it. This will be sooner rather than later the way the pace of the game is going and the rotating of players. It's just a matter of time now, when will the AFL introduce it? not if?

Tips this week guys.

Hoers to knock off the other premiership favourite, 2 weeks in a row.
Glen Eira to upset Werribee- Sloth to get the boys up at home.
Aquinas to bounce back with finals on the line @ Salesian.
St Johns to break loosing streak @ home Vs La Trobe.
Oakleigh to holt Williamstowns resurgence.

Coach Hollywood said:
Tips this week guys.

Hoers to knock off the other premiership favourite, 2 weeks in a row.
Glen Eira to upset Werribee- Sloth to get the boys up at home.
Aquinas to bounce back with finals on the line @ Salesian.
St Johns to break loosing streak @ home Vs La Trobe.
Oakleigh to holt Williamstowns resurgence.

The Great Blacky is back boys only for this msg then I'll probably **** off for another couple of weeks as I have better stuff to do then sit around typing abusive msg's to you lot.

Coach Tool You are kidding yourself you got lucky last week and I can't see Ivanhoe beating Peninsula. Peninsula by 100 pts for me. :thumbsu:

Darren Black said:
The Great Balcky is back boys only for this msg then I'll probably **** off for another couple of weeks as I have better stuff to do then sit around typing abusive msg's to you lot.

Coach Tool You are kidding yourself you got lucky last week and I can't see Ivanhoe beating Peninsula. Peninsula by 100 pts for me. :thumbsu:

One thing Darren as a word of advice. Make sure you read your post before sending for everyone to read. Lack of spelling = lack of creditability.

Cheers,
RFS

Blacky is definetly not the sharpest tool in the shed Sloth, or should I say "Balcky"? Anyone else got any tips for tomorrow?
HSS, Sloth & Streetball What do you guys think about tomorrow's matches?

streetball said:
My mate said the ground is ordinary at best. Indeed RFS...it is probably the toughest road trip in football ;) (d2 section that is)

rightfoot sloth said:
Yeah Coach it will be a tough trip down the Nepean Highway to Mt.Eliza. But physically the conditions at Aquinas might test the fitness of your boys

Just looking through the thread and thought I'd bring up a few old quotes regarding the Aquinas road trip again? Do we still think it's the hardest trip 7 weeks on from these comments, especially after last weeks results? thoughts?