D2 D2 Section 2009

...........By the way good luck in your sub-standard rabble comp in 09. Wonder if the VAFA know the sort of money being thrown around down there????

Sounds like sour grapes to me! Blokes leaving a sinking ship and getting sniped after the fact by the remaining rats?
edfl..... ahh what a quality comp its become since poaching many players from other leagues!:rolleyes:

So I hear the D2 Scribe position is vacant at the moment for season 2009. Chump - any chance you will be tackling the job this year? you always have pretty good insights into most teams and know the comp fairly well.

G'day Akka,

No, I think I will sit on the Hoe park hill and see if a few of the young blokes want to listen to me tell stories of the good old days...... tucking the ball under the right wing as I took off from half back - very Ricky Barham like - leaving the mortals behind me in a spray of hoe park mud. :D

Unfortunately, work is very busy at the moment and as such I need to focus on the expanding girth, D2 big footy forum and the odd pearls of wisdom for the new young punks coming through the black & white nest.

I will however make a commitment to the VAFA to enjoy the food and beers the VAFA is putting on at the 'G' on Wednesday night. I have been asked to be the last minute replacement for Bucks as the guest speaker - if you miss it I can send you the DVD.

What about you Akka - hows tricks?

Chump.

Well done genius. Fact is one left to go to Sunbury to play with a cousin and his mate followed (his mate wont get a game in Sunburys two's). The Greenvale bloke has gone to play at a higher level.

Wasnt so much bagging the guys that went to your lovely D2 club, just giving a rundown of them positives and negatives. And truth be told we werent going to go anywhere with the attitude those blokes had ie. EDFL is too tough, so and so are recruiting, we just wanna win a flag and we dont care how terrible the standard of the comp is. The fact is they did the dirty on the club en masse. The only club they could go to together was an ammos club as the EDFL has anti-poaching rules in place to prevent this. Fact is a dog is a dog and these boys will fit right in.....

By the way good luck in your sub-standard rabble comp in 09. Wonder if the VAFA know the sort of money being thrown around down there????[/quot

You so exactly right buddy, therry actually used that lined when they approached the north coburg boys, come play in our sub standard comp boys for nothing.

They just jumped at the idea. Dont know why. But they seem to be enjoying themselves.

I think you should let go of the players mate, the term dog has been used enough on this site about them, lets just get back into footy talk and the season ahead. good luck to you boys this year once again.

someones cut hey sour grapes? they left the saints cause there going no where!! if there was a C Grade in the EDFL u would be playing in it next year! good luck therry this year

even better example, northern saints would be playing d4 if they were in the ammos..........

How did everyone go on the weekend praccy games?

I was not there but I hear Ivanhoe had some games against the Uni boys in D3. Both teams had many players unavailable unfortunately, but good hit out to blow a few cobwebs away - and played in great spirit. Also the Uni guys hung around for a BBQ and a few cold ones afterwards - good darts gents.

Seniors - Hoes by a point 7-17 to 8 -10
Res - hoes by a few goals.
Under 19's - Hoes V ??? Hoes comfortable in the end.

Chump.

How did everyone go on the weekend praccy games?

I was not there but I hear Ivanhoe had some games against the Uni boys in D3. Both teams had many players unavailable unfortunately, but good hit out to blow a few cobwebs away - and played in great spirit. Also the Uni guys hung around for a BBQ and a few cold ones afterwards - good darts gents.

Seniors - Hoes by a point 7-17 to 8 -10
Res - hoes by a few goals.
Under 19's - Hoes V ??? Hoes comfortable in the end.

Chump.

therry beat uni high week by 13 goals and reserves won by the same amount, but just a practise match.

Therry played south melbourne districts on the weekend and lost by a goal to them on rupos ground.

Looking forward to the real stuff.
Any other praccy match results?

even better example, northern saints would be playing d4 if they were in the ammos..........

Ease up mate! If the Saints are that bad, why work so hard to recruit so many of them. The sinking ship line is a bit over-used wouldn't you say. But we do know which creatures dessert sinking ships first.....

The fact is the Saints have recruited well to replace guys that obviously didnt want to be at the club anymore. Yes, it hurts but we move on. I guess the real problem many Northern Saints people have with it is the way in which they conducted themselves just prior to leaving.

I'm sure in time people down at Mutton will forgive some of them, but never all. Some were far more respectful than others.

Go Saints.

therry beat uni high week by 13 goals and reserves won by the same amount, but just a practise match.

Therry played south melbourne districts on the weekend and lost by a goal to them on rupos ground.

Old paradians lost by 6+goals to Mernda (NFL 2nd Div)

For those of you trying to compare leagues use our (mernda- 6th place in NFL Div 2 last year) practice match results as abit of an indicator!

We belted Wallan (riddle DFL) by 8+ goals
We were smashed by 15+ goals by Oak Park (just relegated down to B grade from Essendon DFL A Grade last year) they were awesome!
Then we beat OP quite comfortably on the weekend.

Does that help the discussion? :confused:

Old paradians lost by 6+goals to Mernda (NFL 2nd Div)

For those of you trying to compare leagues use our (mernda- 6th place in NFL Div 2 last year) practice match results as abit of an indicator!

We belted Wallan (riddle DFL) by 8+ goals
We were smashed by 15+ goals by Oak Park (just relegated down to B grade from Essendon DFL A Grade last year) they were awesome!
Then we beat OP quite comfortably on the weekend.

Does that help the discussion? :confused:

In your opinion how would these teams you mention compare to OW and Ivanhoe. Having played with the warriors in 07, these would be the only sides you are familiar with in D2 and were both 'thereabouts' last year.

G'day Akka,

No, I think I will sit on the Hoe park hill and see if a few of the young blokes want to listen to me tell stories of the good old days...... tucking the ball under the right wing as I took off from half back - very Ricky Barham like - leaving the mortals behind me in a spray of hoe park mud. :D

Unfortunately, work is very busy at the moment and as such I need to focus on the expanding girth, D2 big footy forum and the odd pearls of wisdom for the new young punks coming through the black & white nest.

I will however make a commitment to the VAFA to enjoy the food and beers the VAFA is putting on at the 'G' on Wednesday night. I have been asked to be the last minute replacement for Bucks as the guest speaker - if you miss it I can send you the DVD.

What about you Akka - hows tricks?

Chump.

Fair call Chump, I reckon you would be a perfect candidate though.

As for me, I am actually pulling on the boots again this year. Time will tell if that is a good decision. Just hoping I can stay injury free.

Hi Mysterydog, as Ivanhoe just got over the line against Uni High you'd say that Therry will comfortably have Ivanhoe's measure this year???

The game was hard fought in both grades and played in good spirits, although I thought we just beat Ivanhoe..

Therry was a very good side i thought, but then again im no expert. They used their handballs very well and had good skills. Also a fairly decent bunch of blokes.

Fair call Chump, I reckon you would be a perfect candidate though.

As for me, I am actually pulling on the boots again this year. Time will tell if that is a good decision. Just hoping I can stay injury free.

.......almost enough reason to do the job Akka ..... I would get a chance to give you heaps in print :D

Good luck with the year playing - I would love to as well - but the body was giving every indication that enough, was enough..........and my mates at the club were telling me it was getting embarrassing !!!

Chump.

In your opinion how would these teams you mention compare to OW and Ivanhoe. Having played with the warriors in 07, these would be the only sides you are familiar with in D2 and were both 'thereabouts' last year.

OW (and Hoes too probably) of 07 would smash Wallan and OP, but wouldnt get near Oak Park. Oak Park are an A grade quality team massive units who are fast, fit, strong, tall and well drilled.

I think that Mernda vs OW/Hoes of 07 would be a close game. But remember we were only considered 6th best side in Div 2 last year and that OW team was a VERY strong D3 team?!?! Only time will tell whether or not we are better than that this year.

But i would say NFL Div2 would = D1/D2 Ammos. Maybe almost C Grade for the top two?

NFL also a more physical comp??? Ammos abit more run and skill maybe? Hard for me cos I havent played against other NFL Div 2 teams yet!!

how are ow looking my old friend?

OW (and Hoes too probably) of 07 would smash Wallan and OP, but wouldnt get near Oak Park. Oak Park are an A grade quality team massive units who are fast, fit, strong, tall and well drilled.

I think that Mernda vs OW/Hoes of 07 would be a close game. But remember we were only considered 6th best side in Div 2 last year and that OW team was a VERY strong D3 team?!?! Only time will tell whether or not we are better than that this year.

But i would say NFL Div2 would = D1/D2 Ammos. Maybe almost C Grade for the top two?

NFL also a more physical comp??? Ammos abit more run and skill maybe? Hard for me cos I havent played against other NFL Div 2 teams yet!!

Not too bad mate. Few big losses, but some good recruits who should fill the holes left. We will have much more depth this year that is for sure. So I'm tipping our twos will be very good. I think the ones will be in the mix come finals time, depends on how much other teams have improved.

Nice wrap up B22 !! I would agree as I have mates who play for Macleod, Watsonia and a few scattered around other Divvy 2 teams.

Top - 4 ( D1 top teams)
4- 8 ( D1 - D2 mid range)
8-12 ( D2 lower range - D3)
rest (D3 - D4).

side note : A side like Willy who was in D3 last year would match it with 4-8 in Divvy 2 NFL ......as I would expect them to be pretty competitive in D2 this year.

More physical - NFL, More Skill - VAFA - this comes up a bit actually and is pretty hard to really agree or disagree with ( that sounds stupid).

I think having played and watched alot of VAFA and NFL that when you get two teams playing the this sport you get a good coverage of both in either comp. We have had alot of players come from NFL and been very, very skillful, yet not be ' stand out ' tough .......and vice versa.

Good luck at Mernda B22 - I played a bit of Cricket their many years ago - ( read Bradman era ) and had a great time.

Chump.

P.S. If you can get hold of P Harris from Wasty - give him one from me:p

Nice wrap up B22 !! I would agree as I have mates who play for Macleod, Watsonia and a few scattered around other Divvy 2 teams.

Top - 4 ( D1 top teams)
4- 8 ( D1 - D2 mid range)
8-12 ( D2 lower range - D3)
rest (D3 - D4).

side note : A side like Willy who was in D3 last year would match it with 4-8 in Divvy 2 NFL ......as I would expect them to be pretty competitive in D2 this year.

More physical - NFL, More Skill - VAFA - this comes up a bit actually and is pretty hard to really agree or disagree with ( that sounds stupid).

I think having played and watched alot of VAFA and NFL that when you get two teams playing the this sport you get a good coverage of both in either comp. We have had alot of players come from NFL and been very, very skillful, yet not be ' stand out ' tough .......and vice versa.

Good luck at Mernda B22 - I played a bit of Cricket their many years ago - ( read Bradman era ) and had a great time.

Chump.

P.S. If you can get hold of P Harris from Wasty - give him one from me:p

Agree with you there Chump. Thomastown and Macleod from last year would have been competetive in C grade. Whittlesea solid D1. The rest = lower D1 and below.

nah wamba not saying that at all, just more posted the results for anyone who was interested thats all. I am sure uni had a few out and may have had a stronger side against use, just as i am sure u guys had a few out.
And it is a practice match as well.
How are u guys looking this year, lost any>? picked up any?

Not too bad mate. Few big losses, but some good recruits who should fill the holes left. We will have much more depth this year that is for sure. So I'm tipping our twos will be very good. I think the ones will be in the mix come finals time, depends on how much other teams have improved.

akka I am new to this forum and you seem to know a little about D2 footy. In prevous years the promoted and relegated sides into this division have had varying levels of success with only South Districts good enough to win in their promoted year. This year the promoted sides and the relegated sides seem to be genuine chances, would you agree. The reason I ask is because I have been floating around the D1 thread and it seems that Werribee will win everything and probably play Geelong on that final Saturday in September in 2010. I am hoping that this will be a tight and entertaining comp.

Bit of interest in the Oakers this year. Oak Park are not an A Grade quality team. They simply emphasis the gap between A and B grade EDFL. They have a similar side to last year and got smashed every week. THis year they will smash teams.

nah wamba not saying that at all, just more posted the results for anyone who was interested thats all. I am sure uni had a few out and may have had a stronger side against use, just as i am sure u guys had a few out.
And it is a practice match as well.
How are u guys looking this year, lost any>? picked up any?

We've lost quite a few quality onballers/small types (probably 4 or 5 from last year including Brown, Jones, Lynacoln, Moussa) so our depth will be tested.

I haven't seen enough of the senior replacements to make a judgement and we have got lots of very talented kids and like every year someone improves out of sight from the year before.

I doubt very much if we'd be holding up the ladder but just how far we go up from there remains to be seen.

I'll be happy if we're thereabouts mid year as I suspect we'll get stonger as the year progresses and finish well.

akka I am new to this forum and you seem to know a little about D2 footy. In prevous years the promoted and relegated sides into this division have had varying levels of success with only South Districts good enough to win in their promoted year. This year the promoted sides and the relegated sides seem to be genuine chances, would you agree. The reason I ask is because I have been floating around the D1 thread and it seems that Werribee will win everything and probably play Geelong on that final Saturday in September in 2010. I am hoping that this will be a tight and entertaining comp.

I'd say Werribee will be very competitive in D1 but they'll miss Trent Lee terribly as he single handedly pulled them out of the proverbial about half a dozen times last year.

Sorry The Wamba, but I think Therry will comfortably have Ivanhoe's measure this year. Good luck for 2009 mate.