D2 D2 Section 2009

Sorry The Wamba, but I think Therry will comfortably have Ivanhoe's measure this year. Good luck for 2009 mate.

Thank Damo, you'd have to think so by the practice game results and your pickups! Best of luck to you too!!

We've lost quite a few quality onballers/small types (probably 4 or 5 from last year including Brown, Jones, Lynacoln, Moussa) so our depth will be tested.

I haven't seen enough of the senior replacements to make a judgement and we have got lots of very talented kids and like every year someone improves out of sight from the year before.

I doubt very much if we'd be holding up the ladder but just how far we go up from there remains to be seen.

I'll be happy if we're thereabouts mid year as I suspect we'll get stonger as the year progresses and finish well.

Gday Wamba
Looking forward to a good clash against you guys Rd1.
Has Ange Pace definitely gone? That will be a big loss as well you'd imagine, what is his replacement like?

Also how are Dutchy and Jimmy Collins travelling? Heard they towelled up the Uni High midfield?!

Cheers

Gday Wamba
Looking forward to a good clash against you guys Rd1.
Has Ange Pace definitely gone? That will be a big loss as well you'd imagine, what is his replacement like?

Also how are Dutchy and Jimmy Collins travelling? Heard they towelled up the Uni High midfield?!

Cheers

G'day V & C. Yep should be good to get the season underway against the Raiders.

Ang is not a definite out as far as I know. We'd obviously love to have him up and about and firing.

Having said that, we believe that it doesn't matter who's missing, someone else will come in and pick up the slack.

How about you guys?

Did you have a few missing from last Saturday???

How are you shaping up?

Jimmy & dutchy are both fit and ready to

G'day V & C. Yep should be good to get the season underway against the Raiders.

Ang is not a definite out as far as I know. We'd obviously love to have him up and about and firing.

Having said that, we believe that it doesn't matter who's missing, someone else will come in and pick up the slack.

How about you guys?

Did you have a few missing from last Saturday???

How are you shaping up?

Jimmy & dutchy are both fit and ready to

No doubt you guys will be competitive as always..

Had half a dozen or so out on Saturday, but that's been the case for all praccies if not more. With a few taking extended Easters I don't think we'll have our full side 'till Rd 2 or 3.

Having said that we should be competitive. No notable losses from last year but not many notable gains either, will be relying on the improvement of our young list under a new coach. Had a good hit out against Mernda who were a good, strong unit and should go well in the NFL this year, went down by about 5 goals. I'm confident we will improve this year.

Look forward to a couple of weeks!

Sorry The Wamba, but I think Therry will comfortably have Ivanhoe's measure this year. Good luck for 2009 mate.

You smashed us at Hoe park last year Damo ....so with the improvement in your list I may place a bet of 39+ points.

Therry will improve significantly - no doubt.

Wamba failed to mention some quality 'old blokes' who are not going around again ;)

Chump.

Wamba failed to mention some quality 'old blokes' who are not going around again ;)

Yep. Apologies to T O'Neill:D

Having said that we should be competitive. No notable losses from last year but not many notable gains either, will be relying on the improvement of our young list under a new coach. Had a good hit out against Mernda who were a good, strong unit and should go well in the NFL this year, went down by about 5 goals. I'm confident we will improve this year.

Look forward to a couple of weeks

It's always good when the local footy comes back!

Fact of the matter is mystery dog, that Therry are playing E Grade and lucky they aren't playing f grade this year. If that's what they have to do to win a flag, these blokes....then good luck to them.

akka I am new to this forum and you seem to know a little about D2 footy. In prevous years the promoted and relegated sides into this division have had varying levels of success with only South Districts good enough to win in their promoted year. This year the promoted sides and the relegated sides seem to be genuine chances, would you agree. The reason I ask is because I have been floating around the D1 thread and it seems that Werribee will win everything and probably play Geelong on that final Saturday in September in 2010. I am hoping that this will be a tight and entertaining comp.

Thanks for the compliment Legend but having been in D2 for only the one year, my knowledge is pretty limited. I agree that Willy and Peninsula are big chances this year. Yarra Valley and Eltham not quite as strong but may surprise.

D2 this year may be one of the most competitive divisions of the VAFA. All teams have a chance at making finals. Very hard to pick who will get promoted and moreso who will get relegated.

EDFL Bloke, u guys are desperate to even keep your club alive. "The Northern Saints Football Club is constantly seeking players, supporters, volunteers and sponsors for all age groups." (as read on your own site!)
Therry is striving with a seniors, ressies, 3rds, under 19s and under 18s, and mate, we've got too many players.
So focus on getting a team together first, and then we'll discuss whos in what league, because, if my memory serves me right, EDFL has 2 leagues, and u guys are in the bottom league.

BM SPORTS AFL CLINIC
Hi all, just to let all parents know that BM Sports have rescheduled there AFL clinic to the 16th and 17th of Friday, from 8:30am to 3:00pm at Soldiers Reserve Werribee for children aged 7 to 13. Due to the change of dates and any inconvenience caused, we have reduced the normal price of $80 a day or $140 for the two days to $50 a day or $90 for the two days. It includes skill training, morning tea, drinks plus specialised training by senior Werribee FC players including Rob Castello and Dom Gleeson over both days. For more information call 0422 938 708 or 0434 949 159.

Fact of the matter is mystery dog, that Therry are playing E Grade and lucky they aren't playing f grade this year. If that's what they have to do to win a flag, these blokes....then good luck to them.

Aright buddy, you have had ur little time in the spot light now and told everyone what u think about therry and vafa. So on behalf of everyone in d2, why dont u f8ck of back the the edfl forum!
cheers!

Look out for Eltham to be a suprise packet this year!

Each year everybody under-estimates them, and time and time again they impress!!!!!

Look for their big ruckman number 19, Crooks to continue his dominance.

Go Turtles!!!!

Look out for Eltham to be a suprise packet this year!

Each year everybody under-estimates them, and time and time again they impress!!!!!

Look for their big ruckman number 19, Crooks to continue his dominance.

Go Turtles!!!!

every year you come on to big footy and write something stupid like this about the turtles moloney.

as i actually do play for the turtles, here is some advice for you. jog on...

I might as well have a crack at the finishing order for the year seeing as no-one else wants to stick their neck out and without really having any idea at this stage, my ladder is:

Peninsula
Therry
Banyule
Williamstown

Westbourne
Glen Eira
Parade
Eltham
Yarra Valley
and Ivanhoe in the position everyone picks us to finish each year:p

Reckon your top four will be close Wamba, with OW the only glaring omission!!!!!

Might as well do mine as well.

Peninsula
Therry
Banyule
OW

Willy CYMS
Ivanhoe
Eltham
Yarra Valley
Glen Eira
Paradians

B&F: S. Payze (Peninsula)
Goalkicking: J. Keem (Yarra Valley)

Reckon your top four will be close Wamba, with OW the onlt glaring omission!!!!!

Might as well do mine as well then. The League B&F 7 Goalkicking is worthwhile have a shot at as well.

Peninsula
Therry
Banyule
OW

Willy CYMS
Ivanhoe
Eltham
Yarra Valley
Glen Eira
Paradians

Sorry Akka about Westbourne; they're a fair chance but I just didn't want you boys being over confident this early!!!

I'll go for Corey Bannister in the goal kicking & Wong from Willy for the comp b&f.

You'll need to leave out Keem Akka as my mail is he's not playing (anyone from Yarra feel free to get on and correct me if that's not the case).

Reckon your top four will be close Wamba, with OW the only glaring omission!!!!!

Might as well do mine as well.

Peninsula
Therry
Banyule
OW

Willy CYMS
Ivanhoe
Eltham
Yarra Valley
Glen Eira
Paradians

Here we go !!

Banyule
Peninsular
Therry
OW

Willy
OP's
Eltham
G.E.
Yarra V
Hoes ..........I am with you Wamba :D

B&F - Akkadakka
Goal - C. Banno ( Therry )

Cheers, Chump.

I might as well have a crack at the finishing order for the year seeing as no-one else wants to stick their neck out and without really having any idea at this stage, my ladder is:

Peninsula
Therry
Banyule
Williamstown

Westbourne
Glen Eira
Parade
Eltham
Yarra Valley
and Ivanhoe in the position everyone picks us to finish each year:p

Pirates to romp it in on top all year. However, grand final yips?
Cant be bridesmaids for ever.

Williamstown had too much talent,depth and confidence (bordering on sheer arrogance at times) for D3.
Must go on and can.

Last seasons D2 - 7 & 8 to drop.

Eltham will be tested in D2 and will not make finals.
A massive jump in intensity over 2 sections in 2 years.

Can Therry arrest the slide? Dunno.

Can Glen Eira recruit and hold their ageing stars?

Yarra Valley are hard nuts.

Banyule had poor practice form but as above, hard nuts to crack.

Good luck to all and hope injury lists are small.

Dunno anything about any other teams in this competition so cant make a ladder but if Willy had alot of depth last year, I would think it would be ever stronger this year. They have added a club 18 side this year and have had lots of good quality young players just walk into the club.
As I have no idea of how good other teams will be I cant really judge but would think Willy are a big shot to make finals, and def push for D1 over the next 1 - 2 years.
Good luck for the year