D2 D2 Section 2009

Again this forum is pathetically quiet. With such an even comp this year you would think there would be plenty of banter. Could it be that clubs are enforcing the "no bigfooty" rule?? Time will tell I suppose.

Tips for Rd 3

Yarra Valley v Eltham. Interesting game this week. Both sides had big losses last week. Eltham had a very good Therry Penola, whilst Yarra Valley had an Ivanhoe side on the rebound. This could go either way, but I will go with Yarra Valley to register its first win on home turf for season 09. I think they may just run the Turtles off their legs. YV by 20 points.

Willy CYMS v Peninsula. Easily match of the round. Two undefeated sides going at it. I was very impressed with the Pirates two weeks ago, (and the big win against an improved Old Paradians enhances my opinion of them), but playing at home, and playing at the Fearon are two completely different things. If Willy can stop Payze they will be a chance, however I think the disciplined Peninsula side will get the chocolates here. Although I haven't seen CYMS, so I could be dead wrong. The Pirates by 11 points.

Ivanhoe v Glen Eira. On form you cannot tip GE. Ivanhoe had a very good win last week and will be keen to string a few in a row. I still rate Ivanhoe very highly and they should get the 4points without too much hassle here. Collins to kick a bag. Ivanhoe by 50 points.

Therry Penola v Old Westbourne. Another good match. Both teams are 1-1 coming into this. Both teams had great wins last week and would be looking forward this match. No Cam Lockwood for the warriors this time unfortunately. I expect this to be a much harder game. If we can keep Bannister to 4 or 5 I think we will win. Templeton to star for OW. The Warriors by 1 point.

Banyule v Old Paradians. Again, both teams are 1-1. The big question is will Carl Sage play? I think he will, but I rate the Banyule defence and I think they should be able to contain him. I think the Bears midfield of Braddy, French and also Shepherd when he gets up there will be too strong for OP. Banyule by 18 points.

Tough round of tipping……..will be happy to get 3/5 I think….

You're right Akka, very quiet on here. Really miss the StLeos and Werribee boys chatter!!!
My tips for this week:
OP over Banyule by 23 points
Penninsula over Willy by 15 points
Therry over OW by 27 points
Ivanhoe over GE by 7 points
YV over Eltham by 12 points
Good luck all!

Again this forum is pathetically quiet. With such an even comp this year you would think there would be plenty of banter. Could it be that clubs are enforcing the "no bigfooty" rule?? Time will tell I suppose.

I think you're right Akka. Maybe symptomatic of a lack of trust at those clubs????

On to the tips:
Banyule and Parade are very similar in structure. If Sage hurt a hammy then it would be a risk to play him after only one week. OP's in a thriller. 5pts

Willy are an even running side with decent skills. Can they cope with a bigger Peninsula team on a small ground? I think yes but not enough to get the points. Pirates by 15pts.

Therry play Westbourne. Have yet to see either this year. Therry have their old suspects and more this year while Westbourne still have class players to trouble any side. Despite Grant Connors tearing up the midfield & half-forward, Therry at home by 5 goals.

Hoes at home to Glen Eira. Ivanhoe were better last week but still have a way to go. Glen Eira have some good talls and a class group of midfielders and will be keen to bounce back. Hoes just by 9pts.

Yarra were a bit unlucky last week and the final score didn't do them justice while Eltham are an unknown quantity still to many in this comp. Eltham will be keen to bounce back and may be one of the only teams in the comp who will be comfortable finding their way home from Domeney Reserve in the dark. I think they'll have to do it as losers this week. Yarra by 3 goals at home.

Big round this week. Penninsula and Williamstown going head to head cant wait to see the results not gonna give a tip here but i was really impressed with the way Penninsula went about there game fast moving team with alot of numbers around the ball, they were always looking to feed back with plenty of runners and pressure down back was good solid team going to be hard to beat.

Another big one with Therry and Old Westbourne. At the start of the season Therry ranked very high on the finishing laddder and Old Westbourne Mid section this round is really going to be a tester for some sides as said previous both Therry and Old westbourne are 1-1 so there both gonna be itching for a win.

Cant wait to see how this weekend pans out.

You're right Akka, very quiet on here. Really miss the StLeos and Werribee boys chatter!!!
My tips for this week:
OP over Banyule by 23 points
Penninsula over Willy by 15 points
Therry over OW by 27 points
Ivanhoe over GE by 7 points
YV over Eltham by 12 points
Good luck all!

Hey Eddie. Is this your first comment for the season? About time you had something to say. :)
By the way, I like your tips so I'm gonna agree with them.
Tipping a tough physical contest at Hoe Park against the big bodies of GE. Hopefully the Hoes continue on with their good form from last week. O'Dwyer will need to be stopped if GE are to have any chance.

Couldn't agree more with Akka and the rest of you boys, lets get this forum crunk! not enough boys willing to put there word on the line or just have a say, come on lads.

Anyway as for this week i defanitily think pirates to win at home and it will be a real test of where Willy really are at.

Also must say OP look like a much much improved side and cannot wait to see the test they give us. My boys V Therry this week going to be a tough one but with another solid showing like last week should just get there. All other matches still not sure but will say in 24 hrs we should have rough ideas on how ladder will be looking for next 5 to 6 weeks anyway.

Once again, another fantastic game of footy at the Fearon. Willy looked gone for all money at half-time...30 points down and with no answers to the run and work-rate of the Pirates. The 8 goal third quarter saw a complete turn-around and the Cys recorded a stirring victory. My impression of Peninsula is that they have a few "bigger" blokes who will struggle to run out games on larger grounds let alone the confines of the Fearon. #10 (Southam?) was b.o.g. up until half-time and their key runner...he was tagged out of the game in the 2nd half. Could depth also be an issue for Peninsula: there was very little in the 2's to be enthused about?
Interesting to note that not too many on this thread tipped Willy. As I have said previously...we will be tough to beat at home.

No doubt Willy are making the early running and Therry had a very impressive win against Westbourne.

Peninsula are right up there and the rest of the field are pretty close.

I think we're in for a pretty even and tight year as at this point there doesn't appear to be a clear standout up top or an absolute gimme down the bottom.

No doubt Willy are making the early running and Therry had a very impressive win against Westbourne.

Peninsula are right up there and the rest of the field are pretty close.

I think we're in for a pretty even and tight year as at this point there doesn't appear to be a clear standout up top or an absolute gimme down the bottom.

Agreed Wamba. It's all looking very tight. Wins on the board early will be very valuable when injuries (& possibly some wet weather) kick in around July.

Parade improved... do you mean the quality of bloke down there. Couldn't get much worse, keep in mind bundoora is a stone's throw from H. Heights... Ah Parade they are the biggest joke in ammo footy, rack off to Z3 OPs.

Hey Eddie. Is this your first comment for the season? About time you had something to say. :)
Hey B-L haven't been on here much I must admit, but certainly not my first comment for the year.

Seems this thread is slowly getting more active, lets hope it speeds up a lot more though. At least Dave K Panther is trying to stir things up, what did OP do to that guy???

So I didn't do too well with my tips on the weekend, 2/5, thankfully I got the Ivanhoe one right! But some interesting results, esp Willi knocking off Peninsula, nice comeback after half time. Any other tips Gasometer on how to beat the D1 boys? Looks like Willi may do the double promotion (& flags)!!! Yarra Valley must be thinking they have no luck, 1 point loss round 1, 2 point loss round 3, could easily be 2-1 instead of 0-3.

At this stage I reckon the top 3 look ominous, Willi, Therry & Peninsula and with Willi beating those other 2 already they must now be flag favourites. Wish it was friday already!!

Hey B-L haven't been on here much I must admit, but certainly not my first comment for the year.

Seems this thread is slowly getting more active, lets hope it speeds up a lot more though. At least Dave K Panther is trying to stir things up, what did OP do to that guy???

So I didn't do too well with my tips on the weekend, 2/5, thankfully I got the Ivanhoe one right! But some interesting results, esp Willi knocking off Peninsula, nice comeback after half time. Any other tips Gasometer on how to beat the D1 boys? Looks like Willi may do the double promotion (& flags)!!! Yarra Valley must be thinking they have no luck, 1 point loss round 1, 2 point loss round 3, could easily be 2-1 instead of 0-3.

At this stage I reckon the top 3 look ominous, Willi, Therry & Peninsula and with Willi beating those other 2 already they must now be flag favourites. Wish it was friday already!!

Agreed u would probably have to say that willi would be flag favs at the moment but they are yet to beat a good side on the road yet, with them beating both sides at home. time will tell but hey!
Big game this week therry vs peninsula down at mornington........

willi beats the side that every one thought was clearly the best and it is an upset dose that make the flag favs? who is this paul hudson from westbourne i looked back and he was playing 2's then to get a best on ground did westbourne lie down on the weekend or somthing? will banister kick the most goals out of all divsions because it looks like hes in some good form

willy have a fair few blokes resuming in the 2s who will be pushing for 1s selection in the next few weeks, so be afriad bring on div 1.

Very disappointing effort from our boys on Saturday. Game was very even up until half time, but the second half was all Therry unfortunately. A very flat second half from the Warriors, with several key players down on form. Take nothing away from TP though. They ran and linked well off halfback, and moved the ball quick so Bannister had a one-on-one in their forward line.

Will be very interesting to see how we respond this weekend.

And in regards to Willy getting better, seriously mate, all sides have players coming back. Its a long season, bit too early to start counting chickens.

willi beats the side that every one thought was clearly the best and it is an upset dose that make the flag favs? who is this paul hudson from westbourne i looked back and he was playing 2's then to get a best on ground did westbourne lie down on the weekend or somthing? will banister kick the most goals out of all divsions because it looks like hes in some good form

Who is this Paul hudson? Are you serious? He is a laydown for seinors every week, he started in the 2's for round 1 cause it was his first game back from injury in more than a year. Also we didnt lay down TP just had to much run in the 2nd half and bannister unstoppable

Would have to agree with a few of the boys that early top 3 look like TP, willy and penninsula. All will be hard to beat home and away.

Further agree that it is a very even comp this year for most other sides and will only be a thin line between finals footy and possible demotion.

Finally, to quote gasometer i think. I also agree that pirates lack depth, although my westbourne boys didnt get up in the 2's in rnd 1 it was defanitly the feeling in the change rooms it was one we could have won and that there seniors and 2's are worlds apart.

Im not too sure who this Sherlock007 clown is, but I can tell you the rest of the CY's clan isn't talking Division 1 at all. Hasn't been mentioned and wont be mentioned until we are actually in Division 1.

We understand we have played and beaten two teams that everyone regarded as the top two teams, but as someone else has mentioned, they were both at home. Ammo footy can be a funny game, we might get injuries, luck might go against us and there is still 15 games to go!

This week - CY's vs Eltham. As usual, against these 'people', it is going to be a tough, physical game and we are sure Eltham will come out fighting (literally)

Very disappointing effort from our boys on Saturday. Game was very even up until half time, but the second half was all Therry unfortunately. A very flat second half from the Warriors, with several key players down on form. Take nothing away from TP though. They ran and linked well off halfback, and moved the ball quick so Bannister had a one-on-one in their forward line.

Will be very interesting to see how we respond this weekend.

And in regards to Willy getting better, seriously mate, all sides have players coming back. Its a long season, bit too early to start counting chickens.

Don't think that you will have any issue in getting up for a game against us Akka !! Alot of great rivalry there in such a short time. Big, Big test for us out your way and always a tough team to beat at home ( and away for that matter).

I still think the hoes are a little off the pace at the moment and can lift the intensity a cog or two. I believe that there will be some very sore lads come Sunday afternoon. We are slowly improving as we get a few players back, but still not right on our game. BIG 4 points on offer for both teams.

Chump.

Don't think that you will have any issue in getting up for a game against us Akka !! Alot of great rivalry there in such a short time. Big, Big test for us out your way and always a tough team to beat at home ( and away for that matter).

I still think the hoes are a little off the pace at the moment and can lift the intensity a cog or two. I believe that there will be some very sore lads come Sunday afternoon. We are slowly improving as we get a few players back, but still not right on our game. BIG 4 points on offer for both teams.

Chump.

Agreed Chump, game has come at a good time, as intensity (among other things) was severely lacking last week. You guys beat us twice last year so we will be out for some payback I reckon!! Hopefully we can get our season back on track this week, as a loss sees us at 1-3....

any chance you will be donning the black and white for the big clash mate?

Who is this Paul hudson? Are you serious? He is a laydown for seinors every week, he started in the 2's for round 1 cause it was his first game back from injury in more than a year. Also we didnt lay down TP just had to much run in the 2nd half and bannister unstoppable

are you saying that westbourne are just not up to it if therry had to much run, this paul hudson were was he last year? seems like a one hit wounder

It looks like someone has an infatuation with Paul Hudson?!

It would be a fair assessment to say that on the day Westbourne were just not up to it against Therry however I am confident that we can match it with the top sides. Having said that I can understand why no one outside of Westbourne would have any reason to believe this statement going by the results so far.

At the end of the day it's a long year and it's only Round 3 so there's plenty of more football to be played!