D2 D2 Section 2009

Grant Connors is much like Chuck Norris, he does as he pleases and when he does decide to play, the mere mortals at Westbourne proudly run out alongside the great man.

Will he be playing this Saturday? No one ever really knows the answer but I like to think if the stars align correctly than we may see the big left foot having shots from fullback once more before jumping on a private jet back to Europe to fulfil his modelling contract.

Willy v Yarra - Willy to bounce back at home against a YV side desperate for a victory. The rain to help the big bodies of Yarra, but I think at home and with good, running small to medium size players that Willy to win - 23 points.

Hoes V Pirates - Interesting battle this one - although it looks all one way on paper for the away side. Head says the Pirates to win and win well - heart gets in the way again. Not sure of the Hoes line up - not at selection last night. Home side by a point.......I know, I know.....foolish man.

Therry v OP's - Therry at home and on fire - would be a nasty game to play this week. OP's were impressive round one, but as the season rolls on they are dropping off a little. Therry at home by a 37 point margin.

Bears v turtles - great win last week by the Turtels and in doing so must be respected. The bears did away with OP's in a nice fashion also and look to be getting a little better as the year rolls on. Bears - only because they are playing at home - 4 points.

OW v GE - OW enjoying some home games after starting the year with a few away games. Hopefully they will be on the good ground this week and I think will be too strong for GE. But if Alex T plays on and holds Hunter and Clarke can hold a few - the game may tighten up. Still OW for me - 23 points.

Good luck all - hopefully limited injuries and ' Let's get it on '

Chump.

Grant Connors is much like Chuck Norris, he does as he pleases and when he does decide to play, the mere mortals at Westbourne proudly run out alongside the great man.

Will he be playing this Saturday? No one ever really knows the answer but I like to think if the stars align correctly than we may see the big left foot having shots from fullback once more before jumping on a private jet back to Europe to fulfil his modelling contract.
He has to keep things under wraps. Could you imagine the traffic jams in Truganina if the word got out early that he was playing????

I think the Eltham v Willy rivalry has been fantastic for this forum, it's really great to see some passion & lively debate to spice things up on here.

I know with Westbourne there is probably a little bit of history with Ivanhoe due to playing off in the GF 2 years ago and coming up together.

Are there any rivalries or history between any other clubs in D2 this year?[/quote]

Speaking as an ex-Banyule player (years out of the game) there has never been any love lost between Banyule and Ivanhoe over the years.

I think due to their geographical closeness there has always been a great rivalry between these two. I can recall epic battles in B, C and D1 grades. One time there was almost fisticuffs between the Ivanhoe coach and the Banyule players. It was one of the best wins of the year if you could knock off your suburban rival on their own dung heap.

Speaking as an ex-Banyule player (years out of the game) there has never been any love lost between Banyule and Ivanhoe over the years.

I think due to their geographical closeness there has always been a great rivalry between these two. I can recall epic battles in B, C and D1 grades. One time there was almost fisticuffs between the Ivanhoe coach and the Banyule players. It was one of the best wins of the year if you could knock off your suburban rival on their own dung heap.

I agree there's a lot of feeling and is a BIG rivalry as far as we're concerned.

Always well worth the trip to watch the game when these two slug it out no matter where on the ladder or what grade.

Struggling to remember the Ivanhoe coach & the Banyule players????

Can you enlighten me Tails???

Wamba I can't recall the Ivanhoe coaches name (and it is probably close to 8 years ago) but he was a relatively young bloke who came across from the DVFL (possibly Heidelberg) with a pretty high reputation and took on a playing/coach role.

We had some fairly fiery 'old school types' at the time and one particular Banyule CHB (famous for his one hand throat nerve hold) had a run in with him the first time we played you at Banyule. In the return match at Ivanhoe, I think the coach had copped a suspension or was injured as he wasn't playing, the two of them got up close and personal at one stage when the ball went across the boundary line near the Ivanhoe bench and they tangled with each other. There were words spoken at the time between the two and not long after that it was half time. As the teams were coming off the ground they were at it again and there was almost an all in brawl.

As it happened close to all the spectators at the front of the pavillion (and due to the fact that as a rule we don't like each other) each teams supporters then started getting into each other as well. I can remember thinking at the time, geez we may need the boys in blue here soon. Lucky enough it was all sorted out without major incident but unfortunately for us I think you ended up getting us by a couple of goals.

Those were the days. I almost want to strap the boots on again after remembering that. Almost!

Wamba I can't recall the Ivanhoe coaches name (and it is probably close to 8 years ago) but he was a relatively young bloke who came across from the DVFL (possibly Heidelberg) with a pretty high reputation and took on a playing/coach role.

We had some fairly fiery 'old school types' at the time and one particular Banyule CHB (famous for his one hand throat nerve hold) had a run in with him the first time we played you at Banyule. In the return match at Ivanhoe, I think the coach had copped a suspension or was injured as he wasn't playing, the two of them got up close and personal at one stage when the ball went across the boundary line near the Ivanhoe bench and they tangled with each other. There were words spoken at the time between the two and not long after that it was half time. As the teams were coming off the ground they were at it again and there was almost an all in brawl.

I think you're referring to Brad hall & I do remember the centre-half back but his name escapes me. I can remember it getting heated and I remember it like you in that there were 'almost' brawls.

As it happened close to all the spectators at the front of the pavillion (and due to the fact that as a rule we don't like each other) each teams supporters then started getting into each other as well. I can remember thinking at the time, geez we may need the boys in blue here soon. Lucky enough it was all sorted out without major incident but unfortunately for us I think you ended up getting us by a couple of goals.

Those were the days. I almost want to strap the boots on again after remembering that. Almost! Yep they were good clashes & we did win that day but I think you guys had the last laugh that year if I remember correctly!!!

Those were the days. I almost want to strap the boots on again after remembering that. Almost!

The good old days....

His name (ivanhoe coach) is Brad Hall. He went on to play in numerous flags with Vermont. The Hoes got stiffed with Hall as he wasn't able to play straight away with them and had to sit out for a year. Under current ammo rules he would have been ready to go.

I think you're referring to Brad hall & I do remember the centre-half back but his name escapes me. I can remember it getting heated and I remember it like you in that there were 'almost' brawls.

Those were the days. I almost want to strap the boots on again after remembering that. Almost! Yep they were good clashes & we did win that day but I think you guys had the last laugh that year if I remember correctly!!!

His Name is Gavan Shaw . He was last seen marking the Buddy Franklin ton ball at the dome last year. I wasn't suprised that anyone at the dome was able to get the ball off him.

Well done Crazy!

The good old days....

His name (ivanhoe coach) is Brad Hall. He went on to play in numerous flags with Vermont. The Hoes got stiffed with Hall as he wasn't able to play straight away with them and had to sit out for a year. Under current ammo rules he would have been ready to go.

Two years actually Crazy. That hurt us badly.

I believe he's coaching Donvale these days!!!

Spot on boys it was Brad Hall and Gavin Shaw.

Yeah I saw Shawry with the "Buddy" 100 goal footy. Quite funny!

From memory we beat you guys in the Prelim that year didn't we? I think putting you guys out in straight sets? Sorry guys but we enjoyed that one. We then fell just short (6 points) against Old Camberwell in the GF when no one gaves us a chance.

Oh, I just got to jump in here........

Shawry had a rep as being a bouncer in his 'other job' and used to pick his mark a bit. No doubt he ran straight at it and used his imposing frame to put the wind up a few. He and Hally never did see eye to eye - Hally was 6'6 and as such he was gutted to be stiffed by the ammos. Made him stand out of footy for two years as a 24 year old - straight from a SANFL flag and 2 years at Melbourne. Got paid a packet to go to the Eagles in the EDFL and played in three flags - two best on ground......hurt us badly.

Anyway, after that game Shawry was stiring it up in the social rooms as all the boys, no matter what happened on the ground always had a BIG sip after each game. Wamba ( as a hoes Legend ) I believe you even stayed at Banyule long enough for their function one year.....:D

So, Shawry was liping it up in the rooms and he picked out the wrong bloke.....Ian 'Forcer' Forsyth called his bluff and walked up and asked if there was an issue. Thankfully cooler heads prevailed and big Dave Williams settled it all with a shout of 12 cans for all to enjoy and relax. Golden years.

Tails ......you din't get pinched in that prelim for a stray right to the side of the head did you......or are you a bit too old for that?

Straight sets yes - GRRRRR - history is a pain in the ass when things go the wrong way.

That being said the boys at hoe park were interested to see the current Banyule coach in conversation with the St Leos guys last year in the preliminary..........looks like the rivalry is B.I.T.

Chump.

P.S. Crazy I think you stiched me for 3 in 3 quarters that day until I had a run on the wing.....damn you :p

Shawry had a rep as being a bouncer in his 'other job' and used to pick his mark a bit. No doubt he ran straight at it and used his imposing frame to put the wind up a few. He and Hally never did see eye to eye - Hally was 6'6 and as such he was gutted to be stiffed by the ammos. Made him stand out of footy for two years as a 24 year old - straight from a SANFL flag and 2 years at Melbourne. Got paid a packet to go to the Eagles in the EDFL and played in three flags - two best on ground......hurt us badly.

Anyway, after that game Shawry was stiring it up in the social rooms as all the boys, no matter what happened on the ground always had a BIG sip after each game. Wamba ( as a hoes Legend ) I believe you even stayed at Banyule long enough for their function one year.....:D

So, Shawry was liping it up in the rooms and he picked out the wrong bloke.....Ian 'Forcer' Forsyth called his bluff and walked up and asked if there was an issue. Thankfully cooler heads prevailed and big Dave Williams settled it all with a shout of 12 cans for all to enjoy and relax. Golden years.

Tails ......you din't get pinched in that prelim for a stray right to the side of the head did you......or are you a bit too old for that?

Straight sets yes - GRRRRR - history is a pain in the ass when things go the wrong way.

That being said the boys at hoe park were interested to see the current Banyule coach in conversation with the St Leos guys last year in the preliminary..........looks like the rivalry is B.I.T.

Chump.

P.S. Crazy I think you stiched me for 3 in 3 quarters that day until I had a run on the wing.....damn you :p

I think "oldtimer" may have stiched you up. Crazy was on the side lines .

Chump.

Great recollection "Chump" you have it spot on and I don't disagree with a word you've said about Shawry.

As for the suspension in that Prelim, yes I am a bit old for that but you are still very close to the mark, it was a younger sibling of mine. He used to get a bit of white line fever that one.

I was Banyule team manager that year. Don't have much to do with them now but get down to see some games every now and again. Will try and get to the Banyule V Ivanhoe game coming up in a few weeks.

Cheers boys:thumbsu:

Chump.

It was 3 in 10 mins in the second quarter, Ahh! the memories. Chump if you're in the area over the next couple of weeks you can come and relive the 2001 final by watching the clubbies - Pigga, Willmore, Playfair, Hoota, etc

Having a great time - need a couple more 40+ players to run the wings!!:p

Took the long drive over Westgate to Old Westbourne. What a shambles.

Reserves. OW had no boundary umpire, Scoreboard changed at end of each quarter. No teamsheet submitted by halftime. GE umpire went looking for it after the game to sign and was told it was in the scoreboard on the other side of the ground. No umpires escort. No proper rubdown table supplied.

Seniors. The team manager had no idea. There were approximately 12 changes on the teamsheet. He came into the GE rooms 3 times to make more changes. Scoreboard was badly attended and wrong. It was a close game and could have been confusing in the last couple of minutes when the scoreboard showed a 3 point deficit when it was actually 8 points. The scoreboard attendant seemed to be in his own world reading instead of watching the game. No umpires escort.

Final straw incorrect scores posted

The joke
. Umpires tried to fine GE for not supplying an escort until they were correctly advised.

Similar things happen week in week out but rarely from district clubs.

No problem with the OW players who played a good tough game of footy.

It was 3 in 10 mins in the second quarter, Ahh! the memories. Chump if you're in the area over the next couple of weeks you can come and relive the 2001 final by watching the clubbies - Pigga, Willmore, Playfair, Hoota, etc

Having a great time - need a couple more 40+ players to run the wings!!:p

G'day Oldtimer .....and apologies to Crazy !! I thought you kicked 4 that day?

Might leave the clubbies to you boyz - but great news that some of the old heads are getting around and having a kick.

I enjoy being around the club, but watching is very hard to do after playing the game since age 7 .......not that long ago:rolleyes:. Had a run around in white on the weekend and found myself running into the hole to get a kick.....then quickly returned out to the wings to ....throw it back into play.

Chump.

G'day Oldtimer .....and apologies to Crazy !! I thought you kicked 4 that day?

Might leave the clubbies to you boyz - but great news that some of the old heads are getting around and having a kick.

I enjoy being around the club, but watching is very hard to do after playing the game since age 7 .......not that long ago:rolleyes:. Had a run around in white on the weekend and found myself running into the hole to get a kick.....then quickly returned out to the wings to ....throw it back into play.

Chump.

Only 3 on you though:D

See you in a few weeks at Hoe Park!!

Reserves. OW had no boundary umpire, Scoreboard changed at end of each quarter. No teamsheet submitted by halftime. GE umpire went looking for it after the game to sign and was told it was in the scoreboard on the other side of the ground. No umpires escort. No proper rubdown table supplied.

Seniors. The team manager had no idea. There were approximately 12 changes on the teamsheet. He came into the GE rooms 3 times to make more changes. Scoreboard was badly attended and wrong. It was a close game and could have been confusing in the last couple of minutes when the scoreboard showed a 3 point deficit when it was actually 8 points. The scoreboard attendant seemed to be in his own world reading instead of watching the game. No umpires escort.

The joke
. Umpires tried to fine GE for not supplying an escort until they were correctly advised.

Let's be honest, the things listed above are hardly newsworthy!

Actually on second thought I must admit the coffee I purchased from the canteen on the Saturday wasn't really warm and I specifically asked for 2 sugars which weren't provided! The cheese on my hot dog also had a lot to be desired and I wouldn't have minded checking the use by date!

On a more positive note Mr Grant Connors was able to grace us with his presence however due to contractual obligations only played the 2 quarters where we were kicking with the wind. He was able to slot a cool 4 goals one which he took from a kickout and would have to be the biggest torpedo I've ever seen in football history!

All other results seemed to go as predicted. Would Yarra Valley be one the sitffest sides yet to win a game having played most of the top sides as well as suffering some close defeats?

Greetings from OS. I believe Old Paradians were pretty impressive against the Flag favourites Therry. I have been told Old Paradians who were missing 6 of there best including Sage looked every bit as good and only went down narrowly.

OP were good but Therry had at least 5 walk up starts out as well

Let's be honest, the things listed above are hardly newsworthy!

Actually on second thought I must admit the coffee I purchased from the canteen on the Saturday wasn't really warm and I specifically asked for 2 sugars which weren't provided! The cheese on my hot dog also had a lot to be desired and I wouldn't have minded checking the use by date!

On a more positive note Mr Grant Connors was able to grace us with his presence however due to contractual obligations only played the 2 quarters where we were kicking with the wind. He was able to slot a cool 4 goals one which he took from a kickout and would have to be the biggest torpedo I've ever seen in football history!

All other results seemed to go as predicted. Would Yarra Valley be one the sitffest sides yet to win a game having played most of the top sides as well as suffering some close defeats?

Sorry mate frustration got the better of me!!!!!!!!!!!

The joke

Ok Phantom I'll bite.

Firstly as you would have noticed had you not been busy critiquing the club and facilities with your little checklist and clipboard, we had all 4 senior teams play at home on Saturday- the Club XVII and U19's on one oval, and Reserves and Seniors on the other.

All these teams require a great number of resources to operate effectively. In regards to personnel, we required; boundaries in all four games, field umpires in the twos and clubbies, goal umpires, scoreboard attendants, trainers, water boys, team managers, canteen staff, timekeepers, interchange stewards, and umpire escorts.

That puts the admin personnel up past 30 by my count? Now being a team manager in the past I can tell you its quite hard to find people to help out on game day, I can’t imagine how hard it would have been for the team managers on Saturday with so many spots to fill, and not enough people to fill them.

In regards to the team sheets, our team manager is only new to the job, and it takes a while to get used to it as a lot of people would attest to. No excuse for the scores however, they should have been put in on time, and correctly

I suggest you take all these things into account before you submit your extensive evaluation of our club.

Ok Phantom I'll bite.

Firstly as you would have noticed had you not been busy critiquing the club and facilities with your little checklist and clipboard, we had all 4 senior teams play at home on Saturday- the Club XVII and U19's on one oval, and Reserves and Seniors on the other.

All these teams require a great number of resources to operate effectively. In regards to personnel, we required; boundaries in all four games, field umpires in the twos and clubbies, goal umpires, scoreboard attendants, trainers, water boys, team managers, canteen staff, timekeepers, interchange stewards, and umpire escorts.

That puts the admin personnel up past 30 by my count? Now being a team manager in the past I can tell you its quite hard to find people to help out on game day, I can’t imagine how hard it would have been for the team managers on Saturday with so many spots to fill, and not enough people to fill them.

In regards to the team sheets, our team manager is only new to the job, and it takes a while to get used to it as a lot of people would attest to. No excuse for the scores however, they should have been put in on time, and correctly

I suggest you take all these things into account before you submit your extensive evaluation of our club.

What he said.

Ok Phantom I'll bite.

Maybe you should have spoken too the ammos when the fixture came out and suggested a change. Also there were heaps of guys standing around that were not players. This was not an extensive evaluation of your club but a disappointment when we have to travel from GE to mad max country and supply all our personnel.

Remember when you come to GE to observe the jumper clash. You overlooked that last year.

Some of these comments didn't only come from me but also the umpires who I believe fined you accordingly.