D2 Section 2010

Sanya - Totally agree, WAY to early to be splitting the ladder and it's almost a flip of the coin to pick winners at the moment!

I don't think there is going to be an easy game for anyone this year, any team can win on their day which makes for a great D2 in 2010.

In saying that i think we will have a decent understanding of where things are at after round 6 or 7.

Can verify the amount of injuries at GE. Must have upset one of the Gods.

Must be contageous. We ( Banyule ) have played 32 players through our seniors so far with 11 playing every game. A postive to this is you get to see more players play earlier in the year at senior level.
I think d2 will be a very good comp this year and it is far to early to be writing anyone off. Was very impressed with Harmit Singh from SMS on the weekend. he is as good as anyone going around in d2.

Good luck to all for the year.

was also at the ESL v bentleigh game. ESL shouldve won in both the 2s and 1s with both their sides coming home with the wind in last 1/4s. in the dying mins for bentleigh shane fergus who usually kicks goals from anywhere within 45m missed a snap from 15 out straight in front and moments later another player missed running into open goal when he kicked the ground!!! it was unbelievable. from then on the ball was stuck in ESLs forward line with several stopages but a winning score could not be registered. was a 5 goal wind so ESL going into the last only 1 goal down wouldve liked their chances but I think it says a lot about bentleigh. the bentleigh squad has depth as they showed last year winning both flags and both their sides are going to be there again it seems. I want to know about hunt who plays FF in their 2s. he's a big lad aged about 22 or 23, kicked 15 goals last week but why doesnt he get a call up to the 1s?

Can verify the amount of injuries at GE. Must have upset one of the Gods.

Must be contageous. We ( Banyule ) have played 32 players through our seniors so far with 11 playing every game. A postive to this is you get to see more players play earlier in the year at senior level.
I think d2 will be a very good comp this year and it is far to early to be writing anyone off. Was very impressed with Harmit Singh from SMS on the weekend. he is as good as anyone going around in d2.

Good luck to all for the year.

gods-must-be-crazy-cover.jpg

was also at the ESL v bentleigh game. ESL shouldve won in both the 2s and 1s with both their sides coming home with the wind in last 1/4s. in the dying mins for bentleigh shane fergus who usually kicks goals from anywhere within 45m missed a snap from 15 out straight in front and moments later another player missed running into open goal when he kicked the ground!!! it was unbelievable. from then on the ball was stuck in ESLs forward line with several stopages but a winning score could not be registered. was a 5 goal wind so ESL going into the last only 1 goal down wouldve liked their chances but I think it says a lot about bentleigh. the bentleigh squad has depth as they showed last year winning both flags and both their sides are going to be there again it seems. I want to know about hunt who plays FF in their 2s. he's a big lad aged about 22 or 23, kicked 15 goals last week but why doesnt he get a call up to the 1s?

Seems to be a good player, but I wouldn't take any form of playing Glen Eira's 2's, did they even have a full squad on the park against Benteigh?

A little bit of talk about about the Glen Eira injury list this week, so thought I would give a more insight

From Saturday we have the following to come back over the next few weeks

8 walk up senior players

4 Key position players in the reserves

Unfortunately 2 senior players did knees in pre season games and will miss the entire year.

Our 2's have had a troubled recent past, but I think things will get progressively better as the season goes on. Considering we have played 3 of the top 4 undefeated sides, are getting a number of players back as proven above and showed some good pre season form beating Mentonians and St Leos. Sure we may not be pushing for finals but will certainly improve from our 0-3 and 10% record.

Injuries injuries injuries who gives a flying F??

Every single team in Premier division, Premier B, Premier C, Division 1, Division 2, Division 3 and Division 4 has injuries. Yes some clubs are hit harder than others but you are never going to have a 100% fully fit list to pick from.

This is why it is important to have depth (at any level) and make sure when you have 4-5 blokes out the 4-5 blokes coming in

A - Have experience and have actually played some 1's footy before &
B - Are capable of holding down their spot when the injured players return. This puts pressure on every single senior player as they know they need to work hard.

Clubs that blame injuries when they loose simply don't have enough quality players or they have not played enough of their list in the 1's to give them the required exposure to 1's footy.

Also don’t go too hard on the GE Magoos - Despite the fact the club worked hard and recruited a substantial number of new players this year, they been missing in excess of 15 players for each of the first few rounds and a large lump of them are either Seniors or in contention for Senior selection.
So as these guys gradually return, the Magoos will certainly benefit from the influx of talent. I’m certain Bedds and the boys will give a good account of themselves very shortly to indicate how much they have improved since last year.

'Injuries injuries injuries who gives a flying F??....
Clubs that blame injuries when they loose simply don't have enough quality players or they have not played enough of their list in the 1's to give them the required exposure to 1's footy'

Gee sorry to upset your whole day "youlike", I wasn't blaming injuries at all. Just saying a few words of encouragement for the magoos.
You're dead right ,good teams, good clubs survive their injury problems and prosper.You should never blame injuries for a loss
I was simply saying that the blokes who have pulled the boots on for GE in the Magoos this year, despite being comprehensively belted in the first few weeks, can lhopefully look forward to some better times ahead in the next few weeks.
I'm a big rap for the Magoos at any level of footy..they're mostly the salt of the earth guys whose talent may not quite be god enough for a run in the 1's,but none the less they put in week in week out.

Given their miserable start to the year.. I was hoping to pump their tyres up a bit.

Sorry Sanya my comments were in no way directed at you personally mate it was just a general comment to try and shift the conversation away from injuries for a bit!

I’ll get cracking with my tips for this week.

Eltham V Glen Eira - should be a belter & I’ll go with the home team
Old Paradians V Bentleigh - I reckon the Bentleigh lads will get over the OP boys
Therry V ST Leos – St Leos in a close one
Banyule V Old Westbourne – By Plenty
Prahran V St Mary’s – Should win pretty comfortable

Round 4 Tips

Eltham
Old Paradians
Therry
Banyule
Prahran

Who do you think will get promoted / relegated ?
Who will win the league's goal kicking and comp medal ?

Just wanted to point out, on the weekend in our (Bentleigh's) game the umpire would not allow the kick-ins to take place until after the flags waved (as in applying the old rule). Quite simply I don't know how this can happen.. the ump didn't know the rules no matter how many times people told him, it's as simple as that.
Not having a go at him personally because it's not his fault if he hasn't been told of rule changes, but just wondering how it can happen that as an umpire he doesn't know the rule??

hunt for bentleigh will never play 1's he has no work rate, plays from behind, doesn't know how to handball, no left foot, and is as soft as they come!

Just wanted to point out, on the weekend in our (Bentleigh's) game the umpire would not allow the kick-ins to take place until after the flags waved (as in applying the old rule). Quite simply I don't know how this can happen.. the ump didn't know the rules no matter how many times people told him, it's as simple as that.
Not having a go at him personally because it's not his fault if he hasn't been told of rule changes, but just wondering how it can happen that as an umpire he doesn't know the rule??

In fairness to the St Leos 2s umpire, I think that was his first game as ump. The old rule has been around since Jesus was playing full back for Jeruselum so there might be a teething problem. Personally I thought he did a fantastic job officiating, completely unbiased:thumbsu:

Round 4 Tips

Eltham
Old Paradians
Therry
Banyule
Prahran

Who do you think will get promoted / relegated ?
Who will win the league's goal kicking and comp medal ?

Far to early for season end predictions.

Glen Eira to defeat Eltham. Eltham play their ground very well but I believe GE are a top 4 side.
Parade at home over Bentleigh. Parade have been a tad dissapointing thus far.
Therry over St Leo's. I expect to see the boys from Oak Park start to get on a bit of a roll after last weeks big win.
Banyule over Westbourne. Westbourne won both these encounters last year but the bears seem to have a very different line up.
Prahran by plenty over SMS.

In fairness to the St Leos 2s umpire, I think that was his first game as ump. The old rule has been around since Jesus was playing full back for Jeruselum so there might be a teething problem. Personally I thought he did a fantastic job officiating, completely unbiased:thumbsu:
Sorry if I didn't make it clear Snipe but I was talking about the 1s..

Here is a story on the Westbourne Warriors.

Click on the link if you are interested: http://www.thebanner.com.au/news/lo...ome-home-old-westbourne-warriors/1820993.aspx

Cheers, :D

The article reminds me of 2007 - 2008 at our club. In 07 we weren't allowed to on our ground at all (except game days) due to local council regulations & subjected to the back running track with no goal posts.

In 2008 much the same but only allowed on the oval on Thursdays. Needless to say our club didn't do all that well in those two years taking away a bit of home ground advantage.

It may sound like excuses in the article to an outsider looking in but I definately know where the Warriors coach is coming from

Some very interesting reading as I have been catching up on the past few weeks/months of this forum. Seems that a lot of people thought (as all do) that they have recruited well and expecting a big year ahead.

After 3 rounds some teams have certainly shown some good form and others are still finding there feet.

Bentleigh have been super impressive after winning the double in D3 last year, St mary's on the other hand are yet to get a win but notice from their results they have been playing some good footy in patches.

Prahran have cetrainly taken a number by surpise as a lot was unknown about them pre season and St Leo's have certainly shown that they will be their abouts and with more accurate kicking could have knocked off Bentleigh last week.

From all other reports Eltham are exceeding people's expectation and could really use that big home ground advantage, Old parade would seem to be the one that hasn't quite lived up to the hype but beware when they finally click. Glen Eira have been interesting to read about and can not wait to see them when they get there players back!

Most definetly wouldn't write Therry off just based on last year and also a good win last week where as interesting reading about Old Westbourne and their ground problems. Agree with Brett Connors that it is difficult to coach and set up a team if you are doing it on a tennis court, maybe lookout for the 2nd half of the year.

All in all just saying that it really does look like we have a great comp on our hands and can't wait to see how the season plays out. Each week that 4 points is going to be hotly contested and may just make the difference come August/September!

This Week:
Eltham - the big ground will run over the injuries
Parade - Bentleigh have had a big first 3 weeks
Therry - A toss of the coin job
Banyule - to big and strong
Prahran - will not be as easy as first thought

As for the league medal:
Andrews from Eltham
Brabender (if those old legs continue the /Boundy from Parade
Spink from Glen Eira
P.Barenello from St Leos

If their was a young player of the year:
Muster from Prahran
White from Bentleigh

Apologies to some others as haven't seen all teams yet!

good post backbreaker. The Parade camp have been very quiet since the season started. They seemed to be talking with the most confidence before the season started. Have they all been gagged from Bigfooty by their club?