D2 Section 2010

Sniper we have 2 grounds. At Banyule our 2's and 3's are equal sides. We don't treat them as 2's and 3's. As the thirds don't get to play in front of the seniors each week we thought it best that they play at 11.40am before the 1's on the main ground.

As we have 4 changerooms we thought it best that we don't have all clubs in the changerooms at half time, thus the decision to make the reserves start at 11.20am on the back ground. This way each side has the changerooms to themselves.

Next week the thirds will play at 11.20am on the background and the reserves will play normal time.

Hopefully you see the reasoning now!!!

We would love to have the thirds playing at 9.30am but can't due to Auskick.

I figured it must have been to allow for time on due to some bloke kicking bags of goals

No mate, it allows for the old bloke to slowly make his way back to changerooms after the game so he can get out in time for the ones.

Haysey back tomorrow, Barcs back after break. Good to see you getting a kick as well, interesting to see the goings on at the old club!!!

Ok now the moment you've all been waiting for the Guru's all important tips

1.Straight to the big one and I think that Banyule might have a bit too much fire power and will get over the line in a tight one.

2.Turtles are too strong at home.

3.In the upset of the round and because im contractually obliged to tip them, I think SMS will get over the line at OP in a close game

4. Therry in a thiller by 1 point

5. ESL to start there charge and win comfortably

So now you know the weekends results, I apolgise for spoiling it for everyone

Guru out!

Haysey back tomorrow, Barcs back after break. Good to see you getting a kick as well, interesting to see the goings on at the old club!!!

That should speed things up for the 2nd half of the year.

The old club is providing some interesting reading on this website. Dont think they have long

Tips for this week

Eltham v Westbourne - Eltham at home by 4 to 5 goals
Parade v St Mary's Sal - Parade to get the chockies in a close one.
Therry v Glen Eira - Who knows which GE will turn up. Somewhere between 1 goal and 12 goals.
Banyule v Bentleigh - Match of the round. Banyule...just.
Prahran V ESL - Prahrah to get up at home. 18 points.

As a very recently retired GE player, albeit not a senior player (this year) I'd love to see the Saints get up this week and really kick start their season but unfortunately it seams that for a few reasons they're unable to produce the consistancy needed.

Eltham v Westbourne - Eltham
Parade v SMS - Parade
Therry v Glen Eira - Therry
Banyule v Bentleigh - Banyule
Prahran V ESL - Prahrah

Old Eltham vs Old Westbourne
Old Paradians vs St Marys Salesian
Therry Penola vs Glen Eira
Banyule vs Bentleigh
Prahran vs Emmaus St Leos

All the home teams, mmmm, a bit dangerous !

I think the rains forecast for tomorrow could produce some low scoring games and so very close results, if not upsets!

Eltham v Westbourne - the kangaroo paddock is big and OW will need the legs to run out a solid 4 quarters in heavy conditions! Home team by a kick

Parade v SMS - who ever previously stated that Singh is the best player in the competition clearly is just going on a names bases! Great kick but I wouldn't have him in my top 10! Parade's bigs will be to strong, Boundy to have a day out! Parade by 8 goals

Therry v Glen Eira - Going for the upset here! GE have recruited a few and this is starting to show with their FF dominating. GE by 10 points

Banyule v Bentleigh - should be a cracker, looking forward to it!

Prahran V ESL - The animals are seeing some players return who have been caring injuries. Don't believe Prahran have enough talent to match up against the bigger bodies of ESL. The animals by 6 goals!

Good luck to all!

who ever previously stated that Singh is the best player in the competition clearly is just going on a names bases!

He must have something because his name keeps coming up but I must just catch him on his bad days.

Eltham will be to strong against Westbourne who have got back on track after a slow start.

Parade to get over SMS - As for Boundy having a day out - probably needs to, to show head quarters are justified with interleague selection. Sure they will be watching, ha!

Glen Eira seemed very unlucky to loose against Banyule last week and on that basis will get over the line.

Bentleigh have some very good old heads ably supported by the young up and comers, in saying that I think Banyule to get up in the game of the round.

Not game of the round but very important 4 points and I will go for Prahran over ESL at home. Battle of the D1 clubs from last season which results say the animals were 2 - 0 last season.

Good luck to all!

I think the rains forecast for tomorrow could produce some low scoring games and so very close results, if not upsets!

Eltham v Westbourne - the kangaroo paddock is big and OW will need the legs to run out a solid 4 quarters in heavy conditions! Home team by a kick

Parade v SMS - who ever previously stated that Singh is the best player in the competition clearly is just going on a names bases! Great kick but I wouldn't have him in my top 10! Parade's bigs will be to strong, Boundy to have a day out! Parade by 8 goals

Therry v Glen Eira - Going for the upset here! GE have recruited a few and this is starting to show with their FF dominating. GE by 10 points

Banyule v Bentleigh - should be a cracker, looking forward to it!

Prahran V ESL - The animals are seeing some players return who have been caring injuries. Don't believe Prahran have enough talent to match up against the bigger bodies of ESL. The animals by 6 goals!

Good luck to all!

I said that, I can only go on the teams we have played in the first 6 rounds. In those games he is the stand out of D2.

Eltham vs Old Westbourne- The turtles will be too strong on their big home ground. Westbourne will struggle with legs to run out the game. Turtles by 6 goals

Old Paradians vs St Marys Salesian- The centre square to play a part as Spithill will win the ruck contest and Singh to get bogged. Boundy to kick a bag. OPs by 8 goals

Therry Penola vs Glen Eira. Close game. Both teams have improved since the first few rounds. Therry to win on home soil by 3 goals if there is no wind.

Banyule vs Bentleigh. Game of the round. Hard to beat Bayule at home and Bentleigh to struggle with the physical and aggressive presence of Banyule. Bears by 4 goals

Prahran vs Emmaus St Leos. Hard one. St Leos to get their act together with their underperforming "stars and vafa reps". Prahan have only played one good game and that was a while ago. St leos to enjoy playing on a decent ground for a change. The animals by 4 goals

Eltham vs Old Westbourne- The turtles will be too strong on their big home ground. Westbourne will struggle with legs to run out the game. Turtles by 6 goals

Old Paradians vs St Marys Salesian- The centre square to play a part as Spithill will win the ruck contest and Singh to get bogged. Boundy to kick a bag. OPs by 8 goals

Therry Penola vs Glen Eira. Close game. Both teams have improved since the first few rounds. Therry to win on home soil by 3 goals if there is no wind.

Banyule vs Bentleigh. Game of the round. Hard to beat Bayule at home and Bentleigh to struggle with the physical and aggressive presence of Banyule. Bears by 4 goals

Prahran vs Emmaus St Leos. Hard one. St Leos to get their act together with their underperforming "stars and vafa reps". Prahan have only played one good game and that was a while ago. St leos to enjoy playing on a decent ground for a change. The animals by 4 goals

St Leo's will do it easy over Prahan ! They have some of the best players in the comp but will need more from some other's to take the pressure of. Well done to Ant Hickey who just keeps playing well.

I said that, I can only go on the teams we have played in the first 6 rounds. In those games he is the stand out of D2.

old timer you don't seem to mind this bloke..

In my opinion hash Brown is the best player in the comp at Banyule when fully fit :thumbsu:

Good luck to all sides.

Interesting results yesterday. Eltham drop a home game to westbourne who have now won 3 in a row. St marys got over parade with Singh booting 7. Relegation race is getting interesting. St leos finally got their act together.What has happened to Prahran? Therry moved into second place with a win over an unlucky GE. Banyule made a big statement with a massive win over bentleigh. Noticed a 12 goal second quarter from the bears . Any reports from the games?

I headed down early to the banyule v bentleigh match to catch the first of the 1 v 2's games to be shocked that they had been thrown on the back paddock. After talking to a Banyule volunteer it appears that the 3rds picked up a stink that they never get to play before the 1's so never get a crowd. If common sense prevailed they should of been told they can have the next home match as this was 1 v 2 in 1sts and 2nds so sorry 3rds your on the back paddock but it was not to be. What I witnessed in the first 2 quarters from bentleigh was some quick hard football with incredibly accurate finishing. Bentleigh's 2 upfront just couldn't miss and were finishing from all angles. Bentleigh seemed to have to much speed across the park and completely dominated and it could of been a bigger lead had there speed been utilised on the main field. In the 3rd banyule came back into the match outscoring 5goals to 3goals but one could sense the match was just pittering out as Bentleigh had done the hard yards in the first half and were quite comfortable while Banyule were determined to try and get as physical and complain as much as possible.

Onto the main game and from the warm up it looked like Banyule were going to be the team to beat. There kicks and marks were crisper and they just seemed to be more up for it and that was before the whistle blew. 1st quarter was quite even with bentleigh taking an early lead and scored a late one to remain close at quarter time. Albeit I thought bentleigh wasted enough opportunities to actually be in the lead at quarter time but it wasn't to be.

The second quarter started and so did the demolition. Everything Banyuke touched turned to gols and bentleigh were no where near them. At one stage the bears kicked 5 in 4 minutes and that then was game set and match. A 12 goal 2nd term was truly something to watch and from seeing nearly all teams now I think its banyule first and a space 2nd.

As for bentleigh they were simply too small across the park and couldn't capitilise on their normally dominant speed but had patches when they did go wide that would of given the demons faithful plenty of hope for a top 2 position at the end of the year. From a mutual point of view I don't think it will be long until the old guy that sat in the goal square in the forward line (14) is back in the 2's and either of the 2 front men from the 2's are in the ones as they really were good to watch with their finishing.

And Banyule, if they perform like that every week nobody will get close to them for the rest of the season. The one area they could easily improve is the ruck and brining the 23 from the 2's up would be an immediate improvement.

As for me back to watch my OP's next week!!

And here I thought that Emilio Estevez was an actor not a VAFA D2 spy :D. Probably an accurate assumption in the reserves except Banyule. But If No.14 came down to the twos, the reserves goal kicking record for one game would seriously be under threat. Yes I'm not joking. Our reserves two up forward are still young 19 & 23 years old, & will get their chance soon enough, it all about team balance I suppose.

Speaking of the 1s, Banyule had much much cleaner hands across the midfield which made it so easy for their forwards with inside 50s. They appeared unstoppable

In response to Emilio estivez I believe the ruck is one area that we have been strong in. Parthenidies has been a great recruit for us. At 6'8 he doesn't get any smaller as the game goes on.

Banyules 1's were extremely impressive on Saturday. As Emilio said, their second quarter was simply awesome to watch... unfortunately. I'm sure Bentleigh will learn from this and bounce back, but if Banyule play at that standard every week they will be hard to beat.

banyules midfield were just too good for bentleigh's, as were their forwards who just seamed to slot them from everywhere, bentleigh had alot of players who look lost and alittle out of place....they(banyule) did get alot of help for the umpires which once again failed in all aspects very 1 sided, it seems to me the umpires that have been provided to d2 games just dont keep up with the games, control them or have any consistency

I headed down early to the banyule v bentleigh match to catch the first of the 1 v 2's games to be shocked that they had been thrown on the back paddock. After talking to a Banyule volunteer it appears that the 3rds picked up a stink that they never get to play before the 1's so never get a crowd. If common sense prevailed they should of been told they can have the next home match as this was 1 v 2 in 1sts and 2nds so sorry 3rds your on the back paddock but it was not to be. What I witnessed in the first 2 quarters from bentleigh was some quick hard football with incredibly accurate finishing. Bentleigh's 2 upfront just couldn't miss and were finishing from all angles. Bentleigh seemed to have to much speed across the park and completely dominated and it could of been a bigger lead had there speed been utilised on the main field. In the 3rd banyule came back into the match outscoring 5goals to 3goals but one could sense the match was just pittering out as Bentleigh had done the hard yards in the first half and were quite comfortable while Banyule were determined to try and get as physical and complain as much as possible.

Onto the main game and from the warm up it looked like Banyule were going to be the team to beat. There kicks and marks were crisper and they just seemed to be more up for it and that was before the whistle blew. 1st quarter was quite even with bentleigh taking an early lead and scored a late one to remain close at quarter time. Albeit I thought bentleigh wasted enough opportunities to actually be in the lead at quarter time but it wasn't to be.

The second quarter started and so did the demolition. Everything Banyuke touched turned to gols and bentleigh were no where near them. At one stage the bears kicked 5 in 4 minutes and that then was game set and match. A 12 goal 2nd term was truly something to watch and from seeing nearly all teams now I think its banyule first and a space 2nd.

As for bentleigh they were simply too small across the park and couldn't capitilise on their normally dominant speed but had patches when they did go wide that would of given the demons faithful plenty of hope for a top 2 position at the end of the year. From a mutual point of view I don't think it will be long until the old guy that sat in the goal square in the forward line (14) is back in the 2's and either of the 2 front men from the 2's are in the ones as they really were good to watch with their finishing.

And Banyule, if they perform like that every week nobody will get close to them for the rest of the season. The one area they could easily improve is the ruck and brining the 23 from the 2's up would be an immediate improvement.

As for me back to watch my OP's next week!!

Interesting points Emilio - thirds didn't kick uup a stink, committee made the decision weeks ago. As we have 4 double headers 2 occasions the thirds will play before the seniors and 2 occasions they will play on the back oval. The 3's play on the back oval this week.

However, if we delve further into your report it is quite evident that you are indeed from Bentleigh and more than likely a player.

1) Who sends a spy to watch a reserves game especially on a cold morning in May. If you are going to Spy on a reserves game you would do it closer to finals time.

2) How would you know about complaining if you weren't out there. If you are spying you will generally be watching the game and match ups, etc. Not listening to talk on the fiels.

3) If you are from OP's as you state (and i don't tnink you are) then why wouldn 't you go and watch them at some stage considering that they were playing 5kms away.

4) And this is the clincher. The real Parade spy was at the senior game and watched the first quarter and a half before leaving. I don't think any club would send 2 spies.

Maybe your gripe against Sharp (who I thought was fantastic on Saturday) is more a point that he may be taking your spot for a game.;)

banyules midfield were just too good for bentleigh's, as were their forwards who just seamed to slot them from everywhere, bentleigh had alot of players who look lost and alittle out of place....they(banyule) did get alot of help for the umpires which once again failed in all aspects very 1 sided, it seems to me the umpires that have been provided to d2 games just dont keep up with the games, control them or have any consistency

They also missed cowardly acts behind play.

Oldtimer I could pretty much prove that Emilio isn't a Bentleigh poster. Also I am 100% certain that it isn't the two up forward in the 2s as well, because:
-Both are St Kilda fans
-One of them, which I bumped into yesterday, didn't even know Big Footy existed until yesterday arvo when I was discussing Emilio's post
- They also would know they be getting ahead of themselves as they're aware that Sharp has kicked 950+ goals for the club

Emilio has posted 3 times.
-Yesterday's essay,
-another time actually having a go at a known Bentleigh poster "complaining about injuries in the pre season"
-When another poster asked a question early in the year who has praccy matches on that particular weekend, Emilio's 1st post was "Bentleigh" (Bentleigh only played 1 praccy match this year & that was against OPs)

Finally OP's home ground is not far from Banyule's so why wouldn't more than 1 person they have a look at who they have next week, baring in mind it will be 2nd v 3rd in the Reserves (hence why Emilio might be down early to watch the 2s)

Makes sense. Food for thought

Haha good pick up oldtimer!

Well I was off the mark a little bit last week. Looks like Singh didn't get bogged down at all.

Very early in the week but here's a shot at this weeks games.

Bentleigh V Therry - Game of the round. Huge game to keep the game buffer in the 4. Bentleigh coming off a mauling and Therry continue their winning streak against GE who have been very competitive over the last few weeks. I pick Bentleigh purely on the home ground advantage. But if Therry win they will be looking very good going into the mid season break. Both teams don't have many talls or solid players so it will be the battle of the little speeders. Seems Swinden for Bentleigh has been playing well.

St Mary's V Eltham- You wouldn't have given a chance to St Mary's a few weeks ago. But it seems Singh is on fire. Has Gatehouse been influencial? I'll pick St Mary's for the upset as the play their postage stamp ground well and the Turtles are used to their big ground. Jeremy Dwyer to be a good target up forward.

GE V Prahan- The writing seems to be on the wall for Prahan. They aren't showing any signs of improvement while GE have been close the last few weeks. Spink is on fire and it seems if you're able to contol him and stop his marking power, it could be the deciding factor.

Banyule V OPs- OPs are in all sorts, I think you can say cue the inward fighting. I think Boundy and Spithill will be finding it very frustrating to be sitting near the bottom of the table. I don't see any light of the tunnel this week for them. Banyule will thump them. Ops might as well just start thinking about Prahran the following week.

Westbourne V St Leo's- Could be an interesting game. Both are showing improvement. I think the home ground advantage will be too great for WB. Pavez seems to be leading from the front.