D2 Section 2010

2. Glen Eira v Bentleigh - Big game for the Saints. Bentleigh's form has been up and down over the past few weeks and their away form is not as good as their home form. GE are are quietly going about their business and I expect them to have a good win.
GE by 15 points

Forgive me whilst I talk Reserves footy for a minute...

But I noticed that since we played Glen Eira in Round 2, there were 10 players who played last week in the 2s that did not feature in the clash earlier in the year. Is this because GE are finally getting players back from injury or recruiting well throughout the season?

It would explain why Glen Eira have gallantly won the past two games. It's top v bottom in the 2s this week, but i for one will not be taking the Saints lightly on their turf

Massive day for D2 this Saturday,

2v3, 4v5, 6v7 and 8v9

This season will go down to the wire at both end but I personally think the winning teams this week will have a big advantage.

What game interests you most this week? (apart from your own teams)

ST Marys V ST Leos - St Marys have been in the contest the last few weeks but I think St leos will get the win on the postage stamp. Beluszar to enjoy the small ground and kick a bag

OPs V Etham - OP starting to turn it up. Boundy with the confidence from the Vic Game and the big bodies like Pratt will take care of the turtles in the slog of the centre square

Therry V OWB - OWB are the in form team of the comp over the last few weeks. Pavez dominating and being supported by Hunter and leaving it to Hudson to finish off. Even though at home , I can't see Therry stopping OWB

GE V Bentleigh - Very tough game out at GE. From all reports it seems Bentleigh still have discipline issues and if GE take adavantage of that, it could be a different story. I see Bongo is back, he could also really turn it on.

Banyule Vs Prahran. The two blues stand no chance against Banyule. Banyule will be fired up at home and the memories of the loss last time. Ash Brown will kick 10 this week. Truefeldt to continue showing good form with another BOG.

Hey Sniper,

We recruited quite well over the summer but haven't had much luck with injuries. Getting a few back, but also just getting numbers back from ad hoc commitments.

It really does explain why we have been able to string a few together. Like you said, last week was basically a different team to earlier in the year. Whether we can keep these numbers up for the rest of the year I am not sure. We are looking forward to putting up a better show this week than last time. Hope it's a good, close game - hopefully we learnt a lesson earlier in the year.

Happy sniping!

Forgive me whilst I talk Reserves footy for a minute...

But I noticed that since we played Glen Eira in Round 2, there were 10 players who played last week in the 2s that did not feature in the clash earlier in the year. Is this because GE are finally getting players back from injury or recruiting well throughout the season?

It would explain why Glen Eira have gallantly won the past two games. It's top v bottom in the 2s this week, but i for one will not be taking the Saints lightly on their turf

Some huge games this week as has been mentioned earlier. Could have some serious ladder implications, and for certain sides finals are on the line!!

SMS v ESL. St Marys for mine. ESL didn't loo interested the other week. When we played them two years ago they were unbelievable disciplined and team orientated, now they just look tired, maybe because of that paddock they use. St Marys are on the up. 40 points.

OP v Eltham. Interest game. Eltham would seem to be on the slide, whereas Paradians are on the up. I have no doubt Eltham have the players to win this one, specifically the power up forward with Ciavola, Dillon and Hargreaves. Parades are a very competitive unit and seem to be gelling at the right time. I'll go with the form team, OP's by 25 points.

TP v OW. Therry smashed us last time, however I have no doubt we are a much better team this time around. I think this one will be one in the midfield. I reckon we can get on top. OW by 1 point.

GE v Bentleigh. The Demons should bounce back here. Probably very unlucky last week. GE are no slouch's though, and with key players back they can really challenge Bentleigh. Bentleigh really struglled in the ruck last week and GE can take advantage on that with probably the best ruck in the comp in Spink. GE will have to slop Lawry and number 11 in the midfield if they are to win. Bentleigh by 4 points.

Banyule v Prahran. Banyule by plenty. Exacting some revenge on the cellar dwellers. 85 points.

Congratulations goes out to Bart Walsh who has been selected inthe U23's Big V squad from Banyule. In saying that still find it very disturbing from the league at how the interleague has been run compared with previous years. To drop the C - D4 team has cost a number of players the honour of representing their competition. Am not fully involved with all club matters but does anyone from an admin point of view know if clubs were told about this prior to the season?

Anyway on to this week and I will also be waiting with baited breath to see the results come 5:30 tomorrow afternoon!

St Mary's vs St Leos - Think St Mary's can kick 6 points clear of the animals with a hard fought win at home.

OP's vs Eltham - Although OP's have impressed with a few wins to seemingly get back on track I think they will find Eltham to tough. The slide to be nippe din the backside tomorrow.

Therry vs Old West - Going with the home team in yet another close encounter. Who would have thought after round 3 we would be saying this is for a spot in the top 2!

GE vs Bentleigh - Bentleigh have their knockers on this forum and seemed to have taken a few hits on the field also but think the club as a whole will stick thick and get back to a winning way.

Banyule vs Prahran - Again would would have though after round 2 we would be saying this is now top vs bottom, would hope prahran re visited that game from ealrier in the year on tape but form says the bears easy.

Can this season get any tighter?

This week will make it for some and break it for others

The wet weather could be the ultimate deciding factor.

Anyway enough of the build up and on my tips this week

SMS v STL - STL to enjoy playing away from home this week. (shouldnt they every week!!!) SMS took it to TP last week and looked to fight very hard. STL to kick away in the last 1/4 and get up by 14pts. This game could come back to haunt the loser later in the year

OP v Elth - OP's to have far too much firepower and be far to quick for the turtles on the their home paddock. OP to win easily by 41 pts

TP v OWB - This is the match of the round. OWB like it windy, TP are tough in the wet. Picking the home side by 18pts

GE v Bent - Bad loss last week for Bentleigh did they peak to early?
GE look to be travelling well with a good balance. GE to continue there form and knock Bentleigh out of the 4 with a 22pt win

BAN v Prahran - Banyule could play their 2's side and win this. Given they wont do that they will win by by plenty

Good luck to all teams this week and lets see some upsets

Can this season get any tighter?

This week will make it for some and break it for others

The wet weather could be the ultimate deciding factor.

Anyway enough of the build up and on my tips this week

SMS v STL - STL to enjoy playing away from home this week. (shouldnt they every week!!!) SMS took it to TP last week and looked to fight very hard. STL to kick away in the last 1/4 and get up by 14pts. This game could come back to haunt the loser later in the year

OP v Elth - OP's to have far too much firepower and be far to quick for the turtles on the their home paddock. OP to win easily by 41 pts

TP v OWB - This is the match of the round. OWB like it windy, TP are tough in the wet. Picking the home side by 18pts

GE v Bent - Bad loss last week for Bentleigh did they peak to early?
GE look to be travelling well with a good balance. GE to continue there form and knock Bentleigh out of the 4 with a 22pt win

BAN v Prahran - Banyule could play their 2's side and win this. Given they wont do that they will win by by plenty

Good luck to all teams this week and lets see some upsets

Yes, plenty of interest in tomorrow's round of matches:
St Marys Salesian vs Emmaus St Leos. A true relegation battle even this far out from the end of the season.
Old Paradians vs Old Eltham. An eight-pointer and the Raiders are hitting form at the right time.
Therry Penola vs Old Westbourne. Another eight-pointer and Therry have surprised a few so far.
Glen Eira vs Bentleigh. Yet another eight-pointer going the home teams favour.
Banyule vs Prahran. Banyule to contimue the TwoBlues miserable season.

Great weekend down at Packer Park. GE home in the seniors by one point. Reserves first V last had a 27 goal turnaround from the last time they met and went down by 3 goals. Under17's beat Bentleigh Sunday. Thanks to the very few who stayed back for a drink from Bentleigh. When we played you over 30 went into your club rooms after a loss. Reminiscent of two years ago, same old same old.

you are absolutely kidding yourself mate! There were atleast 20 players and supporters who stayed back till after the awards were even given! maybe shall all wear one colour so you know who we are! There was a 1 point thriller out there and your busy whinging about the after match! :thumbsdown:

Percentage will be a major factor leading into finals .2teams currently have percentage's in the nineties who are in the 4. Banyule would have to have a massive slump to miss out but all other spots look up for grabs based on the fact that only 2 games and bugger all percent seperate 2-6.

Very quiet on here at the moment.

Anyone want to have a crack at Predictions for the remainder of the year. I know there is still a long way to go but it will fill in some time.

Top 4

Banyule
Therry
Old Westbourne
Old Paradians

Premiers and Runners up

Banyule to beat Therry

Goalkicking

David Boundy

Comp b&f

David Boundy

Relegated

Prahran and Emmaus St Leos

Still a lot of water to go under the bridge but here's my prediction

Top 4

Banyule
Old Paradians
Glen Eira
Bentleigh

Premiers and Runners up

Banyule to beat OPs

Goalkicking
Ash Brown or Ciavola

Comp b&f

Spink

Relegated

Prahran and St Mary's

The top 4 is very hard to pick, the only certainty is Banyule. OPs,GE,Bentleigh,Therry,OWB will fight out for the rest. Eltham are in no man's land, St Leo's and St Mary's will fight out 9th spot, while Prahran are only concerned about what bargains they can get from the EOFY sales.

Five clubs fighting it out for the finals spots. That's what we want to see. Glen Eira have a tough draw to remain in the four. They finish the season by defining the fate of ESL and StMS.

Prahran can't wait for 2010. ESL, by virtue of their drawn game with Bentleigh will keep ahead.They have a tough draw to the end of season 2010 but so do SMS.

Therry to belt ESL by 50 points
Eltham to beat Bentleigh bt 7 points
St Mary's to beat Prahran 65 points
OP's to beat Glen Eira by 32 points
Banyule over OW in a thriller by 5 points

Banyule not to run away with it as much as people think....

Top 4
Banyule 56
Therry 56 (miss out on percentage)
Old West 52
OP's 44

GF - Banyule to defeat Therry

Relegation battle to really heat up also starting this week!

Comp B &F - Truefeldt or P.Baranello, Spink to be there abouts.

St Leo's vs Therry - Good luck on the ground Therry but wil prevail!
Eltham vs Bentleigh - Going with the home side here although either way wouldn't surprise
St Mary's vs Prahran - Last roll of the dice for Prahran so tipping on that.
OP's vs Glen Eira - Found some form of late so will stick by them.
Old West vs Banyule - Will be a lot closer than the 20 goal margin earlier in the year but the bears still for mine.

Eight games to go and we have seven teams effectively fighting for the final two final spots - assuming Bany and TP and considered safe. But who knows !
Emmaus St Leo's vs Therry Penola. A nice tight game expects on THAT ground.
Old Eltham vs Bentleigh. Hope the southeners don't get lost with Old Eltham to get back on teh winning list.
St Mary's vs Prahran. A true relegation battle, even this far out. Favour the home side who are playing that little bit better.
Old Paradians vs Glen Eira. Said the other week that the Raiders are coming and my tip to be promoted at season's end now that the team has jelled.
Old Westbourne vs Banyule. Expect a very tight tussle here with the Bears to show their class in the final quarter.

Upsets and lost chances was the theme of round 11

Banyule 9-2 - two games clear of second and heap of % meaning 3 games clear. Using the same theory they are 4 games clear of 3rd.

Therry 7-4 - big losers of the round. Did the worst ground in Australia play a part in the result. They lose to parade next week and will drop to third.

Parade 6-5 - trailed all day and blew GE away in the last sign of a good side. Massive game against therry next week.

Westbourne 6-5 - took it up to banyule but fell short. Looking at the scores it seems westbournes straight kicking may have kept them in it.

Glen Eira - 6-5 - let a golden opportunity slip. Had parade on the ropes and and could of jumped to third with a big away win.

Bentleigh 5-5-1 - what's happened to these guys. Their away form is shocking. They have only beaten st marys away from bentleigh. Can't make it based on this.

Eltham 5-6 - great win yesterday and may have kept their finals hopes alive.

St leos 4-6-1 - have been ordinary but have now won 2 in a row. Face banyule away next week. Let's see if the can win 3. May be a tough team for finals aspirants on the way home.

St marys 3-8 may have had their fate decided in the last 2 weeks.

Prahran 3-8 good win yesterday but they are still 6 points behind st leos.

Banyule will play finals but it is getting very interesting from positions 2 -8.

Hmmm I'm not following all this talk about esl's home ground being crap. Are we talking about the same ground at deakin?
If we are I'll take a sandy ground with patchy grass that soaks up the water well over the muddy slop that can be used to describe alot of ammo grounds out there at the moment!

Hmmm I'm not following all this talk about esl's home ground being crap. Are we talking about the same ground at deakin?
If we are I'll take a sandy ground with patchy grass that soaks up the water well over the muddy slop that can be used to describe alot of ammo grounds out there at the moment!

Can't comment about the state of Deakin now, but when Banyule played there early in the year the ground was terrible. Speaking of grounds Old Westbourne's ground yesterday was in great condition considering all the rain that we have had.

A hard fought contest all day. Old Westbourne were extremely tall and took it up to us all day. Yesterday we had 2 17 year olds playing in the seniors which was a great sign for our club.

Caught the second half of the Parade and Glen Eira game. Although Glen Eria were 20 points up, Parade had plenty of the ball in the third quarter. In the last quarter, Glen Eria weren't fit enough; however, there is a long way to go and any of 7 teams could make up the final 4.

Sniper, whats happening down your way
You guys started off so strong and are falling away quickly
Do you have a lot of injuries or have the suspensions hurt?

I'd say both reasons would be putting it very mildly, I've never seen a year like it. But we're not about excuses - soldiering on, as results luckily went our way on the weekend.

Quiet at work this morning so looked into each teams injury woes. It seems that SMS have been worst hit followed by Bentleigh.

SMS - 4 PLAYERS PLAYED EACH GAME - 42 OVERALL
BENT - 4 - 39
ST LEOS - 5 - 37
PRA - 6 - 42
BAN - 6 - 36
THER - 6 - 33
GE - 7 - 36
ELT - 7 - 33
OPS - 8 - 37
OW - 9 - 33

Quiet at work this morning so looked into each teams injury woes. It seems that SMS have been worst hit followed by Bentleigh.

SMS - 4 PLAYERS PLAYED EACH GAME - 42 OVERALL
BENT - 4 - 39
ST LEOS - 5 - 37
PRA - 6 - 42
BAN - 6 - 36
THER - 6 - 33
GE - 7 - 36
ELT - 7 - 33
OPS - 8 - 37
OW - 9 - 33

some good analysis there Twiggy:thumbsu: - battle of the walking wounded this week between Bentleigh & SMS then it would seem