D2 Section 2010

Ok, so i will give a response to the mcwhinney incident that eveybody has been pre-occupied with this week.

I was playing in the game and what i saw was...

Bentleigh player intimidated a young therry player on numerous occasions....he was playing on the captain of therry who verbally attacked the bentleigh player which led to an altercation between both players.

The ball was a kick away from therrys goal.....bentleigh player punched therry full forward in the ribs from behind...therry player reacted by striking benlteigh player to the jaw.

Bentleigh player dropped and was on the ground wimpering.....therry player clipped the back of his head with an open hand and said 'stop sooking'

Benteigh player on me said to umpire " you saw that" umpire responded with " yes i saw that, but there was not enough force for me to send him off or report him"

thats my take on it.

bye

Biggest load of rubbish I have ever read on BigFooty.

Punched Therry Player from behind you reckon?
Were you even watching the game, or do you have eyes at the back of your head. Cause its a bit hard to hit someone from behind when your playing in front of them. If you saw the altercation at all you would have noticed it was infact the Therry Player who came from behind and punched the bentleigh player who was playing infront of him. The bentleigh player then turned around to let him know how cheap and soft he is to then get into a mouthing off moment before your Captain decided to show how good of a boxer he is and go throwing punches.

therry player clipped the back of his head with an open hand and said 'stop sooking'?
Open hand and just clipped was it? Funny how the bentleigh players medical records show: "extensive bruising to the back of the head".

You are in your own fairytale mate!

Biggest load of rubbish I have ever read on BigFooty.

Punched Therry Player from behind you reckon?
Were you even watching the game, or do you have eyes at the back of your head. Cause its a bit hard to hit someone from behind when your playing in front of them. If you saw the altercation at all you would have noticed it was infact the Therry Player who came from behind and punched the bentleigh player who was playing infront of him. The bentleigh player then turned around to let him know how cheap and soft he is to then get into a mouthing off moment before your Captain decided to show how good of a boxer he is and go throwing punches.

therry player clipped the back of his head with an open hand and said 'stop sooking'?
Open hand and just clipped was it? Funny how the bentleigh players medical records show: "extensive bruising to the back of the head".

You are in your own fairytale mate!

Just to finish this up surely the Therry poster is going to talk things down and make it sound not as dramatic as what happened. At the end of the day it seems like a complete dog act and from reading between the lines he has been suspended by the club for the remaining games with the excuse of a broken arm? Happy to be corrected! However "Might Sainters" who has publicly stated on hear that McWhinny has got it coming to him needs to build a bridge quickly. I understand that if such an incident occurred at my club I would also want to see revenge taken place however that would then put you in the same basket as those words you have used in spineless, gutless etc. In no way do I condone what has happened however there are ways and means to address this and all avenues should be taken up by Bentleigh and the player and his family.

Everyone from every team wishes the Bentleigh player a speedy recovery and never wants to see any serious injury in our game intentional or not.

Am yet to hear anything come out of the VAFA and the tribunal page this week did't metion the incident so I assume that we will not hear anything else? If that is correct it is disgraceful on behalf of the league as in no way is a precident set or is this player made an example of. The Diamond Valley League now has a very bad reputation due to a few similar incidents a number of years ago and I'm sure the VAFA with its "fostering family football" would not want these incidents known to all and sundry.

On to this week and again we are no closer to solving the jigsaw puzzle at either end of the ladder however come 5pm Saturday at least one end should be sorted!!

Good luck to all!!

I think what Mighty Sainters meant was retribution in a non violent way, I think he was referring to the tribunal hearing & giving this guy an "extended preseason" for 2011. Definately has a fractured hand, as McWinney was shaking hands after the game with his left hand, as the other was very swollen.

Just on the Bentleigh v TP incident, anyone with access to the Moorabbin Leader might want to keep an eye out for a copy next week.

Might not go with the VAFA's family-friendly message they love portraying.

I think what Mighty Sainters meant was retribution in a non violent way, I think he was referring to the tribunal hearing & giving this guy an "extended preseason" for 2011. Definately has a fractured hand, as McWinney was shaking hands after the game with his left hand, as the other was very swollen.

Sniper are they league investigating then? Did your club put forward a report to the VAFA? As I mentioned I can not find any recognition from the league in regards to it?

Two rounds to go and I believe the finals race is down to 5 and relegation will be decided by 5pm Saturday night.

Emmaus St Leo's take on Prahran in a match that will determine if ESL stay alive in the finals race. Their form has been good and only losing to the top 2 in the last 6 weeks. I expect ESL to win by 16 points and keep the dream alive setting up a massive game in round 18 against Glen Eira.

Prahran wouldn't want to waste all of last week's effort by dropping this one...but they don't travel too well. Aiding Prahran's cause is that R18 brings a game at home against Bentleigh for them- who by then would be "making up numbers" (whereas the other relegation candidates STMS take on Banyule & Eltham have Therry who might still be in it for R18).
So if Prahran can roll the Animals, they'd be in with a real show of D2 in 2011.
Despite their recent red hot form, ESL need to rely on OW and Th to fail for them to succeed, so on balance Prahran's motivation is higher and they should keep the dream alive this week.

Bentleigh hosts Old Paradians in what should be an interesting game. Bentleigh at their best are more than capable in mixing it with the Raiders. However the Raiders are playing to keep second spot and another crack at Banyule. Parade by 27 points

I'm sure GE would buy the Bentleigh boys a round (or 2) if they could knock the Raiders out of 2nd spot ...but the truth is Parade will be angry after last week's flop...very angry ...and even without being angry -their best is better than Bentleigh's...so Parade in a canter

St Mary's Salesian host Glen Eira in what should be a belter of a game. Glen Eira are playing for a double chance and SMS are playing for survival. Although the small ground will suit GE i expect SMS may get the chocolates in a tight one. SMS by 4 points

If Parade hadn't opened the door last week, this would have been a dead rubber for GE.
On the other hand STMS have everything to play for, especially knowing they have to finalise the year with a trip away to Banyule...if they win this one they are odds on for D2 next year. Lose it and they have the biggest of mountains to climb next week. Bizarre as it sounds-STMS are only 2 games out of the four!! It seems unfair that they are still in the relegation stakes with 6/16 wins on the board.
Like ESL,GE have only dropped games since R7 -both to the top 2, so it's hard top fault their form line.
Added to this Ferndale is almost like the postage stamp of Packer Park and with a faint sniff of a double chance, GE might get just home.

Therry host Banyule. 6 weeks ago I thought these two would be the grand final teams. Whilst Banyule have won their last 6 Therry have won 1 of their last 6. Even during this form slump the other teams have let them off the hook meaning they are still a chance to play finals. That ends this week when Banyule should end their season. Banyule by 35 points

Therry were honest last week at Packer Park. They play disciplined smart footy and are fleet of foot (esp Faroldi).They have a genuine forward in Costello -although he would really shine with a big fwd alongside him- but if he's quiet..there's not too many other options to kick at.
I reckon Therryat home will have a red hot crack -as this is effectively their GF ...but nothing beats pure talent and Banyule just seem to have plenty of it.
So the Bears Juggernaut will continue to roll towards September

Old Westbourne host Eltham. The Turtles have forgotten how to win. They will get relegated as I expect Westbourne to win by 24 points. Has a team ever been relegated and not lost a game by more than 7 goals for the entire year?

OW will still be sore (after having kicked their own @sses all week for having let a Golden opportunity slip against Prahran).
Unfortunately for Eltham, history seldom repeats. At the home of Windy footy, the Warriors should manage to keep space between them and ESL for at least 1 more week.
Then they will play their grand final the following week.

Sure makes for an interesting next week.

Potentially...
  • 3 teams still hunting for 4th spot
  • 3 teams still hunting for a D2 berth next year.
The only team who can afford to put the cue in the rack is Banyule-and they've earnt the right.

Come Saturday night, we'll know a lot more about who's going to be fair dinkum for next week.

[FONT=&quot]Another exciting round of Division 2 football. And. Could it be that come 5pm on Saturday we have four teams all in the relegation zone with another just a win ahead ?[/FONT] [FONT=&quot] [/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Emmaus St Leos vs Prahran. An important win last week by the Two Blues who's form in recent weeks has been better than their position reflects. But St Leos form has been even better over this period. My head says the home side but I like the fighting spirit of the Two Blues and hope they can get up and add some real spice to the last round.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Bentleigh vs Old Paradians. The word from the Garvey is that the Raiders weren't too disappointed with last week's loss as it gave them a benchmark for the remainder of the season. It wlil be interesting to see Bentleigh's attitude to the match but no matter what the Raiders should win comfortably.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]St Marys Salesian vs Glen Eira. Both teams have plenty to play for this week, as most have every week. The visitors can still smell the double chance and while the Saints will be in the match right into the last quarter expect the visitors to pull away as the siren sounds.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Therry Penola vs Banyule. If they weren't already, the Bears established themselves as THE team of the division last week and are red hot favourites to keep the win sequence alive. This could be Therry's last gasp for a finals berth and will be hoping that the Bears have a letdown from last week. Even if they do take the foot off the pedal the Bears should still win.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Old Westbourne vs Old Eltham. The Old Westies blew a golden opportunity last round and will be keen to amend, while the Toffies from Research have been colder than the post-match cans. I still have a soft spot for them and they are my upset selection for the round.[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot] [/FONT]

st leos emmaus 13 14 92 v prahran 9 7 61
bentleigh 14 23 107 v old paradians 12 13 85
st marys/salesian 12 5 77 v glen eira 12 8 80
therry penola 7 12 54 v banyule 20 15 135
old westbourne 15 9 99 v eltham 14 17 101

st leos emmaus 13 14 92 v prahran 9 7 61
bentleigh 14 23 107 v old paradians 12 13 85
st marys/salesian 12 5 77 v glen eira 12 8 80
therry penola 7 12 54 v banyule 20 15 135
old westbourne 15 9 99 v eltham 14 17 101

Stewie40...FFS stop being a soft c*ck.You should really try & go out on a limb with your predictions instead of taking the easy way out!!

Great effort, mate....If you even get close you will take out the Nostradamus award for this season

Stewie40...FFS stop being a soft c*ck.You should really try & go out on a limb with your predictions instead of taking the easy way out!!

Great effort, mate....If you even get close you will take out the Nostradamus award for this season
& well done to Clint reckon he may have 2-3 winners instead of his usual 1. As for Stewie, since when did a collingwood supporter know how to use a calculator??

Bentleigh 14.23..........need a kicking coach badly, Therry captain may have time on his hands to help out...

One round to go.

Is second spot now decided? 4th spot is now a race in two. Prahran are headed south and we will have to wait till 5pm next saturday to see who joins them.

Bentleigh got over Parade in a ripper game in doing so moving themselves out of relegation danger and moving the Raiders into the first semi final.

Westbourne smashed Eltham and 4th spot is theirs to lose. Westbourne v Parade 2 weeks in a row is the likely outcome.

Banyule ended Therry's season in the same fashion that they started Therry's season. Banyule playing great footy at the right time.

Glen Eira did what they had to do over a gallant SMS. Simple equasion for the saints win and they get the double chance and a crack at the Bears. SMS now face Banyule away.

St Leo's belted Prahran but may have left their run to late. Glen Eira are very hard to beat at home and Westbourne would fancy themsleves to roll Parade.

Went to the GE v SMS game and looked for you Dr. Truth. No one at SMS seemed to know who you are. I suspect You and Sniper are one and the same as you two have been in each others pockets over the last couple of weeks. apart from that I was most unimpressed with some of the comments made by members of SMS after the game. eg see you next year you will be out in one etc. Thanlkfully one of their members came and apologised for the remarks.

Haha Phantom you make me laugh. You're always having a whinge about opposition supporters, so thin skinned it's not funny.

Truth be known if SMS don't win next week & Eltham do, then you won't have to put up with their "taunts" next year either way.

p.s. I'm not Dr Truth, I don't have enough time on my hands to manage 2 accounts (but I think you already knew that)

Haha Phantom you make me laugh. You're always having a whinge about opposition supporters, so thin skinned it's not funny.

Truth be known if SMS don't win next week & Eltham do, then you won't have to put up with their "taunts" next year either way.

p.s. I'm not Dr Truth, I don't have enough time on my hands to manage 2 accounts (but I think you already knew that)

No worries Dr. Sniper

Went to the GE v SMS game and looked for you Dr. Truth. No one at SMS seemed to know who you are. I suspect You and Sniper are one and the same as you two have been in each others pockets over the last couple of weeks. apart from that I was most unimpressed with some of the comments made by members of SMS after the game. eg see you next year you will be out in one etc. Thanlkfully one of their members came and apologised for the remarks.

Our president wished Glen Eira well in the finals and one of our players responded "I dont, I hope you go out in straight sets". It was intended as a joke as far as I can gather, but I can understand your disappointment Phantom. I can assure you no malice was intended. Thank-you to all your players and supporters for staying back after the game in such large numbers. Was a cracking game. 2 games this year decided in the last 5 mins. When we drew level in the last it looked like we were going to pinch one back after our first meeting. Good luck to you blokes in the upcoming finals series

Thanks for that bails. our guys do like to stay for the one or two and take the meat tray as well. Good luck next week.

Looking at round 18 I think the first week of the finals will look like this.

Second Semi
Banyule V Glen Eira

First Semi
Old Paradians V Old Westbourne

Relegated
St Marys Salesion
Prahran

Anyone disagree?

Second Semi
Banyule V Glen Eira Agree

First Semi
Old Paradians V Old Westbourne Agree

Relegated
St Marys Salesion Tend to disagree. Lets assume though that Banyule beat SMS, It all depends on Therry which I believe can beat Eltham at home.

If this happens then SMS survive, but I can tell you that they'll be sweating on the result. Look our for the guy from SMS on the mobile at 4.45pm in the crowd at Eltham

Prahran Agree

Anyone disagree?

Last round is always interesting

Second Semi
Banyule V Glen Eira

First Semi
Old Paradians V Old Westbourne

Relegated
St Marys Salesion
Prahran

Anyone disagree?

What a great Round 18 this is going to be. Not sure the finals are locked yet though Sudds. If Parade beat Westbourne, and St Leos beat Glen Eira (not totally unrealistic) then the finals will look like this:

Second Semi:
Banyule vs Old Paradians

First Semi:
Glen Eira vs St Leos

St Leos did get beaten by GE at Bennetswood earlier in the year, but their last 4 - 5 weeks have been pretty good, so they can't be without a chance.

It's great to have round 18 really mean something though.

I can tell you that at OW we won't be counting on any results. Pretty much the way we see it is if we win we are in, and if we don't then we can kiss finals goodbye.

I think ESL are really hitting their straps and are a huge shot at beating GE, even at Packer Park.

In regards to Eltham last week, I thought they were pretty poor actually. Ciavola, apparently didn't turn up to the game, and number 3, and 46 (turner) were playing in the twos? Not sure what was going on there.

SMS definitely a chance to knock Eltham off this week.

GE are a better side at Packer Park onlu losing to Banyule there this year and that was by 10 points. I think Glen Eira have a touch more depth than ESL and should get over the line. I also think westbourne are a real show at Parade this week and may trouble the raiders with their height inside 50.
SMS play Banyule away who demolished Therry last week and don't look to be taking the foot off the pedal. Therry have won 1 from 8 and with nothing to play for I think Eltham can stay alive with a win.
Should be a great round.

Seem to have just cruised under the radar GE. Unfashionable looking side but play for eachother. Also have one of the best players in the comp (Patterson) roaming around the forward line. Hopefully eltham get up. Very unlucky side this year and at their best and with a handful of close games not going their way I think they are too good to be going down. SMS need the drop as they seem to be the side with the most battlers. Also I agree with you Scudds, westbourne will trouble a couple if they sneak into finals with their height. Great comp this year with eltham bentliegh therry westbourne paradians and now stleos all having a run in the top four and looking dangerous for periods. Banyule and GE deserve top two as they been super consistent.