D2 Section 2010

Hey guys,

Came to work this morning and on the front page of the local paper was an article about the Bentleigh player Fridman being knocked out by Therry player McWinney.

Not a great article for the Ammos as it talks about it being a behind the play incident.

Does anyone know how to upload pics into messages cos I have scanned it?

Thanks Superfreak,

wow I thought it was only going to be in the Morrabbin Leader, this is getting more coverage than I thought.

Therry Penola President Terry Crotty said "it was a "serious" incident, but both players were involved."
"I can say it wasn't a king hit. It definately wasn't a king hit" Crotty said. "I do understand it was pretty concerning & there was a serious injury." "No one wants to see anyone cop an injury like that"

hmmm... serious injury but no king hit, hey. Such a mystery

Thanks for the link Superfreak.

Well it seems it wasn't a king hit afterall. Which I was lead to believe especially after the angry posts from mightysainters etc.

From the article it sounds like it was two players in the tango and one got in a punch that was quicker and harder than all the others.

So from my earlier post ( a few weeks ago) I think I'll go with option 1 as option 2 is out of the question.

interesting to hear what happens in the tribunal.

Anyway, back to the football. I believe GE will go out in straight sets in the finals. Banyule are on a roll and OPs had a minor set back. OPs on the bigger finals grounds will show their ability just like Boundy in the rep game. St Leo's to make the finals and be the wild card. The hardness of Hickey and Barranello is the key.

Well it seems it wasn't a king hit afterall. Which I was lead to believe especially after the angry posts from mightysainters etc.

From the article it sounds like it was two players in the tango and one got in a punch that was quicker and harder than all the others.

So from my earlier post ( a few weeks ago) I think I'll go with option 1 as option 2 is out of the question.

Of course the Therry President would say that it wasn't a king hit, McWhinney is at risk of getting more than a football suspension here. He's liable for causing serious injury.

I think you'll find that the Tribunal tonight will find a different outcome to Crotty's opinion ;)

Anyway, back to the football. I believe GE will go out in straight sets in the finals. Banyule are on a roll and OPs had a minor set back. OPs on the bigger finals grounds will show their ability just like Boundy in the rep game. St Leo's to make the finals and be the wild card. The hardness of Hickey and Barranello is the key.[/quote

Lost 2 in a row and face a third loss, bad time to have a minor set back. Having wached all teams I would say that Banyule's current formline is stronger than the others.

I was more referring to Ilya's comments about the event saying they exchanged words and blows etc. So it sounded like a fight.

As you said, we'll find out tomorrow or tonight if someone posts the result.

I was more referring to Ilya's comments about the event saying they exchanged words and blows etc. So it sounded like a fight.

As you said, we'll find out tomorrow or tonight if someone posts the result.

you're a joke.... obviously it was a king hit thats y it is getting this coverage. I hope mcwhinney gets smashed by the tribunal the gutless wonder...

He never struck Mcwinney he said verbals were exchanged then that hero decided to assault him.... learn how to read u imbecile...

Here we go.

Hey sainters, you might need to get off the gear, I think its going straight to your head.

or maybe no carbs after midday for you!!

Either way you need to remain calm.

From the article:

"Fridman acknowledge the pair had taunted each other in the lead-up to the strike and he said several low-impact punches were exchanged before the final blow."

Sainters did you see that word "exchanged" . Here's a definition for you:

Exchange transitive and intransitive verb swap: to give something and receive another of the same or an equivalent in return

So stick that in ya pipe. I'm just going off the article you clown.

Next time I would like to see a comment about the football from you rather than your regular tripe.

Looking forward to your reply "oh you keyboard warrior yudda yudda yudda"

At the end of the day you have nothing useful to say.

Me "an imbecile" .........pffffffft

Just get over it.

Reply to Norm, I can't see OP's losing at home this week. They were in good form and only narrowly lost on the weekend.

Well done villaz u can view at my previous posts... just because I know about gear doesn't mean i do it Keyboard warrior.... The fact that you had to copy and paste dictionary meaning of 'exhange' only reinforced the fact you were an imbecile because you weren't articulate enough to express it in ur own words...

Did you find out the result of last nights tribunal? Geez you and that spineless twat must be gutted considering there were punches 'exchanged' but he got 8 weeks and Fridman got 0.... Grow a brain

About the football? Banyule will high step it to the grand final and win it....

What was with the Ben Herbert (Banyule) incident where he got 3 weeks? Not being a smartass but, that's pretty much his season. Crazybear/Oldtimer can you elaborate on it? was it worth the 3 weeks?

He must be gutted to say the least.

havent been on here much lately, but gee this forum is just as hot now as during pre-season

8 weeks for the therry captain is a very big statement from the league, im wondering how much pressure was put on them by the front page article in the local paper.

What a final week is shaping up so heres my tips:

Eltham v Therry - The home side to save relegation with a win over a very dissappointing Therry

OP v OWB - OP to bounce back with a win to end the year for OWB. OP's will be looking to take this weeks form into finals

GE v ESL - ESL to leave nothing in the tank and get over the home side to clinch 4th and a spot in the finals. This could be one of the best turnaround stories of the year

Banyule v SMS - Banyule to be to strong and to proud to drop this one leading into finals. Curtains for SMS with the trip back to D3 next year

Prahran v Bentleigh - Bentleigh to get over the line and finish in a position that shows a marked improve in a higher division. Prahran to take home the spoon for the next year in D3

Good luck to all teams in what is the end for some in a very close year of footy

My final ladder for the year

Banyule
Parade
Glen Eira
Emmaus St Leo's
Old Westbourne
Bentleigh
Therry Penola
Eltham
St Mary's
Prahran

havent been on here much lately, but gee this forum is just as hot now as during pre-season

8 weeks for the therry captain is a very big statement from the league, im wondering how much pressure was put on them by the front page article in the local paper.

What a final week is shaping up so heres my tips:

Eltham v Therry - The home side to save relegation with a win over a very dissappointing Therry

OP v OWB - OP to bounce back with a win to end the year for OWB. OP's will be looking to take this weeks form into finals.

GE v ESL - ESL to leave nothing in the tank and get over the home side to clinch 4th and a spot in the finals. This could be one of the best turnaround stories of the year

Banyule v SMS - Banyule to be to strong and to proud to drop this one leading into finals. Curtains for SMS with the trip back to D3 next year

Prahran v Bentleigh - Bentleigh to get over the line and finish in a position that shows a marked improve in a higher division. Prahran to take home the spoon for the next year in D3

Good luck to all teams in what is the end for some in a very close year of footy

My final ladder for the year

Banyule
Parade
Glen Eira
Emmaus St Leo's
Old Westbourne
Bentleigh
Therry Penola
Eltham
St Mary's
Prahran

Interesting take 'whereverman'

Eltham vs Therry
I agree. Therry certainly have imploded since mid year, and losing their skipper for 8 weeks won't help their frame of mind. Eltham's form has been less than inspiring and stories of selected players not even turning up for games is hardly the stuff to build success upon...but the harsh reality is that Eltham have got something to play for this week and Therry don't.
So Turtle will be on the D2 menu next year as well...Eltham -by a fair bit

OPs vs OW
One of the 2 games of the round. OW can't afford to lose and OPs wouldn't want to contemplate going into a finals series coming off 3 straight losses....
The Westies dropped a soft one against a desperate Prahran a few weeks back but their recent form line has been befitting of a potential finalist. They now know they can't rely on anyone else... so it's make or break.
As a GE supporter I am unashamedly hoping that they the 'belt the living suitcase' out of each other... and I'm going with the form and picking OW- but with no great certainty.

Banyule vs STMS
The boys from Ferndale were tough at it last week and nearly stole the lollies, but Banyule have done nothing wrong all year. The Saints would expect to lose a few old heads should they journey back to D3... and if Eltham gets up that's their probable fate -unless STMS can slay the giant that is Banyule.
If they manage to defy the odds and be the only team to beat the Bears since R8, then they will well & truly deserve their spot in D2 next season.

Prahran vs Bentleigh
Last week's results show that the Two Blues have accepted their fate for this year and they're bound for D3 in 2011. Bentleigh should continue their late season revival with another victory.

GE vs ESL
Should be a beauty. You could hardly wipe the smile off the GE boys faces last week when they realised that they had earned a potential double chance. Depite having only 18 fit players and then having 1 sent off in the last stanza...they hung tuff to hold out STMS -who came from 26pts down to draw level at the 15 minute mark. The GE Saints have a steely resolve and (except for the Banyule towelling) have done not much wrong in the back half of the year.
However ESL are coming like a train. They would have been rapt that OW and Therry have given them a real sniff by refusing to win when they should have... so as a result after 17 rounds they're now already in the four, whereas at round 9 they were entrenched in the 'Drop Zone'.
If they can break the Packer Park fortress a tilt at finals beckons, and I reckon they could be formidable foes in Spetember action.
ESL know they can't rely on OW failing ...so they will be keen to not waste their rich vein of recent form by falling at the last hurdle.
A further incentive for GE is that if GE lose to ESL...they probably have to back up to them again the following week.
Toss of the coin... GE just.

It's been tough for tipsters all year so don't be surprised if this week's results don't go to plan either.
D2 this year has been a much better standard of footy than we've experienced for a long time.
As evidence Prahran are going to do the double drop (D1-D3) in 2 years and on the flip side -Peninsula, Willy and Werribbee (all recent D2 inhabitants) are occupying the upper reaches of D1 at the business end of the year.

Good luck for next year to all those whose season finishes this week and hopefully a ripper of a final series gets underway next week.

The last 18 rounds then counts for nought...

Therry Penola President Terry Crotty said "it was a "serious" incident, but both players were involved."
"I can say it wasn't a king hit. It definately wasn't a king hit" Crotty said. "I do understand it was pretty concerning & there was a serious injury." "No one wants to see anyone cop an injury like that"

Is Crotty standing for election as a Labor or Greens candidate? He has the same delusional tendancies as these political Parties, but at least he is not spending our money doing it. Eight weeks is consistent with what the Ammos have handed out over the years.Don't forget to vote on Saturday and send Labor and the lunatic Greens packing, or we will be paying for it for the next twenty years. Lest we forget: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UqG_4e9opjk

Good call 1969, but as a Richmond supporter shouldn't you be voting to the very far left???

Strobler, went missing after game at Ferndale. Didn't you see me in the black & yellow?

I heard about the statement at the aftermatch, probably natural after losing an important match. Some scribes say that game had some hardness. Where did they get that from? Found SMS efforts embarrasing, probably soft when you think that it was a relegation game. Numerous marking situations avoided. GE had seemingly lost 3 players to injury before 1/2 time and played with 17 for over a 1/4. GE players and supporters furious with umpiring, I can understand, it nearly changed the result. SMS couldn't have had a bigger opportunity to avoid relegation. Sayna was kind in his report, he could be a politician as well, perhaps give his preferences to Mr Crotty of the Greens.

Expect your boys to take a breather this week, will probably be playing the same opponent 2 weeks running. Predictions to follow Friday..

Was 8 weeks enough? Should Therry appeal?

Dr Sniper - good one Strobler

Is this the only way you liberal lowlifes can get votes by scandalmongering. Just look at our economy compared with the rest of the world or is the big picture too hard for you to understand, just like your leader. Now go back to footy.

Long time reader of this thread, first time poster...
I agree with you guttertrash.....1969 take your smear campaign elsewhere and leave this thread for football.

Is this the only way you liberal lowlifes can get votes by scandalmongering. Just look at our economy compared with the rest of the world or is the big picture too hard for you to understand, just like your leader. Now go back to footy.
Your Caulfield vote won't count I'm sure, think about that when you are walking to your voting centre. I hope that policy speech didn't take too long to write.

Richmond or Collingwood supporter I'm sure, yes back to the main game you moron.

And so is my team mate that he knocked out. He missed the entire Banyule game from about the 3 minute mark and missed last week as well with neck soreness. Leave it at that.

Guys, Herbert was suspended for 3 weeks after incident that happened in Parade game. Incident was in play and 3 metres from officiating umpire. Free Kick was paid. Parade videoed the game and decided to send it in. This was an incident that happens in footy - wasn't behind the play, wasn't malicious, however, was careless. Player was taken off on a stretcher and had a sore neck. Video was deemed to over rule the umpires decision who thought that the incident wasn't reportable as it was accidental contact.

Yes it was high conduct, was in intentional - no. Tribunal told player that it was reckless and unintentional yet he still gets 3 weeks.

We had a player hit 60m behind the play this year and he got 3 weeks.

At least Belliza gets to play finals and will play this week.

While we are disappointed with the decision we will live with it and look forward to finals. Herbs is shattered as he has worked hard all year. He is a ball player and in this incident was trying to get the player with the ball and was careless.

Guys, Herbert was suspended for 3 weeks after incident that happened in Parade game. Incident was in play and 3 metres from officiating umpire. Free Kick was paid. Parade videoed the game and decided to send it in. This was an incident that happens in footy - wasn't behind the play, wasn't malicious, however, was careless. Player was taken off on a stretcher and had a sore neck. Video was deemed to over rule the umpires decision who thought that the incident wasn't reportable as it was accidental contact.

Yes it was high conduct, was in intentional - no. Tribunal told player that it was reckless and unintentional yet he still gets 3 weeks.

We had a player hit 60m behind the play this year and he got 3 weeks.

At least Belliza gets to play finals and will play this week.

While we are disappointed with the decision we will live with it and look forward to finals. Herbs is shattered as he has worked hard all year. He is a ball player and in this incident was trying to get the player with the ball and was careless.

While I havent seen the video I believe it was damning. I was 8 m from the incident and it was ordinary. Beliz had his head over the ball in a bent position, Herbert moved away from the ball and wiped him out from the side and front. No intent on the ball and it put his head and neck at severe risk. It was dangerous with no intent on the ball. Very lucky to only get 3.

I HAVE seen the video and the tribunal said it was reckless and we will have to live with that. As oldtimer said I feel for the bloke as he is a ripper fella and plays the game as hard as anyone. I think 3 is more than enough when you think of what he is potentially missing.

P and G I have the video. Belliz was in a bent over position as he fumbled the ball. If he had have picked it up cleanly then we wouldn't be having this conversation. Herbert ran TOWARDS Beliz on the persumption he had the ball, Belliz fumbled and Herbert collected him high with his Hip. We are not disputing contact.

Even the tribunal siad it was unintentional which it was. The tribunal said if it was intentional then he would have got more.

My point is that it was in play and the umpire standing 3 metres away deemed it not worthy of a report. Of course videos can make it look worse at times.

In comparison to other incidents it was definitely not worth 3 weeks.