D3 D3 2009

Have SMS joined the Branch Davidians playing their home games out of Waco, Texas with David Koresh as their Coach? If so they should shorten even further in the odds.

I believe the word you were looking Rooster was combine, not commune.

Great column though. Did you suffer insomnia last night?

Commune was exactly the word I was looking for Quasi........

The lady of the house is away at the moment, so I'm able to play xbox, online poker and look at online pr0n as late as I like

Whats the ground cover like at Ferndale this time of year Griff?

Its pretty good Niko, they re sewed the ground in the off season with that drought resistant grass and it came up pretty well. They have been watering it constantly. Very green! There are a few sandy patches (one big one in the pocket at the glen iris rd end) around but it improves everytime I see it!

Wowee fella's.. Exciting round of footy coming up. My Tips:

Bentleigh over St Johns by 57pts
UHS over St Mary's in a close one 12 pts
SFX over WB by 32pts
The House over Elsternwick (Match of the round) by 2 pts
The Gryphs over Hawthorn by 19pts

Welcome to the 2009 season. Finally all the banter is over (well almost) and we can get down to some true analysis of the teams. The truth is that no one really has the breadth of knowledge of all clubs to make an informed prediction at this stage, we can only speculate...

On to the games:

Wicks over The House by 6pts (Have no idea who to pick here as my reports from both camps have been somewhat discouraging. I still expect Powerhouse to be the slightly better side in the long run, but feel the home ground advantage at EP #2 will be the deciding factor. Expect a big game from Brett Mahony)

SMS over UHS-VU by 36pts (I'm not sure why, but in my seventeen year association with amateur football I've never rated the boys from Brens Oval, so why would I start now? SMS on the other hand will appreciate the drop in class and should have enough firepower to post a more than competitive score. They are also at home, so they should win comfortably.

SFX over West Bruns by 8 pts (Something tells me this will be the game of the round. I expect a high scoring, open affair with little accountability in defence. However, Westies have managed to struggle in D3 in recent years and I don't believe 09' to be any different. SFX to spoil the unfurling of the 2008 D4 pennant and reverse the G/F result of last September)

Bentleigh over St Johns by 85 pts (Almost willing to put my house on this one. I don't care how many recruits the Jocs may have picked up, The Demons have more numbers on the track each week than I've had hot dinners! I expect the Bentleigh reserves to go along undefeated and the seniors not to lose at home all season. Shane Fergus to star for the home side. Too tough for St Johns. Will be tough for any team.).

Hawthorn over Monash by 28pts (Bitter rivals of the late 90s do battle at Rathmines, but the simple fact remains that the Gryphs have only ever won there once and the Hawks, under new Coach Murray will be raring to go. Expect a big game from Ogge up forward and the Gryphs to hang on for a while, but in the end class will prevail).

Good luck to all.

Quasi

Dee Three, is Stephen Clarke scribing again this year?

Rooster...if you want me to be Stephen Clarke, I can be, only that I'm much taller, better looking, a nice guy and have a little football knowledge...so that counts me out!

I have no idea who will be scribing 2009 for D3. Let's just wait until Saturday..

My vote for Stephen Clarke on this forum is quasimodo...he writes EXACTLY like the D3 scribe.

Rooster...if you want me to be Stephen Clarke, I can be, only that I'm much taller, better looking, a nice guy and have a little football knowledge...so that counts me out!

I have no idea who will be scribing 2009 for D3. Let's just wait until Saturday..

My vote for Stephen Clarke on this forum is quasimodo...he writes EXACTLY like the D3 scribe.

Sorry to disappoint on both counts Dee Three:

Stephen Clarke is certainly the D3 scribe for this year (unfortunately in my book) as I have the record in front of me, and naturally I am not Mr Clarke. Flattered that you think so however...

Quasi

PS: Check Mr Clarke's appalling grammar in his round 1 preview and see if you still think he is yours truly.

Sorry to disappoint on both counts Dee Three:

Stephen Clarke is certainly the D3 scribe for this year (unfortunately in my book) as I have the record in front of me, and naturally I am not Mr Clarke. Flattered that you think so however...

Quasi

PS: Check Mr Clarke's appalling grammar in his round 1 preview and see if you still think he is yours truly.

Can you tell me who he tipped...then I can tip exactly the opposite...he has no idea!

Big fella, any truth to rumor S Gibson not selected this week. Ran into him at pub tonite, would have thought he wud be tucked home in bed.

Care boys, certain NFL club sniffing big time!!!!

Its pretty good Niko, they re sewed the ground in the off season with that drought resistant grass and it came up pretty well. They have been watering it constantly. Very green! There are a few sandy patches (one big one in the pocket at the glen iris rd end) around but it improves everytime I see it!

Face it Griff the joint is a sand pit. Never been sure under foot there.

yeah well this fella isn't addicted to ice..

I'm not boasting mate, i'm bantering... slow day at the office and i got bit excited about a new player signing on.. What can I say mate. I love my club and enjoy shouting out loud when i get good news..

Got any about your club mate?

It was interesting to see the team lists in the VAFA record last night. Heaps of people in D3 teams this year (as previously mentioned on here).
I'd imagine there'll be a lot of player who didn't get a gig this weekend.

What are the feelings about this issue at each of the clubs after their respective selection nights?

It was interesting to see the team lists in the VAFA record last night. Heaps of people in D3 teams this year (as previously mentioned on here).
I'd imagine there'll be a lot of player who didn't get a gig this weekend.

What are the feelings about this issue at each of the clubs after their respective selection nights?

Good question BM. Monash, like a lot of other D3 clubs i'm sure, went through this issue last night. I guess the issue becomes, do you play your most skillful 22 in the the 1's and 2's or do you reward pre-season dedication? Very tough question, especially if those who may not be the better skilled players are those who are new to the club.

Obviously every club's intention is to win a senior flag so the obvious answer is to pick your best 22 in the 1's. So what to do with the 40-50 odd players that you have to pick from in the 2's.

There are always going to be players who dont get a gig. Maybe the true test of a clubs character and culture is whether the fellas who miss out stay around.

Very tough

Was a long selection meeting that is for sure. We are lucky in that we have a club 18's so therefore were able to give every player who was fit a game. Some players I am sure are disappointed in missing out on selection for certain sides but it is great to have competition for spots and it gives a great opportunity to reward players who have done the work in pre season. Was really exciting night at the club last night with the first under age side in 30 years to play at Ferndale Park. Fantastic effort by the committee and all involved with the 18's to get 26 young blokes a game of footy from scratch. Good luck to everyone round 1.

Bails, great work getting your unders team up and running..

Oh, and I may have got the details wrong on our new recruit.. NOT Shields... Actually was the 2004 Senior B&F runner up.. Still a handy player none the less and is fit and ready to go.. Apologies to Shields

Good get for you guys Marching

Yeah has been a really outstanding effort by all the guys involved. The exciting thing is that Ashburton Juniors around the corner have 2 under 17 sides this year. Hopefully we can build on this year and get a steady stream of juniors coming into the club. There are a couple of boys already who have shown they could be capable of playing senior football in the future which is what you want for the long term health and growth of the club

Was a long selection meeting that is for sure. We are lucky in that we have a club 18's so therefore were able to give every player who was fit a game. Some players I am sure are disappointed in missing out on selection for certain sides but it is great to have competition for spots and it gives a great opportunity to reward players who have done the work in pre season. Was really exciting night at the club last night with the first under age side in 30 years to play at Ferndale Park. Fantastic effort by the committee and all involved with the 18's to get 26 young blokes a game of footy from scratch. Good luck to everyone round 1.

Was one of the hardest selections I have had to be honest!! But as you said bails, at least eveyone got a game, whether it be in the 1's, 2's or clubbies.